We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thon Hotel Stavanger

Traveler (242)
Dining (64)
Room & Suite (55)

About

#1 of 27 hotels in Stavanger
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice 2019 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
Property amenities
Room service
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Breakfast Available
Business Center with Internet Access
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Minibar
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Trendy

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
130Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
53Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
536Reviews
6Q+A
27Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 436
  • 86
  • 8
  • 4
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
This was my second visit to this hotel, which pretty much sums up my opinion of the place. It's absolutely lovely. The hotel is located right in the city centre, right next to shops, cafes and restaurants. The interior is colourful, modern and updated. The rooms and common areas are very clean and well looked after. One morning we noticed a mark on one of the walls in the hallway, and by early afternoon the wall had been painted. The people who run and work at this hotel obviously care, and want to provide the best experience. The breakfast is wonderful with everything you would want, including staff who come to the table to take coffee orders. There is a lounge in the hotel where you can hang out during the day, drink free coffee and read newspapers. In the evening, they serve a complimentary meal, which makes your stay a bit cheaper since you don't have to go out for dinner. The staff is very sweet, helpful and attentive. I intend to stay at this hotel every time I go to Stavanger, because I genuinely believe it's the best hotel in town.
Read more
I came to the hotel, and it was overbooked. I booked two weeks in advance. They didn’t call or text. I got an lesser room in an mediocre hotel in the neighborhood, and was billed the same. I’m not pleased with this hotel.
Read more
Response from Olle A, General Manager at Thon Hotel Stavanger
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear jonassK7255CP, We sincerely apologize for the unacceptable experience you had with us. I´m glad I reached you on the phone so I could hear about it in your own words and apologize to you directly. As mention, don't hesitate to contact me per email for a future stay with us if wanted. We hope to welcome you during different circumstances in the future. Best regards, Olle Aulin General Manager
Read more
Lovely hotel, but the rooms are so small there was no place to put our luggage. Abundant breakfast. Located in town. Might try a different hotel next time simply for a bit larger room - (and i know european hotel rooms are smaller than American ones)
Read more
Response from Olle A, General Manager at Thon Hotel Stavanger
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear jujubean4, Thank you for staying With us. I´m sorry to hear that the room you stayed in appeared to small. We don´t have the biggest room, especially not compare to American standard. However, in a potential future stay I´ll recommend you to upgrade to a superior or business room to get more space. I´m glad to hear you enjoyed the rest of the hotel. Thank you for rating us and warmly welcome back again in the future. Best regards, Olle Aulin General Manager
Read more
Overall experience was superb, fantastic breakfast with a lot of choice . Room was clean and well equipped. The evening Meal is included in the hotel stay. That's a bonus as eating out in Stavanger can be pricey
Read more
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no
Response from Olle A, General Manager at Thon Hotel Stavanger
Responded Jun 11, 2019
Dear Gecko69, Thank you for sharing your experience with others here at tripadvisor. It lovely reading about your stay and that you enjoyed both the breakfast, the eveningmeal and our rooms. We truly appreciate your recommendation. Warmly welcome back another time. Best regards, Olle Aulin General Manager
Read more
Norway is a very expensive, especially if you're trying to keep within a limited budget. However this hotel is fairly reasonably, comfortable and has all the usual amenities. The airport bus stop is just across the road, but be aware the last bus leaves the airport at half past midnight and then the only option is a very expensive taxi. Over 500kr! A special mention about the breakfast buffet which has a great choice and is top notch. The included evening meal is a great idea and although it's nothing elaborate it is perfectly adequate and saves a small fortune on eating out. The rooms are a little on the small side and I would have preferred a firmer bed but of course this is very much a personal matter. Good shower and nicely heated bathroom floor. Would definitely recommend.
Read more
Response from Olle A, General Manager at Thon Hotel Stavanger
Responded Jun 11, 2019
Dear mps1948, Thank you for rating us. I´m delighted to read about your stay and that you had a pleasant visit with us. It´s lovely to know that you appreciate our facilities and services such as light evening meal which absolutely can be a cost saver. I´m also glad and thankful for your recommendation. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Best regards, Olle Aulin General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$139 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
NorwayWestern NorwayStavanger MunicipalityStavanger
NUMBER OF ROOMS
147
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing