Mai Samui Beach Resort & Spa

Mai Samui Beach Resort & Spa

2/6 Moo 5, Laem Yai Beach, Ang Thong 84140 Thailand
Traveler (1977)
Panorama at the Mai Samui Resort & Spa
360
Panoramas (8)
Private Pool Villa
Room & Suite (184)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#3 of 8 hotels in Ang Thong
Location
3.9
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.6
Value
4.4

Mai Samui Resort & Spa is an excellent choice for travelers visiting Ang Thong, offering a romantic environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

The rooms offer a flat screen TV, a minibar, and air conditioning, and getting online is possible, as free wifi is available, allowing you to rest and refresh with ease.

Mai Samui Hotel features a concierge and room service. In addition, as a valued Mai Samui Hotel guest, you can enjoy a pool and free breakfast that are available on-site. Guests arriving by vehicle have access to free parking.

Travelers looking to enjoy some burritos can head to The Road Less Travelled Samui. Otherwise, you may want to check out a Mediterranean restaurant such as Pla Pla or Nettuno.

There is no shortage of things to do in the area, and there are several great attractions that are within walking distance of Mai Samui Hotel, including Pha Jun Jaras Viewpoint (0.1 mi) and Blue Lagoon (Emerald Lake) (0.1 mi).

Enjoy your stay in Ang Thong!

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Wifi
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room service
Safe
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Lagoon View
Great View
Languages Spoken
Thai

Location

2/6 Moo 5, Laem Yai Beach, Ang Thong 84140 Thailand
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 45 out of 100
45
Koh Samui Airport
10.2 mi
See all flights
1,792Review57Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,119
  • 427
  • 152
  • 54
  • 40
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Polina wrote a review Jan 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I want to say a big thanks to all staff trying to make our vacation wonderful! The territory is big, green, clean and silent! The architecture is minimalistic and truly harmonic, every detail is thought out. The beach is clean, good view location for sunset and was only for us:) No any other people, you may stay absolutely safety your phone on the sunbed. The rooms are big, the bed is comfortable and I was happy to see the bath on the balcony!❤️
The assistants always asking us about accommodation. We talked about disadvantages and it was corrected in that day.
Big thanks to Tek, our su-chef who is always trying to help all guests with everything: starting with bringing the food on the breakfast and he remembers what drink you like, don’t worry!:) ending with any help, like buying smth in the city if we didn’t find it or to cut your fruit on the beach. It was so nice of him and unobstrusive.
This place not far from the port and other destinations. You may rent a bycicle and not far from the hotel me rent a bike.
I would recommend to all people visit this wonderful hotel on Samui.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from maisamui, The Management Team at Mai Samui Beach Resort & Spa
Responded Jan 21, 2020
Dear polya_sviridova, Thank you very much for your great review. We appreciate you for taking the time to share your feedback because we know that other guests do take note of these comments when they are making their choices of where to stay. It is a pleasure to read that you had a wonderful stay with us and that our staff was helpful in every situation, We will be sure to share your kind comments, Thank you for choosing Mai Samui Resort & Spa. We would like to welcome you once again. Please, do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance with your future bookings. Best regards, The Management Team Mai Samui Resort & Spa
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JhedDC wrote a review Jan 2020
Sydney, Australia
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mai samui is a luxury hotel with amazing facilities. The staff have been soo friendly, especially May the massage therapist and Tek the head chef. They staff have gone over the top for us for our honey moon. The food is generous in the buffet, and we enjoyed the daily croissants and any special requests we made, Tek went and fulfilled. We loved watching the sunset and enjoying our cocktails by the beach and in the pool bar. The pool and facilities are cleaned daily and the room service is 24 hours 7 days. Thank you for having us at Mai Samui.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from maisamui, The Management Team at Mai Samui Beach Resort & Spa
Responded Jan 21, 2020
Dear jheddc, Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us following your recent stay! We are delighted to hear you had a great experience with us, from the accomodating staff to the convenient location without forgetting the nice activities available at the property. The hotel will keep our service up to standard and will always do the best to our customers. We're looking forward to welcome you again on your next holidays. Best regards, The Management Team Mai Samui Resort & Spa
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Loopy_Bow88 wrote a review Jan 2024
Berkeley Vale, Australia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We recently stayed at Mai Samui as a family of four with another two families. We found the staff to be very accomodating and helpful whenever we needed anything and the rooms were very nice.

The main pool was enormous which the kids loved and there was an additional three pools they never even used, yes it looked a little dirty but I think that was just the tiles used and the fact it isn’t loaded with chemicals everyday to keep it clear, they have staff cleaning the pool all day every day so the water is clean. The sand at the beach is quite shelly and rocky so not the easiest access if you want to swim but looks nice from the sun beds.

The buffet breakfast was great with a great selection that changed slightly most days. There was only one restaurant available but had a decent range of food to choose from, most things we tried from the menu were quite good although a dedicated kids menu would improve this.

The location isn’t great if you want to be in town and close to everything with lots to do but if you want a quiet and relaxing place it is perfect. They provide shuttle buses into Chaweng and Nathon I believe it was twice a day but they could be more frequent and maybe run a little later as the last bus home is at 4.30 so if you want to go out for dinner you have to organise another way back. You can organise private shuttles through reception which somewhat helps with this.

Not all facilities were available at the time of our stay and the place is a little run down by Australian standards but they were performing maintenance every day to try to restore it to its former beauty pre COVID. Hopefully as business picks up they can start to open all the available facilities to full capacity and get this place back to what it once would have been.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
traveller wrote a review Jun 2022
Seaford Rise, Australia
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at this property as a “Luxury Escape” package - we were booked for 7 nights but left after 5 as it was intolerable - dirty pools run down accommodation 9 guests and 6 staff to try and pretend this was a 5 star resort. Yes it included breakfast and one other meal plus alcoholic drinks, we wondered where the alcohol was hiding , staff whilst nice were unable in 5 days to get our breakfast order correct and I translated all requests on my phone into Thai and still they couldnt get it right. Power outages, no security and an isolated location made my family feel unsafe as well as rotting timber walkways and stagnant water surrounding the property made our stay miserable.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Make sure you check other reviews and importantly WHEN they were made - pictures on site are all...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bob wrote a review Apr 2023
Perth, Australia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent 14 days at Mai Samui Resort with friends on a Luxury Escapes Package.
Ms Dao the Manager and her office staff were very helpful and assisted when required.
The Mai Pub & Restaurant was very good for meals and drinks.The only problem was a shortage of staff during peak times.The available staff were magnificent and under enormous pressure during theses periods.They need extra staff.
Pool bar very popular with a very good barman
The house keeping fell short of what is required.Bathrooms not cleaned and if done was very poor.I had to ask for our room to be cleaned late one afternoon.Friends room went for 3 days before staff attended to cleaning.
In all it was a very nice 2 weeks.
Would we stay there again? Even though isolated we would not hesitate to book accomodation at Mai Samui Resort
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Isolated but they have a shuttle into the main centre and also Nathan Pier town
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Management Team, General Manager at Mai Samui Beach Resort & Spa
Responded Apr 19, 2023
Dear RJM422 Thank you very much for your feedback and time spent writing. We appreciate your review and compliment to our team and understanding. It is pleasure to hear that you had great time during your stay with us. We hope you have enjoyed your time in Koh Samui. We are looking forward to welcome you again upon your next visit. Best regard The Management Team Mai Samui Beach Resort & Spa
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Richie Rich 66 wrote a review Feb 2023
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Our 2nd week was supposed to be quite and restful in 5 star unfortunately it was not.
Had we had booked 3 star then maybe we would have had to go with it. On arrival we had to check with the taxi driver we had arrived. No welcome drink shown to our room.
107A was our room down a long dark corridor the room was dark even when all lights were on. Two single bed which isn’t ideal. No hair dryer which was put right it had been dusted where a short person could reach above that it was left. The room was just generally poor.
The pool was a very poor show cigarette ends in the water, a film on the water and just a general dead insects and twigs it was not safe to go into.
I’m not sure if I am right but only one place to eat which was very dark the food was fine. But on valentines night something more was required.
Breakfast was a really poor affair coffee from an urn and little else
Generally around the boards were unsafe part of the resort had water under foot but others didn’t. The sun beds of which there were plenty were not in a good condition.
We were told the beach was sandy it was not and we could walk to restaurants you could not.
I have tried to be fair and had it been 3 star we would have had to lump it it was not so after 2 days left.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Management Team, General Manager at Mai Samui Beach Resort & Spa
Responded Mar 31, 2023
Dear Rich B Thank you very much for your feedback. We apologize for many inconvenience and unpleasantness occurred during your stay with us. It is regretting to hear that our services did not meet your requirement. We will send your feedback to our team for further improvement. Best regards The Management Team Mai Samui Beach Resorts & Spa
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ross M wrote a review Mar 2023
Seaforth, Australia
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a difficult review because I know the resort is opening up after a long period of shutdown and they are doing their best. The rooms and accommodation in general are just fine, and the staff helpful. Breakfast was also pretty good and the pool bar/ beach bar just great. Also it’s mainly an adults only place. Yes there were children there, but not many do you don’t have 40 kids yelling and jumping into the pool from dawn to dusk.
The problems. First it’s in the middle of nowhere. There is nowhere else to eat, as far as I could figure within kilometres. No great drama if you’re prepared to get a cab into Nathan there and back, about B300 each way.
Second, The staff in the restaurant/ pub are doing their best but the food is pretty ordinary. We ended up having cheeseburgers most night as they seemed the best bet. The fine dining restaurant was shut at the time of our stay.
We went on a luxury escape package, which was initially booked way back in2019, and included a few freebies . We met a number of people who had organised some sort of “ drinks package” that seemed to include all alcoholic drinks all day. Lucky!
At the time of writing, the room we occupied, king bed eith pool access ( which was fabulous) was being advertised on booking.com for $AUD400 which is a bit pricey.
At the end of the day, things can only get better.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms with pool access were fantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Management Team, General Manager at Mai Samui Beach Resort & Spa
Responded Apr 1, 2023
Dear RossmR2560KV Thank you very much for your fair and honest feedback. We appreciate your understanding and compliment towards our team. However, we apologize that many of our services did not meet the expectation. We will send your feedback to our team for further improvement. If there is a chance, we are looking forward to welcome you again in the future. Best regards The Management Team Mai Samui Beach Resorts & Spa
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jacky Z wrote a review Feb 2020
Melbourne, Australia
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband & I stayed at Mai Samui for ten relaxing, enjoyable days!
The premises is just lovely. So peaceful & tropical with a great pool and fabulous ocean views! The sunsets were truly amazing as we enjoyed a cocktail or two at the Beach Bar (also swim up pool bar)
Every staff member were nice and friendly with special mention to Tik (Manager), Tek (No 1 Sous Chef), Pom (she was everywhere)& our friend Mr Pina Colada (can’t remember his name) sorry
Nothing was too much trouble and made our stay so enjoyable!
The room was spacious, clean & comfortable with a wonderful fairly large bathroom including step down bath!
We had a lovely, relaxing time which was exactly what we needed! There were activities if you chose to do these (we didn’t)
The resort is set away from the hustle & bustle so was perfect for us.
Three eating areas were operating during our stay The more formal International Restaurant, The Mai Pub - Thai Restaurant /also where breakfast was served every day & the Beach Bar/Restaurant!
The food all comes from the same kitchen & we enjoyed every meal we had - Well done Tek & team!
Would totally recommend The Mai Samui Resort! We loved it!
Dino & Jacky
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from maisamui, The Management Team at Mai Samui Beach Resort & Spa
Responded Feb 18, 2020
Dear JackyZ538, Greetings from the Mai Samui Resort & Spa! It is a pleasure to see your positive review and we will proudly forward it to our employees, especially those mentioned in your review (Khun Tik, Khun Tek and Khun Pom) We are glad that you enjoyed excellent service and that you had peaceful days with us at the tranquil west coast of Koh Samui, Laem Yai. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we would love to welcome you back to us again. Best Regards, The Management Team Mai Samui Resort & Spa
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David Williams wrote a review Jan 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I was on a business trip and wanted somewhere to stay and chill out for a few days between customers. Mai Samui was perfect. Tranquil. Clean. Surrounded by lovely places to visit and walk about. Excellent food. Check in staff were most helpful in selecting a room. Hotel managment staff - particularly Tik and Nan in Housekeeping - were most helpful. I want to thank the staff at Mai Samui for making my stay so pleasant. I am sure I will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room with a nice view. The check-in staff knew their rooms and were helpful...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from maisamui, The Management at Mai Samui Beach Resort & Spa
Responded Jan 1, 2020
Dear djmnaaw, We would like to express our sincerely thank you for giving us the great review. We are appreciated that you got the good experienced on your holiday and your review will be shared to our team accordingly. We do hope to welcome you back again for your next visit. Best regards, The Management Team Mai Samui Beach Resort & Spa
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Neil B wrote a review Feb 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great for couples or anyone wanting a quiet resort. The hotel resort is located some ways away from the nearest town, which is great if you want a quiet few days away from it all. There is a shuttle service available to take you to Nathon Pier (about 15 minutes) if you want to hire a scooter for more independence (which I would recommend), or get to a 7-11, laundry, more cafes etc.
The hotel restaurant was good, and the Chef Tek does a great job offering both Thai and Western cuisines. The buffet breakfast was generally pretty good.

The hotel is training more staff and the manager Dao is doing a great job with that. The pool was always spotlessly clean and the beach bar gave a good service. The sun loungers were decent. There is a floating pier to walk out on and although the beach isn't as nice as some beaches on the island, the area with the sun loungers had nice clean sand and was well maintained. There is plenty of beach to walk along, if you turn left (south) but there are better beaches on the island.
The hotel WIFI worked pretty well around the whole resort. also lots of facilities, including a squash court, a couple of pools, a fitness centre and a DVD library.
Overall I'd say bear in mind many resorts are still getting back on their feet post-Covid, so there has been skill fade but as with anywhere in Thailand, the staff will sort things out for you if you let hem know there is a problem.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Rooms on the B side are quieter.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Management Team, General Manager at Mai Samui Beach Resort & Spa
Responded Apr 1, 2023
Dear Neil B Thank you very much for your excellent feedback along with time spent on. It is pleasure to hear that you had wonderful time during your stay with us. We are glad that our services have provided great experience. We hope to be able to welcome you again upon your next visit in Samui Island. Best regards The Management Team Mai Samui Beach Resorts & Spa
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Martin coughlan asked a question Jul 2023
Dublin, Ireland26 contributions38 helpful votes
Hi , what is the all inclusive option like at mai samui Hotel thank you.
Answer from Joseph R
2 contributions
We went choice of 2 meals a day and free flow cocktails for 2 hours. It was terrific
Answer from Ann Allen
6 contributions7 helpful votes
We stayed here for 24 hours and checked out, I am sorry it's dirty, staff rude, breakfast revolting. Read the bad reviews as honestly they are all true. The room was dirty, the pool had mould in it. The glasses in the room hadn't been cleaned properly. Cancel while you can We moved to the Sheraton resort which was brilliant, close to the centre and right on Chewang beach which was gorgeous, clean, soft sand, amazing staff, beautiful room cleaned everyday, amazing breakfast, amazing pools, absolutely brilliant. I struggle to give this place 2 stars. My hunny eats anything but the breakfast was inedible. Minimal choice. The coffee and Tea were in urns and cold and like dishwater.
Sammi wrote a tip Apr 2024
Wirral, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Hire a scooter due to the location"
Read full review
John G wrote a tip Apr 2024
Siem Reap, Cambodia20 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Run your bath early, because it is big enough for a rugby team"
Read full review
Jane5432 wrote a tip Feb 2024
Perth, Australia9 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"There are no sun loungers by the pool, only on the beach. It is too far away from Chaweng beach, 30 mins at least. No shops near the hotel."
Read full review
Angie M wrote a tip Jul 2023
Worldwide4 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Relax and enjoy!"
Read full review
Sandy J wrote a tip Jul 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There are shuttle buses provided to Nathon. Chaweng and Bophut if you don't want to hire a car. There's also a taxi rank just outside the hotel"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ang Thong area.
PRICE RANGE
$50 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mai samui hotel koh samui, mai samui resort and spa
LOCATION
ThailandSurat Thani ProvinceKo SamuiAng Thong
NUMBER OF ROOMS
97
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MAI SAMUI BEACH RESORT & SPA $65 ($̶9̶5̶) - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Mai Samui Beach Resort & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Mai Samui Beach Resort & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Samui Disc Golf (4.8 miles), Lipa Noi Beach (4.9 miles), and Bang Po Beach (1.4 miles).
What are some restaurants close to Mai Samui Beach Resort & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include El Barril, Da Bardo, and Villa Luna.
All Ang Thong HotelsAng Thong Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Ang ThongHotels near Mai Samui Beach Resort & Spa
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars