We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Belmond La Samanna

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Belmond La Samanna
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,033 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 872: English reviews
Burlington, Canada
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Have made several attempts to find Long Bay, St Martin! At last today we arrived after driving up & down long bumpy roads and being told by security staff at closed gates we could not continue on the private roads. Our plan was to find the Belmond La Samana for lunch in this hidden resort. Eventually a security guard allowed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maddysue
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed yesterday NEW

With all of the hype I was expecting to be blown away. The room was clean but old, funky shower but had a great view. The property is on the side of a hill so a lot of walking/stairs. Very pretentious other than our meal in the main restaurant which was excellent, food and service. They have a wine cave/restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amimil
Greenwich, Connecticut
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We just returned from La Samanna and had a great vacation. Most noteworthy by comparison from other trips we've taken to the Caribbean was that the staff had a sincere intent to serve and to make our experience great. They are truly friendly, expeditious, and witty. There was none of that undertone of hidden surliness that one can sometimes detect...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Suzanne H
Dix Hills, New York
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Our fourth time return visit to La Samanna, definitely did not disappoint. Check in was smooth and very friendly, as usual, with a very welcome cocktail offered over looking the Beautiful blue Caribbean ocean. The beach is the nicest one on the island, service was impeccable from check in to check out, and this resort destination is on our list...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rsjaj11088
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Gorgeous property nestled beside a cliff with abundant lush gardens. The property is stunning and certainly has many amenities such as tennis courts, snorkel gear, and excursion opportunities. The SPA was lovely although the rooms were tiny and cramped. It is slightly run down in the rooms (paint, walls, trim), walkways, and paths. The food was amazing at the beach...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank happyplaces5
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 1 week ago

After a long trip, we arrived in our room to find the bathroom had not been cleaned; while the hotel took care of it right away, it wasn't a great way to start out.Then, except for one time, our keys did not work at the door to our room which meant constantly trekking back to the front desk (which was...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank SnoopyKonijn
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review

Dear SnoopyKonjin, I would like to thank you for taking time to review your recent stay. I want to apologize for the unpleasant stay you had with us. The keys unfortunately can sometimes demagnetize when they are in contact to cell phones or credit cards, I am sorry for the inconvenience this caused. The odor you smelled stems from the...

Dix Hills, New York, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

Expensive, lacking attention to basic needs of guests.. 1. I took a suite. Nice layout but maid service for daily care and evening turndowns very erratic and disappointing. Requested several times for early making up of room and 7pm turn down. Until 4th day, requests went unnoticed. 2. We had two TV sets that incoming signal would freeze and you...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Howard D
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review

Dear Howard D, Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay. I am very sorry to hear that the hotel was a disappointment to you. The TV issue we are having is one we are well aware of and are in the midst of rectifying. I do believe our Front Desk Manager met with you regarding the issues...

Somerville, New Jersey
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

first the good. Excellent people - especially Maylis (management) & Julie (concierge). Also, beautiful setting - a fortunate accident of geography. Our room (H16) had a bedroom & a bathroom. The bedroom was far too small; the bathroom far too large. Barely room to go between foot of bed & the dresser. Not a single mirror except 1 in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kalman B
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review

Dear Kalman,. Thank you for your review, I apologize that the hotel did not please you. Regarding the size of our rooms, the sizes are stated on our website, we do not try to convey a different image.The seclusion of the hotel is one of the many values that our hotel guests value, we do not want the hustle and...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It’s been awhile (25+ years) since I’ve stayed at a Caribbean resort but my memory of most of them was disappointment at the lack of cleanliness, superior service and beautiful décor. Belmond’s La Samanna Resort on the Caribbean Island of St. Martin changed my perception. We picked St. Martin because of the ease of flights from Seattle (just one connection...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mimiseattlelite
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review

Dear mimiseattlelite, Thank you very much for your lovely review. I am so glad that you picked the Villas at Belmond La Samanna for your vacation. It is great to hear that the service you encountered be it at the villas, the breakfast or the spa was friendly and accommodating. We are certainly lucky to be situated on Baie Longue....

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

La Samanna is a very pricy posh place, with all the benefits of it. Friendly staff, (amazing beach!!!) Comfort, good food, stylish surroundings. The international design can make you wonder whether you are in st.Tropez, Ibiza, or Miami, but if you accept that, you will have a great day. Especially because the staff and clientele are so much nicer than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roelandf
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review

Dear Roelandf, Thank you very much for your time in reviewing us. I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us and that you found both the staff and the resort satisfactory. We hope to welcome you back on our beautiful beach. Thank you again.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,643 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (750)
Viewed
View from Room (68)
Viewed
Room/Suite (131)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (144)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (120)
Viewed
Dining (56)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (220)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (888)
Viewed
Amenities (103)
Viewed
Baie Rouge Suite (128)
Viewed
Beach (44)
Viewed
Infinity-Edge Pool (56)
Viewed
Main Pool (61)
Viewed
One-Bedroom Ocean View Suite (128)
Viewed
Dining (142)
Viewed
The Hotel (81)
Viewed
Villa (145)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Terres Basses
8.1 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
6.7 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,702 reviews
7.9 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 7 in Oyster Pond
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
7.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
2,083 reviews
8.2 mi away
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
#3 of 7 in Oyster Pond
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Belmond La Samanna nestles amongst lush gardens overlooking 55 acres of spectacular beachfront. A complete resort in itself, Belmond La Samanna offers a spectacular private beach, two poolside terraces, 83 luxurious rooms and suites and 8 recently renovated 4600sq. ft. villas with private pools. Enjoy its sophisticated food offerings and award winning wine cellar, indulge in its European Elysees Spa, or simply enjoy the privacy and relaxation of this sophisticated and sensual French-Caribbean enclave. Gourmet dishes are served in the elegant Trellis, and Baie Longue Bar offers pool-side dining and views of Baie Long Beach. Dine on your private terrace and later enjoy a drink from the wine cellar. Belmond La Samanna is everything you could wish for in a Caribbean hideaway. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Belmond La Samanna

Address: Baie Longue | PO Box 4077, Terres Basses 86200, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Terres Basses
Price Range: $514 - $1,840 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond La Samanna 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, West Indies, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond La Samanna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Samanna By Orient-Express Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
La Samanna Hotel
La Samanna Resort St Martin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Belmond La Samanna staff and other travelers.
22 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from Belmond La Samanna staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Higher floor away from staircase, noise travels thru the stairwell”
 of 5 bubbles Amimil, yesterday | Read review
“We had a basic room with a king bed. Below is a photo from our room, which was a basic, king bed room in the hotel.”
  • Basic king room in hotel.
 of 5 bubbles SuzanneH757, 2 days ago | Read review
“Up hill walk to main reception”
 of 5 bubbles HowardD956, 1 week ago | Read review
“don't go - extremely expensive; very poor value”
 of 5 bubbles kalmanb2013, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“I think they are all ocean view so you can't go wrong.”
  • Villa Mouette
 of 5 bubbles mimiseattlelite, 2 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay