We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Belmond La Samanna

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Belmond La Samanna
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,064 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Belmond La Samanna
See the most recent reviews
Showing 894: English reviews
Yorktown Heights, New York, United States
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Great accomadations, great service and a beautiful beach!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karen P
Management response:

Dear Karen P, Thanks very much for your kind note, I am very happy you had a great time. See you soon in beautiful and sunny Saint Martin. Best Caribbean regards, Pascal Deyrolle, General Manager.

Zagreb, Croatia
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We came back to the Caribbean to celebrate our 5 year wedding anniversary (as we got married on Anguilla) and we did a tour of three islands, first Anguilla, then St. Barths and lastly St. Maarten. We stayed in total of 4 hotels and La Samanna by far was our favorite. Everything during our stay was PERFECT! We have arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick D
Management response:

Dear Nick D. Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback and for taking the time to write it; I am very glad you had a beautiful time to celebrate your 5th anniversary. I will share your comments with the entire team and congratulate the chef for his chicken wings and burger ;). I cannot apologize enough for the little...

usa
Reviewed June 3, 2012

I can see why this property only has 4 stars and does not rate higher on St Martin. It is a same and should be corrected by the Fine Hotels as currently it does not meet their expectations during the low period. Pros. It is a beautiful piece of property in a great location. The maintenance / housekeeping staff are...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank jrhmdtraumUsa
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review

Dear JrhmadtraumUsa, Thanks for taking the time to share a review of your time at La Samanna. This type of regular feedback from our guests is very helpful, so I personally read through every review that is posted online. I'm pleased to read the positive comments about the property and several of our staff members, however, am truly sorry to...

Abilene, Texas
Reviewed May 30, 2012

My husband and I just returned from our sixth or seventh stay at La Samanna. It was a pleasure from start to finish. Our room was not ready when we arrived and we were treated to drinks and a light snack in the bar. We were upgraded to a renovated suite which was extremely nice and very much appreciated. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sandra G
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review

Dear Sandman9253, Warm greetings from St. Martin. I wanted to reach out to thank you for sharing a review of your recent visit to La Samanna. There is no better compliment in our business than a returning guest, and it's great that you keep having memorable experiences on your vacations at La Samanna. I'm glad we were able to give...

New York City
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed with friends in one of the Villas. They are very modern and with all the amenities you could hope for as well as a superb pool. A bit of a walk to the beach. Did not spend any time in the common rooms or restaurants. Spa was very good. Beach was lovely and kids enjoyed giant floating trampoline....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rdkflk
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review

Dear Rdkflk, Thanks for taking a moment to share your experience on TripAdvisor. I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our Villas. We receive a lot of wonderful feedback from guests who have stayed in those properties. The only drawback is that they are a bit farther from the beach. Thanks for your additional comments about the...

toronto
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Visited with a group (9 ppl). Had high expectations-what a disappointment. Service was non existent, tiny food portions (we are foodies, so we never expect huge portion, but this is beyond belief) and overall lacking the ambience. To top it up, our large round table started collapsing right in front of us. Had to speak with the manager and he...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank nadyad
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review

Dear Nadyad, Greetings from La Samanna! Although we're very sorry for your negative experience at Le Reserve, we do appreciate you taking time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor. I'm happy that we were able to learn about and resolve this issue that evening, it in no way makes up for us not providing the quality dining experience you were...

Ivoti, Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Our stay in La Samana was perfect. We've been around the island, and the beach of La Samana for sure is the best to relax. The hotel was refurnished some years ago, and the rooms are great. Breakfast was also very good. We didn't ave dinner at the hotel. Would love to stay again in La Samana.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Thiago E
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review

Dear Thiago E, Thanks for choosing La Samanna to celebrate your wedding. I wanted to send out a brief note to let you know we also appreciate you taking time to share a review of your experience on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to hear that your stay was "perfect," as that is the type of vacation we strive to...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Good resort, even better Tennis Pro. David Johansson was professional, friendly, and extremely helpful. Under the PBI instruction methodology, David didn't just hit with me, but improved my game with great instruction. Very recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steven A
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review

Dear Steven A, Greetings from St. Martin! Thanks for posting a review of your stay at La Samanna in March. I'm pleased to read that you were happy with our tennis program. We're extremely fortunate to have David Johansson on our team, and we receive tremendous feedback from all of our guests who spend time with him. I'm glad he...

Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed May 3, 2012

La Samanna by Orient-Express sits on a pristine piece of Caribbean beach front property. The ocean views are stunning and the white facade of the property gives it a Mediterranean feel; however, bottom line, we wouldn't stay here again. The service was spotty at best and the prices were exhorbitant. We've stayed at a luxury Orient-Express property on the Riviera...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kteising
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review

Dear Kteising, Thanks for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to St. Martin. I appreciate you sharing a brief review of your experience at La Samanna as well. While I'm pleased that you enjoyed the property and setting, I'm sorry to learn that you weren't as pleased with the level of service and value. As we try...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed May 3, 2012

The La Samanna staff ... from GM, Pascal Deyrolle, to the wait staff ...treated my wife & I like long lost family members. I conversed with Pascal and the concierge upon arrival and they were spot on with their recommendations regarding dining, shopping and entertainment. Our room was an Ocean View 1 BR Suite which I highly recommend for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan_MD_Chicago
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review

Dear Dand_MD_Chicago, Greetings from La Samanna! Thanks again for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit. It was wonderful meeting you and your wife, and I'm pleased that you were happy with all of our recommendations. I wanted to reach out to thank you for sharing a review on your experience at the resort and for recommending the...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,682 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (789)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (127)
Viewed
View from Room (73)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (148)
Viewed
Dining (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (131)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (242)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (888)
Viewed
Amenities (103)
Viewed
Baie Rouge Suite (128)
Viewed
Beach (44)
Viewed
Infinity-Edge Pool (56)
Viewed
Main Pool (61)
Viewed
One-Bedroom Ocean View Suite (128)
Viewed
Dining (142)
Viewed
The Hotel (81)
Viewed
Villa (145)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Terres Basses
8.1 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
6.7 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,732 reviews
7.9 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
7.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
2,177 reviews
8.2 mi away
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in Oyster Pond
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Belmond La Samanna nestles amongst lush gardens overlooking 55 acres of spectacular beachfront. A complete resort in itself, Belmond La Samanna offers a spectacular private beach, two poolside terraces, 83 luxurious rooms and suites and 8 recently renovated 4600sq. ft. villas with private pools. Enjoy its sophisticated food offerings and award winning wine cellar, indulge in its European Elysees Spa, or simply enjoy the privacy and relaxation of this sophisticated and sensual French-Caribbean enclave. Gourmet dishes are served in the elegant Trellis, and Baie Longue Bar offers pool-side dining and views of Baie Long Beach. Dine on your private terrace and later enjoy a drink from the wine cellar. Belmond La Samanna is everything you could wish for in a Caribbean hideaway. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Belmond La Samanna

Address: Baie Longue | PO Box 4077, Terres Basses 86200, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Terres Basses
Price Range: $514 - $1,589 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond La Samanna 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Belmond, West Indies, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond La Samanna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Samanna By Orient-Express Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
La Samanna Hotel
La Samanna Resort St Martin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Belmond La Samanna staff and other travelers.
26 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (26)

Questions? Get answers from Belmond La Samanna staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“deluxe rooms are in hotel all suites are in cottages radiatiing out from hotel left and right - all have beach front views”
 of 5 bubbles martinmould, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Suites overlooking the ocean and with a private plunge pool, covered rooftop gazebo and amazing views”
 of 5 bubbles RichP135, 5 weeks ago | Read review
“Do not get a room too far from main building...but not too close either!”
 of 5 bubbles CMSCLS, Feb 14, 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms with porches allow easy beach access”
 of 5 bubbles Dufferme, Feb 14, 2017 | Read review
“Stay in a room away from the main hotel for a more intimate/quiet experience. Watch out for sand fleas and mosquitoes.”
  • View from our roof deck
  • View from the roof deck of our suite
  • Complimentary planters punch on arrival enjoyed on our lovely terrace.
  • Caribbean Sunset
 of 5 bubbles malibuu1, Jan 28, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question