We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Lounge"

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA \"The Lounge\"
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

505 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 320: English reviews
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Wombats is located on Maria Hilfe Straße, next to Westbanhof station and also with a good number of tram lines nearby. You can walk up this street to get to the city's historical central area or walk down to Schönbrun Schloss (either way it'll take you around 20min). They have a keycard to access the hallway, the room and also... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rodrigo L
Trebic, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I have visited THE LOUNGE already multiple times and I can really reccomend it to you all guys. I tried already: - 6 beds female dormitory private bathroom - 4 beds mixed dormitory private bathroom - private double bed room private bathroom Facilities are really clean and new, there are safety lockers in dorms. I appreciate clean and new bathrooms.... More 

Helpful?
Thank hadidi_k
Sungai Buloh, Selangor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Less than 100m from Westbanhof so staying in this Wombat is really convenient to go round to all the tourist attraction. Many eateries & grocery shops less than 20m from the hostel. There are many restaurants and a big supermarket @ Westbanhof. The hostel have a bar.... mainly for young travelers, kitchen should you want to cook, lounge to interact... More 

Helpful?
Thank ABossMTan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

It's a bit further out but with Westbanhof near by it is easy to get around. I found all the team really helpful especially one girl , who I cannot remember her name but it seemed like she never stopped working! (glasses and curly hair, I am so sorry I forgot your name) Place was quiet when I was there... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aisling B
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights. Had a private double room with ensuit. Towels and bed linen included. Large social areas and big dinning area. Kitchen was small but well equipped with 2 large fridges. Nice bar downstairs with board games and pool tables. Hostel itself was about a 30 minute walk into the centre of Vienna.

Helpful?
Thank Sam J
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hostel is centrally located so a good point for getting out site seeing. The rooms were clean and reasonably priced. The staff were accommodating and arranged for an alternative room for us , but it was a little frustrating as they did not seem to listen to what we were saying , and I had to explain several times... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gillian C
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This Hostel has a Nintendo 64, Jenga games and other activities for guests in the basement/bar area - enough said! This was excellent and appreciated. The hostel itself was clean and the breakfasts included were good. The location was ok, but a decent walk to the centre of town from memory. There is a supermarket next door, but I got... More 

Helpful?
Thank europeansummer2016
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hostel is close to everything and the staff is nice and helpful. But, except for that, the room and the matress are really dirty, the bathroom is terrible and all the lockers look like someone tried to break them sometime (but it didn't happen to me, luckily, I think that they may have fixed it). I would recommend if... More 

Helpful?
Thank Antonio F
Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It's definitely a good hostel, but there were some things that can be improved: lockers and keycards didn't work for us at all and also we missed a proper introduction to vienna by the staff. But there's a really nice lounge area and the bar is super pretty! There never was too much going on but it was cool. Since... More 

Helpful?
Thank fairytale_cupcake
Rouen, France
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Centrally located and decent prices. Rooms are pretty basic. Sheets provided which is a plus but no towels. Room was extremely hot at night and there was no fan or air conditioning. Bathroom was ok. Shower door was broken and hanging off but bathroom was clean overall. Wifi worked well in all area and staff were really sincerely friendly and... More 

Helpful?
Thank vcampbe
office_thelounge, Front Office Manager at wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Lounge", responded to this review

Hello, thank you for your review and stay with us. We are happy to hear that our staff made you feel welcome. But it seemed you had no luck with our facilities. We are very sorry for that. Towels are provided for free at reception. Sorry we didn't inform you about that. Hope to see you again sometime. your wombat's... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

163 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (153)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
#20 of 369 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 stars 456 reviews
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wieden
wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”
Hostel Ruthensteiner
#1 of 195 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 stars 766 reviews
Neubau
Kaiser 23 Ho(s)tel & Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Lounge"

Address: Mariahilfer Strasse 137, Vienna 1150, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Price Range: $22 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Lounge" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wombat`s The Lounge Hotel Vienna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay