We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cameo Hotel Copdock

Old London Road | Copdock, Ipswich IP8 3JD, England (Formerly Hotel Elizabeth Copdock)
Hotel amenities
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for your stay
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Cameo Hotel Copdock
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

241 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 240: English reviews
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The bedroom we were in was in a sort of annexe & needed serious updating. Very lumpy mattress on one of the twin beds. Relatively clean. Decor a very dreary brown. Very antiquated shower. The reception area had a very musty type smell. Dining room & bar staff very pleasant. Reception staff not. Dinner & breakfast pretty awful. Cheap badly... More 

Helpful?
Thank _dulciedymond
pegs55, Manager at Cameo Hotel Copdock, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. If only reviewers would say which room they stayed in we could check out their complaints. Not sure which room you had as we don't have any rooms decorated in brown and no twin rooms in an 'annexe'. The hotel is starting on a program of refurbishment commenced September this year. Our food is not... More 

Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel promised much but was a great disappointment. It was ideally situated for a wedding reception we were attending across the road at Copeck Hall on the old A12. It looks rather shabby and in need of renovation from the outside and also from the inside. It looks and feels tired and worn out. The rooms are in great... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gilgamel
pegs55, Manager at Cameo Hotel Copdock, responded to this review

Dear Gilgamel, Thank you for your review. I'm sorry you couldn't find Copdock Hall which I assume is where the wedding reception you were attending was taking place. It is literally half a mile down the road turning left out of the hotel, taking the first road on the right, off the dual carriageway, into Church Lane. The hotel is... More 

Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked afternoon tea for the whole family as an 80th birthday celebration for my mum. It was a huge success, everyone loved the sandwiches and cakes. We had the restaurant all to ourselves and since it was a sunny day we ventured out into the garden as well. It was exactly what I'd hoped. The staff were really friendly and... More 

Helpful?
Thank CarolTierney
London -East
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

stayed here for the weekend for a wedding close by. The room was a decent price and size. I did find the hotel room very dusty. And overall the hotel could do with refurbishment . the grounds are very big and i noticed there are a few function rooms which is quite good including a larger for weddings etc .... More 

Helpful?
Thank ladylise20
pegs55, Manager at Cameo Hotel Copdock, responded to this review

Dear ladylise20, Thanks for your review. I can assure you that our breakfast is freshly cooked and our sausages are high quality with a large meat content and sourced from a local butcher. Bacon is often a bit salty because of the curing process but this is normal. We hold lots of functions here which differ in size from a... More 

Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We attended a wedding down the road but stayed here , a little bit dated but clean plenty of space easy access of the a12 but the staff were excellent X very easy to sort any issues breakfast was fine Worth a though if you using it as a base book your return cabs early in the evening as there... More 

Helpful?
Thank bloggerdave
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night ... I sort of feel bad at giving this hotel a bad review because it's not the staff it's the hotel ! All the staff are very polite and friendly , it was clean , but the bed was the worse bed we've ever slept in! The shower was very old and the toilet would... More 

Helpful?
Thank joan17666
pegs55, Manager at Cameo Hotel Copdock, responded to this review

Dear joan17666, I'm sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay and I that you did not sleep well. However I appreciate the lovely comments about our staff, who always try their best to make our guests' stay as pleasant as possible. You will be pleased to hear that plans for upgrading and refurbishment of the hotel are being... More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2016 via mobile

We had to book 2 nights at short notice to visit a sick relative. This was the only Hotel we could get at short notice. We arrived late at night but had a nice welcome,it did seem like a 1960's Motel but we cannot fault the cleanliness of the room and bathroom,much better then the Premier inns we have recently... More 

Helpful?
Thank LordKinally
pegs55, Manager at Cameo Hotel Copdock, responded to this review

Dear LordKinally, Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I do hope that the relative you were visiting has improved. We are very proud of our staff who all do their best to ensure our guests have a pleasant stay. The hotel will be be starting a program of further refurbishment commencing... More 

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2016

Groans as the coach pulled in for our four nights Short Break with Alfa Travel as the exterior looks "tired" (and that's being polite). However, registration and reception was very well managed by Mansur who came onto the coach and handed over keycards and reception cards individually. Once inside the building and my room it was clear that whatever investment... More 

Helpful?
Thank christ046
Whitstable, Kent
Level Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016 via mobile

I last stayed at this hotel a year ago and was interested to see if anything had changed. Things are in fact very much the same. The place is scrupulously clean, the reception friendly and the food as good as it was a year ago. Exactly as good in fact as the menu had changed little in the past year.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank gas65
pegs55, Manager at Cameo Hotel Copdock, responded to this review

Dear Gas65, Thanks again for taking the time to review our hotel in such a positive way. You will be pleased to hear that there will be a program of refurbishment starting in September. Things are being planned as I write. Glad to hear you enjoyed your roast dinner, we try to vary the specials board as much as possible... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2016 via mobile

Arrived to friendly receptionist...but from there on it took a nose dive!! Reception area tired with hideous miss match wallpaper. Got to our room...well it stank if disinfectant! The decor was a grimy yellow. The windows were filthy. The hairdryer was nicotine stained. Carpet dated. Furniture threadbare. Television tiny. Bathroom was grim. Dirty grouting. Mildew in bath corners. Shower dirty... More 

Helpful?
Thank Screwbear

Travelers are raving about these Ipswich hotels

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (31)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ipswich hotels
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Ipswich
Holiday Inn Ipswich
#15 of 22 in Ipswich
3.5 of 5 stars 471 reviews
3.1 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#8 of 22 in Ipswich
4.0 of 5 stars 313 reviews
3.9 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre (Quayside) Hotel
4.0 mi away
Travelodge Ipswich Hotel
Travelodge Ipswich Hotel
#11 of 22 in Ipswich
4.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cameo Hotel, a friendly and relaxed hotel offering comfortable accommodation, professional conference facilities, large and small event and banqueting rooms and excellent wedding packages. Great new menu choices are on offer in the Wolsey restaurant, new wedding packages take advantage of the welcoming gardens just through the restaurant doors, modern IT ready conference and meeting facilities, together with banqueting packages, offer a multitude of options to accommodate groups from 20 to 400 guests, with more than ample private car parking in the grounds. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cameo Hotel Copdock

Address: Old London Road | Copdock, Ipswich IP8 3JD, England (Formerly Hotel Elizabeth Copdock)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Price Range: $67 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cameo Hotel Copdock 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Cameo Hotel Copdock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Copdock Hotel
Cameo Hotel Copdock Ipswich, Suffolk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay