We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Bay County Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Bay County Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

607 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 607: English reviews
Richmond, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

just returned from a monday to friday break,enjoyed our stay, excellent staff. waitress first class, food very nice,hotel very nicely decorated and bedrooms clean and comfortable, the only downer was the shower which was a mixer tap which we found very difficult to regulate, needs an update though spotlessly clean.We will definately be returning again next year

Helpful?
2 Thank bevab2016
TheCountyHotel, General Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bevab2016 Thank you so much for your review you have made my day I'm over the moon to read how much you enjoyed everything I'm sorry about the shower sometimes there is a knack to regulating them. I look forwards to seeing you next year. Kind Regards Andy Travis General Manager More 

Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room third floor- small but just big enough for two sharing! Dreadful smell as we entered this room- and decided it must be drainage problem in bathroom! Power flush was ordered by reception as soon as this was reported to them!! Then we again reported smell was still there!! This must be ongoing problem as we left fan on overnight... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Jaqueline W
TheCountyHotel, General Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JaquelineW I would like to take this opportunity to apologies I can assure you this is not an on going problem. It sound as though you have been to us before and I really hope you come back again. Once again please accept my sincere apologies. Kind Regards Andy Travis General Manager More 

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Where do I start booked national holidays to stay at the grand wasn't told they changed u till outside bus in Middlesbrough wish I had looked up the hotel I wouldn't off got on coach then its 2 miles to the centre without any normal pub takeaway within miles . Room is dirty smelly and small . Then food is... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank mr mac the legend
TheCountyHotel, General Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Mac The Leg end We have thousands of National customers staying with us each year and the vast majority are really impressed with the rooms , the food and all other aspects of the County. We have a normal Pub attached to the Hotel and four takeaways within two hundred yards. Your room may have been small but... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Disappointed with this Hotel. Booked a refurbished room, it had been repainted and had new bedding and curtains but the bathroom let it down. It had a sliding door which was noisy and didn't really fit the hole! The loo was effectively just a foot a way from the bed, somewhat disconcerting. The food was very poor, boiled spuds, peas... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela S
TheCountyHotel, General Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review

Dear PamalaS I'm really sorry to read of your disappointment I will pass on your comments to our Chef. I don't know which room you were in but none of our toilets are a foot away from the bed as you put it. Kind Regards Andy Travis General Manager More 

Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First time in Wales and first coach trip. Not reviewing National Holidays here but the hotel as a whole package. We mailed prior to arrival asking for information on the area and were mailed back very promptly by Andy Travis. On arrival we were greeted onboard our coach by a very pleasant young lady. Good first impression however due to... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Lemondropkid123
TheCountyHotel, General Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lemondropkid123 Thank you for your detailed review I'm pleased that you give our staff credit for doing their best to look after you. I remember your arrival and how much trouble everyone went through to try and accommodate all your needs. Room 48 is not as you describe it but a very spacious room recently refurbished with easy access.... More 

Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We saw this offer £109 for 3 nights bed, breakfast and evening meal, so we booked it, but weren't expecting too much. We were pleasantly surprised as the hotel was on the sea front, very clean and the food was excellent. Entertainment on the first night was a wonderful comedian, second night an okish singer. The third night however was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jannette D
TheCountyHotel, General Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jeannette D Wow that is a good price £36 per day in the summer you can't stay at home for that. We are looking into our entertainment program to see where we can change things to try and please more guests. Kind regards Andy Travis General Manager More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went on National Holidays coach and this was the only option we had s hotel. Room very poor, far too small, we paid extra for Sea view but the little corner window didn't impress us much, we wouldn't pay that extra again. The bathroom was horrible, shower not working properly, bath far too small to be used as such... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank T. L
TheCountyHotel, General Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review

Dear T.L I am sorry for your disappointment with certain aspects of the Hotel and it is very true we are not the best hotel in town however we are not the most expensive either by a long way and I believe we do offer excellent value for money. We listen very carefully to all points of view and will... More 

Lochwinnoch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel has 100 rooms but only a few with shower cubicles. We had a lovely refurbished room 323 with a shower cubicle. The furniture all matched, it was bright but rather stuffy and the double glazing was misted. It was spotlessly clean and the beds were comfortable. The only downside was that the lift only took two people so... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tighnacreag
TheCountyHotel, General Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tighnacreag Many thanks for your review I'm delighted to read how much you enjoyed room 323 we are constantly updating our bathrooms to include walk in showers and we start work on another 8 next month. I do agree we are very lucky to have a promenade on the level that is wide and easily accessible. Kind Regards Andy... More 

Ardrossan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2016

Caledonian tour---Room 327 at top rear. Plus points-- -Very friendly and helpful staff. Room was clean and beds were excellent .Good views of the hills from the room. Food was excellent and a good variety. Entertainment was on for 3 nights --good acts-----The 4th night we had to go to the Marine hotel ( the act did not turn up... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank WilliamH962
TheCountyHotel, General Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review

Dear WilliamH962 Thank you for your review it is a real mixed bag with lots of detail and so many points its hard to address them all but the most pleasing part of it all is that you would return to us which is brilliant. I will be sure to pass on your comments to all concerned. Kind Regards Andy... More 

Kirkby-in-Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
486 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2016

The room was very comfortable which is always good. Clean and a good size. It's quite a walk down the esplanade but it's worth it. Meals were tasty and the staff very helpful. Will consider this hotel again on our next visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank Chandra H
TheCountyHotel, General Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chandra H I'm delighted to read we got all the basics right for you and we would be only to pleased to welcome you again on your next visit. I appreciate the time and effort you took to post such a positive review. Kind Regards Andy Travis General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

122 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (94)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.5 mi away
Bay Marine Hotel
Bay Marine Hotel
#34 of 60 in Llandudno
3.5 of 5 stars 699 reviews
0.0 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 stars 488 reviews
0.5 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 stars 1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#50 of 60 in Llandudno
3.5 of 5 stars 712 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.7 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#15 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 stars 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoying a magnificent site of the Promenade with stunning views of both of the Ormes, this lovely Victorian hotel offers guests a friendly Welsh welcome. Tastefully furnished throughout, and retaining many of the original Victorian features throughout, the hotel’s bar and lounges provide the ideal locations in which to relax. Laid back days can be spent enjoying the beach, strolling the pier or shopping in the newly opened retail development by the main shops. Alternatively, take a tram ride up the Great Orme or discover the numerous sporting pursuits that are on offer locally, too. For a getaway discovering the very essence of North Wales - a region renowned for its beautiful coastline, Celtic heritage and the grandeur of Snowdonia - you couldn’t be better placed than in Llandudno. A small car park is located at the rear of the hotel, or there is unlimited free parking at the front of the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay County Hotel

Address: East Parade, Llandudno LL30 1BD, Wales (Formerly The County Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Price Range: $115 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Llandudno
County Llandudno
Bay County Hotel Llandudno, Wales
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay