We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Grand Hotel Eastbourne

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (964)
Room & Suite (308)
Videos (2)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#15 of 40 hotels in Eastbourne
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.6
Value
4.0
Travelers' Choice
England's only five-star seaside hotel, The Grand in Eastbourne is one of the UK's most magnificent hotels. Variously described as a 'White Palace' and 'Wedding Cake', the majestic landmark property occupies a prime spot on the town's seafront with panoramic views along the coast and towards the cliffs at Beachy Head.Facilities include 152 beautiful bedrooms, many with stunning sea views. 2 Award winning Restaurants. Indoor and outdoor heated swimming pools, fully equipped Gymnasium and 8 beauty rooms.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot tub
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Highchairs available
Indoor pool
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles4,057 reviews
Reviews Summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne offers a blend of traditional elegance and modern luxury, with its prime location garnering praise for the stunning sea views. While the hotel's cleanliness, particularly the pristine bathrooms, and its attentive staff are frequently commended, some areas like the spa are noted to need updates. Guests have mixed feelings about the rooms' spaciousness versus their dated decor. Despite the luxurious amenities and dining options, several travelers feel the services are overpriced, affecting the hotel's overall value perception.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Traditional
Rooms
Dated
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Pristine
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Opulent
Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
4057Reviews49Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,438
  • 908
  • 427
  • 187
  • 97
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Joanne B wrote a review Feb 25
Hitchin, United Kingdom5 contributions
+1
Beautiful hotel. Perfectly located on the seafront. Staff were all super friendly from my telephone booking for a suite and spa treatment to the staff we met in the hotel at the entrance, on reception, in the spa and in the lounge bar. Lunch and breakfast were well presented and very enjoyable. The Master Suite had perfect sea views and was incredibly spacious. Will be visiting again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jonathan Webley, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
Responded yesterday
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We take pride in providing the very best of experiences to our guests. We very much hope to welcome you again. With kind regards Samantha Browning - PA to GM
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
vbkurutza wrote a review Aug 2022
London147 contributions
+1
Hotel's Favorite
An impressive exterior (they don't call it the white palace for nothing) leads to some stunning classic interiors. Our room was large and well appointed, heavenly bedding and towels. Drinks in the bars or restaurants were consistently excellent. The Garden Restaurant for dinner and breakfast was well staffed and very good food and presentation. Mirabelle Restaurant for a taster menu with wine pairings (and fireworks outside) was a magical evening. Pool, spa and gym are all wonderful and spotlessly clean. Shout out to Steph for a relaxing massage and nice chat. This is an impressive hotel and not budget friendly but worth it. But the best thing is actually the staff. Everyone is super friendly, sincere and takes time to chat. Rita on reception is an example of the wonderful friendly service. Grazie bella! Really wonderful 4 days mini break for me and my new fiancé
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Jonathan Webley, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
Responded Sep 1, 2022
Thank you for your 5* review. Thrilled to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, from the building and your room to the food and the Spa. Delighted you found the staff friendly and attentive. We hope we can welcome you back again in the future. Best wishes.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read a summary of these reviews, created with our new AI-powered tool.
avatar-image
Howard K wrote a review Feb 25
London, United Kingdom6 contributions
Just a shout out for the staff and management of the Grand Hotel in Eastbourne. Had a first class stay. Excellent room, great food,fantastic architecture and history-highly recommended.Not sure why the review needs to be 200 characters!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jonathan Webley, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
Responded yesterday
Thank you for such a positive review. We are thrilled you had an enjoyable stay. Our Team pride themselves on delivering the very best of experiences to our guests and to hear we have achieved this is always so rewarding. We are pleased you noted the grandeur and architecture of the Hotel. We do hope we can welcome you again. With kind regards Samantha Browning - PA to GM
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
seaview33 wrote a review Feb 18
UK39 contributions
Divine! Our favourite hotel in all the world. And now the cocktail bar is our top bar, try a sidecar for a fabulous drink! Great new leader of the cocktail team, giving a fun new vibe! Delicious cocktail including their own Peaky Blinder, well worth a try!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jonathan Webley, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your 5* review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Our Team pride themselves on providing the very best of experiences to our guests and to hear we have achieved this is always so rewarding. We do hope we can welcome you again. With kind regards Samantha Browning - PA to GM
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
kar04 wrote a review Feb 15
england126 contributions
We arrived on a lovely rainy day and unfortunately the car park is very small so no space available. The reception staff and door staff were very welcoming and the room was beautiful with a great sea view. Quite a small bed for the size of the room however reasonably comfy. Indoor pool and spa facilities are very small! Breakfast was not great- poor selection of continental and the hot breakfast had very small portions and undercooked bacon with staff standing infront of the tables talking about late buses etc so not very professional.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jonathan Webley, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to learn of your disappointment with certain aspects throughout out stay. Car parking spaces can be pre-reserved and charged at £25 per day, this is detailed at reservation stage. Any remaining spaces are on a first come first serve basis. Proposals are in place to renovate our Spa facilities in the near future. Your breakfast experience is far from our guests usual feedback and we apologise that you were inconvenienced. Your comments will be passed on to our Team to focus on improvements. We do hope this has not marred your overall experience and that we may welcome you again. With kind regards Samantha Browning - PA to GM
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Vikki S wrote a review Feb 14
Kent, United Kingdom91 contributions
Apparently the hotel rooms are being refurbished but we were in an old dated room with chipped bath, dated furniture and smelly pillows! Staff were friendly but rooms and drinks are overpriced. We had an inland view which we would have been happy with if they kept the area we looked over clean and tidy.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jonathan Webley, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your feedback. We have corresponded directly on the matter. With kind regards Samantha Browning - PA to GM
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Alison and James wrote a review Feb 13
United Kingdom16 contributions
We visited the spa and then decided to have lunch, we sat in the lounge, the staff were welcoming. We ordered two egg mayo sandwiches which took over 35 mins to arrive!!! They honestly looked like they were bought from a supermarket, the bread was cheap and filling not what you would expect from a 5 star hotel, a few broken cheap crisps on the side and a couple of leaves of limp lettuce, very dissatisfied, not worth £9.95 per sandwich. Come on Grand Hotel, this is not acceptable for a 5 star establishment!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Don’t have the egg mayo sandwich
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jonathan Webley, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to learn of your disappointment with your lounge experience. This is not the standard we adhere to. Your comments have been passed on to our Chef. Please do accept our apologies that this would have had an impact on your afternoon. If we had been made aware at the time, we would have addressed the same. We do hope this has not marred your overall experience and that we may welcome you again. With kind regards Samantha Browning - PA to GM
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tara Downes wrote a review Feb 13
London, United Kingdom4 contributions
+1
Stayed for 3 days for my wedding. The Suite we had is very spacious, with it’s own lounge separated the bedroom and the view in the balcony is spectacular. Room service is fantastic and all staff are very friendly. The only thing we notice is it becomes very hot in the afternoon. Understandble because it’s an old hotel so modern AC could not ne installed. We had an air cooler but not enough. Our wedding there is magical and a dream. A bit of hiccups but every weddings have some little drama 🎭 All in all, we had a fantastic weekend with friends and family celebrating a wedding tk remember. Special thanks to Tracey C. for organizing everything for our wedding. You have been amazing and the way you treated us supersedes some small negative experience we had during the wedding reception. I was supposed to write it all but because you are so amazing, I just leave it all. I hope that Grand Hotel see that you are the best asset they have. I know it’s late but Thank You Grand Hotel Eastbourne for making our wedding extra special.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jonathan Webley, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are delighted you had such an enjoyable and memorable stay with us to celebrate your special day. It will be a pleasure to pass on your kind comments. We do hope we can welcome you both again. With kind regards Samantha Browning - PA to GM
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
734aoife wrote a review Feb 13
London, United Kingdom7 contributions
This was a 50th present from my siblings. I visited with my teenage son as a treat for him as he’s doing exams. I was really disappointed - the place is lovely but the service is not great (except the door staff who were v friendly). For a 5* hotel, the breakfast is mediocre- the buffet is just ok. Small selection - bad quality pastries and juices. The hot food which is ordered separately is also just ok - cold eggs, undercooked bacon, cold pancakes (that look like they were bought in Tesco), served without the maple syrup.if you got this in an average cafe in London, you’d send it back. We ate at the hotel one night - in the Garden Restaurant - as the other was closed. My son wore a shirt for the occasion! Dinner was just ok. Small portions but tasty. Avoid the fish of the day and the scallop and prawn gratin - the fish was not fresh - possibly frozen - very chewy and no crisp on the gratin. Cocktails are expensive- approx £19 but good. We didn’t have wine. I had two treatments in the spa which were very good. I paid the bill the night before leaving to avoid a queue on exit, as we had a train to catch back to London. I paid the bill over 2 hours after I had a drink at the bar. On leaving in the morning , I was told that I hadn’t paid for a drink - this was not said in a nice way. Anyhow, i thought that I had already paid. I said I would run up to my room to get my receipt (I had left it there not thinking I’d need proof of payment), and the receptionist said fine. When I got up there the key card wouldn’t work. I ran back down and said that I couldn’t enter the room. The receptionist said this was because it was after checkout. (Would they not have told me this before I went?). Anyhow, I had a train to catch so didn’t have time to discuss further, or run up again, and I paid for the drink, which I may or may not have already paid for. Their explanation was that the drink was put on the room (coincidentally) 1 minute after I paid the night before. 1 minute - hmmm. It was just their manner - not friendly, not nice, not kind. Is it because we had Irish accents- they may have assumed we weren’t worth investing in as customers? Is it because we may have been considered slightly underdressed? I was dressed for walking which I did a lot of and Eastbourne is great for this. My son is a teenage boy. I don’t know. It didn’t make me feel good. So I won’t be back.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Buy some water for the room to drink
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jonathan Webley, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to learn that certain aspects of your stay fell below expectations. Your comments have been noted and shared with our Team. This is not the standard we adhere to and apologise for any inconvenience caused. If we had been made aware at the time, we would have addressed the same. We are sorry for any misunderstanding on your paying your bill and on check out. Not all extras are added to a persons profile immediately. Again, we apologise you were made to feel uncomfortable by this. We wish to reassure you that we would never hold any prejudice against our guests and always provide the best service. We are a very diverse and multicultural Hotel . We do sincerely hope that we can welcome you again. With kind regards Samantha Browning - PA to GM
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Selsdonian wrote a review Feb 4
Croydon, United Kingdom58 contributions
The dining room did not understand ‘no seafood’ offering a fish dish and then a different kind of fish. It would seem that you have to use their preferred terms - no fish; no molluscs; no crustaceans …. Sunday breakfast was a challenge - nearly 60 minutes wait for cooked breakfast and one meal delivered was not what was ordered (but we could not wait another hour to sort it out).
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jonathan Webley, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to learn of your disappointment during your dining experience. We take food allergens very seriously and have an obligation to ensure procedures are followed. There are 14 allergens, 3 of these are Fish, Custaceans (such as prawns, crabs & lobsters) and Molluscs (such as mussels & oysters). We apologise if our Team appeared to be questioning your dietary requirements, this certainly was not our intention. It was a busy weekend resulting in a very large number of guests arriving for breakfast at the same time. We do hope this has not marred your overall experience and that we may welcome you again. With kind regards Samantha Browning - PA to GM
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Eastbourne area.
PRICE RANGE
$208 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
eastbourne grand hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast SussexEastbourne
NUMBER OF ROOMS
152
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE GRAND HOTEL EASTBOURNE - Updated 2024 Prices & Reviews (England)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
Which popular attractions are close to The Grand Hotel Eastbourne?
Nearby attractions include Devonshire Park Theatre (0.2 miles), Towner Art Gallery (0.2 miles), and Eastbourne Lifeboat Museum (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Grand Hotel Eastbourne?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Grand Hotel Eastbourne?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at The Grand Hotel Eastbourne?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Grand Hotel Eastbourne?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sabaidee Thai Restaurant, Rosetto, and Godfrey's Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Grand Hotel Eastbourne?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and locker rooms available in the fitness center during their stay.
Is The Grand Hotel Eastbourne located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Eastbourne.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Grand Hotel Eastbourne?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Grand Hotel Eastbourne?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Grand Hotel Eastbourne offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Grand Hotel Eastbourne?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Redoubt Fortress & The Pavilion (1.4 miles) and East Dean War Memorial (3.4 miles).