We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang
Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang
Panoramas (16)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

647 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 557: English reviews
Kangar
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is second time we stayed here.We stayed for 3D2N at superior room tower block.The main reason we choose this hotel because it have a private beach. we love the beach because it's sand and water so clean.My kids enjoy with their beach activities.this hotel have kid club for children with extra charge.My pregnant wife really like in room dining... More 

Helpful?
Thank BadJaafar
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in a junior suite here in Nov last year. Great unblocked view of the ocean (and the pool, expect to hear noises from the users). Breakfast selection is pretty wide for vegetarians (just no meat). There's even a station you could cook noodles at (can't recall whether this was a daily affair). Gym is small with only a few... More 

Helpful?
Thank thestaycationlady
Wilson L, Revenue Manager at Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang, responded to this review

Dear thestaycationlady, Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your recent stay with us at Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang. We are glad that you had such an enjoyable stay at the hotel in many aspects including our secluded beachfront and spectacular sea view from rooms. Looking forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Location of the hotel is fine. Plenty of food and easy access. Beach front property. Unfortunately maint of the hotel is minimal. Stuff falling apart and old. Service is below average. We asked for towels and soap and it took 3 tries and 40 mins to get it. The owners did not upgrade and it is in dire need for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laurence C
Wilson L, Revenue Manager at Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang, responded to this review

Dear Laurence C, Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your recent stay with us at Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang. We have noted your overall comments. However, we have forwarded the comments to the respective departments for necessary improvement. Please be reassured that we will do our best to improve on our services, and hope to... More 

Travelers are raving about these Tanjung Bungah hotels

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was average sized and was clean, the view was beautiful however unfortunately it was partly blocked by a building in front of it. The staff were friendly and breakfast was good with a decent selection of food. The shuttle bus service was a definite bonus and it took us to George town and the night market for free.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Someonesknocking
Wilson L, Revenue Manager at Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang, responded to this review

Dear Someonesknocking, Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your recent stay with us at Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang. We are happy to note that you like our rooms features with spectacular sea view, which is indeed one of our selling points. For your next stay with us, you may opt for Superior and above categories... More 

London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night only and the hotel were able to give us interconnecting rooms as requested. Our room was a great size but looked a little dated. We also had an issue with insects on our ceiling which I believe is because the balcony doors were open for a short while but the maintenance staff were on... More 

Helpful?
Thank XxShobsXx
Wilson L, Revenue Manager at Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang, responded to this review

Dear XxShobsXx, Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your recent stay with us at Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang. We are happy to note that you have had a satisfactory stay with us, which is definitely a great motivation to our staff. Looking forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Penang. The... More 

Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were able to check in 2 hours earlier. Rooms was good except for bathroom. The location is fine but it would be better to stay in George town. The pool area was excellent, except that lots of birds cleaned themselves in the water. We had breakfast one day in the hotel, lots of different alternatives. The beach is not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Oskarboy
Wilson L, Revenue Manager at Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang, responded to this review

Dear Oskarboy, Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your recent stay with us at Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang. We are happy to note that you like our beautiful outdoor swimming pool, which is indeed one of our selling points. The Hotel is undergoing maintenance exercise to its room interior and facilities from time to time,... More 

Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Dirty rooms. Dirty pool. Forgot to give us towels. Refused to fix safety box. Could not arrange taxi. Gave us wrong information. They had problems with understanding English. Not the best area to stay in - quite boring beaches and not much to see. It's probably better to stay in Georgetown

Helpful?
Thank ylki
Wilson L, Revenue Manager at Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang, responded to this review

Dear ylki, Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your recent stay with us at Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang. We are sorry to learn that you did not have a satisfactory stay with us. However, we have forwarded the comments to the respective departments for necessary improvement. Please be reassured that we will do our best... More 

wagga wagga
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well we lived across the road from this hotel when it opened in 1983-84 and have stayed here a couple of time since, but this will be the last time we stay here when we return to Penang. The rooms are very dated and lacking maintenance and upkeep. I blame the Management for this because housekeeping was substandard. The hose... More 

Helpful?
Thank lmpappy
Wilson L, Revenue Manager at Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang, responded to this review

Dear Impappy, Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your recent stay with us at Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang. We have noted your overall comments. However, we have forwarded the comments to the respective departments for necessary improvement. Hope you will give us another chance to be of service to you on your next visit to... More 

Horten
Level Contributor
119 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I wanted to chill on my own so picked this hotel and guess what I'm on my own. Nice enough place and I have a beach level room but the place is dated and needs a refresh. Nice pool not bad restaurant and the hotel itself is half way between Batu Ferringhi and Georgetown. Not much in the way of... More 

Helpful?
Thank SlimBF
Wilson L, Revenue Manager at Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang, responded to this review

Dear SlimBF, Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your recent stay with us at Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang. We are happy to note that you like our beautiful outdoor swimming pool, which is indeed one of our selling points. The Hotel is undergoing maintenance exercise to its room interior and facilities from time to time,... More 

Dalwallinu, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night start august 2016. Hotel very impressive from outside and foyer very nice. Swimming pool area is great clean and nice pool over looking the bay. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately rooms were a bit of a let down. Nice size but very dated. Need some work doing to them and also attention... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark G
Wilson L, Revenue Manager at Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang, responded to this review

Dear Mark G, Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your recent stay with us at Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang. We are happy to note that you like our beautiful outdoor swimming pool, which is indeed one of our selling points. On the issue of the room cleanliness, we have forwarded the comments to our Housekeeping... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

655 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (393)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (84)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (56)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
View from Room (62)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (113)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (190)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Beach (14)
Viewed
Deluxe (23)
Viewed
Junior Suite (18)
Viewed
Junior Suite - Terrace (22)
Viewed
Pool (27)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Superior Room (17)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (72)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanjung Bungah
1.1 mi away
Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort
Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort
#2 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
3.5 of 5 stars 696 reviews
0.2 mi away
Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang
1.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
#1 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
4.0 of 5 stars 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 stars 1,497 reviews
3.2 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#5 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 stars 1,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located at the popular Tanjung Bungah beach, the hotel is one of the nearest beach hotels to the city of Georgetown. The sandy stretch, with rocks strewn intermittently against a backdrop of lush tropical trees and shrubs, makes the beach picturesque and unique. Here you have the luxury to choose sun or shade but what you will value most is the privacy, the tranquility and the safe sanctuary that we can offer you to be in complete harmony with Mother Nature. Hotel is close to several attractions in Penang i.e. Gurney Drive, Batu Ferringhi Night Market, Batu Ferringhi Beach, Spice Garden and Butterfly Farm. Guests of the hotel can relax away from hustling petty traders and the prying eyes of the public. It is the perfect getaway and stay from the hustle and bustle of city life, the perfect hideaway to get away from it all. Hotel has a 24 hour restaurant serving international and local cuisine, a Chinese Restaurant that features weekend and holiday promotions. Nearby the hotel are major shopping complexes like Tesco, Straits Quay, Gurney Plaza and Gurney Paragon. Bank, clinic, food court, restaurants serving Western, Chinese, Indian, Korean, local and seafood cuisines are just within walking distance from the hotel. Hotel is nearby to major Hospitals. For relaxation, the hotel houses a Spa with separate female/male Jacuzzi and Sauna, offers attractive and interesting massage and treatment packages. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang

Address: Jalan Tanjung Bungah, Tanjung Bungah, Penang Island 11200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Tanjung Bungah
Price Range: $45 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang 3*
Number of rooms: 318
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Orchid Pulau Penang
Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang Tanjung Bungah
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay