We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Parkgata 4, Tromso 9008 Norway
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Orbitz.com
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
View all 6 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (72)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (3)

About

#17 of 19 hotels in Tromso
Location
4.0
Cleanliness
3.9
Service
3.9
Value
3.9
Enter Backpack Hotel is a travelers' hotel with rooms with private or shared bathrooms, single, double and triple rooms. As well as studio and three bedroom apartments. Central location in a quiet side street. Ideal for travelers seeking budget accommodation. Free cooking and washing facilities. Wifi is included, and all rooms have a TV and fridge.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Skiing
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Washing machine
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor furniture
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Housekeeping
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, French, Danish, Norwegian and 2 more
238Reviews6Q+A26Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 49
  • 87
  • 54
  • 22
  • 26
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
kimi91 wrote a review Feb 2020
52 contributions65 helpful votes
We got a very tiny room, ground floor,close to reception and shared kitchen The result is kind of smelly and noisy Said that, the room was small, but functional. Expensive for the quality, even for Norway: in Tromso there are better locations for the same price
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
cristina67viana wrote a review Feb 2020
Viana do Castelo District, Portugal11 contributions3 helpful votes
We had a room with private bathroom with a fantastic view over Tromso. All staff were very kind and helpful. Its a simple hotel, with kitchen and dining room, which is great because we couild prepare our meals there. It is very close to the centre and it is located in ca calm place. The only cons were the noise some guests made during one night but this is due to their lack of education and respect , not because of the hotel's fault.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Backpack_Manager, Front Office Manager at Enter Backpack Hotel
Responded Feb 10, 2020
Hello, Thank you so much for the lovely comments and rating. :) We are so glad to see you enjoyed your time here. Hope you are well and welcome back any time! Best wishes, Enter Backpack Hotel
Read more
Tatsuya N wrote a review Jan 2020
Tromso, Norway1 contribution
客室はあまり広くないものの,思ったよりも清潔感があって過ごしやすかった。ただし,シャワー付きの部屋でも客室にドライヤーの設置がないため注意。 簡易なサービスのため,ホテルというよりはユースホステルに近い(Backpack Hotelという名前の示すとおり)。 The room is small but cozy. But they don't have a blow dryer, even though there is a personal bathroom in each room.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: If possible, you should choose a room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Backpack_Manager, Manager at Enter Backpack Hotel
Responded Jan 15, 2020
Hello, Thank you so much for your nice comments and rating. :) We are glad to see that you have enjoyed your stay at our facilities. (hair dryer may be borrowed in the reception) We hope you are well and welcome back at any time! :) Best wishes, Enter Backpack Hotel
Read more
Attila H wrote a review Jan 2020
Oslo, Norway10 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
We had really bad experience in this hotel. I don't understand how this hotel could have a good review, small and smelly rooms, bugs in the bed, dirty and old kitchen. When we checked in and went to the room there were a rubbish in the bathroom, smelly and very small room, there were not even space to open the suitcase, but that is not the worse yet. First night we had bed bugs in the bed and I had a lot of bites. We inform to the reception and the receptionist kindly move us to another hotel, but the damage was already done I got Cellulitis infection from the bites, pain, itchiness. We asked to talk to the manager and the receptionist tell us that there were not a manager at that time but she would inform them about this matter. I went to the emergency and I have been hospitalised for the severity of the infection. We were in Tromso only for 3 days to see the northern lights but I spent my time in the Hospital. We never been contacted by the management at this matter until we sent 2 emails to them and finally got an answer. They refund the hotel stay, which was very logic and never paid the pharmacy bill and did not answering to my email any more. I only get 2 emails from them, one of which saying that they are closing the case. After being back I still had to take antibiotics for one week and wasn't able to work. We are very disappointed of that unprofessional and ignoring treat. I leave this long comment in here because I don't want any other guests go through the same that I went through. That was the worse hotel experience I ever had.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Rooms
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The rooms are not looking like in the photos, very small and old
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
tomasziwaniuk wrote a review Dec 2019
Reda, Poland39 contributions4 helpful votes
A very nice hotel, clean and cheap, with nice Stuff. Great place to sleep. We recomand this nice place for all. Hotel was full of guest. Nice base to explore the north of Norway. We Had the room with bathroom. Down there there is a dining room - is is very good solution. And You can leave a lagguage in reception before Your flight.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Backpack_Manager, Front Office Manager at Enter Backpack Hotel
Responded Dec 3, 2019
Hello, Thank you so much for your lovely comments and rating. :) Hope you are well and welcome back at any time! Best wishes, Enter Backpack Hotel
Read more
sampok893 wrote a review Jun 2019
Akaslompolo, Finland20 contributions7 helpful votes
This was terrible! I got sick immediately when we arrived here. Sheets was dirty and pillow smelled sweat! I have travelled a lot but this place was crapiest where i ever been cause mold or something..
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Núria wrote a review Mar 2019
Amposta, Spain12 contributions
It's the perfect place if you're looking for a budget place in the city center and you like having a kitchen. There are rooms with private bathroom available. Beds are confortable and rooms are clean, although not very big.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Backpack_Manager, Front Office Manager at Enter Backpack Hotel
Responded Mar 14, 2019
Hello, Thank you so much for your nice and informative comments and rating. Hope you are doing well and welcome back at any time! :) Best wishes, Enter Backpack Hotel
Read more
Naomi H wrote a review Jan 2019
United Kingdom58 contributions17 helpful votes
This hotel has all you need its clean and it’s a place to rest your head, stay warm and get a shower. The fact the facilities aren’t in the room is annoying but you know that when you book and we had no problems using them. The shower was amazing never wanted to leave it! Beds were comfy room was cold though especially sleeping next to the window! Kitchen facilities were good we cooked because we were in a rush and tired after all the late night trips. Great stay, staff are a bit flat no conversation or customer service skill but stay over all was good.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Backpack_Manager, Front Office Manager at Enter Backpack Hotel
Responded Mar 4, 2019
Hello, Thank you for your nice and information comments about our hotel. Good to see that you had a nice time with us. Hope you are well and welcome back at any time. :) Best wishes, Enter Backpack Hotel
Read more
Sonia Lorenzo wrote a review Jan 2019
London, United Kingdom1 contribution
We wanted to move our dates because we couldn't land in Tromso and we're sent back to London. We advised them in Friday (arrival date) and on Saturday. They needed to wait for the management approval and we received the following line on Monday: "Contact your insurance for a refund" signed by "Reception" We explained again that we didn't need a refund, we needed to move the reservation, to please understand the circumstances. And on reply we received the following line: "Please contact Booking.com to change the dates" again, signed by "Reception" Well, I was disappointed, but mainly because they even didn't check the reservation to see if they could help. How do I know? We didn't book with Booking.com So, I asked again to please reconsider and I asked for their empathy but also for the manager, who was in the first place the person they told us would be able to make such a decision. Well, we didn't have any replu yet and we're not expecting much or nothing from them. My bad, I didn't check the comments before booking. Really, avoid them if you can, anything can happen and whilst the other people who came with us in the plane managed to re-arrange, here we are. Good Luck!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Backpack_Manager, Front Office Manager at Enter Backpack Hotel
Responded Mar 4, 2019
Hello, We are not sure what has happened here. The responses you have received seem to be wage and undone. We generally do not change bookings that are non-refundable, and if the dates you wished to changed where fully booked, we would not allow such a thing. We can not do anything about the customer service in this case, but know that we will look into this and do better in the future. Hope you are well. Best wishes, Enter Backpack Hotel
Read more
10mitchgm wrote a review Jan 2019
8 contributions4 helpful votes
We stayed for 6 nights recently over the New Year. The Hostel was clean, bright, the kitchen basic but very functional. We had a great time. Reception was friendly and helpful. Fridge and sink in room were great. I was somewhat apprehensive given some reviews but this exceeded expectations. Sometimes there was a short wait for the toilet or shower as it was one per floor. Great view. Also in a great location about 5 minutes walking to the centre of town. Recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Backpack_Manager, Front Office Manager at Enter Backpack Hotel
Responded Mar 4, 2019
Hello, Thank you so much for your lovely and informative comments and the good rating. So nice to see that you enjoyed your stay here with us. :) Hope you are well and welcome back any time! Best wishes, Enter Backpack Hotel
Read more
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
abc hotell nord as tromsø
LOCATION
NorwayNorthern NorwayTromsTromso
NUMBER OF ROOMS
25
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Enter Backpack Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Enter Backpack Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Arctic Escape (0.09 miles), Arctic Guide Service (0.3 miles), and Troll Museum (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Enter Backpack Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, baggage storage, and express check-in and check-out.
Which room amenities are available at Enter Backpack Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Enter Backpack Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Enter Backpack Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Raketten, Art Café Bistro, and Mathallen.
Is Enter Backpack Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the center of Tromso.
Are any cleaning services offered at Enter Backpack Hotel?
Yes, a clothes dryer and a washing machine are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Enter Backpack Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, Polish, Swedish, Danish, and Norwegian.
Are there any historical sites close to Enter Backpack Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Skansen (0.4 miles), Elverhøy Kirke (0.7 miles), and Batvraket ved Tomasjordnes (2.2 miles).
Does Enter Backpack Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.