We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Oleana

Savings alert: 10% below average rate
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Traveler (273)
360
Panoramas (8)
Room & Suite (210)

About

#10 of 53 hotels in Bergen
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice 2019 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel Oleana is a new and modern hotel in historic buildings,uptown Bergen, opening June 1st 2015. Situated in the heart of the city with immediate access to restaurants, bars, shopping, theatre, concerts - you get the sense of staying in the middle of the Norwegian Broadway. With just a few minutes walk the Funicular ("Floibanen") takes you right up into the mountains with view of the city and access to hiking trails. In addition, we collaborate with ITrain, staying at Hotel Oleana you can maintain good exercise habits, inside or outside in the city mountains. Ask us and we will help and guide you. Rooms are exclusive and individually decorated, ranging from standard to suites, family friendly and handicap accessible. Efficient rooms for business travelers, we have work desk in each room and free Wi-Fi. Extra comfortable beds and big TV's in all rooms. Some rooms with balconies, some with panoramic windows facing the mountains. Modern facilities for meetings & conferences up to 26 people, with us you can invite family and friends for private receptions and parties. The hotel offers free breakfast, home made afternoon bake & an evening meal based on healthy Norwegian traditional cooking. Indoor parking in same block, at Klostergarasjen, 100 meters from the entrance. Easy access to local public transportation and with short walking distance to the train station and airport bus stop near the hotel. We look forward seeing you - as guest at our spectacular hotel.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Room service
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Minibar
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Centrally Located
Hotel links
Visit hotel website

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
191Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
71Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
856Reviews
19Q+A
53Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 487
  • 263
  • 73
  • 21
  • 13
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
The only negative was the small size of the room. Everything else was perfect. Great location, terrific breakfast and very friendly and helpful staff. We would certainly go back. The reception and bar area was perhaps a little limited,
Read more
Hotel's Favorite
Picked this hotel in part because of its great location and fun and funky interior. Neither disappointed. We flew into Bergen and took the shuttle bus going into downtown. We got off at the Festplassen stop, which was a few quick block from the hotel. From the hotel it was an easy walk to Bryggen and the Floibanen. After our time in Bergen, we were off on the Norway in a Nutshell route to Oslo. From Hotel Oleana, it was an easy 10 minute walk to the train station to start the Nutshell excursion. The fun and funky interior refers to two historic buildings that encompass the hotel proper. The elevator has "A" and "B" floors, because the two buildings don't line up, which was fun. The dominant color is purple and the rooms are comfortable, modern, and quirky in a good way. Staff were friendly and helpful and breakfast was yummy.
Read more
Response from CarstenJohannesen, General Manager at Hotel Oleana
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear ConnessT, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback! Im glad Hotel Oleana lived up to your expectations, and that our location suited your needs! I do agree, the location is perfect if you want to visit, bryggen, fløien or take the bus/train to our from Bergen! I hope you had time to try our restaurant as well! Welcome back at a later occasion. Best Regards Carsten Johannesen
Read more
Excellent location and breakfast was Fresh with good variety. The decorations were unique. The staff were helpful, but they changed the bed type during my reservation which was not nice. It was fully booked hotel at the time of check in
Read more
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Response from CarstenJohannesen, Daglig leder at Hotel Oleana
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Reem S, Thank you so much for your kind review of Hotel Oleana. Im glad to see that you enjoyed our breakfast and our staff was helpful. Im sorry that the bed type was changed, but I hope you still got a good nights sleep. Have a nice day and a good summer when the time comes Best Regards Carsten & Team Oleana
Read more
I should have known not to do it when I saw the check in was one computer at a bar manned by a 16 year old. No bellmen, no concierge, no other people at all. Starting off, they couldn’t honor the reservation. I accepted a downgrade & registered. The list from there is ridiculous. 1. Nobody answered the front desk calls. 2. Housekeeping was so bad - no coffee, no new toiletries, no clean beds, etc. etc. 3. The doors don’t lock when you leave which means anyone can walk in. 4. No room service. 5. No ice. 6. No mini bar replacements 7. I can go on & on & on. If you’re looking for a hotel, this is not one. It has no regular staff you’d expect at all. There is one person in the bar & that’s it. If you need anything at all, there;s no one to do anything. Everything about this place, crappy beds, poor housekeeping, no mini bar replacements- not worth a penny you pay. The only thing it has going for it is location.
Read more
Response from CarstenJohannesen, Daglig leder at Hotel Oleana
Responded 1 week ago
Hi mkmiceli, I do not know how to respond to your list, because much of what you expected are services we do not offer, bellmen and concierge is not services we advertise or you pay for. So to give us a low score based on this is really not fair. It is correct the reception is located at the end of our bar, but all employees working for us is all over 20 years and the fact that you feel that they look younger should not impact your review. The front office is manned 24/7, one bartender during the hours the bar/restaurant is open and multiple waiters and chefs. Coffee/ tea is found in the restaurant, free of charge for all our guests 24/7, the sheets are changed every second day, not every day - this is to try and reduce our climate footprint, and toiletries are changed when empty. It looks to me that you would be more happy at a 5 star hotel. Which we are not, nor you pay for. I wish you the best of luck in your future hotel stays and a great summer when the time comes! Regards Carsten J
Read more
+1
Early checkin was a success, and the bed was simply amazing! We tend to be proponents of firm beds and worries about this one being too soft. Absolutely not! It was like sleeping in a cloud that was perfectly firm everywhere needed. Breakfast buffet was superior and allowed me to realize that I did not want to buy caviar in a tube:). Fresh OJ, Fried eggs—or hard boiled or soft, amazing bread—it was all good. Complimentary coffee and tea kept us alert in the afternoons. Kitchen closes at 10pm sharp so eat earlier if you are so inclined.
Read more
Response from CarstenJohannesen, Daglig leder at Hotel Oleana
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Kdk1965, That you for your review of Hotel Oleana. Im glad to see that our beds was a perfect match for you! I hope you choose to come back and try them once more. Im also glad our breakfast was to your satisfaction, and a its good advise to come early to breakfast, although it is open until 11:00 during the weekends Have a nice day and a good summer when the time comes. Best Regards Carsten & Team Oleana
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$182 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
NorwayWestern NorwayBergenSentrum
NUMBER OF ROOMS
97
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing