We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels

Save
Share
Parkveien 78, Oslo 0254 Norway
eDreams
Agoda.com
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (350)
Room & Suite (441)
Dining (45)

About

#26 of 109 hotels in Oslo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Our lovely eco-friendly sustainable boutique hotel, 10 min walk from Karl Johan, offers a popular organic breakfast and is just 5 minutes' walk from the Royal Palace, Oslo Hotel Guldsmeden's own rooms are elegantly styled with quality furnishings. Each one features a unique combination of luxury Balinese-style decor and Sami-inspired pelts. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the entire hotel, as well as a 24-hour front desk. Nationaltheateret Train Station is a 3-minute walk from Oslo Guldsmeden. Tjuvholmen and the lively Aker Brygge harbour area are also nearby and offers plenty of bars, restaurants and clubs.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Yoga classes
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Spa
Street parking
Wifi
Sauna
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Fax / photocopying
Steam room
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Safe
Private bathrooms
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Tile / marble floor
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Residential Neighborhood
Languages Spoken
English, French, Danish, Norwegian and 3 more
639Reviews12Q+A64Room tips

Reviews

Earn 100 points towards your next badge level for every review you write
Traveler rating
  • 284
  • 251
  • 60
  • 23
  • 21
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
marty57 wrote a review Mar 2020
3 contributions
small quaint room, noah at the front desk was a very helpful and knowledgable close to the shoreline with many good restaurants. nice saunas with three different types.close to all off the local transportation options.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
norseprojects wrote a review Feb 2020
Copenhagen, Denmark4 contributions1 helpful vote
This is the last time we will visit Hotel Guldsmedens properties, the Hotel in OSLO is a window dressed nondescript building, the facilities are generally nice looking on photos, but in reality, all the furniture is cheap Bali type bamboo that feels shabby, applied to an old building that has been renovated in the cheapest way to make the environment seem nicer than it is. The bathrooms are tiny and old and the amenities sorely lacking ,and not up to modern hotel standards, heaters weren't on in our room, not even a mini-fridge, bottle of water or glasses, just one carton cup in a room for 2 placed right above the toilet! Water or tea only available in the lobby at 35 kr , although there was off course no hot water available becuase the place is under staffed with just one person in the lobby. The bathroom was old and mouldy with both black mould on the sink and red mould on the floor. Finally, breakfast was taken away right in front of our noses by kitchen staff whom were arrogant and couldn't even be bothered to communicate that they were closing early, although we had been informed in the lobby that breakfast was being served. Staff started discussing amongst themselves and whining about the fact that we had been seated rather than offer an apology or try to solve the situation, it seems that in this place its more about the employee's feelings than the customers, unbelievable! We were then offered free breakfast as a compensation, but by then most of the food was gone and whatever had been there was really not that nice to begin with, at 230 Kroner it was a pathetic breakfast lineup with stale bread, lukewarm drip coffee, badly cooked eggs, juice etc. We left to find breakfast elsewhere and felt like we had stayed in a place with teenage level management, so wouldn't recommend breakfast at Hotel Guldsmeden in any case, and only to stay in the hotel if you are seeking a low-cost room - make sure to ask for a room in a higher floor as the road noise is quite audible due to the old building without insolation. This hotel is understaffed, with young people, and no management, a window dressed 2 star hotel in reality.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Choose a room on the 4th floor or higher
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from AxelCopenhagen, General Manager at Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Responded Feb 19, 2020
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review. I am very sorry that we were clearly not a match for you on this occasion as we always try to do our best to make our guests feel comfortable and “at home” with us. When visiting us clearly there must have been some mistakes in the communication with you that we can learn from. I hope you can see from the many other very complimentary and positive reviews on the breakfast and the hotel itself this is the exception and not the norm. When it comes to our breakfast, it closes at 10am on weekdays and 11am on weekends. Having spoken with the team and sharing your review with them, I believe our receptionist mistakenly sent you through without checking the time and since it was 10:20 nearly everything was packed away but I understand if you were judging the breakfast by the leftovers half an hour after it was closed that you could easily reach that conclusion. I also understand you were immediately refunded and offered to help yourself to the few items remaining on the buffet. I would absolutely welcome you to come back to try our organic signature breakfast on the house during opening hours for a much-improved experience. I have to be honest and say I find your criticism of the style of the hotel a little harsh as we clearly brand ourselves as an eco-friendly, sustainable boutique hotel with a price point to match and a green globe certification to match that too... and one would expect in a sustainable property perhaps to find a lot of bamboo which is one of the most sustainable types of wood there is. We have many different room types and price points from economy rooms to doubles, superior rooms and suites, and the discolouration in the sink in the family room you had I can assure you is not mould but discoloration of the natural stone which was picked up very clearly in your flash photo. I agree however that this is not cosmetically acceptable and have ordered a new sink and we will replace this as soon as it arrives with us from Bali. Again, I thank you for your comments, and still hope we will get a second chance to prove that our concept is good both when it comes to service and price. If you would like to each out to me personally please feel free to contact me directly on email christian@guldsmedenhotels.com
Read more
Martino De Rossi wrote a review Feb 2020
Helsinki, Finland6 contributions2 helpful votes
The hotel is located is a very good spot to visit Oslo by foot. The food is very good at breakfast (quite expensive though). Room materials and atmosphere are nice. There are quite a lot of sounds coming from other rooms, and from the street as well, since window is not well insulating.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from AxelCopenhagen, Manager at Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Responded Feb 19, 2020
Hello and thank you for your review and kind words about our organic breakfast. Sadly organic food costs are extremely high in Norway but we do our best to keep the price as realistic as possible and are pleased you enjoyed the selection. I am sorry that the noise disturbed you during the stay. There was some work underway during the daytime during your stay I believe. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Read more
MissLeLe wrote a review Feb 2020
Oslo, Norway11 contributions
The Hotel for stays in the west side of Oslo, only 10 min walk to Vigelandsparken, 3 min to Aker Brygge. Well assorted breakfast with organic and vegan options as well as traditional options. Professional and friendly personal. Steamroom and sauna, spa facilities every day. I’ll be back soon.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from AxelCopenhagen, General Manager at Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Responded Feb 19, 2020
Thank you so much for your kind words about our team, our breakfast and our spa facilities. We look forward to hosting you again!
Read more
Ulrich wrote a review Feb 2020
Mol, Belgium105 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
Very very very small rooms. The bathroom is a joke. And you get two towels that’s it. The bed isn’t to good either. The staff is extremely friendly and likeable. The location of the hotel is fantastic, close to Ager Brygge and the trainstation. The breakfast we skipped, didn’t look so attracting.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from AxelCopenhagen, Manager at Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Responded Feb 11, 2020
Hi Ulrich! Thank you for your review and your kind comments about the team. I will pass on your comments. We have many different room categories available from smaller economy doubles, to double superior, family rooms and suites all with different price points too reflecting the size of the room. We receive many compliments on our fresh organic signature breakfast including organic smoked salmon, cured meats, organic scrambled eggs, salads, fresh fruit, chia pudding, organic yoghurt, danish pastries, home baked bread etc but I appreciate everyone has different taste when it comes to what they would like to eat for breakfast so if there is anything you feel you would like to see on the buffet please let us know. Hope we get to see you again at Guldsmeden and happy travels!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$101 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
carlton hotel oslo
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Carlton Oslo Hotel Guldsmeden
LOCATION
NorwayEastern NorwayOslo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Which popular attractions are close to Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels?
Nearby attractions include Kingdom of Escape Rooms (0.2 miles), Tjuvholmen Neighbourhood (0.2 miles), and National Library (Nasjonalbiblioteket) (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and a spa.
Which room amenities are available at Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a walk-in shower.
What food & drink options are available at Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels?
Yes, paid private parking nearby, paid public parking nearby, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels?
Conveniently located restaurants include San Francisco Bread Bowl, Aymara, and Alex Sushi.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna and yoga classes during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a banquet room and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, Thai, Polish, Swedish, Danish, and Norwegian.
Are there any historical sites close to Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels?
Many travelers enjoy visiting 22 July Centre (0.9 miles), Norsk Folkemuseum (1.2 miles), and Oslo City Hall (1.1 miles).