We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Steinestoevegen 745 Hordvik, Bergen 5108 Norway
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$121
View Deal
ZenHotels.com
Priceline
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (52)
Room & Suite (7)
Dining (2)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
FJORDSIDE Lodge is located 15km north of Bergen near road E39. FJORDSIDE Lodge is a unique spot near Bergen, with a wonderful garden and a magnificent panoramic view over the fjords, islands and surrounding mountains. Traditional red houses with turf roof and a beautiful garden enclosed by hedges and untouched nature. Here you find two large terraces and a garden where you can eat your breakfast, barbecue, enjoy a silent moment, read a book, or just admire the view over the fjord. Your stay also includes access to a gas grill and a fire pan for barbecue using coal or wood. Both terraces include a wonderful view of the fjords. Fjordside Lodge offers romantic and creative surroundings with a fish pond and one cat. Some free-range chickens and our small organic farm, create the perfect atmosphere. The children also have a paradise with a large playground on the property. It's short trip to the beach where they can find small crabs. There is also a marina close by and mooring is available on private quay. SURROUNDINGS: Close by: Hiking trails, fishing, beach, food market, local bus, and area tourist attractions. Tourist attractions: Bergen Centrum, the world famous Bergen fish market, old postal trail Bergen- Trondheim, Tellevik fort, Saetre farm and Norsk Trikotasje museum (Museum of Norwegian Knitting Industry). After crossing the long floating bridge you are surrounded by islands and waterfalls in the west, and lakes and rivers in the East. Sognefjord and Voss are only a 90 minute drive away. Everything else you need is within a very short distance. APARTMENTS are fully equipped, updated and tastefully decorated including towels and bed linen. Wi-Fi is available free of charge. At approximately 55m2 each apartment is fully equipped for 4 people and self-catering. The bathroom is bright and welcoming with in- floor heating, shower, toilet, washing machine, towels, hairdryer and soap. The kitchen is fully equipped with all necessary equipment for cooking and storage. This includes a Coffee maker, kettle and common spices etc. The living room has HD flat screen TV with most channels, DVD player and a selection of DVD's. Wireless 30MB internet is free of charge. For a small fee we can stock your refrigerator before your arrival, just ask. APARTMENT A (Salhusfjorden 55m2, max 4 persons): - 1 sleeping alcove with double bed - 1 bedroom with bunk beds, 1 living room - fully equipped kitchen - bathroom (shower only),washing machine APARTMENT B (Sorfjorden 55m2, max 4 persons): - 1 sleeping alcove with double bed - 1 bedroom with double bed - Living room including dining table - fully equipped kitchen - bathroom (shower only), washing machine APARTMENT C (Veten 25m2, max 2 persons): - 1 combined bedroom/LR and bedroom - Kitchen and bathroom ANNEX/CABIN (max 2 persons, extra bed space) - approx. 20m2 - bunk beds - wash bowl and potty MISCELLANEOUS: - kettle, coffee-percolator - water from our own well - smoking not permitted - pets allowed only by pre arrangement - cash payment in NOK on arrival - The refrigerator can be filled before arrival INCLUDED: - Free Parking, bed linen, towels, taxes, baby cot, 30Mb WI-FI, electricity and end cleaning RATE: Please contact us for a rate quote or check web our page
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Canoeing
Hiking
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
BBQ facilities
Secured parking
Free internet
Wifi
Internet
Horseback riding
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Soundproof rooms
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Norwegian
74Reviews0Q+A6Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 48
  • 19
  • 5
  • 2
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I was on an assignment to FRAMO Week 37. I looked for accomodation reasonably nearby, as I try to avoid going all the way back to Bergen for dwelling.I chose Fjordside Lodge not far from Flatøy.The Owners, Rita and her husband were very helpful by arranging a suitable appartment and even carrying in my luggage, since I have some knee problems.Apartment was Nice and well equipped, even With an Office room, Perfect for me writing my reports,and communicating With e-mails). Good WiFi by the way.Good bed and I slept well. Quiet and very Nice surroundings.I will highly recommend this place.Jostein EvensenQC-Inspector in OIl/Gas-Sector
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from FJORDSIDE, Eier at Fjordside Lodge
Responded Sep 20, 2018
Thank you very much for a nice review. I hope to be your host again. Best regards, Rita
Read more
We spent four days at Fjordside Lodge. Our appartment was lovely furnitured with a cozy atmosphere, even though it might have been a little bit small for four people.Rita had a beautyful garden with a small pond and trolls. We especially enjoyed our breakfasts on the terrace. From there we had an amazing view on the fiord and the small marina. We would like to thank Rita and Jarle for their hospitality and the boat trip we had together.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from FJORDSIDE, Eier at Fjordside Lodge
Responded Aug 31, 2018
Thank you so much for a nice review
Read more
The place is so peaceful and cosi. Locatipn is dreat, 20 min from city center. Overlooking at the water from above, the place to have coffee in the morning. We were at the place for couple, small but very clean and maitained. Nice kitchen that we made good dinner. Rita is so pleasent and nice and very considering. Her entire lodge is well thoughtful up to the furthest detail. We highly recommend her place.
Read more
Response from FJORDSIDE, Eier at Fjordside Lodge
Responded Aug 25, 2018
Thank you SO much. I'm so happy to hear this. I'm trying to do my best all the time, and those words goes straight to my heart. It means a lot to me. Best regards, Rita
Read more
We spent a week at Fjordside and really enjoyed our stay. We were in a self contained flat for two people, and it was equipped with everything we needed for our stay. The views from the garden are breathtaking, and Bergen is but a fairly short drive away. Rita is a delightful host and couldn't have been more helpful.
Read more
Response from FJORDSIDE, Eier at Fjordside Lodge
Responded Aug 22, 2018
Thank you very much, Chris! I loved being your host. You are an excellent and experienced traveller. You even told me things about Bergen I didn't know. And you figured out public transport on your own. Always positive, smiling and time for a little chat. Thank you for letting me be your host. I hope you will find you way back to Fjordside in the future. Best regards, Rita
Read more
We stayed at the Fjordside Lodge for three nights in late September of 2017. We were driving from Flam and the Lodge was easy to find. From the descriptions one would expect it to be located in the country but it is actually in the middle of an urban area with houses on either side. The yard is nice, cute in fact but let's face it, we're not sleeping in the yard! We were greeted by Rita who is nice enough but spent the first 30 to 40 minutes showing us the craft work she has for sale and reading aloud from this kid's book she wrote about the trolls in her yard. There was even a post quiz! I would have preferred more helpful information such as closest grocery store, local restaurants, local activities, etc etc. There were four adults, two couples in our party so we had booked the one bedroom suite and Rita assured me via email that this accommodation was suitable for 4 adults. Here is what the one bedroom suite is like. First of all, it is in Rita's basement. There is one set of high basement type windows in the living room area which you are able to open and can watch people's feet go by. The kitchen has no natural light at all and is poorly lighted. There is a portable fridge and a stove with a poorly working oven. Additionally there is no oven ready cookware. The bathroom is large and very nice - actually the nicest feature of the suite - and holds a washer. The one bedroom is the size of a jail cell (no exaggeration) and has no windows. There are two bunks on one wall. Not an appropriate room for adults and it was hot and stuffy. The additional double bed "in a private alcove" was actually in the living room, next to the kitchen and was partially blocked from the rest of the living room by a cupboard. Rita gave us one key (for four adults) and was reluctant to give us a second key. This is important only because the entry doorway to the stairway where our apartment was located automatically locked so it would be tough to coordinate all four adults. Seeing a barbecue, we bought meat at the grocery store, only to find the barbecue didn't work. The suite was clean and nicely decorated and as I said, the yard was cute. Would I return? No. Wished I had booked elsewhere, hadn't intended on spending half of my Norwegian vacation sleeping in someone's basement.
Read more
Response from FJORDSIDE, Eier at Fjordside Lodge
Responded Oct 23, 2017
Dear Americans I'm sorry you were not satesfied, which I noticed inthe beginning of your stay. That's why I gave you the book for free. I could also have offered two in the party to stay in Veten, but I felt everything was ok. It is very important to fill in : group contens when you do the booking. Then I have a possibility to find the right apartment for you. The apartment you had is perfect for families with children or 4 singles, but not for couples. Concerning the barbecue, nothing was wrong. Maybe you forgot to connect the gas bottle? Anyway, we were here and we are always service minded. I have noticed that bad weather can lead to bad attitude. Then everything seems to be wrong. The "kid"book had no quiz, but maps, decriptions and links for guiding in the neighbourhood. My advice is to be interrested in the place you visit. If you had checked the map on the my web side, you would also have seen the area before booking. It is important to communicate. I gave you two keys when you asked for it. Of course I could have stopped showing you my crafts and instead change the subject to the grocery store. But I can't read your mind.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$121 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
NorwayWestern NorwayBergen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Fjordside Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Fjordside Lodge?
Nearby attractions include The Norwegian Knitting Industry Museum (1.9 miles), FlipZone Trampolinepark (3.7 miles), and Baluba (3.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Fjordside Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and airport transportation.
What food & drink options are available at Fjordside Lodge?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Fjordside Lodge?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Fjordside Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sumo Asane, Bakstehuset på Ask, and Eides kafe og Handleri.
Does Fjordside Lodge have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Fjordside Lodge offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Fjordside Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Norwegian.
Are there any historical sites close to Fjordside Lodge?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Rosenkrantz Tower - Bymuseet i Bergen (8.3 miles), Haakon's Hall - Bymuseet i Bergen (8.4 miles), and Damsgaard Manor - Bymuseet i Bergen (9.5 miles).