We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Belmond La Samanna

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Belmond La Samanna
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,082 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 905: English reviews
Start your review of Belmond La Samanna
 Click to rate
Willemstad, Curacao
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed a weekend at Belmont la Samanna, fantastic really. We made a reservation for a villa for the 2 of us, great view, very impeccable decorated and a peaceful surrounding. The resort is located close to the dividing line between French St. Martin and Dutch St. Maarten, this resort which used to be Orient Express brings an international-style to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yvonne w
Tampa, Florida, United States
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

While we were staying in one of the newer 4 bedroom villas, visiting the resort itself was always great. The location is breathtaking. The staff is friendly and professional in serving you. We loved the restaurants, especially lunch on the terrace.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geoff B
Caracas, Venezuela
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is by far the best place i have visited or seen in St Martin. Everything is just amazing, and the beach is absolutely wonderful with plenty of space and privacy. It is the ideal place to mix relaxing and having fun at the same time within a luxury setting all around.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ramzi H
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The best location with the best comfort and design. This is simply Paradise on Earth. The Beach bar is the option for lunch and sunset time but, please: improve the service and change those plastic glasses and serve champagne on a "tulipe" glass, comme il faut!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LadySeamaster
charlotte
Reviewed 1 week ago

We just arrived home from a Spring Break trip to Belmond La Samanna. We stayed in the villas(private homes) that were on top of the cliff. Positives as follows and negatives at the bottom: The villa was stunning 4 bedrooms with a pool and yard to run around. Iguanas would come running through the yard sunning themselves every day. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank andytscg
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review

Dear andytscg, Thank you very much for taking time to review your recent stay at the villas at Belmond La Samanna. I am glad that you and your family were able to enjoy the facilities the resort has to offer and that your cliffside villa was the setting you were looking for. Thank you for your comments regarding the pricing,...

No Caldwell, NJ
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First floor room, with spectacular ocean views and spacious accommodation. Short walk to main building: Lobby, Restaurant, Waterfront dining. From the very first moment of arrival we were treated with exceptional hospitality, a rum punch, and a very cordial staff. The atmosphere of the resort is so calm and relaxed, and distinctly removed from all the worries of the world....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BenBag
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review

Dear BenBag, Thank you very much for choosing to spend your vacation with us at Belmond La Samanna. I am happy to read your feedback and it seems as though your stay was almost perfect. We hope to welcome you back soon to this little slice of paradise!

Charlotte
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I were disheartened by our return visit to this special hotel. So much so, I personally do not want to return. Our first stay at this property was completely different than our most recent. 3 out 5 rating strictly because of the phenomenal beach staff. Internet TV issue was never resolved during the entire stay after numerous...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank BeachBum704
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review

Dear Beachbum704, I am so terribly sorry to read that your last visit to Belmond La Samanna was such a disappointment and so different from your last visit. It is not picky at all to expect perfection and I wish we would have delivered that instead. I apologize that no manager met with you during your stay to address some...

san francisco
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There are many islands to visit in the Caribbeans. If you do go to St Martin, there is only one hotel you should consider: Belmond La Samanna. This hotel has a gorgeous beach, delicious food, and pretty good service. The hotel is actually not that far from the airport. The airport itself is on the Dutch side of the island....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kevinh73
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review

Dear kevinh73, Thank you very much for taking time to write such a thorough review your recent stay with us. I am very happy to hear that your decided to try Trellis and most importantly that you were pleasantly surprised, I will make sure to pass that on to the Chef. Again, thank you for picking Belmond La Samanna to...

avalon1025
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at Belmond La Samanna March 16-18. Based on some of the mixed reviews we had lowered our expectations. Overall I was very happy with the room and overall service levels at the hotel. Though this is the best hotel on the island, a few updates could mean a fifth star for this fine hotel: Improvements: Our airport transfer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank avalon1025
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review

Dear avalon1025, Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback on the improvements you feel are necessary, it is from this that we know where we need to improve. Thank you again and we will be waiting for you!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our fifth year at LaSamanna and each year we fall more and more in love with the property and the staff. The beach is absolutely gorgeous, with water sports available for all and private if that's what you choose. The lounge at night is a must every day for the sunsets and appetizers as well as a night...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Victoria L
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review

Dear Victoria L, Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay, but most importantly, thank you for your loyalty to Belmond La Samanna. We are already waiting for your 6th year with us, with a cold cocktail at Baie Longue bar!

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,727 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (834)
Viewed
Room/Suite (134)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Dining (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (154)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (131)
Viewed
View from Room (74)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (265)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (888)
Viewed
Amenities (103)
Viewed
Baie Rouge Suite (128)
Viewed
Beach (44)
Viewed
Infinity-Edge Pool (56)
Viewed
Main Pool (61)
Viewed
One-Bedroom Ocean View Suite (128)
Viewed
Dining (142)
Viewed
The Hotel (81)
Viewed
Villa (145)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Terres Basses
8.1 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
6.7 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,745 reviews
7.9 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
1.5 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
7.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
2,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Belmond La Samanna nestles amongst lush gardens overlooking 55 acres of spectacular beachfront. A complete resort in itself, Belmond La Samanna offers a spectacular private beach, two poolside terraces, 83 luxurious rooms and suites and 8 recently renovated 4600sq. ft. villas with private pools. Enjoy its sophisticated food offerings and award winning wine cellar, indulge in its European Elysees Spa, or simply enjoy the privacy and relaxation of this sophisticated and sensual French-Caribbean enclave. Gourmet dishes are served in the elegant Trellis, and Baie Longue Bar offers pool-side dining and views of Baie Long Beach. Dine on your private terrace and later enjoy a drink from the wine cellar. Belmond La Samanna is everything you could wish for in a Caribbean hideaway. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Belmond La Samanna

Address: Baie Longue | PO Box 4077, Terres Basses 86200, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Terres Basses
Price Range: $532 - $1,698 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond La Samanna 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Belmond, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond La Samanna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Samanna By Orient-Express Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
La Samanna Hotel
La Samanna Resort St Martin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Belmond La Samanna staff and other travelers.
28 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (28)

Questions? Get answers from Belmond La Samanna staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“All are good.”
BenBag, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“deluxe rooms are in hotel all suites are in cottages radiatiing out from hotel left and right - all have beach front views”
martinmould, Feb 27, 2017 | Read review
“Suites overlooking the ocean and with a private plunge pool, covered rooftop gazebo and amazing views”
RichP135, Feb 19, 2017 | Read review
“Do not get a room too far from main building...but not too close either!”
CMSCLS, Feb 14, 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms with porches allow easy beach access”
Dufferme, Feb 14, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question