We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Europaraadets Plass 1, Oslo 0154 Norway
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Booking.com
$180
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
$146
View deal
Hotels.com$181
ScandicHotels.com$202
Priceline$180
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (324)
Room & Suite (163)
Dining (44)

About

#51 of 107 hotels in Oslo
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.0
Service
4.1
Value
3.7
Stay close to shopping, nightlife and restaurants. Take the tram to the park Vigelandsparken, or go for a walk along Karl Johan. Enjoy a productive workday in our modern conference centre, and enjoy a meal in the restaurant after a busy day.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycles available
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Meeting rooms
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Norwegian

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
251Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
104Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1144Reviews6Q+A65Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 243
  • 478
  • 289
  • 98
  • 36
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Andy A wrote a review Aug 5
Hexham, United Kingdom56 contributions50 helpful votes
Everything we wanted and needed for our overnight stay. Great location, spotless, quiet and totally accessible room. Staff were friendly too. Bar is pricey - even for Oslo but there are plenty of cafes nearby. Very reasonably priced accommodation.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Hampton Gourmet wrote a review Jul 2022
New York327 contributions144 helpful votes
We were stranded by SAS after the airline went on strike. We had no idea where we were going to stay. This hotel was so accommodating and friendly and helpful. It is so centraly located in Oslo. It is within walking distance of essentially everything. It is across the street from the train station which makes transfer from the airport so convientent. I cannot recommend this hotel enough!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Theodor von Porat, General Manager at Scandic Oslo City
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello! Thank you for your great feedback on your stay here at Scandic Oslo City. We hope to see you again soon. Have a nice Summer. All the best Team Scandic Oslo City
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ewisth554804 wrote a review Jul 2022
Heroy Municipality, Norway1 contribution
Serviceminded Staff. Clean. Tasteful breakfast. Placed close to rainwaystation, bus, tram and the tube at Jernbanetorget. The building/ room is not up to date, but okay. Bathroom / shower okay; modern and clean.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Theodor von Porat, General Manager at Scandic Oslo City
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello! Thank you for your great feedback on your stay here at Scandic Oslo City- We hope the rest of your stay in Oslo was great and we are looking forward to seeing you again. All the best Team Scandic Oslo City
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jamie P wrote a review Jun 2022
3 contributions
Brilliant hotel, we were welcomed by the lovely staff in a great entrance room! Our room was exactly what we needed when we will barely be in there, city breaks are for exploring! We asked for a cot in our room which sadly wasn’t there on arrival, however, after talking to reception staff the situation was sorted swiftly! We were able to use a microwave in the restaurant area at all times which was great to sterilise baby bottles! The hotels food at breakfast time was lovely and sets you up for a great day of city walking! Both continental and cooked were done very well, the staff in the hotel always wanted a chat and we felt welcomed always! Overall the hotel is a very welcome and good value for money! Big thumbs up from us for anyone looking for a family city break!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: This hotel is right by the central station so it’s perfect for transport to travel the city!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Theodor von Porat, General Manager at Scandic Oslo City
Responded Jun 29, 2022
Dear Jamie P This was fantastic to read. Comprehensive and very positive. Just the way we hope our guest will experience us so this really made my day. I will for sure share this with my colleagues. I do hope to see you back with us in the near future. Have a great summer and welcome back. Best Theodor von Porat General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
awurf620076 wrote a review Jun 2022
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom1 contribution
Great central location near the station and waterfront. Good sized rooms. Comfy beds. Staff are brilliant - helpful and friendly. Standout breakfast - great choice and quality. Expensive, but that's Norway generally.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Theodor von Porat, General Manager at Scandic Oslo City
Responded Jun 23, 2022
Dear guest Lovely review and kind words. Thank you so much. I do hope to see you back with us. Best Theodor von Porat General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ima b wrote a review Jun 2022
Arizona6 contributions
Hotel is simple. The location is great. Just right outside the train station. We don’t need to drag our luggages that far. We were given a room with no good view. Right outside our window was the lift from the other side but Im not complaining about that. Would have been worse if our room was facing the street. Too much people and noise outside. Atleast it was a quiet room Room and was also clean. The receptionists were awesome. They were all helpfull. The breakfast was fine. Nothing really new with all hotels here in norway. It’s just Bacon and egg and yoghurts and breads. But the restaurant was small. Not sure if all guests would fit there if everyone eats at the same time. Would recommend this hotel. Will definitely come back.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Avoide getting room facing streets. Too much noise
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Theodor von Porat, General Manager at Scandic Oslo City
Responded Jun 20, 2022
Thank you so much Ima. Lovely review. I am so happy to read that all in all you had a very pleasant stay with us and enjoyed your time with us. Especially happy to read your positive appraisal of my colleagues. I do hope to see you back with us. Best Theodor von Porat General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
degermes wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
The staff was very kind and willing to help. Breakfast was excellent and with lot of choices for both vegans and meat-eating clients. The Hotel is only 100m away from Oslo S (Central Train Station) and 30m from bus/tram stop. It is an excellent choice for both business or travel journey to stay in.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Theodor von Porat, General Manager at Scandic Oslo City
Responded Apr 29, 2022
Dear Degermes Thank you for this. Delighted to read and learn that you had a pleasant time with us. I do hope to see you back. Have a lovely weekend. Best Theodor von Porat General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners.
kennethaperkins wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
Great stay in the heart of downtown, a little noisy due to location but the breakfast was excellent. It is very close to the train station and within walking distance of almost all city attractions. Easily get around on train bus or boats just outside the door.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Theodor von Porat, General Manager at Scandic Oslo City
Responded Apr 4, 2022
What a lovely review. This really means a lot to us. Thank you so much. I do hope to see you back. Best Theodor von Porat General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
1522011as wrote a review Mar 2022
Madrid, Spain1 contribution
The room and the hallway weren't clean. The towels were limited. The water in the shower had no to little pressure. The cleanliness of the bathroom was terrible, I even found hair in the air blower. The staff is so mean and not friendly (not all the staff though, some of them were sweet hearts)
Read more
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Theodor von Porat, General Manager at Scandic Oslo City
Responded Mar 27, 2022
Dear guest Many thanks. So sorry to hear this and that your stay was not as we would like to present ourselves. We will definitely use these comments to learn and see what we can do better so many thanks. Hope to see you back. Best Theodor von Porat General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
gurodalheimjohansen wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
Bad hotel, terrible and small rooms. Old, and bad quality. Stay away from this hotel, it is not worth the money! Stayed on a business travel, will never stay or recommend this hotel for anyone. Couldnt turn around in the room.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Theodor von Porat, General Manager at Scandic Oslo City
Responded Mar 23, 2022
Dear Guro Many thanks. I know that my answer will sound somewhat argumentative and I do apologize for that but this was such a strong and negative message, and this is a hotel and workplace which my fantastic colleagues and I are proud of all in all so I felt it deserves a proper feedback. So sad to read that you had such a negative experience with us. Also makes me very sad to see that you felt it is necessary to warn other guests about the hotel. We love to receive constructive feedback because this is by far our most important mean to better our service and delivery. We know that the hotel is not the newest in the area and do hope that we will have the chance to modernize the hotel in the not to distant future. This has been the plan but with two years now with the worst crisis the industry has ever experienced this has unfortunately been impossible so far. I am however very happy to see and read that most of our guests do not share your opinion, but this is obviously your subjective opinion and I do respect that. Not much I can do to change your experience. I do hope you contacted one of my colleagues when you stayed here so that we had the chance to figure something out and find you a alternative room. We always do our best to find the best possible alternative if there are factors our guests are not happy about. You are more then welcome back to us. Don't hesitate to contact us directly. Have a lovely week. Best Theodor von Porat General Manager theodor.vonporat@scandichotels.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$140 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
rica hotel oslo, oslo rica hotel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Rica Oslo Hotel
LOCATION
NorwayEastern NorwayOsloSentrum
NUMBER OF ROOMS
175
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Scandic Oslo City
Which popular attractions are close to Scandic Oslo City?
Nearby attractions include The Escape Games (0.2 miles), VR Games Zone (0.1 miles), and AdventureRooms Oslo (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Scandic Oslo City?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Scandic Oslo City?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Scandic Oslo City?
Conveniently located restaurants include Roti Shop Oslo, Statholdergaarden, and Basso Social.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Scandic Oslo City?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center and a sauna during their stay.
Is Scandic Oslo City located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.06 miles away from the center of Oslo.
Are any cleaning services offered at Scandic Oslo City?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Scandic Oslo City offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Scandic Oslo City?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Norwegian.
Are there any historical sites close to Scandic Oslo City?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Norsk Folkemuseum (2.2 miles), 22. juli-senteret (0.4 miles), and Oslo City Hall (0.5 miles).
Is Scandic Oslo City accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.