We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

451 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 214: English reviews
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Unfortunately I'm leaving a negative review because after staying at this hostel I have small bug bites all over my hands and body. Another individual in my dorm also shared that his body was itching all over due to bed bugs. Our dorm also had issues with our sink and shower draining, which it didn't. Thus we'd be in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Martin B
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Comfy, clean and friendly. Seema like a hotel, as you can have one card as the keys and you also have air conditioner in all rooms. The best thing about the hostel are two things: 1) the bathroom, single one, with hot water and 2) the bar downstairs. The location is good as well, once is right in front the... More 

Helpful?
Thank victoralexandrino
MEININGERHotels, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for the recommendation. We are very happy that you had a great stay here at Meininger Central Station and looking forward to see you again soon. As you mentioned it we do not have an AC in our rooms but we provide fans at the reception. Your Meininger Team from Vienna More 

Ramnicu Valcea, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

good hotel, close to metro breakfast ok, underground parking, value for money, large rooms, cleanliness, recommended hotel for visiting Vienna, no air conditioning which can be a problem in summer months

Helpful?
Thank edwardsU8467LJ
MEININGERHotels, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for rating us. We are happy that you enjoyed your time in Vienna and looking forward to the next time. As you mentioned it we do not have an AC but you can rent a fan at the reception. Your Meininger Team from Vienna More 

Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The good thing about this hostel is that it is really close to a Metro station so commuting is sorted. The rooms & washrooms are clean. It isn't situated in the city centre, which is always better because you can see the real side of the city as well. Some staff members are good, some aren't. I faced a unique... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank thisIsAbhishek
MEININGERHotels, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for the review. We feel sorry for the inconvinience you had. This is not the way we want to handle our guests. We spoke to our staff to avoid these situations in furture. Nevertheless we hope to see you again. Your Meininger Team from Vienna More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

But the whole place wreaked of cigarette smoke. The room was clean and there was plenty of room for our family of five. The parking garage underneath the Hotel/Hostel was convenient but only if you have a tiny car. We however had a large 9 seater van. The hotel/hostel served its purpose. The breakfast was typical German fare, but a... More 

Helpful?
Thank presleytulsa
MEININGERHotels, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for sharing your feedback. We are glad that you stayed with us but feel sorry that you didi not enjoy your stay like our other guests. We are very sorry for cigarette smoke. Cause we are a nonsmoking house. If your car does not fit in the garage you can park for free in the surrounding... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very convenient location close to a tube station and reasonably priced. Rooms are basic but it's a budget hotel. Only real issue was that many youthful people either from the hotel itself or who just happen to congregate there regularly disturb the peace of night. There is no a.c. so if you leave the window open (it was warm when... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chevy J
MEININGERHotels, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for sharing some feedback. We are glad that you stayed with us and will welcome you the next time. As you mention it we do not have an AC but you cant rent a fan at the reception. We are sorry about the noise, if there is anything disturbing you do not hesitate to contact our... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We are a family of 5, children ages 9, 8 and 5. We booked 6-bedroom. Other Meininger had a double bed for parents, but this had only single beds. As other reviews indicated, pillows were rubbish. The beds were not great, but not awful. The floor, bathroom and sheets were all clean. We did book breakfast there. Breakfast cost was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Adam S
MEININGERHotels, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for rating us. We are happy that you stayed with us and looking forward to see you again. For an extra pillow just ask one of our staff and we will provide one. The Meiningers do not have real double beds, its always two single together. Until next time! Your Meininger Team from Vienna More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here as part of an interrailing trip around Europe, and so had been staying at several hostels previously so I had something to gauge it on. When I arrived it felt much more like a mix between a hostel and a hotel rather than one or the other. The atmosphere was much more like a hotel in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jack Z
MEININGERHotels, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for the great feedback. We are very happy that you enjyoed your stay here at Meininger Central Station and looking forward to welcome you again soon. As you metioned it, right now we are in a process of renovation. This includes our guestkitchen as well - Check it out next time! Best Regards your Meininger Team... More 

Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Great hostel with nice spacious rooms and shower. Helpful and friendly staff. In a great location as it's near a metro, central station and a McDonald's. Good value for money. However the pillows were very uncomfortable, on the last night I had to abandon the pillow and use my duvet as one instead.

Helpful?
Thank Roxy_Walters24
MEININGERHotels, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for sharing your feedback. We are happy that you stayed with us and looking forward to welcome you next time. For an extra pillow just ask one of our staff. Cheers! Your Meininger Team from Vienna More 

Shanklin, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2016 via mobile

Really good hostel, had a pleasant and enjoyable stay there was a McDonalds right round the corner as well as an underground train, so was in a prime location. A lovely and pretty city BUT the pillows we're extremely uncomfortable, on the first night I abandoned it completely, so when staying here I would recommend bringing your own.

Helpful?
Thank Isa_Smith2
MEININGERHotels, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for sharing your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay here at Meininger Central Station and looking forward to see you again. We are sorry for the pillow, next time just ask if we can change it for you. Best Regards your Meininger Team from Vienna More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

106 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (91)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Hotel Schani Wien
#36 of 369 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 stars 442 reviews
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Wieden
wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The MEININGER Hotel Vienna Central Station is situated in the heart of Vienna, directly by Hauptbahnhof station, Vienna's former South Station. The baroque palace Belvedere and the Karlsplatz are only round the corner. It's just a 10-minute train ride to the city centre. In addition to modern rooms, the hotel also offers free WiFi throughout the hotel, a bar and a gamesroom. ... more   less 

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof

Address: Columbusgasse 16, Vienna 1100, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Price Range: $35 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meininger City Hostel And Hotel Vienna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay