We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Landgangen 1, Oslo 0252 Norway
E-mail hotel
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Snaptravel
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1133)
360
Panoramas (14)
Room & Suite (452)

About

#6 of 109 hotels in Oslo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Stepping into THE THIEF is sure to rob you of something. Something familiar and shall we say, enslaving at times. And the thing is that the hotel is so good at it… that you might not notice until the end. You suddenly find yourself engaged in a world of new impressions: cutting-edge art, architecture and world-class gastronomy.And then it hits you, what’s been stolen from you…you haven’t had a single thought about your very long to-do list, the responsibilities at home, the everyday worries.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Nightclub / DJ
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Paid private parking nearby
Parking garage
Wifi
Hot tub
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Rooftop bar
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Massage
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room service
Safe
Laptop safe
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Marina View
Romantic
Languages Spoken
Norwegian
2,304Reviews19Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,681
  • 415
  • 137
  • 45
  • 26
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
ulfhwy wrote a review Sep 19
Oslo, Norway1 contribution
We stayed at the hotel and wanted to experience the restaurant and a new menu. The choices seemed ok, definitely at the high end. First I got a beer that was warm. I got it exchanged to a glass of white wine at the same time as I ordered a glass of red wine to go with the steak I had ordered. 10 seconds later the meat arrived. One in our party got her soup but had to ask and wait a few minutes before she got a spoon. Her soup was cold and my medium/rare steak was well done. Despite being a bit embarrassed about another complain I told our waiter that it was not acceptable and I got a new, which I ended up eating after everyone was finished with their main course. Needless to say we won't be eating here again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Mikael H wrote a review Aug 2020
Oslo, Norway1 contribution
Here for our 1 year anniversary, god wine but way to over priced food for zero meat. A whole roast chicken with baby corns, wasn’t my impression from the menu. An influencer place, nothing else. Don’t do our mistake of thinking every rooftop is romantic.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Dominic Gorham, General Manager at THE THIEF
Responded 4 weeks ago
Greetings and many thanks for your review of our Rooftop restaurant . As I can see from your comments your experiences was far from optimal. I’d like to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts as your feedback is invaluable to us . I’ll be discussing your points with my colleagues. Wishing you a long , relaxing Summer Dominic GRM The Thief
Read more
Doraliza Bento wrote a review Aug 2020
4 contributions
Booked Deluxe room, which was very comfortable with a beautiful view to the sea. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Massage at the spa was amazing. Food was also very good, room service, restaurant at the roof top and breakfast. Highlight the super friendly service from Simon and Stavros from spa, Fatos from restaurant. The lady who checked me in and out was also very friendly. Highly recommend to book the full experience, hotel-spa-restaurant.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Dominic Gorham, General Manager at THE THIEF
Responded Aug 13, 2020
Greetings and many thanks for your review of our property . Great to read you had such an enjoyable stay . Glad that you enjoyed our Spa as I highly recommend a few hours of complete indulgence and relaxation . Your comments concerning the staff were a pleasure to read and I´ll be sharing your thoughts with my fellow Thieves Wishing you a warm, relaxing Summer and looking forward to your return Dominic GRM The Thief
Read more
Salmon Bygdin wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
The Thief is a fantastic hotel in a perfect location, and it is both marked as and priced as a five star hotel. Unfortunately, even though all staff and most of the hotel deserve five stars, only three may by given. We can forgive small issues like webpage not being updated with covid19 information about no valet parking, and rooftop bar host complaining too loudly about other parts of the hotel. Every luxury food and sight and spa at the hotel don't help though if we can't get a good night's sleep. The bed was comfortable - but the bed linen was not. It was rough, industrial linens that quickly became uncomfortable when they curled up. And they did, because the room air-conditioning was almost non-working. Although at maximum my whole stay, it barely managed to cool the room at all, leaving it way too hot on a hot summer weekend. The window also leaked the smell of cigarettes from the smokers outside the entrance, which was really annoying. It's simply not good enough at all. I'm very disappointed with it. The breakfast buffet was surprisingly small compared to Norwegian standards, but that might be caused by covid19 restrictions. The anti-bacterial hand dispensers were empty most of the time, which is fairly unfortunate. In general, I think covid19 was downplayed too much during the stay and seemed like an issue they didn't want to acknowledge. At the breakfast we were seated too close to others for comfort, but it did build up a waiting line outside for people to get seated, so I guess that had fewer seats than normal available. The room itself, the view, location, the spa, the food, all staff, were really great. Most staff remembered my name and room number even though I had only met them once, which is amazing. Which makes it even more annoying when they can't get the fundamentals right.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Dominic Gorham, General Manager at THE THIEF
Responded Aug 13, 2020
Greetings and many thanks for your review of The Thief . As i can see you stay was far from optimal. I have to admit i was surprised to read you comment concerning or Bed as we have only had rave reports of comfort and deep slumber since the opening of the property but I´ll look into your feedback . Where Covid19 is concerned we take this matter very seriously and have taken every precaution , health and governmental directive to ensure the safety of our guests . This has caused some delays in our service but the understanding of our guests during these challenging times has been appreciated . Id like to thank you for sharing your thoughts as your feedback is invaluable to us . I´ll be discussing some of your points with my colleagues Wishing you a warm , relaxing Summer and looking forward to your return Dominic GRM The Thief
Read more
Eric W wrote a review Aug 2020
35 contributions4 helpful votes
Our last stay was loads better than our first stay. Good service, very nice room, friendly staff, tasty breakfast. Only downside during this stay: the food at the rooftop restaurant. The chicken was really good, the pasta with fish is quite decent, but the cauliflower dish was terrible.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Dominic Gorham, General Manager at THE THIEF
Responded Aug 14, 2020
Greetings and many thanks for your review of The Thief . Great to read you had such an enjoyable second stay . Glad that you enjoyed breakfast as Chef Tim takes great pride in his locally sourced, seasonal and organic breakfast menu . Your comments concerning the staff were a pleasure to read and I´ll be sharing your thoughts with my fellow Thieves . Wishing you a warm , relaxing Summer and looking forward to your return Dominic GRM The Thief
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$348 - $464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
NorwayEastern NorwayOslo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
114
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about THE THIEF
Which popular attractions are close to THE THIEF?
Nearby attractions include Tjuvholmen Sculpture Park (0.06 miles), Tjuvholmen Neighbourhood (0.2 miles), and Astrup Fearnley Museet (0.06 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at THE THIEF?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at THE THIEF?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at THE THIEF?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at THE THIEF?
Yes, a parking garage and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to THE THIEF?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Salmon, Freddy Fuego Burrito Bar Tjuvholmen, and Dognvill Burger Tjuvholmen.
Are there opportunities to exercise at THE THIEF?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does THE THIEF have an airport shuttle?
Yes, THE THIEF offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at THE THIEF?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at THE THIEF?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does THE THIEF offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.