We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

First Hotel Victoria

Strandgaten 21, Hamar 2300, Norway
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
First Hotel Victoria
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

218 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 100: English reviews
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a modern, poorly designed hotel. The bedroom had no shelf or rack for a suitcase. The modern supposedly trendy shower arrangement made to impossible to contain the water within the shower area. A notice apologised for inconvenience during building works - hammering commenced just after 7am. It is considered vitally critically necessary to play music at breakfast.

Helpful?
Thank Laurence A
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was on the 6th floor. The room was small and claustrophobic, as the only view through the window was of a square of sky. Unless you are very very tall, avoid this floor. The hotel was reasonably well situated, if you like being by a car park and railway lines.

Helpful?
Thank Gill128
Trude O, General Manager at First Hotel Victoria, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give me your comments after your stay with us. I am truly sorry so see that you didn`t have the best experience. I hope you will come back to us some other time and that we then can try to give you a room on a different floor. Again, thank you for your... More 

Hamar
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The railway made a lot of noise,and the room was extremly hot with a gross carpet floor. Nice bathroom! The breakfast was standard egg,bacon,sausage...but no extras (like fish). Cheap parkingplace nearby.

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank ritan956
Trude O, General Manager at First Hotel Victoria, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback after your stay wit us. I truly appreciate it. I am sorry to see that your sleep was disturbed by the trains. Next time ask for a room facing the back yard. You will find this rooms more quiet. Again, thank you so much for your comments. We hope... More 

Travelers are raving about these Hamar hotels

Genova
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here for business and it was not my first time in Hamar - in my opinion this is the best hotel option for its location and room quality. Overall stay was good, breakfast could be significantly improved with some sweet options (also the coffee machine was out of order).

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Popobawa1983
Trude O, General Manager at First Hotel Victoria, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. I truly appreciate it and I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay at First Hotel Victoria. Regarding breakfast I thank you for the constructive feedback. We hope to see you again very soon. Best regards Trude G. Oreld General Manager More 

Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016

Victoria is an old hotel with nice renovation very central in Hamar, close to railway station and near lake Mjøsa. The room was of good size, and bed very comfortable. My only complaint is poor ventilation in the bathroom.

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank LivS41
Trude O, General Manager at First Hotel Victoria, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback after your stay with us. I truly appreciate it. I am glad to see that you find the room comfortable. We will look into the issue regarding the ventilation in the bathroom. Again, thank you. We hope to see you again very soon. Best regards Trude G.... More 

Drammen, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016

Victoria has a serviceminded and friendly staff. My room was a bit small, and the shower drain didn't work (and weren't fixed during my stay). Window towards the back yard, but I didn't have any time to admire a view anyways.

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank jonw413
Trude O, General Manager at First Hotel Victoria, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to evaluate us after your stay with us. I truly appreciate it and I can assure you that we use all the feedback we receive to deliver a better product and better service. I am glad to read that you experienced our staff as service minded and friendly. We hope to see you again... More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2016

Aweful noise from the traing across the street. Room was way to hot, no airco, can't open the window because of the noise of the street and train passing by. Curtains do not connect, so you can get it dark. Personel making noise while prepairing breakfast. Woke up at 4:30 every single day. Stayed for a week.

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 207773frank
Trude O, General Manager at First Hotel Victoria, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback after your stay with us. I truly appreciate it. I am sorry to se that you did not have a good experience staying with us and that you got disturbed from noise both inside and outside the hotel. We do have rooms facing the back yard that... More 

Oslo, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2016

The room was big and the bathroom too (more than I needed). The beds were equipped with controls for adjusting hard/soft mattress condition (more than I needed) and the temperature both in room and bath were more than I needed. Could not find any way to reduce temperature except opening the window. Excelent location centrally in Hamar. I booked the... More 

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 896larsp
Trude O, General Manager at First Hotel Victoria, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your stay at First Hotel Victoria. I truly appreciate it and I am glad to se that you overall had a good experience. We hope you will visit us again very soon. Best regards Trude G. Oreld General Manager More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2016 via mobile

We had a very nice room with very nice bathroom and nice decoration. Very nice view of the bay and marina. Staff was very friendly, breakfast was ok. Only one downside: the hotel is right next to a busy road and only about 50 meters from a trainstation. The cars, motorbikes and especially passing and breaking trains make a terrible... More 

Helpful?
Thank Juhanimarc
Trude O, General Manager at First Hotel Victoria, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback after your stay with us. I truly appreciate it. I am sad to read that you didn't have a good night sleep due to the noise outside. Next time we can offer you a room facing the back yard. Other wise I am glad to se that... More 

Rammie, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2016

Stayed for 2 nights on business. I asked for a room overlooking Lake Mjosa and after the first misty/overcast day was rewarded with lovely views the following morning. Always a big plus as long as the budget allows. The hotel is convenient to the railway station and being 1 hour from the airport, 1 hour from Lillehammer and all the... More 

Helpful?
Thank NickC66
Trude O, General Manager at First Hotel Victoria, responded to this review

Thank you so much for giving us your feedback after your stay at First Hotel Victoria. I really appreciate it and can assure you that we use this comments within the hotel so we can deliver better service and product to our guest. We wish you welcome back to Victoria Hotel. Best regards Trude G. Oreld General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamar
0.5 mi away
Scandic Hamar
Scandic Hamar
#1 of 6 in Hamar
4.0 of 5 stars 75 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Astoria
2.6 mi away
Scandic Ringsaker
Scandic Ringsaker
#1 of 1 in Furnes
3.5 of 5 stars 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik
16.9 mi away
Scandic Elgstua
Scandic Elgstua
#1 of 2 in Elverum
4.5 of 5 stars 113 reviews
17.6 mi away
Thon Hotel Elverum
Thon Hotel Elverum
#2 of 2 in Elverum
3.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about First Hotel Victoria

Address: Strandgaten 21, Hamar 2300, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Hedmark > Hamar Municipality > Hamar
Price Range: $94 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — First Hotel Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your First Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
First Hotel Hamar
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay