We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ydalir Hotel

Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Traveler (24)
Room & Suite (10)
Dining (4)


#13 of 27 hotels in Stavanger
Ydalir Hotel is a beacon with sights for the future. With upscaled rooms and a friendly staff, Ydalir sets the bar for Campus Hotels in Scandinavia.
Read more
Room features
Good to know
2Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 21
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I came to Stavanger for a couple of days stop but i ended staying 9 nights! This hotel is just wonderful! Extremely clean without any moquette, modern rooms with the most comfortable beds i have ever tried and usually I travel quite a lot! Curtains were finally on the dark side! Sorroundings are exceptional! A beautiful forest on the outskirts of the city with even rabbits wandering in the streets...incredible!! Staff is one of the best of any hotel i have been in Europe or elsewhere. Polite, kind, talkative especially for me that i was travelling solo. They went the extra mile helping me with some specific cleaning staff and making the room when the cleaning was not avalaible! I would like to especially thank Henriette, Erik and the lady that was in reception this morning sunday 30 june (unfortunately i forgot her name): all of three were really extremely kind and welcoming and made some of my days and evenings less boring and more funny. Things to improve: Shower gel in the bathroom is not of a good quality and is not up the standard of this hotel, i would introduce a separate body wash and shampoo There is no restaurant in the hotel, even if they are linked to some delivery food ( japanese, pizza and pakistani). I would introduce a small meal service or expand the list of the linked restaurants. I would either install a phone in the room or a safe, they can improve the hotel image. P.s: remember that this hotel is 20 min bus ride to the center and even of it s extremely easy to take the bus service is much more limited on saturdays and sundays
Read more
Response from MartinusHelland, Resepsjonssjef at Ydalir Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Hello Andrewv480! Thank you so much for your detailed review of your experience with us at Ydalir Hotel! You had us with your headline and you have melted our service hearts with your kind words. I have passed on your review to everyone at the hotel, with special thanks to Henriette, Erik and "the lady" who is called Line! We also want to thank you for your tips for improvement and it is such tips that can help us become as good of a hotel experience as we strive to be! You are of course more than welcome to visit us again, if you ever return to Stavanger. All the best, Martinus H, Hotel Manager Ydalir Hotel
Read more
Stay here and you’ll get a new understanding of Norwegian culture. I should know! I’m Norwegian! The food is absolutely amazing, the staff is just..... Well, lovable! They couldn’t be better! Just a few minutes ago, I was told that the director poured my coffee this morning. This is a down to earth, beautifully designed masterpiece of a hotel! And I cannot put justice to the feeling. You really need to experience it! I’m still here! -ᛏᛟᚱ
Read more
Response from MartinusHelland, Resepsjonssjef at Ydalir Hotel
Responded Dec 4, 2018
Oh la la, theseppola! Thank you indeed for your recommendation and your lovely words! Our service hearts are melted! It is a real pleasure to read that you enjoyed how the hotel is operated and we hope to see you back with us again here at Ydalir, Best Regards, Martinus H, Hotel Manager Ydalir Hotel
Read more
Stayed here for two days during a business trip. It is a nice and new hotel for if you need to be in the area of the university. as everything is relatively new all look nice and clean. The standard bedroom is small but has all the essentials except a small desk of some sort for if you like to work on your room, but it has a nice chair and a small table. The bed was really good. also the shower was perfect. The breakfast was nice and fresh, but the orange juice was mixed I think. The coffee was ok (american style). There is a great big gym very close you can use if you like to work out, but you have to pay about 7...8Euros. Transport to the city is also very close.
Read more
Response from MartinusH32, Resepsjonssjef at Ydalir Hotel
Responded Oct 8, 2018
Hello Remco V, Thank you so much for your review and for choosing to stay with us at Ydalir Hotel! It is a real pleasure to read that you were satisfied with your stay. Regarding our orange juice: It is freshly squeezed by our night shift each night and therefore the taste from the oranges may vary depending on the season. It is fabulous to read that you enjoyed our partnership with the local gym and that you used the local transportation that passes by our hotel. We really do hope to see you back with us again, Best Regards, Martinus H, Hotel Manager Ydalir Hotel
Read more
Whether relaxing in "Ull's Lounge" or having a glass of wine in the bar or waking up to a fabulous, fresh-cooked breakfast, you will feel as though you really are living in a home built for a deity! Exquisite design, friendly staff, and convenient location. I stayed for a month and wish I could live there year-round.
Read more
Response from Martinus H, Resepsjonssjef at Ydalir Hotel
Responded Jul 11, 2018
Oh wow Lisa - You have spoiled us with your kind words! Thank you very much for your stay with us and we really hope to see you back with us again in the future. Best Regards, Martinus H, Hotel Manager Ydalir Hotel
Read more
Stayed two nights in June 2018. Easy to find hotel tucked away in a quiet university campus, check-out was easy and I was even given ice-cream on arrival as it was a hot day! The room and facilities are fantastic and very clean, the bed extremely comfortable and the bathroom great with a very nice shower. To hotel is brand new and the decor is trendy and authentic, all rooms have televisions with Chromecast/Mirrorcast meaning you can watch your own videos or TV programmes on the TV. As a regular traveller this is a nice touch, allowing me to watch films through the TV rather than my laptop or phone. There is little to fault but I was asked on check-in by the GM to bring to his attention anything which I think could be improved: 1. Sun block blinds - I saw these going up and down and heard them during the night and morning but was unsure how they were controlled, could they be controlled in room? 3. Emergency strips - some of the glow-in-the-dark fluorescent strips were peeling off in the corridors. 4. Shampoo/Body Wash - The provided in room body wash was not great, it was very thin more like a hand-soap. 5. Granola - only Muesli was available at breakfast as a lover of Granola it would be nice to have a choice (a great selection of fruit and seeds is already available). Overall a lovely hotel with great potential and I hope to be back in the future.
Read more
Response from Martinus H, Resepsjonssjef at Ydalir Hotel
Responded Jun 6, 2018
Thank you so much for your review Ryan! It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay, found our staff helpful and friendly, and that the ice cream was appreciated! To answer your feedback on how we can be even better: Our sun block blinds are still in the testing phase. We are monitoring how it reacts to the sun as it should be automatically managed dependent on how much sun is outside. It cannot be controlled individually unfortunately as it reacts to how the sun hits our hotel to keep the rooms nice and chill. The glue that has been used on our emergency strips in the hallway is not to our standards and our supplier has been notified. It will be fixed in the coming days. We appreciate the feedback on our soap and we will consider changing it with another type. I too enjoy a fresh bowl with granola, and it is absolutely something we will consider to add to our breakfast buffet. Thank you again for your review and the pointers - that's how we can become as good as we like to be! We hope to see you again, Best Regards, Martinus H, Hotel Manager Ydalir Hotel
Read more
$103 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
NorwayWestern NorwayStavanger MunicipalityStavanger
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing