We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora

Traveler (334)
Room & Suite (108)
Dining (23)

About

#10 of 19 hotels in Tromso
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Modern design on the pier! Feel the snow in your hair while resting in our outdoor jacuzzi under the Northern lights or during the summer while sun is shining all day and all night. Our excellent staff will be more than happy to serve you at all times whether it is regarding adventure bookings, restaurant recommendations or other enquiries you might have. We offer coffee/tea and a selection of fruits all day, homemade pasteries or wafles in the afternoon and an evening buffet with salads, soup, hot dish and dessert - all of this FREE OF CHARGE!Fantastic sea view from the diningroom, the outdoor jacuzzi and some of our superior rooms. All common areas were renovated in 2012 an all rooms got new floors, new easy chairs and new fabrics. All bathrooms have heated floors. The hotel is very close to all main attractions in Tromso and only a short walk from the Hurtigruten pier, the airport bus and all other buses that will take you around where ever you would like to go.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hot tub
Free breakfast
Hiking
Fishing
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Parking
Free internet
Wifi
Internet
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
Spa
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Allergy-free room
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Marina View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Norwegian, Polish
Hotel links
Visit hotel website

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
87Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
28Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1,142Reviews
22Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 455
  • 422
  • 156
  • 81
  • 28
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
The rates are steep and one expects something more than what you get! The rooms are ok and decent size..However, why do they include a dinner in the package that is below average? The dinner charge for a guest (all u can eat) is 180 NOK, but no choices and buffet only by name. Just one main dish and extra for dessert! Fortunately the chef gave us some more interesting left overs from the previous day. But because of dinner inclusion, we prevented ourselves from experiencing good restaurants nearby. The neighbourhood has better hotel options. The spa was out of order, but this was informed in advance. An ok place
Read more
Response from Hjemvoll, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
Responded 1 week ago
Dear 605shankarv Thank you for your review and comments. Tromsø is a city with lots of visitors and prices are accordingly. Regarding our TONIGHT'S SPECIAL is this a complimentary meal for those of our guests who prefer not going out in the evening. It always includes a vegetarian soup and bread, a main course and three different salads, if this is not suitable our reception staff would be more than happy to recommend one of the great restaurants just around the corner. We do hope to welcome you back sometime. Yours truly Inger-Helén Hjemvoll
Read more
Hotel's Favorite
Stayed 5 nights 25th March 2019. All staff are respectful, helpful and very kind. Food choice for breakfast was excellent, and good evening meal, free tea and coffee day and night, and free make your own waffles each day at 4 pm, yum! yum! very clean and tidy hotel, with lovely relaxed atmosphere, we would definitely go back if we ever went back to Tromso. The room we stayed in was the same style as the British 'Premier Inn', so no doors on wardrobe and no drawers on desk or bedside tables, we didn't care about this because we travel light, but if you are planning on taking lots of stuff bear this in mind.
Read more
Response from Hjemvoll, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
Responded May 19, 2019
Dear Jennidevon Thank you so much for your great review. We are delighted to see you appreciated our breakfast, our complimentary waffles and evening meal and our brilliant staff. We do look forward to welcome you back. Yours truly Inger-Helén Hjemvoll
Read more
The hotel has a very good location but, sorry to say, it does not live up to a Clarion standard hotel. The rooms, reception and restaurant are very standard and has no ambiance. Even though everything is claen and proper it feels like getting into a hotel that needs to be refurbished to be of Clarion standard . The free evening buffet and the breakfast are, however, very good.
Read more
Response from Hjemvoll, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Joakim O Thank you so much for your review and constructive feedback. We are aware the hotel could use a face lift and hope our mother company will arrange this within shortly. In the meantime we give our hotel and guests all the love and care that we possibly can. We are pleased to see you appreciated our breakfast and complimentary evening meal. We do look hope to welcome you back sometime. Yours truly Inger-Helén Hjemvoll
Read more
A natural electrical phenomenon, or is it? This was a business trip and nothing more than that. Its not difficult to see that this was once one of the better hotels in Tromsø, but I think that time has passed. Now with the new hotel The Edge and other new hotels this is easily becoming a forgotten cousin. The service was at normal. Friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was just what you can expect from a clarion collection hotel. Not that I wanted to give the outdoor jacuzzi a try. But it was out of order at the time I was there. Which is my general impression of the hotel. It's not out of order, don't get me wrong. Though, it seems they could need a little vitamin boost to get the energy back in the walls. My room was spacious and nice, really nice bed but the traffic outside in the street was quite noisy early in the morning. I recommend asking for a room towards the sea if possible. I'm quite spoiled when it comes to hotels which is why I might be a bit strict. Some might say this is a 4 out of 5.
Read more
Response from Hjemvoll, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
Responded May 19, 2019
Dear o_mathis_t Thank you so much for your honest review. We really appreciate this. We are aware the hotel needs a vitamin boost to really sparkle again, and we do hope our mother company will realize this in the near future. We do hope to see you back sometime in the future. Yours truly Inger-Helén
Read more
Lovely hotel with great food included in the room rate. Good location with lovely views out over the harbour. Our suite was a bit disappointing as the view was not great so we moved to a smaller room with a better view. Only marked it down slightly for this reason and because the jacuzzi on the roof was out of action for the entire time we were there with no sign of being repaired. As I’d chosen the place due to view and jacuzzi that was a bit disappointing. Otherwise great hotel though.
Read more
Response from Hjemvoll, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
Responded Apr 15, 2019
Dear ltu00 Thank you so much for your nice review. I am sorry the view from our suite was not optimal for you, due to the orientation of the building this is where they choose to put it. Regarding the jacuzzi we are awaiting tender for rebuild the entire outdoor area. We do hope to open the jacuzzi again around 1 June. We do look forward to welcome you back to enjoy the bubbles on the roof top. Yours truly Inger-Helen Hjemvoll
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$121 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
clarion hotel tromsø, clarion tromso, tromsø clarion
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Clarion Hotel Bryggen
LOCATION
NorwayNorthern NorwayTromso
NUMBER OF ROOMS
121
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing