We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Anker Hotel

Storgata 55, Oslo 0182 Norway
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/30/21
View deal
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (505)
Room & Suite (144)
Dining (40)


#60 of 101 hotels in Oslo
Anker Hotel is a popular and affordable 3 star hotel in Oslo city centre. Walking distance to the central station and to all major attractions. Parking facilities. Buses and trams nearby.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Children's television networks
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Norwegian
1735Reviews33Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 277
  • 754
  • 524
  • 119
  • 61
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
farmoh wrote a review Nov 2020
Stockholm, Sweden3 contributions4 helpful votes
This hotel has charged me for full breakfast for 3 weeks but they use the Corona-situation as an excuse for not serving the breakfast at the usual time (06:00). Then they give me a crappy breakfast package! I have visited 38 countries & have stayed in several hundraed hotels & never seen such a cheap personell before! This breakfast is a joke! Summery: cheap, cheap, cheap! They get your money for a full breakfast but give you the cheapest possible beakfast. I often stay in hotels in Oslo (because of my work). Unfortunately, I made a mistake this time & booked this hotel! The last time ever that I stay here! By giving me this idiotic package, they thought they could save some money but the joke is on them because I will never come back again & I also warn the other potential customers about their scam! By the way, their WiFi stinks!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
3 Helpful votes
Alejandro A wrote a review Mar 2020
L'Hospitalet de Llobregat, Spain15 contributions11 helpful votes
Looking for hotels throughout Norway is quite challenging of your on a low budget. We chise anker for our last night in the country and to be honest, we chise it because of the photos of the breakfast buffet. Finally they stay was really good. The room was clean, spacious and confortable. Dont expect mothing to fancy but pretty mich what you see in the pics, and breakfast was even better than it looked. Happy with our decision, would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Response from AnkerHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Anker Hotel
Responded Mar 26, 2020
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. It's great to hear that you had a good experience of both the hotel and the breakfast. We have done many changes to our breakfast buffet and restaurant this year and are happy to hear you liked it. We hope to see you again on a later occasion and if there is anything we can help with, feel free to contact us again at any time. With best regards, Anker Hotel
Read more
AnneLise wrote a review Mar 2020
Oslo, Norway1 contribution1 helpful vote
This is a gem of a hotel i the most expensive captial city in the world. Large room, clean, with all the amenities expected from a more expensive hotel. Breakfast had a wide variety of hot and cold foods even had soy milk! The last hotel I stayed in was an Intercontinental and I must say I was impressed with this very reasonably priced hotel. Well done Anker.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
1 Helpful vote
Response from AnkerHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Anker Hotel
Responded Mar 26, 2020
Hi, Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Anker Hotel and taking the time to write about the experience you had here. It is very nice to read that you had a good stay here with us and that you were happy with our breakfast buffet and hotel. Have a great day ahead and we hope to see you again soon. With best regards, Anker Hotel
Read more
andyshem wrote a review Jan 2020
London, United Kingdom31 contributions50 helpful votes
Stayed in November with the girlfriend. Wasn’t expecting much as it was fairly cheap, but even so, this was one of the worst places I’ve been to - some of the people writing other reviews must not be used to much! The location is in the city, but it certainly isn’t in the city centre or well placed for the majority of landmarks. It’s a good 25 minute walk for example to the central parliament building and over half an hour to the harbour area. Also, it is on a main road which as of November 2019 is being heavily worked upon until at least Feb/March 2020 so you cannot get any form of transport to the hotel’s front door which is hugely inconvenient. The area of the city that this place is in is also a much less desirable part of town and I did not feel comfortable walking through it at night after a day out in the actual centre. The check-in is very late but thankfully we were allowed to check in an hour earlier than the stated time of 3pm. The reception staff are very friendly and the reception area is pleasant enough. We weren’t expecting much from the twin room we went for, but were still disappointed, I didn’t realise that in 2019, hotels were still this basic, it felt like the cheapest possible sort of university halls accommodation. The ‘bathroom’ was a wet room and no towels were provided; it also just looked old and cheaply built, there were bare pipes everywhere for example. The main part of the room had nothing on the walls, an old CRT TV and only two power sockets. The beds however were the worst part. Very small single beds with a mattress topper NOT a mattress and one thin pillow each yielded the worst nights sleep I’ve had in ages. The poor sleep was then compounded by this hotel’s breakfast. The canteen is like a hostel’s canteen (there is a hostel of the same name next door) and is self serve. There is a variety of cooked and cold options for breakfast and coffee/juice machines. I tried a few options, desperate to find something but unfortunately it was all awful. All the bread and baked items were stale and dry. None of the hot items were very hot and not one item tasted like what it should. The baked beans were cold, the sausages were just vile, the hash browns were burnt and the fried bread was so soggy you couldn’t even pick a slice up. I wasn’t willing to try any of the cold fish because of what it looked dirty. The only thing that tasted remotely like what it should were the latte’s from the machine. This really was the worst breakfast I’ve ever had in a hotel or indeed anywhere abroad. To sum up, even though this place is cheap, it’s terrible and much worse than you’d expect considering the money. I’d return to Oslo again, it’s mostly a lovely place, but I would never go anywhere near this chain again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
butterflynel wrote a review Dec 2019
London, United Kingdom140 contributions57 helpful votes
Came here for a one night stay in early December. Check in was really late, 3pm, but they let us check in slightly earlier which was appreciated (my fingers had frozen!) The hotel is helpfully located within walking distance from Central Oslo. The room and bathroom was basic, but this was to be expected considering the price. I would have appreciated a kettle in the room. The mattress was disappointing - it was a mattress topper on a divan bed. Plenty of choice with breakfast for meat fans, as a vegetarian I was limited to cheese sandwiches and pain au chocolat but this was fine with me! Overall, it was good value considering the price, especially in a country as expensive as Norway. Would return!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Response from AnkerHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Anker Hotel
Responded Jan 2, 2020
Hi, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Anker Hotel. We are pleased to hear that you have had a nice stay with us and hope to see you again! Have a nice day! With best regards, Anker Hotel
Read more
$74 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
best western oslo, oslo best western
NorwayEastern NorwayOslo
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Anker Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Anker Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Schouskjelleren (0.09 miles), Bla (0.3 miles), and Popsenteret (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Anker Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
What food & drink options are available at Anker Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Anker Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Anker Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Le Benjamin Bar & Bistro, Way Down South, and Freddy Fuego Burrito Bar, Hausmanns Gate.
Is Anker Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Oslo.
Does Anker Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Anker Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Norwegian.
Are there any historical sites close to Anker Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting 22 July Centre (0.5 miles), Norsk Folkemuseum (2.6 miles), and Oslo City Hall (0.9 miles).
Does Anker Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.
Is Anker Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.