We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Norton House Hotel & Restaurant

Save
Share
Norton Road, Mumbles, Swansea SA3 5TQ Wales
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
FindHotel
Agoda.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (203)
Room & Suite (41)
Dining (19)

About

#2 of 3 hotels in Mumbles
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Set in the heart of the world-famous tourism destination of Mumbles, the eighteen bed-roomed Norton House Hotel and Restaurant is a perfect blend of up-market urban chic and gracious Georgian elegance. The beautifully preserved country house is in private grounds framed by mature trees, manicured lawns and flower beds and is just minutes away from the smart shops and boutiques of the picturesque seaside village of Mumbles. The Georgian credentials of this graceful period building offer the gift of perfectly proportioned rooms, lofty ceilings and a feeling of airy spaciousness, quite the ideal ambiance for fine dining and for lively celebrations of all kinds: weddings, parties, and functions.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Restaurant
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Show more
Room features
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
691Reviews5Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 285
  • 193
  • 101
  • 73
  • 39
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Tom W wrote a review Nov 14
83 contributions41 helpful votes
We have stayed at Norton House on a number of occasions, and left reviews before. This was the first time we stayed in one of the 4 person apartments, but the quality of the room and stay was as usual of a very high standard. We had a lovely 3 course meal in the evening, the beef brisket was stunning, and an equally nice breakfast. The staff here are always great, along with the whole management team.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Foodie042 wrote a review Oct 2020
London, United Kingdom125 contributions110 helpful votes
A delightful Georgian residence with plenty of parking right outside. Probably the only hotel in The Mumbles with easy parking A special thanks to Alicia who greeted us with a warm welcome as well as a safe check in & out, The hearty Welsh breakfast was superb , as well as a choice of cereals, juices, yogurts , toast ,marmalade etc . Nothing was too much trouble The restaurant was very clean, We stayed in room 2 which was immaculately clean and comfortable. High ceilings ornately decorated, beautifully crisp white sheets and high-quality white towels Summing up, it’s completely exceeded our expectations. Amazing value for money compare to most of the other hotels. Would we go back? Most definitely yes!!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Room 2 in the main building
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Norton House, Owner at Norton House Hotel & Restaurant
Responded 5 weeks ago
Hello, Thank you for your kind words and positive feedback. We will take your feedback onboard. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Regards
Read more
foodandaeroplanes wrote a review Sep 2020
United Kingdom55 contributions25 helpful votes
We arrived an hour prior to check in but were greeted with a warm welcome and our room was ready with the key left in the door for us. On arrival to the hotel it is signposted from the coastal road but not on the actual car park, fortunately there isn't any other hotels with a large car park in the area so you know you're in the right place. Our room (no.11) was very small but modern, nicely decorated and had a door straight on to the outside where the car park is, with a small table and chairs for our use. We could see the sea from here too! The location is great, a 10 minute walk from the main bars and shops. Unfortunately we didn't realise until returning at night, but the walls are literally paper thin. We could hear the man above us snoring and walking around as the floors as very creaky. This didn't ruin our stay as such, but if you're a light sleeper you may need to take some ear plugs to feel well rested in the morning. On the plus side the breakfast was delicious, staff were lovely and we would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Norton House, Owner at Norton House Hotel & Restaurant
Responded Oct 12, 2020
Hello, Thank you for your kind words and positive feedback. We will take your feedback onboard. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Regards
Read more
cburni wrote a review Sep 2020
London, United Kingdom114 contributions51 helpful votes
Excellent location and plenty of parking. Rooms very stylish and spacious. Bathroom same only complaint was that the room was a little dark as it opened onto an enclosed courtyard. Breakfast and dinner were of a very high standard and extremely good value. Staff were all very helpful, courteous and efficient.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Ask for room with good lighting.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Norton House, Owner at Norton House Hotel & Restaurant
Responded Oct 12, 2020
Hello, Thank you for your kind words and positive feedback. We will take your feedback onboard. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Regards
Read more
537helen67 wrote a review Aug 2020
Penarth, United Kingdom3 contributions
We were a family party of 9 staying in two apartments and a superior room from 7-9th August. Whilst the room was fine, the apartments were not very clean with stained sheets , crumbs in cutlery drawers and dust marks on surfaces. On our first morning we asked if we could get a cooked breakfast fast as we were trying to get to the beach. We were assured it could be served quickly but it seems our order was lost and after waiting 25 minutes we gave up. The second morning our breakfast was served a bit faster but it was poor quality. We complained to a manager but nothing was offered as compensation at check out. After getting home we called again and were assured we would get a refund but nothing has materialised. A chambermaid/waitress who had seen our problems on the first morning apologised profusely. Such a contrast with the managers who were pretty dismissive. We wouldn’t recommend the hotel unfortunately as the location is great.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$65 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
norton house hotel and restaurant, norton hotel swansea
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesSouth WalesSwansea CountySwanseaMumbles
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Norton House Hotel & Restaurant
Which popular attractions are close to Norton House Hotel & Restaurant?
Nearby attractions include Oystermouth Castle (0.3 miles), Gower Gallery (0.4 miles), and Mumbles Ale House (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Norton House Hotel & Restaurant?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Norton House Hotel & Restaurant?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Norton House Hotel & Restaurant?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Norton House Hotel & Restaurant?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gower Seafood Hut, The Front Room Tearoom and Bistro, and Mumbles Coffee.
Is Norton House Hotel & Restaurant located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of Mumbles.
Does Norton House Hotel & Restaurant offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Norton House Hotel & Restaurant?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Dylan Thomas Birthplace (3.3 miles), Parc le Breos Burial Chamber (3.7 miles), and Swansea Castle (0.3 miles).