We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Sheldon

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Sheldon
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

192 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 184: English reviews
Berkshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for just one night. On arrival we were told we didn't have breakfast included my wife thought we did but after a long drive couldn't not be bothered to get the lap top out and look for an email. Agreed to pay extra for breakfast £7.50 each even for my children 5 and 7......... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ann H
Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. You chose a discounted rate that did not include breakfast (hence the discount), we also make it clear that we charge £7.50 per head for breakfast regardless of age. We have no other way to communicate with you than via our pages, so you really need to read the information available... More 

Kent
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Enjoyed our stay here, lovely large room, very comfy beds and breakfast was superb. Stay in Eastbourne quite often when we book a show, first time we stayed at this hotel and will again. Highly recommend

Helpful?
Thank richardlizabeth
Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review

Thank you very much. More 

Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2016

Booked this months ago through a booking company. The price was very reasonable as it included breakfast and parking. Just spent one night so that I could go to a show at the Congress theatre. Nice to be given a single room that wasn't at the top of the building. Though it was a single room it was very comfortable... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marion A
Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review

As this is family owned and run, we live on-site and are available at all times. There is a bell in reception to attract our attention. I don't want signs all over the house, it depersonalizes the experience (In our experience people don't read signs and generally people ask questions answered on the signs! Rather proving my point you didn't... More 

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2016

My wife and I stayed just the one night as we were going t the Congress to see a show and I do not like night driving now so we stay the night and travel back I daylight the next day. We use the Sheldon as the price is very reasonable, you have the free use of the carpark. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laurie02
Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review

Thank you very much - as you rightly say, booking direct is always the best guest option, why pay a third party commission when you can save by booking direct! More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2016

Our room was absolutely lovely. Large double bed, roll top bath,lots of towels etc. Another big bonus is the off street parking. For those of you who regularly visit Eastbourne you will know how important this is. Nothing worse than searching for parking after a long drive. The breakfast was good, although not as warm as my wife would have... More 

Helpful?
Thank Johnofthebow
Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review

thank you More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night at the start of August, although we were only in the room for about 8 hours. The room was a very good size, facilities and location are perfect. Parking is also free which is a bonus in the area, did not have breakfast due to time restraints but it looked and smelt good!

Helpful?
Thank Gregg M
Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review

thank you More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2016 via mobile

On arrival was very happy to see parking available. My car is big so found it hard to actually get space for it, hubby managed to! Thankfully :) Hotel itself was lovely and clean with great service. The room was very big and the beds were very very comfy :) the children were very happy with the size of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank rebeccaalg
Braintree, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2016

We had a lovely room everything we needed. It was in a quiet zone which we didn't know when we booked. It certainly was except for the early morning call of sea gulls😀 The room was lovely and big, no problem connecting to wi fi. Bed was very comfy. Great having off road parking. All were very friendly and gave... More 

Helpful?
Thank Janet H
Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review

We enjoyed looking after you! More 

Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2016

We had Room 15 which was a large room, with bath and walkin shower within the bedroom area. There was a fridge stocked with fresh milk, water and orange juice, there was also a tray with fresh fruit, biscuits and cakes. The toiletries was lovely. For breakfast you could have just about anything and it was delicious. Lovely hosts and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cassiespon
Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review

Thank you very much More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2016

Not all bad but I think the budget room was over priced at £105. You could not swing a cat in it and it felt more like a single room as was very cramped and the shower was naff. The lift was also not working. Compared to many 4* hotels we have stayed in in Eastbourne, this hotel is in... More 

Helpful?
Thank SharonAtkins
Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review

Please don't be confused by 'hotel' we are bed and breakfast. I understand why you may think we were overpriced, however, you booked during our free airshow and rooms across Eastbourne are at a premium. At the Sheldon during premium events our guests are happy to know they have a space at the hotel and won't have to drive around... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
The Mowbray
The Mowbray
#16 of 78 in Eastbourne
320 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beach Front Guest House
Beach Front Guest House
#4 of 78 in Eastbourne
166 reviews
0.2 mi away
17 Wilmington Square
17 Wilmington Square
#24 of 78 in Eastbourne
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ravilious
Ravilious
#10 of 78 in Eastbourne
367 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sea View Guest House
Sea View Guest House
#7 of 78 in Eastbourne
459 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gyves House
Gyves House
#8 of 78 in Eastbourne
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Sheldon is a 4* family owned and run bed and breakfast. It has 20 lovely en-suite bedrooms with FREE on-site parking, so it ideal for those visiting the theatre, shops, beach, pier and most attractions as you can walk just about anywhere! Wi-fi is available in the hotel, FREE of charge! All our rooms benefit from flat screen TV with satellite, 'Cafe etc...' refreshment tray, towels and Luxury 'Au-Lait' (by Scottish fine soaps) toiletries. We have a room to suit every budget and need - family rooms for up to 5 adults now available! We have a spacious dining room and 2x guest lounges. We look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Sheldon

Address: 9-11 Burlington Place, Eastbourne BN21 4AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Price Range: $65 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sheldon 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Sheldon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheldon Hotel Eastbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Sheldon staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Sheldon staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“we stayed in room 29 which was very good just over the drive going to the car park.”
 of 5 bubbles Laurie02, Sep 30, 2016 | Read review
“Room 17 and 18 are in quiet zones”
 of 5 bubbles 570JanetH, Aug 16, 2016 | Read review
“Room 15, most expensive but large room, very quiet apart from seagulls.”
 of 5 bubbles Cassiespon, Aug 16, 2016 | Read review
“don't go for a budget room!! Not good value for money”
 of 5 bubbles SharonAtkins, Aug 16, 2016 | Read review
“We were in 31 which is very large with a bath and separate shower”
 of 5 bubbles JennyH669, Apr 4, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay