We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Somerset Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llandudno
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Somerset Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

274 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 273: English reviews
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Perfect is one word for this hotel it is definitely a family hotel my 2 children aged 3_4 ran round enjoyed themselves without any complaints.. food excellent waitress ruth was fantastic and even sorted green jelly for my 2 for dessert. Hotel ideal beach across road really clean hotel manager is lovely entertainment great but not much for children. There... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank linz72
Lisa B, Guest Relations Manager at Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review of the Somerset Hotel. We are very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back again soon. More 

Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely old hotel, staff very helpful and the food was first class. The evenings entertainment was also worth watching especially on Friday night. The room was spacious enough for two with plenty of wardrobe and draw space, and a very comfy bed. Llandudno has many shops and a theatre as well as a wonderful pier and very wide prom. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbiesix
Lisa B, Guest Relations Manager at Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review of the Somerset Hotel. We are very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back again soon. More 

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Work in progress was the comment given by a member of staff & that person was right. Daish have a good reputation generally & with me, but this hotel did not meet it. It has been opened too soon, the decor is tired, the staff over tired, systems which work elsewhere are not right here. I would like to return... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Simon T
Lisa B, Guest Relations Manager at Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Somerset Hotel. We have already made some major changes to the hotel since acquiring it last year. We do intend to refurbish the rooms as well where necessary in the future. Please accept our apologies for the issues you had in the restaurant, we are working to improve the standards here at present.... More 

Travelers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

england
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just a quick review on Somerset Hotel in North Wales, found the hotel easy enough lovely views right on the sea front. Hotel staff very pleasant and helpful, rooms need an upgrade to 21st century, my room on top floor had hand basin in the bedroom, bathroom tiny. They have recently bought the hotel and have done work by redecorating,... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank B4623ILjanetj
Lisa B, Guest Relations Manager at Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Somerset Hotel. The trend when the hotel was built was to have the sink in the bedroom which is why the majority of the rooms have this feature. Overtime we hope to be able to move some but this may not be possible in all rooms due to their layout. We are glad... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Location wise the Somerset Hotel is great right on the sea front and from outside it looks good. Inside the lounge areas and front dinning rooms are bright and airy overlooking the promenade. That's the good points. Booking in at reception the staff were friendly and informative and then we came to the stairs which were dull and dated and... More 

Helpful?
Thank iannoretta
Lisa B, Guest Relations Manager at Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Somerset Hotel. We have already made some major changes to the hotel since acquiring it last year. We do intend to refurbish the rooms as well where necessary in the future. The location of the sink in the bedroom rather than the en-suite is from a trend at the time the building was... More 

Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived on Sunday 31/7/16 for 5 day stay and we were given room 311 Average size room which needed cleaning of dust and cobwebs.The bathroom was compact and bijou and when we tried the shower it did not work properly.My wife duly complained to the manager as we had the same problem at Daishs hotel in the Isle of Wight... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank terry635
Lisa B, Guest Relations Manager at Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Somerset Hotel. It is disappointing to hear about the issue with your shower, I am pleased to hear that this was resolved straight away. Please accept our apologies for the issues you had in the restaurant and are sorry to read that you do not intend to return. As you are aware this... More 

Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Rooms are very small, our Wash basin in bedroom not in bathroom which is Not very Hygenic and dos nothing for personal privesy Meals took far too long to serve as there was not enough staff and the food quality was very poor, Altogether a disappointing stay

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ivorcatherall123
Daishs_Holidays, Guest Relations Manager at Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on your stay at the Somerset Hotel. The location of the sink in the bedroom rather than the en-suite is from a trend at the time the building was constructed rather than a choice we would have made. Please accept our apologies for the issues you had in the restaurant, we are working to improve... More 

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Location very good, room 211 good quiet comfortable and excellent bathroom.Paid for sea view room well worth it.Food not as good as Daish's other hotels, dining room under staffed.General areas and entertainment venue excellent.Reception staff very helpful.Trips only one and over subscribed,unable to join it along with many others.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Frederick W
Daishs_Holidays, Guest Relations Manager at Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of the Somerset Hotel. We are sorry to read that you didn't enjoy the food as much as you have done at our other hotels, we have been working with the chef to bring him and his team up to the same standard. We are glad to read that overall you enjoyed your stay... More 

Gloucester
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having stayed in most of Daish's hotels over several years The Somerset didn't measure up to their good standard. The staff were lovely, but overworked. The main disappointment was the food. It was very poor. I ended up only choosing things they couldn't spoil and even this didn't always work. Would not go back until this is rectified, after all,... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank pambateman
Daishs_Holidays, Guest Relations Manager at Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Somerset Hotel. We are sorry to read that you didn't enjoy the food as much as you have done at our other hotels, we have been working with the chef to bring him and his team up to the same standard. We are glad to read that overall you enjoyed your stay and... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good location with all that Llandudno has to offer easily accessible. Pleasant outdoor seating area overlooking the 'prom', pebbled beach & sea. Ground floor areas very clean & well decorated. All meals of a good standard although the dining room is a little cramped. Hotel staff are undoubtedly their greatest asset & I very much hope they are not on... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 175dennis
Daishs_Holidays, Guest Relations Manager at Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your stay at the Somerset Hotel. We are pleased to read that you appreciated the areas on the ground floor that we have refurbished since taking over the hotel at the end of last year. We do have future plans to continue refurbishing other areas of the hotel. As you have seen the hotel... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.0 mi away
Trevone Hotel
Trevone Hotel
#36 of 61 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 stars 178 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#15 of 61 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 stars 1,181 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#26 of 61 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 stars 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#19 of 61 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 stars 975 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#32 of 61 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 stars 435 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Marlborough Hotel
The Marlborough Hotel
#35 of 61 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 stars 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Somerset Hotel

Address: St. Georges Crescent, Llandudno LL30 2LF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Price Range: $116 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 37
Also Known As:
Somerset Hotel Llandudno, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing