We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Samanna, A Belmond Hotel, St Martin

Save
Share
Baie Longue, Terres Basses 97064 St Martin / St Maarten
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
$1,095
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/15/21
Destinia.com
$1,065
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/13/21
eDreams
Booking.com$1,094
Priceline
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1148)
Room & Suite (296)
Pool & Beach (191)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 06/30/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from La Samanna, A Belmond Hotel, St Martin
Updated 06/30/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Experience the ultimate St. Martin luxury resort. It’s a place where dazzling white buildings pop against an azure sky, and a platinum stretch of private beach is dotted with cabanas. Constantly ranked among the region’s top ten hotels, Belmond La Samanna is a garden paradise in which to enjoy an alfresco massage, or lie in a hammock, lulled by the waves. Take a day cruise around the island or head into town to enjoy the vibrant scene. There’s always a touch of romance in the air.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Boating
Kids stay free
Valet parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Plunge pool
Fence around pool
Yoga classes
Yoga room
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Diving
Snorkeling
Tennis court
Windsurfing
Aerobics
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Babysitting
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's television networks
Kids club
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Private beach
Additional bathroom
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Bathrobes
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Dutch and 3 more

Location

Full view
47Car recommended
Grade: 47 out of 100
14Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
2Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
1326Reviews53Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 870
  • 230
  • 116
  • 61
  • 49
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
ssabath wrote a review Jul 2021
Cleveland, Ohio1 contribution
Incredible. Coming back soon. One of the most private, beautiful hotels I have ever stayed at with a personal service unlike no other. Every amenity possible, wonderful sunsets and food was fantastic.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Eléonore Astier-Petin, General Manager at La Samanna, A Belmond Hotel, St Martin
Responded Jul 23, 2021
Dear Ssabath, Thank you for taking to time to complete our online survey and also many thanks for your kind review on Trip Advisor about your recent stay at La Samanna! I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back for more beautiful sunsets. Kindest regards from St. Martin, Eleonore Eleonore Astier-Petin General Manager La Samanna, A Belmond Hotel, St. Martin
Read more
Denise B wrote a review Jul 2021
New York City, New York33 contributions13 helpful votes
When we (my husband, teen son, and I) arrived, we thought we were in heaven -- and even though we had a short stay, that was enough time to prove that our first impression was right. The hotel is spectacular, the beach and water are exquisite, the room blew us away, and the people who work there were truly dedicated to providing a stellar experience. (They succeeded.) We hope to be back -- this time, for a much longer stay! (PS - the beds were so comfortable...)
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Get a suite on the beach!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Eléonore Astier-Petin, General Manager at La Samanna, A Belmond Hotel, St Martin
Responded Jul 23, 2021
Dear Denise B, Many thanks for your kind review on Trip Advisor about your recent stay at La Samanna! I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back. Warm regards from St. Martin, Eleonore Eleonore Astier-Petin General Manager La Samanna, A Belmond Hotel, St. Martin
Read more
Kelsey L wrote a review Jul 2021
Morristown, New Jersey11 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
What an amazing honeymoon we had at La Samanna. From the moment we entered the property we were taken care of with incredible service. Every aspect of the hotel is fantastic. The food/drinks, the views and landscaping, the rooms, the pool and beach facilities. I could go on and on! Some of our favorite parts of La Samanna: - Breakfast Buffet: Madeline was our favorite server, she greeted us warmly every day! We enjoyed iced coffee each morning and delicious buffet and prepared food. - Spa: we had an incredible couples massage and loved Jean Luc at the front desk. - Dinner at L’Oursin: we ate here twice .. once at the main restaurant and also in La Cave which is the private wine cellar for our “honeymoon dinner” staffed with our personal sommelier Luca who was absolutely a joy! Food is 10/10! - We loved hanging on the couches enjoying a drink and the view at the lobby bar. Gabriela and Bruna were our servers multiple times.. they were great! - We had a king suite which had a beautiful balcony overlooking the water and also a living room and kitchenette. It was perfect! I think the only downside is getting around the island. Taxi’s anywhere off the property we’re $35 one way .. so with tip just to get to dinner in Grand Case it’s essentially another $100. Unavoidable I suppose but definitely adds up. We cannot wait to return to La Samanna someday and make more special memories!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: There is a Hertz car rental on property if you want to explore the island which is very drivable!
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Eléonore Astier-Petin, General Manager at La Samanna, A Belmond Hotel, St Martin
Responded Jul 14, 2021
Dear Kelsey L, Thank you ever so much for your kind review of your recent Honeymoon stay at La Samanna! The team and I are delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and we thank you for taking the time to name some of star team members. It is true that once you start going around the island, taxi costs can be high. Thank you once more for taking the time to share your comments and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for an anniversary stay. Warm regards from St. Martin, Eleonore Eleonore Astier-Petin General Manager La Samanna, A Belmond Hotel, St. Martin
Read more
Kevin M wrote a review Jul 2021
Plano, Texas276 contributions132 helpful votes
Pros: 1. This is an amazingly beautiful property just 15 minutes from the airport and there are no other hotels anywhere near it. 2. If you stay in a one-bedroom oceanfront suite on the ground level you will be just steps away from what is almost your own private beach. 3. The hotel's private beach stretches over a half mile long and if you venture just a little way from the part of the beach in front of the main building you can easily get chairs and umbrellas 20 yards or more away from other guests. 2. The level of service from the entire staff is comparable to a Four Seasons or Ritz-Carlton Hotel. 3. Some other reviews I saw mentioned upgrades, I got a one level higher priced room after I made my initial reservation just for the asking. I assume the season and occupancy level made that possible but in any event it was much appreciated. Cons: The food in their "special" restaurant L'oursin is anything but special. From the salad to desert, it was the most mediocre food I've ever had in a supposedly fine restaurant. All of the restaurants we visited in nearby Simpson bay offered spectacular food at similar or lower prices. I had planned to have a special dinner at L'oursin on our last night for my girlfriend's birthday and I'm so glad that we tried it during bad weather one night earlier in the week so we didn't end our trip on a blah note. The room service menu is very limited, too, although the burgers were good and simple eggs & bacon breakfasts were okay. 4. The furnishings in the room and the rest of the hotel are okay but nothing special---a far cry from what you would expect to find in a resort with these prices. 5. The most surprising aspect of La Samanna is that even though there is no shopping anywhere nearby, the hotel does not have a gift shop with the usual toiletries, over the counter medications, snack foods, sodas etc. Why? I have no idea. Suggestions: 1. Do rent a car. A small SUV for the week from Hertz is not that much more than the hotel's fee for private transportation to & from the airport, the taxi service is sparse and there is nothing closer than a 15-20 minute drive from the hotel. 2. Do splurge and get a one bedroom oceanfront suite. Our experience being steps away from the beach instead of in a regular room in the main building made all the difference in the world for our stay. 3. Be careful of swimming anywhere except in front of the main building; there are some treacherous rocks lining the rest of the area between the beach and the swimmable depth of the ocean and a decent size wave can results in skinned knees or worse when you are entering or leaving the ocean. On balance, this is a great property with A+ service but for the price, it is sorely lacking in the food & furnishings dept. That's not a problem if you don't spend much time in your room and eat elsewhere. The isolation from the rest of the world and other guests was just what we needed for our first vacation since Covid came along. I would recommend La Samanna to friends if they were aware of the pros & cons of this resort.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: The one bedroom oceanfront suites are pricey but staying in one made all the difference in the...
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Eléonore Astier-Petin, General Manager at La Samanna, A Belmond Hotel, St Martin
Responded Jul 7, 2021
Dear Kevin M, Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review and we are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay at La Samanna. Although the 3rd party gift shop does offer a certain number of toiletries, it is true that we have no over the counter medications which is regulated by French law. Thank you for your kind mention of the excellent service and we have made note of your disappointment with L'Oursin restaurant. Wishing you a great summer ahead and thanking you once more for your time. Warm regards, Eleonore Eleonore Astier-Petin General Manager La Samanna, A Belmond Hotel, St. Martin
Read more
djmrdwnver wrote a review Jul 2021
Denver, Colorado6 contributions
With crowds heading to Hawaii, we opted for an escape to the Caribbean, specifically St Marten. We took recommendations and booked a week at the La Samana resort on the French side and were not disappointed. It was quite, uncrowded and the staff were friendly, helpful and outwardly happy to have visitors. Accommodations right on the beach were just what we needed after nearly 2 years of COVID confinement. Our housekeepers always kept the suite clean and stocked. And a huge shout out to Mark and his team for keeping it fun with great beachside gear, particularly SUP boards, snorkle gear and jetskis. Great guys! We’ll be back, not soon enough… Thanks!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Eléonore Astier-Petin, General Manager at La Samanna, A Belmond Hotel, St Martin
Responded Jul 4, 2021
Dear djmrdwnver, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at La Samanna and we are delighted to read that you were able to make the most of your time on the beach and with the watersports activities. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back and wish you a great summer ahead. Kind regards, Eleonore Astier-Petin General Manager La Samanna, A Belmond Hotel, St. Martin
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$687 - $1,401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
la samanna by orient-express hotel st. maarten/st. martin, la samanna hotel, la samanna resort st martin
LOCATION
CaribbeanSt Martin / St MaartenSaint-MartinTerres Basses
NUMBER OF ROOMS
83
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about La Samanna, A Belmond Hotel, St Martin
Which popular attractions are close to La Samanna, A Belmond Hotel, St Martin?
Nearby attractions include Cupecoy Bay Beach (0.4 miles) and Dany's Beach Bar (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at La Samanna, A Belmond Hotel, St Martin?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at La Samanna, A Belmond Hotel, St Martin?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at La Samanna, A Belmond Hotel, St Martin?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at La Samanna, A Belmond Hotel, St Martin?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to La Samanna, A Belmond Hotel, St Martin?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mama, Bar Code, and Mario Bistrot at The Cliff.
Are there opportunities to exercise at La Samanna, A Belmond Hotel, St Martin?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does La Samanna, A Belmond Hotel, St Martin have airport transportation?
Yes, La Samanna, A Belmond Hotel, St Martin offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at La Samanna, A Belmond Hotel, St Martin?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at La Samanna, A Belmond Hotel, St Martin?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does La Samanna, A Belmond Hotel, St Martin offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.