We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Belmond La Samanna

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Baie Longue | PO Box 4077, Terres Basses 97064, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Offers & Announcements
$200 Spa Credit
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Belmond La Samanna
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

965 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 824: English reviews
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

It's been said that La Samanna is the best hotel in St. Martin. I haven't been to other properties on the island, but I can promise you that this hotel is a total fail on service, accommodations, property upkeep, service, food and service! I do believe that this place was once the place to go, but over the years its... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jill B
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This was our second time at La Samanna and it was again, an excellent experience. We celebrated my husband's birthday, and the staff went above & beyond to make him feel special. The food was delicious & the views are magnificent at the restaurant overlooking the water. We enjoyed the wine tasting at La Cave and the spa was very... More 

Helpful?
Thank jmartin11
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review

Dear jmartin11, Thank you very much for your wonderful review, but what I mostly like is your last sentence! We cannot wait to have you back either. I am so glad that your experience with us was a good one and that your husband's birthday was made special my the staff. Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

What a luxurious, sumptuous, outstanding property! Special shout-outs to Diane, Sophia and Fanny who made our stay extra special. Every whim and request is promptly met by exceeding standards. Only disappointment was the overly-stuffy, over-priced, and not that good "fine dining" restaurant on the property. Everything else about the staff, room comfort, views, watersports was fantastic! I can't wait to... More 

Helpful?
Thank ITravelLots365
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review

Dear ITravelLots365, Thank you taking the time to review what seems to have been a near perfect stay with us. I will make sure Diane, Sophia and Fanny read your comments. I am so very happy that we exceeded your expectations. I am sorry you did not enjoy your meal at Trellis. We hope to see you back soon! More 

Columbia, South Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After a swing and a miss at the RIU Palace, we checked into Paradise. The service, amenities, the employees and the view were over the top. We celebrated our anniversary by basking in the sun, eating delicious food, couples massage and being pampered 24/7 by the lovely La Samana team. We try to travel to a different place every year...but... More 

Helpful?
Thank starmstrong03
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review

Dear starmstrong03, Thank you very much for your wonderful review! I am thrilled to know that you and your wife enjoyed your anniversary celebration with us and that you discovered the "La Samanna Experience"! We surely hope that you come visit us again. More 

St. Maarten-St. Martin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great hotel and great staff. Concierge and Front Desk staff was outstanding especially Emanuel and the lady at the concierge (forgot her name, lovely French accent) . Only downside was the pool service, took about 20 minutes until somebody came to get towels and then he disappeared again for quite a long time. Also found the prices for beverages ridiculously... More 

Helpful?
Thank joenaily2000
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review

Dear joenaily2000, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay. I will share your comments with Emmanuel and Fanny, they will be very happy about them. I am sorry you experienced problems at the pool, I will share your comments with the pool staff to remedy this. Thank you again for your time and hope... More 

NJ USA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Cant say enough good things! The location is amazing, hotel is beautiful with old world charm. (When you book ask for a remodeled room) The breakfast buffet was wonderful with many choices along with cooked to order items from the kitchen. The most amazing thing about a stay here is the staff, Leo, Madeline , at the bar, Hugette, Fanny... More 

Helpful?
Thank arandikc
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review

Dear arandikc, What a lovely review! Thank yo so much for posting. I will certainly share your comments with the staff, especially the ones you listed. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I surely hope to see you again soon. More 

pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I tried to write a review but I wrote it in the wrong spot... Came here for three nights after six nights in Saint Barts. The prices were astronomical and the room was in very poor condition. Our room was hibiscus 10. There was mildew all over the shower there were ants all in the bathtub and in the bathroom,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank cara_lynne
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review

Dear cara_lynne, Thank you for your review. I am deeply sorry that your stay was so disappointing. I have shared your comments with my management team. Thank you for your time. More 

Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I recently visited La Samanna to celebrate an anniversary. The service was the best part of our trip and makes up for a lot lacking in modern updates on the property. The rooms are nice compared to other hotels on the island, and the prices are extraordinarily high. However, the rooms are not modern and up-to-date (although... More 

Helpful?
Thank NYmom16
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review

Dear NYmom16, Thank you for your review. I am very happy that the staff made such an impression on you, I will surely share your comments with them. With regards to the dogs, Baie Longue is a public beach and as you may have seen, there are a few private residences that share this stretch of beautiful sand with us... More 

Hidden Hills, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

When we go to St Martin We generally rent a house. The hotels have never impressed us there, but this year we were going to St Barth's and had a one-night layover, so we chose La Samanna. Holy cow. It seems like the whole place has been re-done. The location of course is amazing, but the hotel is beautiful now... More 

Helpful?
Thank eddieglenn
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review

Dear eddiglenn, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your short stay with us. We definitely hope that next time you are in the area you stay with us for a few days more. Thank you again. More 

Fairfield, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I kicked off our honeymoon by staying at the Belmond La Sammana and loved it. The staff was incredibly helpful, and were there to make sure anything we needed, from a restaurant reservation, to some Advil for a headache was taken care of. The breakfast is steep, but well worth it. We made breakfast into a 2+... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sergio T
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review

Dear Sergio T, What a great place to kickoff your honeymoon! Thank you very much for your review. I am very happy to read that you had a nice time with us. We hope you come back to visit - maybe you can come every year as an anniversary trip! Thank you again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,600 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (686)
Viewed
Dining (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (133)
Viewed
View from Room (57)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (104)
Viewed
Room/Suite (123)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (205)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (888)
Viewed
Amenities (103)
Viewed
Baie Rouge Suite (128)
Viewed
Beach (44)
Viewed
Infinity-Edge Pool (56)
Viewed
Main Pool (61)
Viewed
One-Bedroom Ocean View Suite (128)
Viewed
Dining (142)
Viewed
The Hotel (81)
Viewed
Villa (145)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Terres Basses
6.7 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 stars 1,573 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
7.9 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 7 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 stars 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
1.6 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
7.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#1 of 3 in Anse Marcel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Belmond La Samanna nestles amongst lush gardens overlooking 55 acres of spectacular beachfront. A complete resort in itself, Belmond La Samanna offers a spectacular private beach, two poolside terraces, 83 luxurious rooms and suites and 8 recently renovated 4600sq. ft. villas with private pools. Enjoy its sophisticated food offerings and award winning wine cellar, indulge in its European Elysees Spa, or simply enjoy the privacy and relaxation of this sophisticated and sensual French-Caribbean enclave. Gourmet dishes are served in the elegant Trellis, and Baie Longue Bar offers pool-side dining and views of Baie Long Beach. Dine on your private terrace and later enjoy a drink from the wine cellar. Belmond La Samanna is everything you could wish for in a Caribbean hideaway. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Belmond La Samanna

Address: Baie Longue | PO Box 4077, Terres Basses 97064, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Terres Basses
Price Range: $480 - $1,120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond La Samanna 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond La Samanna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Samanna By Orient-Express Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
La Samanna Hotel
La Samanna Resort St Martin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay