We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

New Wilmington Hotel

Agoda.com$88*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
$92*
$88*
Great Deal
$89*
$92*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
New Wilmington Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

508 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for New Wilmington Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 506: English reviews
nibblesoflgw
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Only stayed for one night on B&B but was impressed by the excellent breakfast and friendly staff, comfortable pleasant bar and hotel seems to be well run and clean, excellent location for theatres and seafront, hope to return later this year.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nibblesoflgw
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with others on TripAdvisor. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again. Remember to join our guest club, it's free and we reserve our best discounts for members only on special offers.

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I recently stayed at the New Wilmington Hotel with my 81 yr old mother, for a short relax and break for us. On arrival, and after a friendly welcome and easy check in, my mum asked if the hotel had a walking stick that she could borrow. There was, and handed to her with a joke and a chuckle, all...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jane S
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jane S Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are over the moon that you enjoyed your stay and have shared your comments with all hotel staff. Liam has been shown the review and sends his regards, he was delighted. Thanks again

Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My cousin and I recently stayed at the New Wilmington Hotel and found the staff most welcoming and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. We had single rooms which although compact were a good size and spotlessly clean. Food was very good both for breakfast and dinner so all round a very enjoyable experience. I would definitely recommend the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lindy M
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lindy M Thank you for your review. We will let the staff and the kitchen team know about your review. Thanks again

Cas Vegas
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband and I along with our 4 month old son recently returned from a 3 night stay at the New Wilmington hotel. During our stay, we found every member of staff that we encountered (from front-of-house, to breakfast & housekeeping staff) were refreshingly friendly, helpful and always ensured our requests were dealt with efficiently which made our stay an...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cas_Sprite
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cas_Sprite Thank you so much for your review. Indeed, the problem with a lot of these booking sites is they do not have as much flexibility in what they offer as we do. We have to provide so many different options to cater for guests wanting walk in shower, shower over bath, first floor room etc. It is always...

London
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We secured our room on a special rate and paid around £50 on a bank holiday weekend so in terms of value for money, we can't complain. The breakfast was good considering it was included in the price, and the location of the hotel was good. Overall, our experience was let down by the poor customer service. When we arrived,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jn117
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jn117 Thank you for your review. It is a shame you have reviewed us almost 3 months after the last bank holiday weekend, as this makes it very difficult to handle your concerns about our receptionists customer service. Jon is our only male receptionist and very popular with guests, he may have met a regular customer so many times...

Fareham,Hampshire, England
Reviewed July 28, 2013

From te very start of our stay we had an excellent experience! Very welcoming staff, superb room with en-suite shower room, all modern amenities wi-fi, flat screen TV, tea & coffee making facilities, beautiful decor throughout having had a recent refurbishment with very tasteful colours and quality furnishings and finish. The restaurant was superb, great food cooked to perfection and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 18John44
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John & Soussan Thank you for your review. We are so glad you had a wonderful stay. Congratulations to you both, Lyn, Liam and Sue all send their regards and we hope to see you again sometime. All the best

Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights having booked last minute and getting a deal on Booking.com made the price good. We wer very happy with our stay. Very friendly and helpful staff, clean in every area of the hotel. Breakfast was nice but did'nt like the sausages so asked for veggy ones, they were ok. We could of done without the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison A
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alison A Thanks for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. Indeed we are a 10 minute stroll from town centre but we like to think that keeps us working overtime to be the best we can be in every other area. Our sausages are big butchers ones but they do have herbs in, maybe it's worth offering people the choice between...

Ealing, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 25, 2013

As ever - comfortable accommodation, friendly and helpful staff - nothing too much trouble..and the recently refurbed Mulberry Restaurant and new menu have made it even better...hence we keep going back and will continue to do so!! Thank you to Sue, Lyn, Liam and all the staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bron B
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks Bron, your continued custom is greatly appreciated and it is always good fun when you're at the New Wilmington. Have a great summer. From Sue, Lyn, Jon, Liam and all the team at NWH

Luton, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed for five nights in July 2013. Friendly staff, very clean and tidy, food excellent. Could not fault the hotel or service in any way. Would recommend to friends without hesitation. Margaret, Edwin, June and Robert.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Margaret, Edwin, June and Robert Thank you so much for your review. We will share your positive comments with our members of staff this morning and I am sure they will be delighted! Thanks again

Maidstone
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I have just had another weekend break (Fri 19th Sun 21st) with my partner and two friends at the Wilmington and have nothing but praise for the cleanliness of the hotel and the excellent friendly staff. The refurbishment of the dining room has made a great improvement to the modernisation of the décor which has been carried out along with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bestoffriends10
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Margaret, Dave, Anne & Arthur Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, it was a pleasure to see you and Sue, Lyn and Liam send their regards.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

412 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (338)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
Dining (59)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (39)
Viewed
Standard Plus Room (42)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (44)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room with Bath (40)
Viewed
Superior Room (50)
Viewed
The Hotel (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (20)
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 41 in Eastbourne
2,792 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
#9 of 41 in Eastbourne
877 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 41 in Eastbourne
1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
1.0 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 41 in Eastbourne
922 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The friendliest welcome in Eastbourne ... The New Wilmington is an AA 3-star hotel, close to Eastbourne’s seafront, town centre and theatres. Hotel facilities include: 40 en-suite bedrooms, including lift level and ground floor rooms; free, unrestricted on-street parking; secure garages; a private lounge and bar and an 80-seat restaurant serving traditional home-cooked dishes.The hotel provides regular entertainment in the evenings, including live music in the bar lounge up to 4 nights a week. ... more   less 

Additional Information about New Wilmington Hotel

Address: 25-27 Compton Street, Eastbourne BN21 4DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Price Range: $81 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New Wilmington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your New Wilmington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Wilmington Eastbourne
Hotel New Wilmington
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
#7 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from New Wilmington Hotel staff and other travelers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
maidstone
4 months ago
Selby, United Kingdom
9 months ago
Liverpool, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from New Wilmington Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The newly refurbished rooms do look worth paying the extra money for.”
keithlittler, 1 week ago | Read review
“All rooms were warm and well equipped.”
LizH481, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“appreciated ground floor bedrooms,for those that find stairs a problem,comfy nice and clean,bright and sunny.”
robcotoombs, Mar 21, 2017 | Read review
“Quieter rooms to the side of the hotel.”
E7531TUjenniferf, Mar 10, 2017 | Read review
“No great view from my room as in a side road. Does not detract from venue.”
ERMINTRUDEBlackpool, Dec 27, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Agoda.com
$88* /night
View Deal
Priceline$89
TripAdvisor$92
Booking.com$92
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates