We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Mowbray

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Mowbray
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

332 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 322: English reviews
Start your review of The Mowbray
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

I was booked into The Mowbray by work for two consecutive weeks. Extremely comfortable experience with every small detail taken into account to ensure guests have everything. In my situation, I was leaving each day before breakfast was served, so a lovely little packed lunch was kindly prepared for me each day to take with me. Lovely friendly staff make...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charli M
England
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We have just returned from our one night stay in Eastbourne and The Mowbray, and we would definitely return to this hotel. We have stayed in Eastbourne a few times but have previously chosen to stay in large chain hotels, but tried this one due to the excellent value and reviews, and we are glad we did. We were offered...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank minx28
Northiam, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My husband was in intensive care at The Eastbourne General Hospital, I booked in my Irish family on the Saturday night not being able to confirm how long they would be staying. They stayed till the Monday but all the time the staff and owners where happy to keep their rooms available if we required them longer. It was a...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiona K
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked the Mowbray for 4 nights for a family funeral, not at all disappointed with anything. Breakfast was out of this world better choice that most 5star hotels, we hat the Quad superior room 16 , massive room with two windows on each wall with good views, very clean, 5 other of our family stayed for 2 days and they...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank DaveFinney1951
Manchester
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Service was very good, welcoming and flexible with date changes. Room is comfortable, although I think they've forgotten to hoover our room as there were a few candies on the floor, dust etc. I personally prefer strong and v warm showers. The room we had, the water was quite weak for me. Location is perfect distance for nearby good food,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 889cat
themowbray, Owner at The Mowbray, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We can assure you that the room was hovered before your arrival. Also we have never had mention the water pressure in the room you had before. It could be that you were not using the controls properly. If you had mentioned either of these issues at the time then I am sure we would...

Croydon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Little review of my recent stay at The Mowbray. Very friendly owner with a very reasonable rate for a twin room (booked 2/3 weeks prior to a very busy weekend). Room was a comfortable size and the beds were very comfortable- a nice touch with biscuits and water included in the room, we had a room on a high floor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gregmartin2017
Greenhithe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for two nights in a superior room. Very clean and spacious rooms. Beds very comfy with plenty of pillows and good quality linen. Coffee machine in the room, plus plenty of tea and coffee, even hot chocolate. Fruit, biscuits and sweets also provided, everything seems to have been thought of. Breakfast was excellent, lots of choice from the continental...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank H M
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The room was clean and cozy. Staff at the reception was helpful. The guest house is near the theatre and not far from the seaside. Excellent breakfast: good quality of service and good choice for a continental or an English breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tosapai
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Having booked an impromptu night in Eastbourne I didn't do much research but my luck was in. For the price I would say this establishment is excellent. Great location (central but quiet). Beautifully kept interiors and a pleasant breakfast. I do appreciate it wouldn't be a great choice for people of poor mobility but that wasn't a concern for us....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed December 19, 2016

My wife and I own a 4-Star Guest Lodge in Johannesburg so, have high expectations of similar establishments. Mowbray can relax. It is a well-run boutique hotel in a good location, close to the sea and Town Centre. The room we stayed in was well-appointed and clean. Thoroughly enjoyed the comprehensive breakfasts served by friendly, competent staff. And, as for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alan_Sampson
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

90 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (73)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 42 in Eastbourne
2,529 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#20 of 42 in Eastbourne
1,202 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 42 in Eastbourne
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
#9 of 42 in Eastbourne
829 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
0.1 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#8 of 42 in Eastbourne
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mowbray is a 13 bedroom contemporary style guesthouse. Located in the heart of theatreland and just 30 seconds from the beech - everything is in walking distance. Free Street parking is available, Free Wi-fi throughout. Bar, lounge, honesty bar, DVD players, 200+ DVD library, playstation available, all recently refurbished. Also specialise in Murder Mystery events! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Mowbray

Address: 2 Lascelles Terrace, Eastbourne, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Price Range: $46 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mowbray 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Mowbray reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mowbray Hotel Eastbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Mowbray staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question
5 days ago
Bentham, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Mowbray staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Book room 16. More expensive that the others but worth it”
 of 5 bubbles DaveFinney1951, 1 week ago | Read review
“There is a lift to all rooms but not dining room”
 of 5 bubbles WilmaKent, Nov 20, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for bigger room if available.”
 of 5 bubbles RobB836, Nov 14, 2016 | Read review
“Couldn't find fault with any of the rooms we booked.”
 of 5 bubbles RhonaB585, Sep 26, 2016 | Read review
“The top floor room 16 had a view of Devonshire park Tennis club”
 of 5 bubbles I406AHsarahb, Sep 3, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question