We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sheldon

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Sheldon
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

187 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 179: English reviews
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW via mobile

Stayed here for one night at the start of August, although we were only in the room for about 8 hours. The room was a very good size, facilities and location are perfect. Parking is also free which is a bonus in the area, did not have breakfast due to time restraints but it looked and smelt good!

Helpful?
Thank Gregg M
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

On arrival was very happy to see parking available. My car is big so found it hard to actually get space for it, hubby managed to! Thankfully :) Hotel itself was lovely and clean with great service. The room was very big and the beds were very very comfy :) the children were very happy with the size of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank rebeccaalg
Braintree, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a lovely room everything we needed. It was in a quiet zone which we didn't know when we booked. It certainly was except for the early morning call of sea gulls😀 The room was lovely and big, no problem connecting to wi fi. Bed was very comfy. Great having off road parking. All were very friendly and gave... More 

Helpful?
Thank Janet H
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had Room 15 which was a large room, with bath and walkin shower within the bedroom area. There was a fridge stocked with fresh milk, water and orange juice, there was also a tray with fresh fruit, biscuits and cakes. The toiletries was lovely. For breakfast you could have just about anything and it was delicious. Lovely hosts and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cassiespon
Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review

Thank you very much More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Not all bad but I think the budget room was over priced at £105. You could not swing a cat in it and it felt more like a single room as was very cramped and the shower was naff. The lift was also not working. Compared to many 4* hotels we have stayed in in Eastbourne, this hotel is in... More 

Helpful?
Thank SharonAtkins
Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review

Please don't be confused by 'hotel' we are bed and breakfast. I understand why you may think we were overpriced, however, you booked during our free airshow and rooms across Eastbourne are at a premium. At the Sheldon during premium events our guests are happy to know they have a space at the hotel and won't have to drive around... More 

Swanley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked a 4 night Superior En Suite Single room,with free breakfast.I asked on arrival of the free breakfast,you don't get with Special Offer.I contacted the booking website Venere.com.I was suppose to get a free breakfast for 4 days in the deal.The owner male said ask my wife.Advertising an advert that specifies something for free in a deal that does... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julian C
Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review

You were unable to produce your confirmation that you had booked a superior room with breakfast, and the confirmation I received had 'classic single' Room Only. Over night you poured a whole can of beer over the mattress, which along with the bedding had to be cleaned. I explained that I had taken money from your card to ever the... More 

Arundel, Maine
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

After spending 10 days walking from Winchester to Eastbourne, we were ready for some comforting....and we got it at The Sheldon! This little family- owned jewel, where we stayed two delightful nights, gave us a great room, wonderful English breakfasts, a helping hand when we needed to find a self-service laundry to wash our hiking clothes, and a great central... More 

Helpful?
Thank FinnegansFriend
Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review

Thank you very much, we really enjoyed meeting you More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I stayed at The Sheldon again, this time for 19 nights. It was perfect all round. I could not fault anything. Judith & Greg were just wonderful, making sure that my stay was comfortable, and that I had everything I needed. My room was lovely,and very clean with an en suite, plus free WiFi. There was also free off road... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review

Thank you so much... It is always a pleasure! More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016 via mobile

Booked 4 rooms here as we had a family wedding all rooms were great especially the large one for the bridesmaids to get ready.the flowers were stored and looked after for us and our busy coming in and out was met with patience.great friendly helpful staff and lovely breakfast and a great welcome from the owners all of us enjoyed... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank revalation1983
Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review

Thank you very much, and thank you for trusting us with your very special day! More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016

We stayed here over the late May bank holiday and had a comfortable stay. The rooms are spacious, bright and have all that you would expect. Our room had a small fridge with fresh milk which is a nice touch. We liked the breakfast which has a lot of variety including omelettes and boiled eggs which made my children happy.... More 

Helpful?
Thank GroovyMamma
Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review

Thank you very much More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
The Mowbray
The Mowbray
#17 of 76 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 304 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beach Front Guest House
Beach Front Guest House
#5 of 76 in Eastbourne
5.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ivydene Guest House
Ivydene Guest House
#3 of 76 in Eastbourne
5.0 of 5 stars 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sea View Guest House
Sea View Guest House
#7 of 76 in Eastbourne
5.0 of 5 stars 429 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Tree Guest House
Bay Tree Guest House
#14 of 76 in Eastbourne
5.0 of 5 stars 207 reviews
0.2 mi away
17 Wilmington Square
17 Wilmington Square
#21 of 76 in Eastbourne
5.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Sheldon is a 4* family owned and run bed and breakfast. It has 20 lovely en-suite bedrooms with FREE on-site parking, so it ideal for those visiting the theatre, shops, beach, pier and most attractions as you can walk just about anywhere! Wi-fi is available in the hotel, FREE of charge! All our rooms benefit from flat screen TV with satellite, 'Cafe etc...' refreshment tray, towels and Luxury 'Au-Lait' (by Scottish fine soaps) toiletries. We have a room to suit every budget and need - family rooms for up to 5 adults now available! We have a spacious dining room and 2x guest lounges. We look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Sheldon

Address: 9-11 Burlington Place, Eastbourne BN21 4AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Price Range: $78 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sheldon 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your The Sheldon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheldon Hotel Eastbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay