We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

First Hotel Victoria

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
First Hotel Victoria
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

243 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 107: English reviews
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Close to the railway station, to the lake and to the city centre. Very comfortable beds. Unfortunately the room was very warm during the night, but the weather was very stuffy and not to be blamed on the hotel.

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank ellensR1303HU
Trude O, General Manager at First Hotel Victoria, responded to this review

Thank you so much for giving me your feedback after your stay with us. I truly appreciate it. I am glad to see that you overall had a good experience staying at First Hotel Victoria. We hope to see you again very soon. Best regards Trude G. Oreld General Manager More 

Eastern Norway, Norway
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The food was excellent, the staff were fiendly and helpful, the hotel was clean and the rooms are good with a nice view out at the Norways largest lake, Mjøsa, BUT the full impression was disturbed by labours working outside and in the same building during our stay. has to make sure that the workers outside does not disturb their... More 

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank benteo66
Trude O, General Manager at First Hotel Victoria, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to give me your feedback after your stay with us. I truly appreciate. First of all I would like to apologies for the noise from the workers. We are currently expanding the hotel with new rooms and a restaurant so we can give our guests an even better experience staying with us.... More 

Travelers are raving about these Hamar hotels

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We loved our short stay here, an hour north of Oslo airport. The room was very nice, the bathroom was clean and bright and updated. Breakfast was fantastic with wonderful homemade breads and plenty of options. Staff was friendly. We could walk to the cathedral ruins, staying next to the lake during the walk. Kept our window open at night-... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barbara L
Trude O, General Manager at First Hotel Victoria, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your very positive feedback. I truly appreciate it and I will tell all my staff that you find them friendly. And I will tell the kitchen manager that you enjoyed the breakfast. Again, thank you so much. We hope to see you again very soon. Best regards Trude G.... More 

Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had the superior twin rooms, which were very spacious. There was a kettle but only 2 tea bags, no option of coffee. As mentioned in other reviews the trains are very noisy and you need the windows shut to sleep, which means a very hot night. Air conditioning would be a useful addition.

Helpful?
Thank knight950
Trude O, General Manager at First Hotel Victoria, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to give me your feedback after your stay with us. I truly appreciate it. I am sorry to see that you didn`t have a good sleep due to the train at night. Next time ask for a room facing the back yard that will be a bit more quiet. Again, thank you... More 

Asker, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2016

Nice location, good breakfast, friendly staff. Good standard. Some construction work currently going on at the hotel but that did not affect my stay to any extent. The railway alongside the hotel may cause some noise.

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 782lastnight3
Trude O, General Manager at First Hotel Victoria, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to give me your feedback after your stay with us. I truly appreciate it. I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay at Victoria Hotel though you experienced some noise from the railway. Next time ask for a room facing the back yard. We hope you will visit us... More 

Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2016

This hotel is centrally located in downtown Hamar one minute from the train station. The rooms are OK standard with good beds, clean and a nice bathroom, The staff were very friendly and helpful and they were flexible about check in. check out. All in all a good stay and good value for Norway.

Helpful?
Thank Pål G
Trude O, General Manager at First Hotel Victoria, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this nice feedback after your stay at Victoria Hotel. I truly appreciate it. I am glad to see that you had a nice stay with us an I am especially happy to read that you found the staff friendly and helpful. We hope to see you back here very soon. Best regards Trude G. Oreld... More 

Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2016

Modern and convenient room with useful and comfortable furniture. Nice hygienic wooden floor without carpet. Beautiful and modern shower and toilet. Had a lake-view room with direct outlook to Miösa-Lake.

Helpful?
Thank stuberjuerg
Trude O, General Manager at First Hotel Victoria, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your nice feedback after your stay wit us. I truly appreciate that you took the time to write this review. I am happy to se that you had a good experience staying at Victoria Hotel. We hope to see you again. Best regards Trude G. Oreld General Manager More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2016

This is a modern, poorly designed hotel. The bedroom had no shelf or rack for a suitcase. The modern supposedly trendy shower arrangement made to impossible to contain the water within the shower area. A notice apologised for inconvenience during building works - hammering commenced just after 7am. It is considered vitally critically necessary to play music at breakfast.

Helpful?
Thank Laurence A
Trude O, General Manager at First Hotel Victoria, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us this important feedback. I am very sorry to see that your stay wasn't a good experience. I can ensure you that we use all the feedback we receive from our guest to deliver better service and product. I hope that you will try our hotel some other time and... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2016

I was on the 6th floor. The room was small and claustrophobic, as the only view through the window was of a square of sky. Unless you are very very tall, avoid this floor. The hotel was reasonably well situated, if you like being by a car park and railway lines.

Helpful?
Thank Gill128
Trude O, General Manager at First Hotel Victoria, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give me your comments after your stay with us. I am truly sorry so see that you didn`t have the best experience. I hope you will come back to us some other time and that we then can try to give you a room on a different floor. Again, thank you for your... More 

Hamar
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016

The railway made a lot of noise,and the room was extremly hot with a gross carpet floor. Nice bathroom! The breakfast was standard egg,bacon,sausage...but no extras (like fish). Cheap parkingplace nearby.

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank ritan956
Trude O, General Manager at First Hotel Victoria, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback after your stay wit us. I truly appreciate it. I am sorry to see that your sleep was disturbed by the trains. Next time ask for a room facing the back yard. You will find this rooms more quiet. Again, thank you so much for your comments. We hope... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamar
0.5 mi away
Scandic Hamar
Scandic Hamar
#2 of 6 in Hamar
4.0 of 5 stars 102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Astoria
2.6 mi away
Scandic Ringsaker
Scandic Ringsaker
#1 of 1 in Furnes
3.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik
16.9 mi away
Scandic Elgstua
Scandic Elgstua
#1 of 2 in Elverum
4.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
13.0 mi away
Comfort Hotel Grand
Comfort Hotel Grand
#2 of 3 in Gjovik
3.5 of 5 stars 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about First Hotel Victoria

Address: Strandgaten 21, Hamar 2300, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Hedmark > Hamar Municipality > Hamar
Price Range: $111 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — First Hotel Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com and Hotwire so you can book your First Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
First Hotel Hamar
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay