We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality

Show Prices
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for your stay
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

533 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 515: English reviews
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Nothing particularly special about this hotel, and nothing particularly bad either. Good location on the seafront and plenty of on-street parking outside. Décor in bedrooms and corridors a bit tired and in need of a refurb. Many of the rooms on the front and side have sea views. We had room 205 which, judging from the fire escape plan, was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Colin E
Warragul, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Not very impressed, the decor was very old and tired and although it probably looked good when new, the grey fake fur curtains in our room were rather creepy rather than funky. The room was quite generous in size and clean, but not very appealing. Breakfast was basic but OK and once again the decor in the lounge/dining area was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Helen M
BSHE1, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Dear Helen M, Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. I note your comments about curtains and decor, I appreciate they are not to everyone's liking. As for parking,... More 

Snettisham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Our first visit to the hotel and overall it was very good, clean room,towels and bed linen. Best described as quirky, the staff that we encountered were excellent and very helpful. Parking was no problem and the wifi was fine. We had the cooked breakfast for an extra £4 and that was very good value. As we left early on... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert T
BSHE1, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Dear Robert T, Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. I also note your comments about staff and cleanliness. Thank you for taking the time to leave... More 

Market Deeping, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great location with easy access to Town Centre. No frills and similar to a Travel Lodge but on 3 floors. Don't expect anything special and you won't be disappointed but everywhere was clean, room was clean and well kept if rather on the small side, even for a single traveller. Bathroom sink was too small to be usable effectively and... More 

Helpful?
Thank David M
BSHE1, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Dear David M, Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed elements of your stay. I am surprised that the sheet didnt fit the bed, i will raise this issue with... More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

stayed here a few times with my sister visting the annual eastbourne "steampunk festival", free two day event along seafront + literally across the road from this hotel, ideal! we like it here as its no frills, clean, simple accommodation, inexpensive + ideal for getting to + from festival. we had triple room + with seaview, beds were comfey enough... More 

Helpful?
Thank Deborah B
BSHE1, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Dear Deborah B, Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. I also note your comments about cleanliness. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.... More 

London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is pitched as a budget hotel with a funky, modern look. From their website, it looked as if they were going for a sort of upmarket, quirky Berlin hostel feel and it was obvious this was what they were attempting. Sadly, the reality was just awful. The carpets looked as if someone had sprinkled cleaning powder and forgotten to... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank SoloAdventurerLondon
BSHE1, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Dear SoloAdventurerLondon, Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. I am surprised at the points you have raised especially the linen, the linen we use is not... More 

Travelers are raving about these Eastbourne hotels

Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Two minute walk to congress theatre. lovely views, right on the sea front. hotel practical no frills but all you need, clean, bed comfortable pillows too hard though. Flat screen TV, Tea/coffee, some toiletries, hair dryer, telephone, continental breakfast included cooked breakfast available at £4 extra pp. Parking close by for a small charge. Really enjoyed our stay would definately... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shirley W
BSHE1, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Dear Shirley W, Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. I also note your comments about cleanliness. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Looks like it was upgraded in the 60s then left !! No disabled access !! Bed and breakfast is continental breakfast, if you want a English breakfast it will cost you more than the same at Asda! Room cleanliness is about 1 out of 10 we were there 6 night's and don't think it was cleaned once. We paid over... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael B
BSHE1, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I am sorry about disabled access, but we have informed you about it as soon as... More 

Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a great hotel if you are looking for a simple clean and vfm place to stay in Eastbourne. It is right on the seafront and a 10 minute walk in town. It is surrounded by plenty of choice for eating. We ate at Little Italy, which I can highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Pete L
BSHE1, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Dear Pete L, Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We do hope you return to us... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had booked this as a reasonably priced option for a quick weekend getaway and was extremely impressed. Not only good value, but the room was nice and clean, with a lovely power shower and even tea/coffee making facilities and a continental breakfast was included which had all the favourites on offer. The hotel itself also boasted a very nice... More 

Helpful?
Thank EHopkin
BSHE1, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Dear EHopkin, Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. I also note your comments about cleanliness. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We do... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

146 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (129)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Eastbourne Town Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#16 of 44 in Eastbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 689 reviews
0.2 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#2 of 44 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 44 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 718 reviews
0.0 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#7 of 44 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 376 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oban
Oban
#22 of 44 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A 50 bedroom designer limited service hotel on Eastbourne's seafront, offering fantastic value for money, great sea views and exciting new horizons in interior design. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality

Address: King Edwards Parade | King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Price Range: $39 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, ACCOR, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sleep Hotel
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay