We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Grand Hotel Eastbourne

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,506 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,485: English reviews
Start your review of The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
 Click to rate
Parma, Italy
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Booked here for a overnight with my husband and from the minute we drove up it was five star, they had parking reservation at the door with our name as a SLH member, staff were great and room was nice and spacious overlooking the sea. We ate a nice meal in the restaurant and had a great stay. The hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chelsea1977
geguestrelations, Guest Relations Assistant at The Grand Hotel Eastbourne, responded to this review

We are delighted you were pleased with your stay and appreciate you sharing your thoughts. Thank you.

Lewes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I've just spent a most enjoyable weekend break with my pregnant daughter at The Grand. On arrival we were made to feel most welcome and at all times the staff were polite and courteous. The food was superb and the waiting service excellent. The bedroom which we had was a bit old fashioned but very clean and adequate for our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jinnybriant
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Unfortunately the Afternoon tea did not live up to the 5 star rating of the hotel. Sandwiches were tasteless, cakes were either dry or devoid of filling, service was cold. The only decent item was the mini quiche. I wouldn't go out of my way to return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jon W
geguestrelations, Guest Relations Assistant at The Grand Hotel Eastbourne, responded to this review

We are sorry that you had cause to leave this review. Our afternoon teas are extremely popular. The sandwiches are freshly prepared each afternoon and the cakes freshly baked by our pastry chef. The lounge staff do regular satisfaction checks and would most willingly have replaced or replenished items had your disappointment been brought to their attention. We offer our...

London
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We recently stayed here with our two boys (4 & 7 years old) for a 2 night break in a junior suite. The room was great and perfect size for all 4 of us - we got upgraded to a sea view which meant we had a balcony and table/chairs to sit out on. The hotel itself is very much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JB21
Wadhurst, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We have had several Sunday lunches at this hotel, but never stayed before. As we were meeting up with friends who had travelled from Devon we thought we spend the night at the hotel. Breakfast the next day was a total fiasco, not something expected from a 5 star hotel. it took 30 minutes to cook a poached egg and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank June B
geguestrelations, Guest Relations Assistant at The Grand Hotel Eastbourne, responded to this review

Your reviewed experience is clearly disappointing and not in anyway reflective of our usual standards. We would have welcomed a chance to rectify this situation at the time. Please accept our sincere apologies.

essex
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Wonderful setting , beautiful decor ,, fantastic service , lovely quiet music in the background , wine pricey but that's to be expected , very knowledgeable wine waiter , excellent service , staff very friendly and helpful , great selection on the menu and very tasty ,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank niaguk
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a "grand" hotel which means it also the building and facilities are a little dated which is in no small means compensated for excellent service from all staff. Beware that the beds are soft and on the small side (suggest twin vs double) and that there is no AC.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank charles6351
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel has everything expected of five stars....the staff are extra polite and all amenities are first class. Great location..great walk up to Beachy Head.Visit the Pier...Victorian tea room excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Graham H
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We popped in on Easter Sunday on the off chance of enjoying a glass of champagne at the bar and then we were going to move on somewhere else. However we ended up staying for nearly three hours. It was wonderful. The staff were lovely. We didn't even notice the sign at the door which said all areas were full...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynne L
Hastings, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went for afternoon tea for two and we we're served tea which was cold to start we waited 45 minutes to be served with food even though we had pre booked, we asked to change a sandwich filling and was going to be charged extra and therefore not be served the other selections. Overpriced for the service you get and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CherryD73
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

423 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (331)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (62)
Viewed
Room/Suite (56)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (147)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (92)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 41 in Eastbourne
2,787 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#25 of 41 in Eastbourne
1,245 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
#9 of 41 in Eastbourne
877 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
0.3 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#5 of 41 in Eastbourne
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Mirabelle Restaurant
Mirabelle Restaurant
Cuisines: European, British
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
England's only five-star seaside hotel, The Grand in Eastbourne is one of the UK's most magnificent hotels. Variously described as a 'White Palace' and 'Wedding Cake', the majestic landmark property occupies a prime spot on the town's seafront with panoramic views along the coast and towards the cliffs at Beachy Head.Facilities include 152 beautiful bedrooms, many with stunning sea views. 2 Award winning Restaurants. Indoor and outdoor heated swimming pools, fully equipped Gymnasium and 8 beauty rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Eastbourne

Address: King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Price Range: $191 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel Eastbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Hotel Eastbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbourne Grand Hotel
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Grand Hotel Eastbourne staff and other travelers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from The Grand Hotel Eastbourne staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“as per above twin vs double bed will make for better night sleep”
charles6351, 1 week ago | Read review
“All the rooms we have stayed in have been perfect”
zoe123England, 1 week ago | Read review
“The room we stayed in was a little stuffy and would bear this in mind for our next visit.”
Sim1670, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Pay a bit more for the sea view”
DWD26, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Go for sea view.”
micks996, 4 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question