We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Oban

Hotels.com$102*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Oban
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

213 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 210: English reviews
Start your review of Oban
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here with a large group. Considering how many of us there were, the staff were terrific and the catering very good. Dinner orders were taken in the morning so that when we sat down, the food pre-ordered arrived promptly. Everything was beautifully presented. Some dishes had a 'retro' feel eg. Tinned fruit (!) and slightly soggy vegetables, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline W
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A clean tidy hotel which is well run with a fabulous location. We upgraded to a sea view room which i would recommend. They all have a sink in the room (so I am told) with a separate toilet and shower en-suite. But never mind that enjoy the view and take in what this quaint and lovely little town has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gene692017
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at the Oban hotel for 2 nights from 29th April - 1st May. Had my doubts at first but soon was proved wrong. The room was clean, bed was comfy with a wonderful seaview, bathroom was small but well-made, no window but nice balcony (would have liked to have gone outside but hey-ho), flat-screen TV with basic channels and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joseph S
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here this week, travelling with Bakers Dolphin. What a wonderful place to stay, excellent hotel, very accommodating staff and delicious food. We had a room with a view out to the sea - it was beautiful. The manager (Vin) made us feel welcome and worked hard to make sure our stay ran smoothly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mariacave27
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We Have just returned home from a one night stay at this hotel 22nd of April 2017 and it was an enjoyable stay. The Hotel is in a great location on the seafront and we found parking was easy right outside of the Hotel, and we had a voucher to park for 24 hours for just £1, the general appearance...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MauriceIsleofWight
Kent
Reviewed April 10, 2017

Stayed for one night over the weekend in lovely Eastbourne, beautiful weather and the hotel is located at the quiter end of the town right on the seafront opposite some lovely sloping lawns, great for walks. The Manager (Vin) and his team of staff make you feel very welcome indeed and Vin was there on arrival and departure to greet...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank gbee60
Swindon, Wiltshire
Reviewed November 22, 2016

The single room was shabby, smelling of cleaning spray,which made my eyes water and my throat itchy , the Owner was rude ,patronizing and when he eventually returned to the Hotel at 9pm I was not confident enough to find another accommodation, therefore I stayed in a backroom, slightly larger but old and shabby , I decided to leave the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ina D
Customerservices_obn, General Manager at Oban, responded to this review

Dear Ina D, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. When you checked in your room you mentioned you were concerned the lift noise would keep you up and that the size of the room was not as you expected (you made no mention about cleaning product smells). Despite our reception staff informing you that the lift...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 10, 2016

We booked 3 Rooms at this hotel for the towns yearly Marathon event. All in all a very accommodating hotel. Staff friendly and obliging, rooms spacious and inviting with some quirky features. They brought forward their breakfast time to accommodate all runners and made some scrummy porridge to help us to a good start. Our first time to this hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gilliancaine2016
haywards heath
Reviewed October 4, 2016

The staff at this hotel are very good, the manager does a great job and makes you feel very welcome. The room we had 26, was bigger than expected, especially for the price. Breakfast was very good, brought to the table, rather than help yourself. The bar is a bit of a letdown, although we didn't use only seemed to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank david b b
Holyhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 1, 2016

We were warmly welcomed by a charming manager(Owner?) Our rooms were clean, the meals tasty and the young staff seemed to just glide around our tables and were lovely. It had been planned for a disabled friend to be with me, However, she was unable to travel. It was just as well as this hotel would never have been suitable...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 21cyndyc
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#9 of 40 in Eastbourne
436 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
898 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
New Wilmington Hotel
New Wilmington Hotel
#11 of 40 in Eastbourne
512 reviews
0.2 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
2,862 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waterside Hotel
Waterside Hotel
#30 of 40 in Eastbourne
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi

Additional Information about Oban

Address: King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Price Range: $78 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oban 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oban Hotel Eastbourne
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#11 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Oban staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Oban staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Get a sea view but not a single room”
  • You can wash your feet while on the toilet !
102carolinew, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Sea view rooms have small ensures with sink in the room, but still worth upgrading to.”
gene692017, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Our room had a sea view and was very nice”
mariacave27, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“we had room number 20 on the second floor near the lift”
MauriceIsleofWight, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Sorry I could not recommend any room.”
inad950, Nov 22, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Hotels.com
$102* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.com$102
Priceline$102
Hotwire.com$102
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates