We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ibis Stevenage Centre

Save
Share
Danestrete, Stevenage SG1 1EJ England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Snaptravel
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (166)
Dining (18)
Room & Suite (7)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 11/16/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Ibis Stevenage Centre
Updated 11/16/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#8 of 11 hotels in Stevenage
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
IBIS Stevenage Centre (formerly the Hertford Park Hotel). All 98 bedrooms are fully air conditioned with luxury shower, zip & link kingsize beds, flatscreen TVs with freeview channels, Complementary WiFi. IBIS Stevenage is in the centre of Stevenage, 3 minute walk from the train station, served by the East Coast Main Line and 20 minutes from London Kings Cross St. Pancrass and 20 minutes from Cambridge. 0.5 km from the Leisure park with its multiplex cinemas, bowling alleys and other entertainments. A short drive takes you into the beautiful Hertfordshire countryside and Knebworth House and Luton and Stanstead airports. The IBIS now has a purpose built events centre - The Forum which can cater for up to 620 guests.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Desk
Housekeeping
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Clothes rack
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Polish, Romanian and 1 more
620Reviews8Q+A70Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 182
  • 202
  • 109
  • 66
  • 61
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Ruby S wrote a review Jun 16
1 contribution
Big comfy bed with very soft pillows, I didn't want to get out of! The staff was great - swift check in. Didn't hear a peep at night. Covid measurements are in place and there are hand sanitizers at reception and in the landing next to the lift. 10/10 will come back.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
RoverTM wrote a review Dec 2020
Ballyclare, United Kingdom8 contributions1 helpful vote
I'm not too worried about COVID but, if you're claiming to be taking it seriously, you should at least act the part. A brief electronic thermometer scan of the wrist is not reliable way to assess whether someone is running a temperature, especially if they have just come in from the cold. Like most hotels at the moment, it seems very hard to warm up a room, even when the a/c is turned up. When I arrived, the room was cold. I switched on the thermostat which said 28, but next morning it still hadn't reached 28, probably about 21C. More serious was the poor bathroom hygiene which I didn't notice till the next morning. There was dried excrement down the front (exterior) of the toilet bowl. It looked like it might have overflowed sometime in the past. To be fair, it wasn't particularly noticeable from the standing position, just when seated and looking between your legs. I cleaned some of it off with moistened toilet roll, but I confess I left the hardened-on remnants for someone else to tackle.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Hannah Chapman, General Manager at Ibis Stevenage Centre
Responded Dec 23, 2020
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. It is a simple protocol, we choose the wrist as this is less likely to have been exposed to the cold air as much as the forehead, if someone is suffering with a temperature the cold air would not impact. We do try to turn the heating on prior to arrival to ensure the room is warmed up, if in any case this does not happen and the guest reports an issue our maintenance will generally check to see if there are any blockages in the air flow system which may prevent heat being released. We are sorry that you were faced with that and if you reported to reception this would have been rectified immediately, we take these issues very seriously and of course liaise with our housekeeping to prevent this. We hope that you will again return to see this is an exception to our normal practises.
Read more
Namako wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution
The reception staff were welcoming and professional but the room was not clean. It would have been considered gross before coronavirus and now it is completely unsafe. The toilet clearly hadn't been cleaned (including the seat) and there was something brown (assuming chocolate, hopefully nothing worse) smeared on the room door handle. I spent my first 10 mins on arrival scrubbing every handle, switch and surface with tissues and hand sanitiser. I felt I had to try not to touch anything I hadn't cleaned myself so not a particularly relaxing evening. Not sure when the room was last used and whether it had been aired between the last guest and me. I hope the management there will step up the cleaning ASAP to keep their guests safe.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Hannah Chapman, General Manager at Ibis Stevenage Centre
Responded Dec 23, 2020
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We do take covid very seriously and have intense cleaning procedures in place, I hope that you reported the issue immediately to reception who would have ensured a room move, we cannot act after the event but we can if something is brought to our attention. Whilst I appreciate, that you should not have faced any issue sometimes human error occurs and it may be that the room was let prior to final inspection which would have seen these issues lifted. We hope that you will once again stay and see this is an exception.
Read more
Hannah wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
The worst hotel I’ve ever encountered. I won’t spend too much time discussing the McDonald’s chips and crisp packets under the bed, because the COVID party next door is what really made it. As we entered the hotel, a large group of teenagers were hanging around outside with clinking bags of alcohol. 2 by 2 they all checked in within 10 minutes of each other, hotel staff none the wiser. I hope this was due to their naive ignorance, and not a purposeful choice to look the other way in order to get more custom. They all piled into one room, and were screaming and shouting until...well, I’ll let you know; it’s currently 3am and they’re still going strong. To make matters worse, the phone in the room is apparently just for decoration and does not work, and all phone numbers for the reception are disconnected. When we decided enough was enough, we went down to the reception desk to be met by a baffled receptionist who had no idea what was going on. His attempts at ‘I’ll sort it’ are yet to be fruitful. You’ll see all over booking sites about their ‘COVID safe’ hotel - which I was amused by as I unsuccessfully searched for a reception number at 3am - but clearly that only extends to face masks in the lobby, and not preventing or intervening in large parties happening in one of their rooms. These events would be unfortunate in the best of times, but during a pandemic it is outright dangerous, and Ibis are putting their staff and customers at risk by not taking precautions to prevent these events.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Hannah Chapman, General Manager at Ibis Stevenage Centre
Responded Oct 11, 2020
Dear Reviewer, We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. The individuals you mention all had rooms booked with us, we are not prejudice against anyone and never make assumptions as to what a guests plans maybe. We are very sorry that your phone was not working and we will ask our maintenance team to investigate to ensure the phones are in good working order. I understand from speaking with the team member working, that he did in fact go up and sort the issue of the guests next door and after that there were no further issues. The reception phone number and the covid secure are of no affiliation and do not go hand in hand, the phone number is in the room. We do our best to intervene and prevent such incidents however when guests check in to different rooms at different times it is not known to use their intention, as I am sure you will understand that with the lock down measures in place hotels subsequently become the next place to go to and we do our best to respond and prevent if this does occur in our hotel. We are by no means intentionally putting anyone at risk, I am just very sorry that this occurred during your stay as this is not what happens nor what we allow.
Read more
Wez wrote a review Aug 2020
London, United Kingdom4 contributions
For the first time going into the hotel, it was a great first experience. Obviously, that’s what I expected which is a good start. The rooms are very comfortable and also at very low prices. The room service is average, some of the responses were quite slow but still came so we’ll allow that. The check-in process is very quick and the staff are friendly. I would recommend this hotel if you want to be easy on the budget.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Hannah Chapman, General Manager at Ibis Stevenage Centre
Responded Aug 11, 2020
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us, apologies in not getting back to you quicker, this is something I will ensure the team work on. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$49 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ibis stevenage centre hotel stevenage, hotel accor stevenage centre
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHertfordshireStevenage
NUMBER OF ROOMS
98
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ibis Stevenage Centre
Which popular attractions are close to Ibis Stevenage Centre?
Nearby attractions include Gordon Craig Theatre (0.1 miles), Stevenage Museum (0.2 miles), and Town Centre Gardens (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Ibis Stevenage Centre?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Ibis Stevenage Centre?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and an additional bathroom.
What food & drink options are available at Ibis Stevenage Centre?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free instant coffee during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Ibis Stevenage Centre?
Conveniently located restaurants include Firejacks, Salt & Good, and The Chequers Beer house.
Is Ibis Stevenage Centre located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Stevenage.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Ibis Stevenage Centre?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Russian, Polish, Romanian, and Ukrainian.
Are there any historical sites close to Ibis Stevenage Centre?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Cromer Windmill (4.6 miles) and UK’s first roundabout (4.8 miles).
Is Ibis Stevenage Centre accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.