We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Landgangen 1, Oslo 0252 Norway
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Preferred Hotels
Travelocity
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1235)
360
Panoramas (14)
Room & Suite (492)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#7 of 101 hotels in Oslo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Stepping into THE THIEF is sure to rob you of something. Something familiar and shall we say, enslaving at times. And the thing is that the hotel is so good at it… that you might not notice until the end. You suddenly find yourself engaged in a world of new impressions: cutting-edge art, architecture and world-class gastronomy.And then it hits you, what’s been stolen from you…you haven’t had a single thought about your very long to-do list, the responsibilities at home, the everyday worries.
Read more
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Paid private parking nearby
Parking garage
Wifi
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Rooftop bar
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Massage
Steam room
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Soundproof rooms
Safe
Laptop safe
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Marina View
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Norwegian, Swedish
2462Reviews21Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,799
  • 425
  • 152
  • 56
  • 30
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Guri S wrote a review Nov 2021
3 contributions
I stayed at the Thief for two nights during October 2021. I was pleasantly surprised by the beautiful location, very friendly staff and super comfortable rooms. I would definitely recommend The Thief to anyone wishing great location, cleanliness and service minded staff!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Dominic Gorham, General Manager at The Thief
Responded 1 week ago
Greetings and many thanks for your review of our property. Great to read you had such an enjoyable stay. As you mentioned we a “ beautiful location “ on an Island in the Oslo Fjord . Your comments regarding the staff and service were a pleasure to hear and I’ll be sharing your thoughts with my fellow Thieves. Wishing you a crisp , snowy Winter and looking forward to your return Dominic GRM The Thief
Read more
Martin wrote a review May 2021
Bergen, Norway115 contributions46 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
It's difficult to compare THE THIEF to any other hotel in Norway, as it is quite a unique little gem in the hearth of Oslo. I've stayed at THE THIEF once before, but I've worked at the hotel as a photographer before a couple of times. All times I've been really impressed by the service, the staff and facilities available. The ambiance and feel of the hotel is unique, it's modern, relaxed and contemporary. I've stayed in a Premium Room on the 8th floor for a couple of nights, and it's probably one of the best rooms I've stayed in at any hotel. Bed is excellent, and facilities otherwise are great. View and balcony has a unique view over the fjord and Tjuvholmen. When I've worked here we've been working in a couple of the conference rooms and in the Oslo Suite. Both stunning locations for both work and pleasure. I've stayed here only during the pandemic, which might make the stay a little amputated. The spa was closed and only open for individual treatments, and breakfast spread might be a little reduced. Anyways, it's always comfortable staying at THE THIEF, and I'm looking forward to staying here again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Dominic Gorham, General Manager at The Thief
Responded May 2, 2021
Greetings and many thanks for your review of our property. Great to read you had such an enjoyable stay. As you mentioned we’re located on the beautiful Oslo Fjord with some stunning views across the water . The best of these can be had from our rooftop restaurant. . There have been a few challenges during these exceptional times but we have always strived to deliver a unique experience for our guests. Your comments concerning the staff and service were a pleasure to read and I’ll be sharing your thoughts with my fellow Thieves. Wishing you a warm, colourful Spring and looking forward to your return Dominic GRM The Thief
Read more
Pollyj71 wrote a review Nov 2021
Bardou, France15 contributions3 helpful votes
Our stay at The Thief was perfect - absolutely faultless. All the staff were welcoming and very helpful. The hotel itself is stunning and in a beautiful part of Oslo. The room was well equipped and spotless. We are at the restaurant for dinner and breakfast - both of which were superb.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Definitely visit the spa. It is amazing.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Dominic Gorham, General Manager at The Thief
Responded 3 weeks ago
Greetings and many thanks for your review of our property. Great to hear you had such an enjoyable stay. As you mentioned we’re located on an Island in the beautiful Oslo Fjord . Your comments regarding the staff and service were a pleasure to read and I’ll be sharing your thoughts with my fellow Thieves. Wishing you a crisp , colourful Autumn and looking forward to your return Dominic GRM The Thief
Read more
Geir T wrote a review Oct 2021
Sandvika, Norway36 contributions8 helpful votes
The location is perfect for experience the Aker Brygge area. Lots og restaurants, comedian shows and short distans to teatres and cinema’s etc. Great rooms and service. The SPA service is absolutely to recommend. We had a really super SPA weekend!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Dominic Gorham, General Manager at The Thief
Responded Oct 25, 2021
Greetings and many thanks for your review of The Thief . Great to read you had such an enjoyable stay. As you mentioned we’re located in a new , vibrant district called Tjuvholmen surrounded by fine art galleries, eateries and the beautiful Oslo Fjord . Your comments concerning our Spa & service were a pleasure to hear and I’ll be sharing your thoughts with my fellow Thieves. Wishing you a crisp , colourful Autumn and looking forward to your return Dominic GRM The Thief
Read more
Irene & Tommy wrote a review Oct 2021
Norway2 contributions
Positive: Nice hotel in a great location, with attentive staff and a good-sized room. Negative: * Difficult to figure out how to turn the lights on/off in room/bathroom * A very disappointing lunch! The other hotels in this chain have great lunch buffets. However, The Thief served a TINY portion of creamy (and nice-tasting) risotto, with a mid-size chicken breast, dry-cooked with crispy edges. There was no salad, no side-dish and no bread. Our party of approx. 15 people left the restaurant starving... * The prices in the bar: 175 NOK for a small glass of house red??? Go figure... The poor rating given is no reflection on the staff or the surroundings. But given the cost of this hotel, you should be able to expect leaving the restaurant satisified. Personally I am embarrassed thinking about foreigners visiting our country, having to pay around 20 euros for a glass of wine...
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Dominic Gorham, General Manager at The Thief
Responded Oct 15, 2021
Greetings and many thanks for your review of our property. Glad that you had an enjoyable stay. As you mentioned we have a fine location on an island in the beautiful Oslo Fjord . Your comments regarding the staff and service were a pleasure to read . I’d like to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts as your feedback is invaluable to us. I’ll be discussing some of your thoughts with my colleagues. Wishing you a crisp , colourful Autumn Dominic GRM The Thief
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$348 - $464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
NorwayEastern NorwayOslo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
114
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Thief
Which popular attractions are close to The Thief?
Nearby attractions include Tjuvholmen Sculpture Park (0.10 miles), Astrup Fearnley Museet (0.06 miles), and Tjuvholmen Neighbourhood (0.04 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Thief?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at The Thief?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Thief?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at The Thief?
Yes, a parking garage and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Thief?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Salmon, Gangnam Korean Restaurant, and Dognvill Burger Tjuvholmen.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Thief?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does The Thief have airport transportation?
Yes, The Thief offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Thief?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Thief?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Thief offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.