We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Magic Hotel Solheimsviken

Save
Share
Boehmergaten 42, Bergen 5057 Norway
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Orbitz.com
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (182)
Room & Suite (59)
Dining (16)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-out
Updated 10/13/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Magic Hotel Solheimsviken
Updated 10/13/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#34 of 54 hotels in Bergen
Location
3.3
Cleanliness
3.7
Service
3.7
Value
3.5
A new Design Hotel with the style and comforts of high-design by Karim Rashid. 217 rooms and a restaurant with magnificent view over Bergen. Staying at Magic Hotel Solheimsviken gives you the pleasure to enjoy the comforts of high-design at an affordable price. Magic Hotel Solheimviken has a great location above Damsgardssundet / Danmarksplass, with breathtaking views of downtown Bergen and the city's mountains. The interior is designed by world-renowned designer Karim Rashid, a vibrant, contemporary design with focus on comfort, technology and social commitment. We offer standard double room (some connecting), family rooms and suites. Our 217 rooms have exclusive contemporary design, all rooms are equipped with 160 x 200 cm comfort beds, twin or queen mattress, 40" flat-screen with streaming / apple tv, designer desk, lamp and chair, wardrobe, wall-to-wall carpet, and private bathroom with shower. Our 3 suites are facilitated with meeting facilities, that create an intimate setting for smaller meetings for up to 10 people. There is free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, and in the lobby there is Mac's for free use for our guests. Here you will meet our friendly hosts, who are always available to assist with everything from giving advice about the city and to serve basic food and drinks from the reception. Parking, and self-service luggage storage are available. Breakfast is included, and you can enjoy your mornings at our top floor restaurant Bergtatt. Bergtatt has an Italian-inspired menu combined with local flavors and is also open for a la carte Monday to Saturday. Location: At Danmarksplass and in the area around (Solheimsgaten and Solheimsviken) there are sportscentres, high schools, restaurants, doctors, dentists, pharmacies, post office, hairdressers, gym, gas station, taxi rank and a variety of shops, apartment buildings, services and industry businesses. Great hiking in the area. Ca 1,7 km from the City Centre , 10 km from the airport, 3 min walk to Bergen light rail. Proximity to: University, Haukeland Hospital, Marineholmen, VilVite, Bergen University College, Kronstad and the other facilities that Bergen has to offer.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Norwegian

Location

Full view
60Somewhat walkable
Grade: 60 out of 100
12Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
3Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
313Reviews11Q+A16Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 64
  • 99
  • 82
  • 43
  • 25
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
FatherFjord wrote a review Sep 2020
Forde, Norway24 contributions6 helpful votes
Very cool modern design hotel nearby Danmarksplass in Bergen. Comfy beds. Very nice view of Bergen and the surrounding mountains. OK breakfast - nothing too fancy. Staff was nice. There was a discounted price for car park in the parking garage on the backside of the hotel building, but the discount couldn't be much for the price was sobering. No other parking opportunities nearby.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Norge1977 wrote a review Dec 2019
Oslo, Norway53 contributions75 helpful votes
I was on a short business trip to Bergen and booked this reasonably priced hotel for one night stay. The hotel has a modernistic style and a little psychedelic feel in regards to the patterns on the carpet and walls in the hallways and room. For this reason, I think I would recommend this hotel to the younger generations. I would suspect that smaller children could get confused by the pattern. However, I would like to underline that this is in no way a complaint. I slept very well in a twin bed. The breakfast was standard, but with a lot of options. As others have mentioned, there were no bacon, but small hot dogs at breakfast. There are little options to hang clothes in the hotel room. There are no amenities in the room, but a flat screen tv, a kind of sofa and a desk with a chair. Tge bathroom is large enough, but the shower is a bit small. In the shower, there is a combined shampoo and shower gel dispenser. There is an elevator. The hotel seems new and well maintained. Enough towels. It is clean. These are the main facts. I did not get to try the dinner, as the restaurant was closed due to a private arrangement. Right outside the hotel, there is a grocery store. A little further down the road, there are what seems to be very nice restaurants. A gas station near by. This hotel is located a little outside the city centre.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from MagicHotel, Resepsjonssjef at Magic Hotel Solheimsviken
Responded Dec 15, 2019
Dear Norge1977 Thank you for taking the time to provide this review following your recent stay at Magic Hotel Solheimsviken. We always value feedback! Its seems to me that you had a great stay with a good night sleep, and im happy to hear that. Thank you also for all the good tips about the hotel and the surrondings. I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards Jørgen Magic Hotel Solheimsviken
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Daveyboy03 wrote a review Nov 2019
London, United Kingdom5749 contributions70 helpful votes
+1
Nice designer hotel with a good transport link from the airport- the tram underneath the airport exit -stops at Danmarksplass- just a few minutes walk from the hotel. This same tram also goes to the tourist areas in 20 mins. I got a "free upgraded room" on the 5th floor at check-in. The bed & pillows were super comfy. The room had a quirky designed cupboard in an unusual shape. There was a good selection of breakfast food that always makes a good stay better ! The breakfast room is huge with balcony views of Bergen. WiFi was solid. I was even able to 'screen mirror' my camphone pics onto the TV with the TV app. A decent hotel that was less expensive than the others in central Bergen. 8/10.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
5 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from MagicHotel, Resepsjonssjef at Magic Hotel Solheimsviken
Responded Dec 11, 2019
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide such a positive review following your recent stay at Magic Hotel Solheimsviken. We always value feedback, and I am so pleased your guest and yourself enjoyed your stay. I am delighted you enjoyed your upgraded room, and that you liked our great breakfast. I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards Jørgen Magic Hotel Solheimsviken
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DasIstToll wrote a review Oct 2019
Brisbane, Australia12 contributions2 helpful votes
Nice modern hotel, very close to the light rail into the city. Service was fantastic - Katrine at the front desk went out of her way to sort out arrangements for us. Very nice restaurant with great views and delicious dinner. Would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from MagicHotel, Resepsjonssjef at Magic Hotel Solheimsviken
Responded Oct 14, 2019
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide such a positive review following your recent stay at Magic Hotel Solheimsviken. We always value feedback, and I am so pleased your guest and yourself enjoyed everything about your stay. I am delighted you enjoyed your room, and were well looked after by our outstanding team. My colleagues take pride in going the extra mile for guests, to ensure their every need is catered for, and it is always pleasing to hear we have got this correct. Also happy that you liked our great restaurant. I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards Jørgen Magic Hotel Solheimsviken
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JBDAVIS wrote a review Sep 2019
Lakeland, Florida623 contributions166 helpful votes
My husband and I stayed here one night as part of our own self drive. Once you check in you will be given a voucher in order to park in the parking garage (fee). The front office staff cautioned that the garage fills up fast . So once we parked at 1600 hours our car stayed put until we left. The front office staff was friendly and helpful. The elevators are tiny and function only with room keys ( security factor I guess). Our room had a nice view of the city but there was very little space besides the beds. The only way you could open your suitcase was if you placed it on the bed. There was only one chair and some weird shaped window ledge seat that functioned as neither. Lighting was dim at night for reading. It was rather warm in the room and opening windows made it too noisy. The hotel was further from city center than I had anticipated. We did walk back and forth to the city center ( logged about 10 miles). Breakfast buffet was on the top floor. Staff was helpful. Selection was very good with lots of items to choose from- fruits, eggs, breads, cakes, cereals.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from MagicHotel, Resepsjonssjef at Magic Hotel Solheimsviken
Responded Oct 1, 2019
Dear JBDAVIS Thank you for taking the time to provide this review following your recent stay at Magic Hotel Solheimsviken. So glad you got a nice welcome by our great front office staff, and that you liked our breakfast. Also thank you for the feedback about the rooms! I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards Jørgen Magic Hotel Solheimsviken
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
quiet_wave wrote a review Aug 2019
Wakefield, Massachusetts656 contributions361 helpful votes
Be warned that there are several Magic hotels around Bergen. I actually thought I was booking the one in the center of the downtown but booked here instead. It's not really walkable so keep that in mind if you want to park and then walk the rest of your Bergen trip. The hotel was just okay. Eclectic decor filled the lobby. The staff were nice and smiling. It has parking but fills out so you have to pay the machine (same garage). Vile smell down there. I saw what I think was possibly sewerage draining down. Yuck. Spots are tiny and close together so parking can be an obstacle. The room wasn't that great. No AC so we had to rely on having the room windows open and listening to street sounds (including techno music at 3am) each night. Not much room left once we put our luggage down and we even moved a case back to the car to make room. Television was a bit wonky - kept trying to insist we use Chromecast and we had to unplug it a few times to get it to go back to normal television. The bathroom was small, and in every Scandinavian hotel apparently, flooded the floor each time we took a shower. The bed was pretty good. Mattress felt nice and the pillows were comfortable. Not a horrible place to stay but not close enough to walk downtown. There's a Kiwi grocery store right next door. The restaurant looked good but we never checked it out. I think the rooms were a bit overpriced for the size and what you got (and for the noise due to lack of AC). I likely would not stay in this chain again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
20 Helpful votes1 Repost
Helpful
Share
Response from MagicHotel, Resepsjonssjef at Magic Hotel Solheimsviken
Responded Sep 2, 2019
Dear quiet_wave Thank you very much for sharing the review in regards to your stay at Magic Hotel Solheimsviken. I'm happy that you liked our nice beds, and that you in the end got a nice night sleep. We hope you had a great time in Bergen with us and wish we will be able to welcome you back in near future. Best regards Jørgen Magic Hotel Solheimsviken
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wogstad wrote a review Aug 2019
Oslo, Norway20 contributions19 helpful votes
The hotel had absolutely NO air condtioning, in spite of advertising they had. When complaining, the staff told me they had air from vents, that's all. Front desk staff could have been a little more eager with their customer service, welcoming guests and show some interests when guests complain.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from MagicHotel, Resepsjonssjef at Magic Hotel Solheimsviken
Responded Aug 30, 2019
Dear mr. Wogstad I'm sorry to hear that your stay wasn't as expected. Very few hotels in Norway has a proper AC, and most have as us, only vents to provide cold air. We have fans for loan at the front desk if needed. We do not however advertising that we have AC. If so, this is a mistake from the site telling you, so please email us with this to post@magichotels.no. Thanks for your feedback, and I hope that the rest of the stay was up to your expectations. Best regards Jørgen Magic Hotel Solheimsviken
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nesher2010 wrote a review Aug 2019
Tel Aviv, Israel217 contributions59 helpful votes
+1
The hotel celebrated its 3rd anniversary when we stayed there. It is situated a little far from the city centre and a little uphill, about 30 minutes by foot from the bus terminal. Nevertheless, the neighbourhood is safe, quiet and the Light Rail tram takes you from Danmarksplass to the city centre or to the airport. There is a Kiwi supermarket just opposite the hotel entry, and two more very close, and a butchery, too. You can take a kettle at the reception. The hotel has a laundry room and a dryer, but you should be lucky to catch them available. Our room was large enough and functional. Two types of blinds. All breakfasts were very good, and the personnel did its best to swiftly accommodate the guests in the not-so-large dining room. Because of many tourist groups staying in the hotel, it is recommended to look at their breakfast schedule at the reception the evening before. We have got a lot of help and good advice from Katrine, a reception clerk. We left the hotel very early, so we asked and got good sandwich packs, fruit and juice. Cons: two very-very uncomfortable joined beds, but that was what we booked.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from MagicHotel, Resepsjonssjef at Magic Hotel Solheimsviken
Responded Sep 2, 2019
Dear Nesher2010 Thank you very much for sharing the review in regards to your stay at Magic Hotel Solheimsviken. I'm happy that you enjoyed our great staff. Thank you also for your great tips about the neighbourhood and the public transportation. We hope you had a great time in Bergen with us and wish we will be able to welcome you back in near future. Best regards Jørgen Magic Hotel Solheimsviken
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
hipsterpressure wrote a review Aug 2019
Piacenza, Italy170 contributions17 helpful votes
We stayed at this hotel during our trip to bergen. It was a great choice. For me it is the best hotel. Attention to detail, kindness of staff and elegant design. Lovely place for children too. My son felt like a prince. All is perfect! Thanks Magic Hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from MagicHotel, Resepsjonssjef at Magic Hotel Solheimsviken
Responded Aug 31, 2019
Dear hipsterpressure Thank you for taking the time to provide such a positive review following your recent stay at Magic Hotel Solheimsviken. We always value feedback, and I am so pleased your guest and yourself enjoyed everything about your stay. I am delighted you enjoyed our design, and were well looked after by our outstanding team. My colleagues take pride in going the extra mile for guests, to ensure their every need is catered for, and it is always pleasing to hear we have got this correct. I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards Jørgen Magic Hotel Solheimsviken
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
William C wrote a review Aug 2019
2 contributions
The hotel was ok at best. We enjoyed our stay in Bergen but the hotel did not really contribute. It has plenty of room for improvement. Some of the staff were kind and friendly but some were rude and unhelpful. There was hairs in the bathroom when we first entered the room and dust by the bed. The decor was cheap. View was ok and location wasn't bad.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from MagicHotel, Resepsjonssjef at Magic Hotel Solheimsviken
Responded Sep 2, 2019
Dear William Thank you very much for sharing the review in regards to your stay at Magic Hotel Solheimsviken. I'm so sorry that your your cleaning wasn't up to your og our standard. We agree that hairs in the bathroom is not acceptable. I'm likewise happy that you enjoyed your room view and our location. We hope you had a great time in Bergen and wish we will be able to welcome you back in near future. Best regards Jørgen Magic Hotel Solheimsviken
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$85 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
NorwayWestern NorwayHordalandBergen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
217
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Magic Hotel Solheimsviken
Which popular attractions are close to Magic Hotel Solheimsviken?
Nearby attractions include Flow State (0.3 miles), Forum Scene (0.2 miles), and Lokalt - the sustainable experience (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Magic Hotel Solheimsviken?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Magic Hotel Solheimsviken?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Magic Hotel Solheimsviken?
Yes, paid private parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Magic Hotel Solheimsviken?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bien Snackbar, Kranen, and Bergtatt.
Is Magic Hotel Solheimsviken located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the center of Bergen.
Are pets allowed at Magic Hotel Solheimsviken?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Magic Hotel Solheimsviken?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Norwegian.
Are there any historical sites close to Magic Hotel Solheimsviken?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Troldhaugen Edvard Grieg Museum (3.9 miles), Fantoft Stavkirke (2.6 miles), and The Rosenkrantz Tower (1.8 miles).
Is Magic Hotel Solheimsviken accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.