We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Berkeley Guest House

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Berkeley Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

197 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 190: English reviews
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Appalling customer service- absolutely shocking. The staff here are both dishonest and rude. Avoid being messed around and being spoken to like you're a piece of dirt and do not book here. Worst service I've potentially ever encountered.

Helpful?
Thank Steph H
Ian M, Front Office Manager at The Berkeley Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Not very clear what we have done? Was it a case that you did not read your terms and conditions properly? How are we dishonest? Staff do not touch personal belongings of any kind in customers rooms. We treat everyone how we like to be treated by guests at our home. Thank you for your... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked a room at the Berkeley Gust House for one night recently. The ease of travel from Gatwick Airport and proximity to Eastbourne train station was very important as a female travelling alone. The reviews of this guest house also seemed positive. I informed the guest house in advance that I would be arriving in evening. My flight from... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank VMitchel
Ian M, Manager at The Berkeley Guest House, responded to this review

Good morning, thank you for your review. You were charged for the booking from booking.com because you booked a non-refundable booking at a discounted rate. This means that you receive discount on the cost of the room but will not be refunded should you cancel or not show. You were not charged the further charge as you did not turn... More 

Dublin
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived in Eastbourne with the intention of doing some hillwalking int he area. The dodgy weather resulted in a change of plan and we took our chances on buying tickets for the Ladies tennis tournament which was on just around the corner from the hotel. Its always a bit annoying when being of senior years I arrive, am told... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SuzyQdublin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016 via mobile

A fabulous find! So very friendly and excellent value for money, with an unexpected breakfast all included, which was very tasty. The location is perfect just seconds from the seafront, and a parking permit provided for our stay. We had the attic en-suite and were pleasantly surprised. We'll be back!

Helpful?
Thank Robina B
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2016

We have travelled to Eastbourne 2/3 times a year for the past 8 years and usually stay at one the chain hotels but are so pleased to have found The Berekely. It is ideally situated, spotlessly clean, well equipped and both the management and staff were friendly and helpful.and the breakfast is beyond delicious and has plenty of choice. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Turkishdelight2011
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2016

I stayed here one night. The room was small but comfortable. Plenty of tea, coffee, milk etc. Nice biscuits! It was quite warm in the room (attic room) so I can imagine it would be a bit too hot in very warm weather. Plenty of bathroom extras. Breakfast freshly cooked and good quality. The staff were helpful and the greeting... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ulverston1961
Level Contributor
59 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2016 via mobile

Friendly guest house just a few minutes from the beach. The family room had a separate adjoined room for the kids-which is always appreciated Decent breakfast in the morning with a few different options apart from the usual fry up like kippers and boiled eggs Recommended

Helpful?
Thank carlevans1967
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2016 via mobile

I just have to say first re the unfairly negative review that's most recent on the Berkeleys page - when you go to a guesthouse or hotel you always look for check in times and ring and advise the establishment of your arrival time. If you simply turn up hours late there's every chance your room could have been re-let... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank PaulUndie
dorset
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2016

We booked two nights at this guest house. Unfortunately after a long journey from Dorset we arrived at 11.15 not realising that check in was before 7. We had to plead on the phone for someone to let us in. The manager was very unhelpful and finally came and let us in. He then told us that we couldn't have... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank lindaDorset
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2016 via mobile

Spent a lovely few days in Eastbourne staying at the Berkeley! As always the guest house was spotless clean, we were given a parking permit for our stay and got parked right outside. We were welcomed in by Sam. She's absolutely fantastic! Top notch service. Well done Sam! Room was lovely, spacious! And within a minute of leaving the hotel... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ChazDarwin
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.0 mi away
The Sherwood
The Sherwood
#31 of 76 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 88 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Mowbray
The Mowbray
#17 of 76 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vernon Guesthouse
Vernon Guesthouse
#34 of 76 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sea View Guest House
Sea View Guest House
#5 of 76 in Eastbourne
5.0 of 5 stars 417 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brayscroft House
Brayscroft House
#24 of 76 in Eastbourne
5.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Guesthouse East
The Guesthouse East
#15 of 76 in Eastbourne
5.0 of 5 stars 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about The Berkeley Guest House

Address: 3 Lascelles Terrace, Eastbourne BN21 4BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Price Range: $74 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Berkeley Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Berkeley Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Berkeley Guest House Hotel Eastbourne
Berkeley Hotel Eastbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay