We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

ARCOTEL Wimberger

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (586)
Room & Suite (226)
Dining (111)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#181 of 379 hotels in Vienna
Location
3.9
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
3.9
Value
3.9
The charismatic hotel with 225 rooms and suites is a legend in Vienna since 1871 and remains a popular place for celebrities, artists and cosmopolitan types to stay. Tradition meets modern style at ARCOTEL Wimberger, located in Vienna’s hip, creative 7th district near the concert venue Stadthalle and just a short walk to the main shopping avenue Mariahilfer Strasse. Conveniently located, the city center of Vienna can be reached in just a few minutes. The hotel is an ideal base for a city break in connection with sightseeing, art & culture, shopping and entertainment. The underground line U3 (Westbahnhof) is situated opposite of the hotel and takes you directly to the city center (Stephansplatz). At the Handwerk Restaurant everything is freshly cooked, using only the best quality and regional products. Inspired by international influences, trendy as well as classical Austrian dishes can be found on the menu. Joe's Bar, decorated in colonial style, is where you can bring your day to a relaxing close. Choose from a well-assorted drinks menu or simply enjoy an exquisite cocktail. Dishes for the small appetite are also available on the menu.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot tub
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Patio
Highchairs available
Parking garage
Wifi
Pool with view
Pool / beach towels
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Video game console
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, German
1,061Review18Q+A68Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 282
  • 446
  • 217
  • 59
  • 57
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Serena C wrote a review Jan 2024
Cheshire, United Kingdom909 contributions411 helpful votes
A well-located hotel just off the Ring and very quiet considering! We had a comfort room with breakfast included. Our room overlooked the inner courtyard. It was ok but the lighting in the bedroom could have been better and the shower was somewhat old-fashioned. The breakfast was amazing - a choice of eggs on the buffet or you could order specially at no extra charge. We had a major issue on arrival as our booking had not been sent through by the travel agent. Kany on Reception was extremely helpful and eventually everything was sorted.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniela Schwarz, Gästeservice/Empfang at ARCOTEL Wimberger
Responded Feb 9, 2024
Dear Serena, Thank you very much for taking the time to send us this feedback! It is our aim to satisfy our guests and make their stay in Vienna a memorable one. We are always glad to pass the reviews on to our colleagues who consider such comments the best reward for their service, we are glad that we could help you with your luggage issue. Thank your for letting us know about the lighting, we will look into this and change the bulbs. We look forward to having you as our guest again in the near future Best regards Daniela Schwarz Guest Relations ARCOTEL Wimberger
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Paul L wrote a review Dec 2023
Fareham, United Kingdom50 contributions71 helpful votes
Arrived late morning to a very busy reception, though we realised this was due to an event taking place at the hotel as we were quickly checked in with no fuss. The room was everything you would want for a short stay, also it was warm, should you be travelling when its cold outside, infact, we found it warm with the aircon turned off and ended up opening the window at night. The hotel is well located to the trams and the underground. There are a couple of shopping malls nearby with restaurants should you want other options to the hotel restaurant. Visited some of the Christmas markets, with the market at the town hall being the best, especially at night. The zoo is also worth a visit.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniela Schwarz, Guest Services / Front Office at ARCOTEL Wimberger
Responded Jan 3, 2024
Thank you very much for taking the time to send us this feedback! It is our aim to satisfy our guests and make their stay in Vienna a memorable one. We are always glad to pass the reviews on to our colleagues who consider such comments the best reward for their service. We look forward to having you as our guest again in the near future Best regards Daniela Schwarz Guest Relations ARCOTEL Wimberger
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Bullseal wrote a review Oct 2023
Truro, United Kingdom29 contributions15 helpful votes
+1
Lovely hotel with a great location to West Bahnhof, with tramlines just across the road. Breakfast was fantastic and staff were very helpful, especially on the busy morning at Breakfast. Early book in was no problem and made to feel welcome straight away. Nice size room but the extractor fan had a vibration issue, even with the light off. Would love to use this hotel again on a return trip to Wien.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniela Schwarz, Guest Services / Front Office at ARCOTEL Wimberger
Responded Nov 5, 2023
Thank you very much for taking the time to send us this lovely feedback! It is our aim to satisfy our guests and make their stay in Vienna a memorable one. We are always glad to pass the reviews on to our colleagues who consider such comments the best reward for their service. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed the breafkast. the room and the location. We look forward to having you as our guest again in the near future Best regards Daniela Schwarz Guest Relations ARCOTEL Wimberger
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Q8429HHdaniela wrote a review Aug 2023
vienna6 contributions
The staff were especially friendly, and breakfast buffer was really great! they even had a vegan corner . good choice for a decent price . public transport, just in front of the hotel takes you to all sightseeing places easily
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniela Schwarz, Guest Services / Front Office at ARCOTEL Wimberger
Responded Aug 28, 2023
Dear Daniella Thank you very much for taking the time to send us this feedback! It is our aim to satisfy our guests and make their stay in Vienna a memorable one. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our location and the breakfast. We look forward to having you as our guest again in the near future Best regards Daniela Schwarz Guest Relations ARCOTEL Wimberger
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kimmen1 wrote a review May 2023
Alesund, Norway664 contributions374 helpful votes
Stayed her for two days attending a conference. Really liked the authentic Austrian feel to the room and hotel. Great breakfast and lunch and nice facilites throughout the hotel. We really found it to be value for money, costing half of what we had to pay for our final night in the centre of the old town.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniela Schwarz, Guest Services / Front Office at ARCOTEL Wimberger
Responded May 18, 2023
Dear Kimmen, Thank you very much for taking the time to send us this feedback! It is our aim to satisfy our guests and make their stay in Vienna a memorable one. We are always glad to pass the reviews on to our colleagues who consider such comments the best reward for their service. We look forward to having you as our guest again in the near future Best regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Nelly955 wrote a review Dec 2022
Leicester, United Kingdom85 contributions15 helpful votes
+1
Fantastic hotel we were upgraded room on 6th floor. Very handy for tram's and ubahn. Close to shops and restaurants. Excellent breakfast huge choice and very helpful friendly staff. Book meals if going at this time. We took a train to Bratislava. The horse carriage ride was good . Public transport excellent and good value.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniela Schwarz, Guest Services / Front Office at ARCOTEL Wimberger
Responded Jan 5, 2023
Dear Nelly, We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay in Vienna! Thank you very much for taking the time to send us this lovely feedback! It is our aim to satisfy our guests and make their stay in Vienna a memorable one. We are always glad to pass the reviews on to our colleagues who consider such comments the best reward for their service. We look forward to having you as our guest again in the near future Best regards Daniela Schwarz Guest Relations ARCOTEL Wimberger
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Virgil M wrote a review Dec 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I just check-in and I have a big surprise that they give me another room,similar but diferent that I reserve on booking. The difference was important for my child, so it become very important for us. Much more, the attitude of the young ladies from receptions was very nasty "We dont guarranty the room that you reserve" and invite me to accept the room becouse they dont have free, the type of room that I reserve. When I say that its not wright on details of booking and its better in the future to make changes. They told me that is not the responsability of the hotel and arque with me. I must guarranty the price they asked, but they are not guarraty the service that I payed. Very wrong!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Be carefull at the details of your reservation and verify first.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniela Schwarz, Guest Services / Front Office at ARCOTEL Wimberger
Responded Jan 5, 2023
Dear Virgilm, Thank you for this comment which we also received over Booking.com. We are glad that we were able to talk to you before you checked out of our hotel, and that we were able to make your impression of our hotel better again. We sincerely hope that you we will have you as our guest again soon! Best regards Daniela Schwarz Guests Relations ARCOTEL Wimberger
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jan C wrote a review Oct 2022
utah198 contributions54 helpful votes
I would not recommend this hotel. We had to move to 3 different rooms to try to get a decent one. The first ones had worn furniture, old carpets ,and a bad smell in the hall. The vinyl was rubbed off the headboard in one room. The bathroom was dirty in another. And someone was still occupying yet another! The one we stayed in still had hair in the bathroom and dirty fingerprints on the bathroom ceiling. I don't think the location is ideal either. I think it is nicer to stay on the other side of Vienna closer to the museum district. We had to walk quite a ways to find any good restaurants. However, the one good thing about the hotel is its own restaurant. But one night they wouldn't let us in because we didn't have a reservation even though most of the restaurant was empty.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniela Schwarz, Guest Services / Front Office at ARCOTEL Wimberger
Responded Nov 1, 2022
Dear Janny, Thank you for the feedback. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our rooms are being renovated at the moment so the furniture, headboard and carpets will soon be a thing of the past. However, all rooms should be spotlessly clean and we can only appologize for this. The reception tried to find a solution for a room change on a fully booked night and it seems this was not a good idea as the free rooms were not really ready and in the condition they should be. The Mariahilferstrasse shopping street , as well as the West railway station area offer a large variety of restaurants and our colleagues would have been glad to give you suggestions. Our restaurant Handwerk would also definitely be most happy to have our in-house guests but they were waiting for a conference group to come in on that one evening. We can only hope that you will give us a chance to accommodate you in our new rooms soon and leave you with a much better impression of our services. Once again so sorry for the inconvenience. Best regards Daniela Schwarz Guest Relations ARCOTEL Wimberger
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Darci wrote a review Oct 2022
123 contributions78 helpful votes
Location is very good. Breakfast offers sufficient variety. Though hotel was recently renovated (at least they claim so), it feels old and time-warn. On two occasions I struggled to open the door to my room (but after 5-8 attempts I managed :)). Pipe on the sink hardly working, water stuck. Mind this was delux room! Bed very comfortable and no noise from the road. Staff in restaurant very kind and friendly, yet at the receptuin desk staff must get some training on how to treat the customer!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniela Schwarz, Guest Services / Front Office at ARCOTEL Wimberger
Responded Oct 12, 2022
Dear Darija, Thank you very much for taking the time to send us this lovely feedback! It is our aim to satisfy our guests and make their stay in Vienna a memorable one. We are glad to hear your room was quiet and that you liked the restaurant. Thank you also for the other comments as we will use them in our next meeting to improve our services. We are in fact renovating the rooms right now and this caused some unexpected problem in the plumbing. Please excuse this inconvenience and we assur you that you will be more comfortable during your next visit ! We look forward to having you as our guest again in the near future Best regards Daniela Schwarz Guest Relations ARCOTEL Wimberger
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
JockMc wrote a review Sep 2022
Brighton, United Kingdom71 contributions39 helpful votes
This is a good hotel centrally located in Vienna. With a few improvements, it could be a great hotel. When we arrived our room was not ready as the hotel was fully booked due to a conference so we had to wait to for a room to be ready. It took an hour or two but in the end we received an upgrade to a larger room than we booked for so that was a bonus. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and gave us a complimentary drink voucher to use in the restaurant while we waited. Upon proper check in, there was a misunderstanding with our Expedia booking. First we were told we'd paid (which we thought we had) and then on check out we were told we hadn't paid. When we queried this we were told everything was OK but we did get a bill 6 weeks after we left which was settled easily once we verified that Expedia had not taken the hotel payment from us. Bit of confusion but all good in the end. Our room was very comfortable as were the beds and pillows. Even though it was a lower floor room and faced the street, the room was very quiet. We had ear plugs just in case we needed them, but noise was not an issue. Breakfast was superb in the main restaurant. As other guests have commented, the dinner menus are all in German, but the staff were all multi lingual which helped with any queries. We didn't have dinner there, just breakfast and as I said, the breakfast which was a buffet option, was brilliant, something for every dietary requirement. The gym was good but to say that the hotel has a pool is stretching things. It has a jacuzzi plunge pool for after you use the gym but that's it. If anyone was wanting to swim, the Vienna Stadthalle is a 6 minute walk from the hotel. My wife swam there every morning of our stay and for about 7-8 euros, you can swim in an Olympic sized pool. She loved it. Use this if you really want to swim while staying at the hotel. The bar was not open which was unfortunate as it looked really good, but there are some good bars and restaurants not far from the hotel. We'd recommend Mike's 1150 for drinks and bar food or the Pulkautaler Wein & Bierhaus if you're after Austrian food. Both are a short walk from the hotel. The transport links from the hotel are great with several tram stops nearby. We walked everywhere but the tram services were very frequent. We stayed at this hotel as we attended a concert at the Stadthalle and stayed on to do some sightseeing in Vienna. We did enjoy our stay in a comfortable room and found the staff very friendly and loved the breakfast meals we had. Other reviews of this hotel may not be as favourable as this one, but, if the management take note and address the issues that have been raised by guests, this could a be great hotel to stay in. We would certainly consider staying here again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniela Schwarz, Guest Services / Front Office at ARCOTEL Wimberger
Responded Sep 26, 2022
Dear Jock, Thank you so much. It is great to receive such a detailed review, as it helps us to improve our service and see things from the guests' point of view. How nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, that you appreciated the location and the rooms, and that our friendly staff managed to solve things on spot., but there is room for improvement . During your next visit we will make sure that everthing goes smoothly from the beginning. We are glad you enjoyed our Restaurant and the extensive buffet breakfast. We have already done the translation for our Menucard and will make sure it is provided to English speaking guests. We sincerely hope that you will be our guest again in the future. At the moment we are renovating our rooms, and we would love to show you the new style. Best regards from Vienna, and once again thank you for the feedback! Best regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Vienna area.
PRICE RANGE
$103 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
arcotel wimberger vienna, arcotel wimberger hotel vienna
LOCATION
AustriaVienna RegionViennaNeubau / Schottenfeld / Neubau
NUMBER OF ROOMS
225
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ARCOTEL WIMBERGER $107 ($̶1̶5̶9̶) - Updated 2024 Prices & Hotel Reviews - Vienna, Austria

Frequently Asked Questions about ARCOTEL Wimberger
Which popular attractions are close to ARCOTEL Wimberger?
Nearby attractions include Scavenger Escape Rooms Vienna (0.2 miles), BahnhofCity Wien West (0.3 miles), and WestLicht. Museum for Photography (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at ARCOTEL Wimberger?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at ARCOTEL Wimberger?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at ARCOTEL Wimberger?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at ARCOTEL Wimberger?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to ARCOTEL Wimberger?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pulkautaler Wein & Bierhaus, Gastwirtschaft Schilling, and Konoba Pescaria.
Are there opportunities to exercise at ARCOTEL Wimberger?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center, locker rooms available in the fitness center, and a pool with a view during their stay.
Are pets allowed at ARCOTEL Wimberger?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does ARCOTEL Wimberger offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at ARCOTEL Wimberger?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
Are there any historical sites close to ARCOTEL Wimberger?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Belvedere Museum (2.1 miles), Ringstrasse (1.3 miles), and Votivkirche (1.4 miles).