We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Citybox Oslo

Save
Share
Prinsensgate 6, Oslo 0152 Norway
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
$65
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/07/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Priceline
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (768)
360
Panoramas (7)
Room & Suite (315)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
Read more
Updated 10/16/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 10/16/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#30 of 102 hotels in Oslo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Citybox is a modern economy hotel with low prices. Our rooms are cheap because we keep our running expenses down while still offering our guests what they really need: a simple and stylish room with a delicate bath, a comfortable bed, a good chair, a desk and a place for hanging your clothes. Wireless broadband is available free of charge throughout the hotel. Citybox combines simplicity with comfort and low prices. The hotel is located in the centre of Oslo, 5 minutes walking from Oslo S, train staion. If you want to spend your money on something other than a minibar and room service, then Citybox is the place for you. Oslo is full of bars. Why do you need one in your hotel room? We recently teamed up with a cafe that offers breakfast, lunch and dinner for all our guests, and also provides a 10% discount for our guests. In addition they also cater to our meeting rooms. The cafe has a direct entrance from the hotel.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Coffee shop
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Vending machine
Shared lounge / TV area
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Norwegian
2168Reviews64Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 694
  • 1,075
  • 293
  • 74
  • 32
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Løvbakk wrote a review Jun 7
2 contributions1 helpful vote
I spent a night in Oslo and needed a cheap place to stay. I found Citybox on google maps and the location is perfect, just next to the train station. I booked a single room at a very nice price, and the check-in was quick and simple on a self-check-in machine. I got a very nice and simple room on the 6th floor, with a comfortable bed and a small bathroom with a shower. The temperature was good and the noice level was low, so I slept very well. The 24 hour access made it very easy to come and go, and they also have a free storage room for excess luggage. I would recommend this hotel to anybody who are visiting Oslo.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Tina Christel Selseth, General Manager at Citybox Oslo
Responded 5 days ago
Hi Lovbakk! Wow! Thanks for an amazing review of our hotel! Flattered to read your kind words. Always fun to receive feedback from guests that seems to understand our concept. We do our best to offer a simple and modern solution at what we consider to be a fair rate, and we are glad to see that you felt we offered just that! :) Thanks again for a fantastic recommendation, and we do hope to see you again! Best wishes, Citybox Oslo
Read more
Mariana wrote a review Mar 2021
Barcelona, Spain13 contributions13 helpful votes
I will tell a story that happened a while ago at this hotel, in July/2019, but marked me as the worst experience at a hotel ever...I booked this hotel for 3 nights to make a tour around the city. During one of these nights, I was sleeping, when I woke up with a huge noise, at 00:50. After taking some time to realize what was happening, I noticed that the biggest mirror from the toilet had felt and broke into multiple pieces. Fortunately, I wasn’t inside the toilet when this happened, neither the toilet door was completely open, as I believe it could have injured me either. Later, I made a formal message to the hotel showing what happened and explaining my concern with safety as the mirror looked to be poorly fixed to the wall. The hotel wanted to reimburse me for the first night, which I denied.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Tina Christel Selseth, General Manager at Citybox Oslo
Responded Apr 6, 2021
Hi Marygoulart! Thank you for your feedback on our hotel! We're really sad to hear that you did not like our hotel, and that the handeling of the situation caused you ta have a long lasting negative impression of the hotel. I remeber this event, and the mirror did fell down, wich must have been terrifying. We are very glad you were not injured. We did take your concerns seriously and looked into if any of the other mirrors had any flaws, which they did not. It has never happend before or after that one time. It might have been a poorly done job on that one room, or just an accident which was not supposed to happen, but it did, and we are really sorry about that. We offered to reimburse you, because it seemed like a better solution than to involve you in the follow-up of this case. Anyway, we hope that you at least enjoyed your visit to our lovely city!
Read more
Eirik H wrote a review Feb 2021
Notodden, Norway49 contributions25 helpful votes
Hotel with sentral location. At arrival, this first impression is that this is an unmanned hotel. You first enter one locked room, filled with vending machines for check-in and check-out. However there is a bell to ask for help with check-in. The service form the hotel staff is good if you sek them up and ask for assistanse. When you are inside the hotel, a modern and slightly cool interior reveals itself, with several different seating areas. The hotel rooms are divided into three different wings, with separate lifts. Not entirely easy to understand in the overall layout of the hotel (only advantageously had a floor plan easily visible). The rooms (I used a single room) are small but efficient and well cleaned. If you close the windows, they also dampen noise from the outside well. Overall the hotel feels a bit sterile and impersonal, partly due to the total lack of presence from the staff if you do not ring the bell yourself, or seek out the counter that is secluded near the entrance.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Tina Christel Selseth, General Manager at Citybox Oslo
Responded Mar 1, 2021
Hello Eirik H ! Thanks for your kind review of our hotel! We love reading feedback from guests that seems to understand and appreciate our concept! We do our best to offer a simple and modern solution at what we consider to be a fair rate! :) We can understand that our concept is not for everyone, but ring the bell next time and get a more personal service! Thanks again for your recommendation, and we do hope to see you again!
Read more
Shandi wrote a review Dec 2020
Norway1 contribution1 helpful vote
Hei I had a racist unnecessary encounter with one of your employees. I rented a room at city box on Saturday and was going to have it until Sunday 12 am . I went in and out of my room several times said hello to the security guards and got checked one of the times to see if I really had a room there when I used my key to get through the door. The last time I tried to get to my room which was around 3:30am one of your employees had a terrible attitude and just told me I don’t stay here and that I don’t belong here . I was confused and asked what do you mean I’m using my card to get in I obviously belong here. He then goes to say that it’s another black girl that rented the room not me. Me still being confused said no I rented the room I have a receipt/ email on my phone that I can show him. He continued to deny me and refused to look at my proof that I rented the room. Then he says to get out. I then said that I had with a friend in my room and her bag was with me, if he thought she rented the room I can go get her so we can fix the situation, because it’s late at night I am a young girl that is not well known around the area and had no where eles to go because I wasn’t prepared for this situation He goes on to say that I have 10mintues to get my stuff and I will not be getting a refund. I just want to say this is the most disgusting unnecessary encounter with your employee. I didn’t get to sleep in my room that I paid for. I had to sleep outside because of your employees racism. I would kindly like a refund or I will be contacting someone higher up because this is not okay for anyone to go through, no matter the race. You guys need to educate your employees.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from William Fosser, General Manager at Citybox Oslo
Responded Dec 10, 2020
Hi! It is unfortunate to hear that you experienced this situation this way. Due to infection control we have strict routines that apply for all our guests. One of the routines we follow is to check identification on all our guests, and when this was not presented in your case, and the fact that you tried bringing additional guests to your room, which is also not allowed due to infection control, you were asked to leave the hotel. This was not a matter of race. We are running a hotel with a high majority of international travellers as our guests. In any case, we are terribly sorry that you left the hotel feeling this way, and we have a dialog going with you about this situation on e-mail and will follow up with you there. Best regards Citybox Oslo
Read more
ChrigiZH wrote a review Dec 2020
Zurich, Switzerland211 contributions211 helpful votes
The hotel is quite allright for the price. It's not really expensive for an Oslo comparison and it's self check-in and out as all Citybox hotels are. The rooms were clean and the location is very central which is good for a visit to Oslo. The rooms however are not that new anymore compared to other Citybox Hotels, everything is quite basic. But you can't go wrong really with staying there!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Tina Christel Selseth, General Manager at Citybox Oslo
Responded Dec 6, 2020
Hi ChrigiZH! Thanks for your kind review of our hotel! We love reading feedback from guests that seems to understand and appreciate our concept! We do our best to offer a simple and modern solution at what we consider to be a fair rate! :) Thanks again for your recommendation, and we do hope to see you again! Best wishes, Citybox Oslo
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$64 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
NorwayEastern NorwayOsloSentrum
NUMBER OF ROOMS
341
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Citybox Oslo
Which popular attractions are close to Citybox Oslo?
Nearby attractions include The Escape Games (0.10 miles), AdventureRooms Oslo (0.2 miles), and VR Games Zone (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Citybox Oslo?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
What are some restaurants close to Citybox Oslo?
Conveniently located restaurants include Statholdergaarden, Mehfel Restaurant, and Roti Shop Oslo.
Is Citybox Oslo located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Oslo.
Does Citybox Oslo offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Citybox Oslo?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Norwegian.
Are there any historical sites close to Citybox Oslo?
Many travelers enjoy visiting 22 July Centre (0.4 miles), Norsk Folkemuseum (2.1 miles), and Oslo City Hall (0.5 miles).
Is Citybox Oslo accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.