We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Strand Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Strand Hotel
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

611 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 601: English reviews
Start your review of The Strand Hotel
 Click to rate
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I am about to leave this hotel after an eight day stay , and I have no complaints . For a budget hotel the rooms were clean and adequate . I had own bathroom , shower and tv .The rooms were serviced daily and all the staff were delightful and professional . It was the cheapest deal in Eastbourne and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank richardhuggins18
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Feb 13/14 2017 Took 3 attempts to find a room with unused and unstained bed linen. Ended up in room 106. Dusty and grubby, broken lamp, mildew in shower, draughty window sealed with sellotape unsuccessfully. No wifi, poor tv reception. Curtains would not open fully. Corridors uneven floors. Ancient lifts were scary to use. Lift down to Bistro only took...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hhayward2017
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were very impressed with this hotel, our room was very clean the bathroom was spotless. The bed was comfortable the towels were good, the tea facilities were excellent. Overall it was very good for the price.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Emma W
Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is very poor, our room which had a sea view was very poor. Cold , small dirty room with No hot water. Bed has been put the wrong way around so if you want to see the view that you paid for stand up!!. Stayed two nights so was looking forward to it being cleaned but NO ,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank garyinsomerset
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a great location and attentive staff - the hotel has clearly been ungraded since i last stayed and was very pleased. Will definitely be back in, cant wait to visit in the sunshine! Thank you for a lovely stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anna W
gosport
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

New Year at the Strand Hotel Eastbourne The coach to the Strand Hotel Eastbourne was an old T reg, uncomfortable and well passed its sell by date On arrival we were given one room key per couple. The room was small and very scruffy. A tatty, filthy curtain covering old single glazed dirty draffy window. The bed had a thin...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank john t
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 14, 2017

Booked and paid extra for seaview room but was put in tiny room at back of the hotel, over looking an alleyway where people hung round drinking and making lots of noise. The staff refused to move me and apparently the manager was unavailable. I left early and tried to contact the manager several times to request a refund or...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Cathnew2017
gm-strandeastbourne, General Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cathnew2017 Thank you for your review and I apologise if you did not enjoy your stay. We always have a seaview room available if it is booked and paid for. I am unable to verify that you have genuinely stayed with us as the details don't seem to match so am unable to make any further comments here.

Reviewed January 8, 2017

Location very good and the staff was very friendly on reception. Please note - Made tea and coffee after arriving and thought the milk was off.. tasted vile I was instantly sick.. tried again with black coffee sick again..so we brought our own coffee same again.. realised it was the water and after closer inspection.. we think the kettle had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank christinemaidana
gm-strandeastbourne, General Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Christinemaidana Thank you for your review. It is nice to know that you liked the location and found the staff to be friendly. Apologies if you found our room to be tired and the kettle with water left in it. The hotel rooms have been done up recently as well as the hotel is still undergoing refurbishing and we...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 3, 2017

Very Nice clean hotel very nice polite staff , it's says 3 people in lift but one 1 can get , in the worst part was the restaurant soup was cold sent it bck twice then we had something different all the main meals where great we went in restaurant @ 6.30 and the puddings arrived about 8.15 if you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jennifer1950
gm-strandeastbourne, General Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jennifer1950 Thank you for your review and comments. I am glad that you liked the staff and you found the hotel to be nice and clean. Apologies for the 1 lift not working properly so we had put signs up for that lift on every floor to mention it is taking only 1 person at a time We have...

Reviewed December 28, 2016

Ive stayed here a few years ago. This time I took my wife and 2 kids with me for Xmas. The hotel itself is lovely, on the sea front, with helpful friendly staff. We had a seaview room which was much bigger than the standard as we had to have 2 young children in the room with us. The hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank markjw4119
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

174 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (166)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
Eastbourne Riviera Hotel
Eastbourne Riviera Hotel
#30 of 42 in Eastbourne
246 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marine Parade Hotel
Marine Parade Hotel
#35 of 42 in Eastbourne
122 reviews
0.7 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#10 of 42 in Eastbourne
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#20 of 42 in Eastbourne
1,202 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Alexandra Hotel
The Alexandra Hotel
#32 of 42 in Eastbourne
154 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hotel is located directly on Eastbourne seafront opposite the beach with easy walking distance to the pier, bandstand, theatres and the main shopping and town centre facilities. The Hotel has 110 bedrooms with a Bistro restaurant , an Indian restaurant, 3 bars and function rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Strand Hotel

Address: 35-42 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AN, England (Formerly Hilton Royal Parade Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Price Range: $35 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Eastbourne
Eastbourne Hilton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Strand Hotel staff and other travelers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from The Strand Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“At these prices take whats available ,but i believe the front overlooks the sea .”
 of 5 bubbles richardhuggins18, 2 days ago | Read review
“124 was right over the bar - if there is any entertainment you are unable to hear the tv as really loud..”
 of 5 bubbles christinemaidana, Jan 8, 2017 | Read review
“To many stairs ask for a lower room”
 of 5 bubbles jennifer1950, Jan 3, 2017 | Read review
“Seaview room biggest”
 of 5 bubbles markjw4119, Dec 28, 2016 | Read review
“No comment”
 of 5 bubbles jennystickland, Dec 13, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question