We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

908 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 366: English reviews
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We came with friends to enjoy Christmas Vienna and we didnt wanna spend all our money for expensive hotel, we found MEININGER Hotel and we were surprised how great hotel is. Hotel is very close to metro and it is just few minutes by metro to the centre. Room was super large, so we could even dance in there :).... More 

Helpful?
Thank 11katerinah
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel's best qualities are as follows - location is in a nice neighborhood and not far from many points of interests...the tram service and metro are close and can be used to get most places. The bed was a 7 out of 10 - firm but sits too low to the floor....Breakfast is cheap - around $7.00 euros...basic continental... More 

Helpful?
Thank SouthernTrifecta
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2016 via mobile

Nice enough lobby, good location, but the beds were so close together in the 4 bed room that a total stranger managed to cough on me all night. We're talking beds 10cm apart. Lovely staff and a cool photo booth but the room was god awful.

Helpful?
Thank christinetraveltips
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review

Dear guest,thank you for taking the time to share your experience. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay in our small dormitory, but I'm glad you had a good experience with our staff. We hope to welcome you... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2016

If you're the sort of person who travels and wants to experience a City by way of bars, cafes and restaurants rather than staying in your hotel this is a very viable option. We travelled as a group of 4 and took a 6 bed 'dorm'. Beds, room, WC and shower room are all clean, modern and practical without being... More 

Helpful?
Thank nmbee2016
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2016 via mobile

We had a fab stay in this hotel, it was clean, comfortable and welcoming. The staff were always friendly and helpful even in the busy reception! Mattresses in our beds were good quality, free wifi was a excellent. We paid the extra €6.90 for breakfast each day and it was great value for money with a good variety of continent... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lee M
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your wonderful feedback! I'm really happy that you had such a good stay in our hotel. It's very important for us that our guests feel welcome and we want to take time for every guest to take care of theri questions and needs. feedback like yours is a great motivation to continue for us. We... More 

Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2016

My friend and I stayed here for 4 nights in August 2016 in a 4 bed dorm. We really enjoyed our stay. Our dorm was quite spacious, as I believe we were in the dorm for people with disabilities. There was a TV in the room which was great for watching the last couple of days of the Olympics. We... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Beth H
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your wonderful and detailed feedback! I'm very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked so much about our hotel. We want to offer our guests some options to relax after a long day of sightseeing, like playing some tablefootball or taking fun photos as you mentioned. We would like to welcome you... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2016 via mobile

The place is fully renovated (or maybe it is brand new?). The room was very clean. It it close to transportation facilities (subway and tramway). Very quiet. Above our expectations! We clearly recommend.

Helpful?
1 Thank Marc-Philippe P
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2016 via mobile

It is more an hotel than a hostel, the rooms are really clean and spacious. It was close to a metro station so it was easy to reach main places on the city. The breakfast is a little bit overpriced but I recommend taking it on Sundays because it's difficult to find a better price quality ratio since all supermarkets... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Héctor M
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your great feedback! I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is indeed just across the river from the old town and two metro stops. We offer a continental all you can eat buffet all days, but if you prefer making you own breakfast all our guests are welcome to use our... More 

Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2016 via mobile

I stayed there in the biginning of september with my family. The hotel has a good position, close to the center of Viena. The price is very good, the rooms are clean, although they have little furniture to place your clothes if you intend to stay longer. Breakfast is ok, buffet. The hotel is very animated and could be noisy... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank dianalascau
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2016 via mobile

I did my reservation thru you And booking.com for the Meininger hotel Vienna Downton Sissi, with an American Express card (in your page it does not say that Is not acepted in this hotel) so I got the confirmation and kept on going with my traveling thrue Vienna, my surprise when I arrive as that they cancel my reservation because... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AndreaVarona
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I'm sorry that you encountered an issue with your booking. Generally we do not accept American Express, the credit cards we accept are Visa and Mastercard, as stated on booking.com. It's good to hear that our colleagues could find a solution for you and we hope you liked... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

265 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (245)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (52)
Viewed
Bathroom (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (60)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Leopoldstadt
ibis budget Wien Messe
ibis budget Wien Messe
#153 of 366 in Vienna
1,417 reviews
Ottakring
A&O Wien Stadthalle
A&O Wien Stadthalle
#253 of 366 in Vienna
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Landstraße
JUFA Hotel Wien City
JUFA Hotel Wien City
#60 of 366 in Vienna
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Leopoldstadt

Neighborhood Profile
Leopoldstadt
Welcome to one of Vienna’s trendiest quarters. The second district has witnessed a turbulent ride, from medieval swamp to vibrant Jewish quarter, from pleasure ground for the noble and humble to current hip residence and workplace of Vienna’s creative crowd. Cross the Danube Canal from the city center and take in life on Taborstrasse with its mix of old townhouses, churches, theaters, discount shops and ethnic restaurants. Head for Augarten via Karmelitermarkt, Leopoldstadt’s trendy marketplace. Baroque Augarten itself hosts a bizarre mix of manicured hedges and flowerbeds in front of a colossal World War II defense tower, the publicly accessible 300-year-old Augarten porcelain manufactory, the palatial boarding school and funky concert hall of the Vienna Boys Choir, and the modern art museum TBA21. At its opposite corner, The Prater not only houses the Giant Ferris Wheel but blends a bustling amusement park with lush woodland, perfect for a bike tour. Further east is the old derby racing ground of Krieau.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz is in Vienna's second district of Leopoldstadt between Augarten and the Danube canal. The Karmeliter market with its many delicacies and Vienna's Old Town are just around the corner. The Franz hotel with its functional and modern design is ideal for city breaks that call for simplicity and precision. With services such as free WiFi, guest kitchen, bar and gaming area... holidaying with MEININGER is more than just low-cost accommodation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz

Address: Rembrandtstrasse 21, Vienna 1020, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Price Range: $46 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz 2*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#33 Best Value Hotel in Vienna
#127 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz staff and other travelers.
19 questions
Ask a question
Rowland Heights
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Try their breakfast, it is great for good price.”
 of 5 bubbles 11katerinah, 5 days ago | Read review
“if you are a group of people, you can stay here”
 of 5 bubbles PrasantBhansaali, Jun 12, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the main street have the better views. Some even come with balconies.”
 of 5 bubbles Hewanorra, May 25, 2016 | Read review
“Do not come here”
 of 5 bubbles spanishreviewer, May 23, 2016 | Read review
“Stay on higher floors to avoid noise from lobby”
 of 5 bubbles unspoken_lullaby, May 14, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay