We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Kong Oscars Gate 45, Bergen 5017 Norway
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
View all 13 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (226)
360
Panoramas (9)
Room & Suite (227)

About

#1 of 67 in Bergen
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
4.2
Value
4.1
Central and reasonable priced Guesthouse / Hostel for those who want to spend their money on something more than just sleeping - an excellent base for exploring the city of Bergen. Our hostel is stylish and modern, centrally located, safe and affordable. We also have rooms with private bathroom, TV, fridge and a water kettle. Common areas to use for all our guests are a fully equipped kitchen, TV room, sitting room and a laundry room. We offer accommodation for everyone from corporate clients, families and backpackers . Also suitable for school classes, sports teams and groups. A variety of people who want to stay the best possible way, at a low price. Together with our staff, they are all part of creating that special homely and cozy atmosphere that characterizes Marken Guesthouse - a modern hostel! Marken Guesthouse is superbly located and is clean and comfortable, with these extra touches that make you feel more like a hotel - without the price tag. We are convinced that there can be luxury and design in simplicity.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Vending machine
Board games / puzzles
Books, DVDs, music for children
Highchairs available
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Wifi
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Desk
Electric kettle
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Norwegian
454Reviews12Q+A31Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 171
  • 203
  • 60
  • 8
  • 12
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
atravelingvegan wrote a review May 18
Provo, Utah241 contributions49 helpful votes
I've stayed three times and only once did I have a bad experience. I've stayed in both the double room (shared showers and toilets), and the room with attached kitchenette and bathroom. If you arrive after four, the doors are locked and we didn't receive a code to get in, as it mentioned we would. I tried calling both numbers and didn't get an answer. Luckily someone was coming out and when we went up to reception, there was a staff member there (he was trying to help a customer, probably why he didn't answer). The guests that night were extremely rowdy and loud, which was obnoxious. The other two times, there were no issues, check in was easy. Shared showers were clean, shared kitchen was convenient. It did get a little cold one night and the room heater worked great. Do make sure to pay for towels on check in, if you'll be needing them.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Jamie G wrote a review Aug 2020
Perth, Western Australia, Australia11 contributions13 helpful votes
Marken is in a good location to get pretty much everywhere in Bergen. The rooms and hostel is cleaned daily and they have good facilities for a hostel. The staff are all friendly and have been very helpful when quizzed about things to do and places to eat. Try to get a room that isn't above the bar unless you want to hear drunk local guys trying to sound tough by shouting at everything after a few beers.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Try to get a room that isn't above the bar.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
kay186370 wrote a review Aug 2020
Reykjavik, Iceland133 contributions99 helpful votes
Marken Gjestehus is one of the loveliest places I have ever stayed. I took the budget option of staying in the women's 10 bed dorm which comes with a really spacious and well-appointed private bathroom with a beautifully spacious shower. There was even a hairdryer which I don't expect in budget hostel type accommodation (private rooms also available). The public areas were so comfortable, inviting and stylish and everything was so clean. Bottles of handsanitiser were available in the room and also in the public areas. The kitchen is well-equipped with oven, hob, microwave and all manner of utensils. Fridge / freezer and other food storage areas. I cannot recommend Marken Gjestehus highly enough! Four nights were not long enough for me. The location is a few minutes walk from the main attractions, buses, trains, light rail (trams) and the funucular railway up Mount Fløyen are all within easy reach. The beautiful historic town is built on seven hills, 5 major art galleries, multiple museums, King Hakon's Hall and the Mary Church, which are the oldest buildings in Bergen, were close by. Or wander around Bryggen, a UNESCO World Heritage Centre. Shops are plentiful making shopping for provisions, gifts or keepsakes an absolute pleasure. The Fisketorget, encompassing one of the best fish markets I have ever seen and a restaurant are in the same building with Tourist Information above it. The airport is under 50 minutes away when you take the light rail which runs every 8 minutes or so.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Sunny21582BKK wrote a review Oct 2019
Bangkok Thailand69 contributions67 helpful votes
The hotel is very close to the train station maybe walk only 3-5 mins...also can walk to the climax or Bergen must go places (walking around 7-10 mins). As its says its a guesthouse so they have rooms like dorm, private no bathroom and also has room with bathroom. I stay in a room which has bathroom but I also go check and see the bathroom that is for anyone its also clean and has quite plenty so I would says if you want to save money you can choose no bathroom is fine. As the price is not expensive even you choose the private room with bathroom you need to get and do linen on the bed by yourself...when you check in they will give you to sheet set and then you do it all by yourself also when check out need to grab all out. For the towel you need to pay so if don't want to pay you need to bring or prepare with you. I stay here for 2 nights so no cleaning room service. On the last day my train is at 11pm so I need to check out and then leave the luggage at the storage room which they will give us a pin code when come back to get the luggage....I came back around 9.30 pm. and then the code doesn't work. It was very nightmare as my train is at 11 pm., we was trying to contact and call the reception as they have some number but after call can't get anybody. We have many other guess try to come and help us. (from many country...thanks for them). At the end we found 1 person said lets go to the person who I get the key from him when I was arrived the guesthouse late night before...so finally we could get our luggages out before the our train time. A new first time experience here.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from MarkenGjestehus, Receptionist at City Hostel Bergen
Responded Nov 3, 2019
Hello! Thank you for writing about your experience at Marken Gjestehus. We love to read guest feedback and opinions. It sounds like you had a great stay minus the slight misunderstanding regarding the luggage. As we close the reception at 16.30 in the winter season, we try to be very clear that luggage can only be left with us until then! That is to avoid such situations; but we are very glad it all worked out for you! We hope you will come and stay with us again should your travels bring you back to Bergen. Kind regards, Meaghan
Read more
Globspotters wrote a review Sep 2019
Gdansk, Poland173 contributions68 helpful votes
Great place in the center, good for walking or as a starting point. The room itself is very spacious. What surprised us is the fee for the towels but Well Well it's different in every place. Very nice reception staff
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from MarkenGjestehus, Receptionist at City Hostel Bergen
Responded Sep 28, 2019
Hello! Thank you for leaving us a lovely, positive review about our hostel and staff. A lot of our guests bring their own towels, which is why we leave them as optional. We hope you had a memorable stay in Bergen and will be back again soon! Best regards, Meaghan
Read more
Haley N wrote a review Aug 2019
Manhattan, Kansas44 contributions5 helpful votes
The hostel is in a convenient location and the rooms have plenty of space to store luggage. There are individual lights for each bed, however, there are no USB ports... you just have to fight your bunkmates for outlets. The shower rooms are a good size and not once did I have to wait for a shower. The bathrooms were a different story. Individual toilets for men and women, so sometimes you would have to wait in line. overall, I would recommend this as a good place to stay when visiting Bergen. The price was very hard to beat.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from MarkenGjestehus, Receptionist at City Hostel Bergen
Responded Aug 8, 2019
Dear Haley! First of all, thank you for choosing Marken - secondly, thanks for taking the time to leave valuable feedback for the staff and our future guests. We hope to do everything to ensure our guests the best experience possible. Regarding the toilets, many of them are marked with unisex signs, so don't worry too much about queuing for the "correct" one. We hope you enjoyed Bergen and welcome you back on future travels! Kind regards from Meaghan and the team at Marken Gjestehus
Read more
TrMarek wrote a review Aug 2019
936 contributions108 helpful votes
Kind of a pain if you have to check in after 10pm because reception leaves. The hostel sent an email to pick up the room key from a bar around the corner. We had difficulty opening the enormous front wooden door. Thankfully there was someone on the other side that helped pry it open. Large eating area but the kitchen space is narrow & if there's a couple people in there cooking you will find it hard to maneuver. Laundry available for a fee & the location is close to the harbour & bus station.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from MarkenGjestehus, Meaghan at City Hostel Bergen
Responded Aug 8, 2019
Dear Marek! Thank you for reviewing us. We hope you had a lovely stay. As for check-in: we are very clear in our order confirmation that a simple and smooth "after hours" check-in can be arranged for in advance by email. Then there will be no need to fetch a card from the establishment right next door. The solution you talk of is only used in the case where a guest has for some reason or another not notified us of their arrival time, for example if he/she is stuck on a delayed train without internet or telephone connection. We also not only send an email but clearly write instructions for all late arrivals on our main door. Have a great summer. Kind regards, Meaghan
Read more
Anna Sergeeva wrote a review Jul 2019
St. Petersburg, Russia8 contributions3 helpful votes
We spent 2 nights in the hostel. The room we got looked somewhat older that the ones presented in the pictures but a good thing - they allowed us to check in 2 hours before check in time. The kitchen seemed too small - there were qeues to wash dishes and once we had to wait to find a table to have our breakfast. The restrooms are clean the bathrooms are fine as well. Wi-fi worked without problems.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from MarkenGjestehus, Receptionist at City Hostel Bergen
Responded Jul 21, 2019
Dear Anna! Thank you for choosing Marken Gjestehus and taking the time to review us also! We're happy to hear you liked your stay and that everything was problem-free and clean. We do completely sympathize about the kitchen. We would really like to get work done to make more space for cooking in the future! Best regards and welcome back! Meaghan
Read more
Maria wrote a review Jul 2019
16 contributions2 helpful votes
Great place to be in Bergen, perfect location, big rooms, nice views, everything was clean all the time, kitchen was big and have this comun area with big windows and nice views of the city. Plenty of showers and toilets, always clean, with paper and plenty of hangers. Friendly and helpful staff. I will defenitely come back!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from MarkenGjestehus, Reception at City Hostel Bergen
Responded Jul 13, 2019
Dear Maria! Thank you so so much for your warm response and kind words. It's important to us that our guests are happy with what we do and we do our best to make everyone's stay at Marken is as comfortable and positive as possible. We look forward already to your next visit! Take care, Meaghan
Read more
Kuluarpohod wrote a review Jun 2019
Bila Tserkva, Ukraine19 contributions
First we chose this hostel by booking in 2014 for our tourist groups, but after meeting we became good friens and business partners till this time. Aways clean white bedlinen, good equiped citchen, hot water, clean and silence rooms. You can chose budget bed in common room or more comfortable individual room. A good location: close to railway station, center city, fish market.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from MarkenGjestehus, Receptionist at City Hostel Bergen
Responded Jul 21, 2019
Дорогие друзья! Спасибо за тёплые слова. Мы тоже очень рады работать с вами; желаем вас хороших новых опыта и похода в Бергене и Норвегии в будущем. Радуемся уже дальнейшему взаимодействию. Счастливо! Меган и вся команда в Marken Gjestehus
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$33 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
marken gjestehus hotel bergen
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Marken Gjestehus
LOCATION
NorwayWestern NorwayHordalandBergenSentrum
NUMBER OF ROOMS
27
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about City Hostel Bergen
Which popular attractions are close to City Hostel Bergen?
Nearby attractions include No Stress (0.2 miles), KODE Art Museums of Bergen (0.2 miles), and The Leprosy Museum – St. Jørgen Hospital (0.06 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at City Hostel Bergen?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, laundry service, and self serve laundry.
What are some restaurants close to City Hostel Bergen?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant 1877, Restaurant Opus 16, and Brian Boru Irish Pub.
Is City Hostel Bergen located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Bergen.
Are any cleaning services offered at City Hostel Bergen?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at City Hostel Bergen?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Norwegian.
Are there any historical sites close to City Hostel Bergen?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Fantoft Stavkirke (3.7 miles), Rosenkrantz Tower - Bymuseet i Bergen (0.8 miles), and Haakon's Hall - Bymuseet i Bergen (0.7 miles).
Does City Hostel Bergen have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.