We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret

Save
Share
Storgata 21-23, Oslo 0184 Norway
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
$165
View deal
Tripadvisor$165
Hotels.com
Priceline
Travelocity
Traveluro$179
ZenHotels.com$185
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (707)
Room & Suite (539)
Dining (159)

About

#17 of 104 in Oslo
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.5
Value
4.2
We offer complimentary breakfast buffet and free WiFi included in the price. You will also see that we offer fresh fruit, coffee and tea all day long in the reception area, afternoon waffles or homemade pastries and a light evening meal served in our 7th floor lounge, this also has a nice adjoining room-top terrace. If you want to work-out you are free to use our well-equipped gym. The hotel is situated within walking distance from the Airport Express train, the central station, shops and restaurants.Our entrance is inside the Folketeateret passage were you will also find several restaurants and a theatre.
Read more
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Nightclub / DJ
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Meeting rooms
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Safe
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Norwegian

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
248Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
95Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
2005Reviews32Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,105
  • 609
  • 172
  • 78
  • 41
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Kristin C wrote a review May 18
1 contribution
We couldn’t be more pleased with our six night stay here. The location in Oslo is so perfect— can easily get to any of the attractions or museums by foot or by jumping on public transportation. We had a deluxe room — which was nice and included a balcony. We are definitely glad we opted for the bigger room— was nice to spread out and relax. Our room was clean and spacious and quiet; my only criticism is it could be pretty dark, especially when we had curtains closed. The extras at this hotel are wonderful— we LOVED the breakfast. A huge offering of everything you could think of and set in a nice cozy room w/ candles and a cool atmosphere. Everyone working there was really friendly as were those at the front desk. This hotel has a coffee machine in the lobby— which was a nice park if you wanted a cappuccino or tea or something any time of day. There’s also a lounge on 7th floor w both afternoon treats (like a chocolate croissant and coffee) and actual dinner food later in evening. We will definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Sunnywoman32 wrote a review Sep 2020
Norway136 contributions65 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favorite
Stayed here several times. Central location with a lot of restaurants and shopping opportunities near by. Rooms can be a bit pricey depending on the time of the year and how long before your stay you make your reservation. Excellent breakfast with a good choice of hot and cold dishes. The free afternoon dinner can also be ok, but the options are more limited. Rooms have good or ok standard, some are small, while others are larger. Stayed at the deluxe room last time, with good space and a nice balcony. Separate bathroom and wc.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Naira Lalayan, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret
Responded Sep 25, 2020
Dear guest! Thank you very much for staying at our hotel and of course for your very positive feedback! We appreciate your time and efforts as well as we get very motivated by communicating with satisfied guests. I will gladly share your feedback with the rest of the team and thank them for the excellent job they did! We wish you a nice day and hope to see you again in Oslo and at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret! Yours truly, Naira Lalayan General Manager
Read more
simonmaple8 wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
Our room was very dirty with think layers of dust and dirt on top of the furniture, we were offered a new room which I checked this room was the same so we left the hotel, do not stay in this hotel, I travel constantly as part of my job all over the world this is by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed in, I have contacted the hotel to complain and had no communication totally SHOCKING!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Danielle Baron wrote a review Apr 2022
Laurel, Maryland5 contributions1 helpful vote
We were surprised when Expedia contacted us a few days prior to our trip to inform us that our original hotel (Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion) was closed and our reservation had been transferred to a sister property, the Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret. We did not know what to expect. But the the hotel certainly exceeded our expectations is every way. From the very friendly staff (we got early check-in and late check-out) to the amazing full breakfast, afternoon pastries and delicious dinner. The area also has a wide array of restaurants, including a seafood place and an Italian restaurant in the same building, so you cannot go wrong. Location is superb and you can easily walk anywhere. We got a family room that was very comfortable and spacious for our family of four. We could have not have asked for more! We had a perfect stay in Oslo! Can't wait to be back and stay at this property again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Great Location; family room on the corner/end of the floo was very spacious
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Jill S wrote a review Mar 2022
Watford, United Kingdom12 contributions
The hotel is clean, friendly and the evening meal, which is included, is very tasty. Not a huge choice of main course for fussy eaters but good fresh food and delicious soups. Really good breakfasts too. I would stay at this chain again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Mikael F wrote a review Mar 2022
Helsinki, Finland23765 contributions1740 helpful votes
+1
Quite soon after I made the booking, I noticed from the Nordic Choice app that we have got an upgrade to a suite as a Nordic Choice Platinum member with a guaranteed upgrade at the time of booking. We had the original booking to a superior room. However, on the arrival morning, I noticed from the app that we had got family room #716. On the hotel's webpage, there is no such room type as a family room. Our family room is probably more suitable for a family than a couple. It has two bedrooms. One is very small. The other one is probably the size of a superior room. There are two bathrooms, one with a tub and one with a shower. The best part of this family room is the balcony despite the uncomfortable balcony furniture. There are only four rooms having a balcony facing the street: #710 (probably a superior room), #712 and #714 (deluxe rooms), and #716 (a family room). When going out in the evening, I went to the reception to ask what category room did we get as there were no bathrobes. The receptionist said that our room belongs to the deluxe category. So we should have had bathrobes. I asked for them and was in the belief that they would be delivered. When coming back from the city, we couldn't find the bathrobes. I sent an email to the reception and got a quick answer that we will be moved to Wedding Suite #703. The receptionist had understood that we want a bathtub but that we already had. I declined the suite upgrade because I had already noticed that all suites have two stories and they don't have a nice position in the building. Some of them have inner balconies like this Wedding Suite with a very tiny balcony. These balcony suites are also quite small, at least according to the floor plan. The suites without a balcony have bigger interiors. 'The Head Office' Signature Suite #702 is the most spacious suite. So I wouldn't opt for the suites. Deluxe rooms #712 and #714 are the best rooms in the hotel. They are like suites and have nice street-facing balconies. However, you had to be lucky to get them. There are also inner-facing deluxe rooms. We got the bathrobes and the rest of our stay was quite nice. The breakfast is above the average. It had a wide selection of food and everything was of high quality. Also, an evening meal is included in the price of all rooms. It has a changing menu. The service was handled well despite the space on the 7th floor being quite limited for a hotel with 160 rooms. On Friday, the meeting space on the 8th floor was also used. You can order wine or beer from the friendly staff. They are quite expensive like everywhere in Norway. Wine bottles were around 50 euros. Our stay had a good value for 170 euros per night (flexible weekend offer). Especially considering that Holmenkollen World Cup was happening on the same weekend.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Geir M wrote a review Mar 2022
Trondheim, Norway13 contributions25 helpful votes
I was living here from sunday to friday while on a work trip. This hotel needs to up their game if they want to have guests in the future, especially considering that the standard are below much cheaper hotels in the same city. The location is fine, smack bang in the middle of town, but this is the best that you can say about the hotel. The breakfast is what I would call average. You will not starve, but it is not the breakfast of your dreams. The hotel is also in dire need of some renovation. The single, ordinary rooms seems to contain a bed and a small bathroom. No desk, no table. Too expensive for what you get. I was upgraded to a larger room, but this room was close to a store-room in the hall where it is very noisy early in the morning. The room itself was also in need of some renovation as it was noticeable worn out and as with the first room - very dark. If you have problems with your eye-sight, I would absolutely not recommend staying here as it could be dangerous for your safety. If you like staying in a obscure place, in a sort of a "red light district atmosphere", this will be the sort of place that you enjoy. A special mention for the receptionist named Camilla - she was very welcoming and service-minded.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
maybrittsol wrote a review Jan 2022
Fredrikstad Municipality, Norway3 contributions1 helpful vote
A great and central place to live in Oslo. The location was great for the train station and the tram right outside. The staff were very nice and not least the ones who arranged in the dining room. They washed, cleaned and refilled all the time. The first hotel I have been to that has served coffee with coffee in the afternoon and not least served supper in the evening which in itself could have been a dinner. Absolutely wonderful stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Uchy0 wrote a review Nov 2021
Gent25 contributions3 helpful votes
Arrived at the hotel, at the check-in the card system was broken. I have waited 01 hour and 30 minutes to get the room, I have asked a double bed and got 2 single bed. Room very small and old. The light next the bed broken. Heating was off and at the arrival the room temperature was really cold! Every night until 02 music at terrible high volume not knowing from we’re it was coming ( not rooms next ) that were complaint as well about it. As a gold member asked if I could stay 1 hour more and they told me no, If you wanna you pay for it. Close to the airport 10 mins bus, 80kr but in the middle of nowhere. Breakfast was good. I think is the worst hotel at the airport area. Never more there for sure.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Stratos M wrote a review Oct 2021
Bergen, Norway108 contributions45 helpful votes
One of the best hotels in Oslo. A very clean room and a great bathroom again very clean. Fantastic and helpful personnel and definitely great areas to sit and drink your coffee or tea while working. Finally one of the best breakfasts you can find not only in Norway but globally!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Naira Lalayan, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret
Responded Oct 20, 2021
Dear guest! Thank you so much for your stay and your very generous feedback! It is unbelievably motivating and encouraging! Thanks again and welcome back while in Norway next time! Yours truly, Naira Lalayan General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$177 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
NorwayEastern NorwayOslo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
160
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret
Which popular attractions are close to Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret?
Nearby attractions include The Escape Games (0.3 miles), VR Games Zone (0.02 miles), and AdventureRooms Oslo (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret?
Conveniently located restaurants include Basso Social, MANTRA by Mr India, and Shanghai 2K18.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the center of Oslo.
Are any cleaning services offered at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Norwegian.