We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Kong Oscars gate 45 Entrance : Tverrgaten, Bergen 5017 Norway
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Trip.com$56
Expedia.com$56
Hotels.com$56
eDreams$56
Travelocity$56
Orbitz.com$56
View all 8 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (225)
360
Panoramas (9)
Room & Suite (223)

About

#1 of 60 Specialty lodging in Bergen
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Central and reasonable priced Guesthouse / Hostel for those who want to spend their money on something more than just sleeping - an excellent base for exploring the city of Bergen. Our hostel is stylish and modern, centrally located, safe and affordable. We also have rooms with private bathroom, TV, fridge and a water kettle. Common areas to use for all our guests are a fully equipped kitchen, TV room, sitting room and a laundry room. We offer accommodation for everyone from corporate clients, families and backpackers . Also suitable for school classes, sports teams and groups. A variety of people who want to stay the best possible way, at a low price. Together with our staff, they are all part of creating that special homely and cozy atmosphere that characterizes Marken Guesthouse - a modern hostel! Marken Guesthouse is superbly located and is clean and comfortable, with these extra touches that make you feel more like a hotel - without the price tag. We are convinced that there can be luxury and design in simplicity.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Vending machine
Board games / puzzles
Books, DVDs, music for children
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Wifi
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Desk
Kitchenette
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Italian, Norwegian and 1 more

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
131Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
58Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
452Reviews11Q+A30Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 170
  • 202
  • 60
  • 8
  • 12
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sunny21582BKK wrote a review Oct 2019
Bangkok Thailand70 contributions26 helpful votes
The hotel is very close to the train station maybe walk only 3-5 mins...also can walk to the climax or Bergen must go places (walking around 7-10 mins). As its says its a guesthouse so they have rooms like dorm, private no bathroom and also has room with bathroom. I stay in a room which has bathroom but I also go check and see the bathroom that is for anyone its also clean and has quite plenty so I would says if you want to save money you can choose no bathroom is fine. As the price is not expensive even you choose the private room with bathroom you need to get and do linen on the bed by yourself...when you check in they will give you to sheet set and then you do it all by yourself also when check out need to grab all out. For the towel you need to pay so if don't want to pay you need to bring or prepare with you. I stay here for 2 nights so no cleaning room service. On the last day my train is at 11pm so I need to check out and then leave the luggage at the storage room which they will give us a pin code when come back to get the luggage....I came back around 9.30 pm. and then the code doesn't work. It was very nightmare as my train is at 11 pm., we was trying to contact and call the reception as they have some number but after call can't get anybody. We have many other guess try to come and help us. (from many country...thanks for them). At the end we found 1 person said lets go to the person who I get the key from him when I was arrived the guesthouse late night before...so finally we could get our luggages out before the our train time. A new first time experience here.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from MarkenGjestehus, Receptionist at Marken Gjestehus
Responded Nov 3, 2019
Hello! Thank you for writing about your experience at Marken Gjestehus. We love to read guest feedback and opinions. It sounds like you had a great stay minus the slight misunderstanding regarding the luggage. As we close the reception at 16.30 in the winter season, we try to be very clear that luggage can only be left with us until then! That is to avoid such situations; but we are very glad it all worked out for you! We hope you will come and stay with us again should your travels bring you back to Bergen. Kind regards, Meaghan
Read more
Globspotters wrote a review Sep 2019
Gdansk, Poland172 contributions19 helpful votes
Great place in the center, good for walking or as a starting point. The room itself is very spacious. What surprised us is the fee for the towels but Well Well it's different in every place. Very nice reception staff
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from MarkenGjestehus, Receptionist at Marken Gjestehus
Responded Sep 28, 2019
Hello! Thank you for leaving us a lovely, positive review about our hostel and staff. A lot of our guests bring their own towels, which is why we leave them as optional. We hope you had a memorable stay in Bergen and will be back again soon! Best regards, Meaghan
Read more
Haley N wrote a review Aug 2019
Beaver, Oklahoma46 contributions5 helpful votes
The hostel is in a convenient location and the rooms have plenty of space to store luggage. There are individual lights for each bed, however, there are no USB ports... you just have to fight your bunkmates for outlets. The shower rooms are a good size and not once did I have to wait for a shower. The bathrooms were a different story. Individual toilets for men and women, so sometimes you would have to wait in line. overall, I would recommend this as a good place to stay when visiting Bergen. The price was very hard to beat.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from MarkenGjestehus, Receptionist at Marken Gjestehus
Responded Aug 8, 2019
Dear Haley! First of all, thank you for choosing Marken - secondly, thanks for taking the time to leave valuable feedback for the staff and our future guests. We hope to do everything to ensure our guests the best experience possible. Regarding the toilets, many of them are marked with unisex signs, so don't worry too much about queuing for the "correct" one. We hope you enjoyed Bergen and welcome you back on future travels! Kind regards from Meaghan and the team at Marken Gjestehus
Read more
TrMarek wrote a review Aug 2019
914 contributions47 helpful votes
Kind of a pain if you have to check in after 10pm because reception leaves. The hostel sent an email to pick up the room key from a bar around the corner. We had difficulty opening the enormous front wooden door. Thankfully there was someone on the other side that helped pry it open. Large eating area but the kitchen space is narrow & if there's a couple people in there cooking you will find it hard to maneuver. Laundry available for a fee & the location is close to the harbour & bus station.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from MarkenGjestehus, Meaghan at Marken Gjestehus
Responded Aug 8, 2019
Dear Marek! Thank you for reviewing us. We hope you had a lovely stay. As for check-in: we are very clear in our order confirmation that a simple and smooth "after hours" check-in can be arranged for in advance by email. Then there will be no need to fetch a card from the establishment right next door. The solution you talk of is only used in the case where a guest has for some reason or another not notified us of their arrival time, for example if he/she is stuck on a delayed train without internet or telephone connection. We also not only send an email but clearly write instructions for all late arrivals on our main door. Have a great summer. Kind regards, Meaghan
Read more
Anna Sergeeva wrote a review Jul 2019
St. Petersburg, Russia8 contributions3 helpful votes
We spent 2 nights in the hostel. The room we got looked somewhat older that the ones presented in the pictures but a good thing - they allowed us to check in 2 hours before check in time. The kitchen seemed too small - there were qeues to wash dishes and once we had to wait to find a table to have our breakfast. The restrooms are clean the bathrooms are fine as well. Wi-fi worked without problems.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from MarkenGjestehus, Receptionist at Marken Gjestehus
Responded Jul 21, 2019
Dear Anna! Thank you for choosing Marken Gjestehus and taking the time to review us also! We're happy to hear you liked your stay and that everything was problem-free and clean. We do completely sympathize about the kitchen. We would really like to get work done to make more space for cooking in the future! Best regards and welcome back! Meaghan
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$43 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
marken gjestehus hotel bergen
LOCATION
NorwayWestern NorwayBergenSentrum
NUMBER OF ROOMS
27
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed and, for featured or sponsored sort orders, partners’ payments may also influence the order of the accommodations listed.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Marken Gjestehus
Which popular attractions are close to Marken Gjestehus?
Nearby attractions include No Stress (0.2 miles), KODE Art Museums of Bergen (0.2 miles), and Det Lille Kaffekompaniet (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Marken Gjestehus?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, self serve laundry, and baggage storage.
Is parking available at Marken Gjestehus?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Marken Gjestehus?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bare, Restaurant 1877, and Colonialen 44.
Is Marken Gjestehus located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Bergen.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Marken Gjestehus?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Italian, Portuguese, and Norwegian.
Are there any historical sites close to Marken Gjestehus?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Fantoft Stavkirke (3.7 miles), Rosenkrantz Tower - Bymuseet i Bergen (0.8 miles), and Haakon's Hall - Bymuseet i Bergen (0.7 miles).
Does Marken Gjestehus have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.