We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Graben Hotel

#119 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
Traveler (271)
360
Panoramas (7)
Room & Suite (170)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Property amenities
Breakfast included
Room service
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Concierge
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Minibar
Non-smoking rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Historic Hotel
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
339Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
216Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
Neighborhood
Inner City
In Vienna's best-known district, pedestrian boulevards Kärntner Strasse and Graben connect you with landmarks such as the Wiener Staatsoper (Vienna State Opera), Vienna’s iconic Stephansdom (St. Stephen’s Cathedral) and the vast compound of Hofburg, the Habsburgs’ former Imperial Palace. Peek down side streets such as Annagasse and Weihburggasse, and Graben’s Seilergasse and Habsburggasse, to get a feel for the center. The Imperial Apartments and the refreshingly demystifying Sissi Museum are must-dos at Hofburg. Spacious squares such as Am Hof and Freyung often host beautiful seasonal and antiques markets.
Read more
See all nearby hotels
814Reviews
544Photos
26Q+A
90Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 285
  • 378
  • 88
  • 29
  • 34
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
+1
The hotel is located centrally, two steps away from Stephan's Cathedral. The room and bathroom are very clean, with parquet flooring in the room. Spring matress, pretty confortable. Probably the price is it is pretty high (I don't have this Information). Good breakfast.
Read more
Response from FamilieKremslehner, Inhaber at Graben Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest! Thank you for choosing our Graben Hotel for your recent trip to Vienna. We are very happy that you enjoyed your days with us and we hope to have you with us soon again! Best wishes, your family Kremslehner on behalf of the team
Read more
I don’t recommend this hotel at all. Me and my family have visited this hotel recently and when we arrived staff told us that they made mistake (they over booked hotel) and that they don’t have any room for us, and we payed one month in advance. They gave us two lousy options:
Read more
Response from FamilieKremslehner, Manager at Graben Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, again, we would like to assure you that we really feel sorry for this whole situation! We understand that you were upset because we had to relocate you - as explained at reception, an unexpected overbooking forced us to please some of our guests to change to our sister Hotel Regina – unfortunately you were affected as well. Our Hotel Regina is the main building of the Kremslehner Group and in family run since 4 generation! It is also a 4 star hotel and absolutely identical in quality and service. The Hotel is situated at the Ringstrasse and the distance to the first district is only about 300 m, a few minutes walk. As well as for all our hotels, the subway nearby the hotel takes you easily to all tourist attractions. Again, we apologize for moving you to an alternative hotel and we know, that all apologies and explanation can not change your impression or disappointment, but anyhow – faced to the situation – we were forced to and were convinced that choosing one of our own hotels would have been the best alternative in that circumstances. With best regards The Kremslehner family on behalf of the Graben Hotel Team
Read more
We booked this hotel for an anniversary trip. When we arrived we were told by the receptionist in broken English “ I have some good news and bad news” the bad news is we don’t have a room for you the good news we can accommodate as our sister hotel “ hotel Regina” this is around
Read more
Response from FamilieKremslehner, Manager at Graben Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Samatha, again, we would like to assure you that we really feel sorry for this whole situation! We understand that you were upset because we had to relocate you - as explained at reception, an unexpected overbooking forced us to please some of our guests to change to our sister Hotel Regina – unfortunately you were affected as well. Our Hotel Regina is the main building of the Kremslehner Group and in family run since 4 generation! It is also a 4 star hotel and absolutely identical in quality and service. The Hotel is situated at the Ringstrasse and the distance to the first district is only about 300 m, a few minutes walk. As well as for all our hotels, the subway nearby the hotel takes you easily to all tourist attractions. Again, we apologize for moving you to an alternative hotel and we know, that all apologies and explanation can not change your impression or disappointment, but anyhow – faced to the situation – we were forced to and were convinced that choosing one of our own hotels would have been the best alternative in that circumstances. With best regards The Kremslehner family on behalf of the Graben Hotel Team
Read more
+1
Stayed here with my wife on a short break in Vienna. I recommend a little 'google earth' visit before you come here as the road where the hotel is situated has a narrow entrance and is is easily missed even when you have done the pre-visit work, The location is great, within a
Read more
Response from FamilieKremslehner, Inhaber at Graben Hotel
Responded Mar 15, 2019
Dear Barry! Thank you for choosing our Graben Hotel for your recent trip to Vienna. It is true that the rooms provided at the hotel are not big in size - but we never stat anywhere that they are big. In fact the Graben Hotel is located in a historic building and due to the architecture of ths building all our rooms are different in size - but they are all small compared to modern hotels. We are very happy that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and that our team could make you feel at home while staying with us. We are sorry for trash bins - they belong to the building next door and we do not have any influence! We hope to have you with us soon again, best wishes from Vienna, your family Kremslehner on behalf of the team
Read more
Graben, a pedestrian precinct in the inner city of Vienna, is called by that name (which means – rather unromantically -- "trench" or "ditch") because of the location of a trench in front of the wall of the Roman town of Vindobona. The hotel, Hotel Graben, is seven floors high
Read more
Response from FamilieKremslehner, Manager at Graben Hotel
Responded Mar 7, 2019
Dear Client, thank you for choosing Graben Hotel for your recent stay in Vienna. We really appreciate you taking the time to send valuable comments about your stay at our hotel, especially for mentioning our great customer service. Our team takes great pride in offering our guests inspiring stays. Thanks again for the kind comments and we looking forward to hosting you in the future. The Kremslehner family on behalf of the Graben Hotel Team
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuiteDining Business Center & Event Rooms
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorGraben Hotel
The Superior Room at the Graben Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorGraben Hotel
The Double Room at the Graben Hotel
Photo provided by managementGraben Hotel
Graben Hotel Guest Room
Camera standard
Room 46, view towards door, cupboard and bathroom
PreviousNext
12345634
Are there parking garages nearby?
Sorry I don’t know as we traveled by taxi.
0 votes
Show all answers
Are there parking garages nearby?
The hotel is offering a valet parking service for €35 per day. Someone picks up you car and takes it to parking. The hotel is on a pedestrian only zone, no access with the car.
1 vote
Show all answers
Are you able to put your own food or drinks in the provided minibar? Thanks!
Hi, Indeed but the fridge is small. It’s a great location for walking around the old city. Regards Paul
1 vote
Show all answers
What is the best way to get to the hotel from the Sudbahnhof?
From anywhere in Vienna, head for Stephansplatz and the Graben is a couple of minutes walk from the cathedral.
2 votes
Show all answers
No problem! We have baby cots and kids are very welcome to our Hotel! Best wishes your family Kremslehner
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
123456
"higher floors are better"
"We had a Standard Room facing the street, but with the secondary glazing it was completely quiet."
"Find another hotel"
"Away from the street can be a noisy with the windows open."
"We asked for a quiet room and got one."
PreviousNext
12345618
PRICE RANGE
$137 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
graben hotel vienna
LOCATION
AustriaVienna RegionViennaInner City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
52
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing