We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Hotel Praterstern

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Praterstern
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

116 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 40: English reviews
Vientiane, Laos
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

They don t accept any card, Internet is upon request, for 3 eur/day. I chose a room with shared bathroom, 3rd floor. The loo is just one for 3 rooms and the only shower is at the 1st floor. Ok, it s not expensive but in 2016 I expect more facilities.

Helpful?
1 Thank mpro1975
Barbara S, Manager at Hotel Praterstern, responded to this review

Dear Mauro, we are sorry that we could not full fill all your expectations. In our house you can choose after you needs and wishes between 3 types of single rooms: single room with running water (toilet and shower on the floor), single room with shower (toilet on the floor), single room with shower & toilet. We would be happy... More 

Travelers are raving about these Vienna hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2016

Great location, close to railway station, lots of restaurants and bars in the area but relatively peaceful and quiet too. Room was nice, clean and cosy, no complaints whatsoever. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Helpful?
1 Thank Maria M
Barbara S, Inhaber at Hotel Praterstern, responded to this review

Dear Maria, thank you very much for your feedback. We are happy to hear that we were able to inspire you with our location and the friendliness of our staff. We are looking forward to welcome you again in Vienna. Best regads Family Sobotka More 

Resita, Romania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2016

We chose for the second time Hotel Praterstern in Wien. The first time was in 2007 and was OK. But unfortunately now I had a bad experience. On arrival we had no where to park our car for unload our luggage, the hotel has no reserved seats for clients. I had to park on forbidden place on the street for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrei-Carol S
Barbara S, Inhaber at Hotel Praterstern, responded to this review

Dear guest, we are very sorry that we could not full fill your expectation in total. You are right that we had some problems with fixing the broken sensor in the bathroom, but we have informed you about all steps of repairing. In Vienna we have a short parking zone, that means that you have to pay for the parking... More 

Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2016

this hotel is very cute, it has excellent location for walking to the centre or public transport, shops, restaurants nearby. our rooms were on the 4th floor. the room was much more than I expected, very nice, clean, spacious. the breakfast room is quite small but we always found a spot. the staff was very helpful and pleasant, in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank viaggare111
Barbara S, Inhaber at Hotel Praterstern, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for your feedback. We are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel. Best regards Family Sobotka More 

Kennewick, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2015

This is definitely a budget hotel. It has very small rooms. The bed was comfortable. The TV worked. Pay for Wi-Fi. Very clean room. The room and hall had a bit of a musty smell on arrival which resolved with opening the window. Close to subway but get clearer directions--it is on narrow hard to see street with a just... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tom C
Barbara S, Inhaber at Hotel Praterstern, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for your feedback. We wish a good start in the new year. Best regards Family Sobotka & Hotel Praterstern More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2015 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay in this hotel thanks to really nice staff. The room was great, prices really moderate. We could park our car for a little fee. Breakfast balanced and tasty. Also nearby underground helped a lot with discovering Vienna. Prater just 5 minutes away on foot. Overall we're really satisfied.

Helpful?
Thank Kay from Prague
Barbara S, Inhaber at Hotel Praterstern, responded to this review

Dear Kay, thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are looking forward to welcome you again in Vienna. Best regards Familiy Sobotka Hotel Praterstern More 

Nottingham
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2015

I really enjoyed my stay here. I originally booked it for what I hoped would be a good location - it was, and as I was on a budget, that was a factor too. I flew into Vienna, and got the train to Praterstern. People had posted that it was difficult to find this Hotel when leaving the Station because... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Billiedoux
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2015 via mobile

I wanted cheap and cheerful, preferably a hostel but my hand was forced last minute and I gambled on a slightly pricier option of a hotel. Bad choice. Other than it's reasonable location in a pretty large city - no other aspect met my expectations. My room had no air-com, the tv didn't work and my reception on arrival was... More 

Helpful?
Thank ForkBP
Barbara S, Inhaber at Hotel Praterstern, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we are sorry about the missunderstanding with the room. We also offer other rooms with shower and toilet or only with shower - it always depends on you booking. So it seems that there has been a missunderstanding by your booking. We also have an Air-Condition in our superior rooms. Further you write that you staff was hostile,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Hotel Odeon
Hotel Odeon
#248 of 369 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 stars 50 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Novum Hotel Cristall Wien Messe
Leopoldstadt
Adlon Hotel
Adlon Hotel
#192 of 369 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 stars 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Magdas Hotel
Magdas Hotel
#145 of 369 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Hotel KUNSThof
Hotel KUNSThof
#143 of 369 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 stars 335 reviews
Leopoldstadt
ibis budget Wien Messe
ibis budget Wien Messe
#140 of 369 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 stars 1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Leopoldstadt

Neighborhood Profile
Leopoldstadt
Welcome to one of Vienna’s trendiest quarters. The second district has witnessed a turbulent ride, from medieval swamp to vibrant Jewish quarter, from pleasure ground for the noble and humble to current hip residence and workplace of Vienna’s creative crowd. Cross the Danube Canal from the city center and take in life on Taborstrasse with its mix of old townhouses, churches, theaters, discount shops and ethnic restaurants. Head for Augarten via Karmelitermarkt, Leopoldstadt’s trendy marketplace. Baroque Augarten itself hosts a bizarre mix of manicured hedges and flowerbeds in front of a colossal World War II defense tower, the publicly accessible 300-year-old Augarten porcelain manufactory, the palatial boarding school and funky concert hall of the Vienna Boys Choir, and the modern art museum TBA21. At its opposite corner, The Prater not only houses the Giant Ferris Wheel but blends a bustling amusement park with lush woodland, perfect for a bike tour. Further east is the old derby racing ground of Krieau.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We, family Sobotka, welcome our guests to a friendly and cosy amtosphere in our charming vienna city hotel. Whether you plan a trip with your family, alone or for business, we expect our guests between the Wiener Pater and St. Stephens Cathedral in hearty ambience. Enjoy your stay in our comfortable and bright furnished rooms. You can choose as desired form single rooms to large family-sized rooms. All our rooms have allergic linen, timber flooring and flat-tv, Telefon and wifi (small charge). For our guests with special needs we have our superior rooms in the top floor. Relax and enjoy refreshments or a small snack in our quiet garden courtyard in friendly amtosphere. Services: + buffet breakfast with Austrian products + 24 hours reception & Hotelbar + parking space (advance order) + bicycle rental + bicycle storage + dogs are welcome + laundry service We are looking forward to your visit. Family Sobotka & Team ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Praterstern

Address: Mayergasse 6 | 1020 Vienna, Vienna 1020, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Price Range: $60 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Praterstern 1*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Praterstern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praterstern Hotel Vienna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay