We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Hotel Wien

Save
Share
Kaerntner Ring 9, Vienna 1010 Austria
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
$448
View deal
eDreams
Booking.com
travelup.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (964)
Room & Suite (427)
Dining (164)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#47 of 384 hotels in Vienna
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
The Grand Hotel Wien is one of the most luxurious hotels in Europe. Its location in the middle of Vienna, just a few steps to the Vienna State Opera and the ,,Kärntner" Street, is incomparable. The deluxe hotel combines noble ambience, best service and gourmet cuisine. The 205 luxurious and technically state-of-the-art rooms and suites guarantee comfort and well-being due to luxury furniture, elegant design and most modern technical equipment. Even the expectations of the most demanding guests are met. Guests can enjoy culinary delights in four restaurants and two bars. Highlights are the traditional Japanese restaurant "Unkai" and the restaurant "Le Ciel by Toni Mörwald", both decorated with numerous awards. Le Ciel by Toni Moerwald is also our Michelin-star awarded gourmet restaurant. The view over the rooftops of Vienna makes every visit at the gourmet restaurant of the Grand Hotel Wien an unforgettable event. Enjoy the extraordinary menus and excellent dishes in an exquisite atmosphere. At the Grand Spa 605, located on the 6th floor of the house, an oasis of tranquillity and wellbeing awaits you. The Spa is equipped with sauna, steam bath, a separate area for women with sauna, steam bath, quiet zone, a cardio area with the latest sports equipment and two treatment rooms with one of the most extensive cosmetics and massage treatments in Vienna. In the second basement, one of Vienna's biggest ballrooms, the "Quadrille" can be found, offering a glamorous ambience for every occasion. On the 4th floor new meeting rooms function for all kind of venues, conferences and press events. The demanding criteria of the prestigious international Green Globe label confirm the green stance of the Grand Hotel Wien on sustainable tourism in all of its establishments. Green Globe is an internationally recognized certification program designed for the travel and luxury tourism industry. Its Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) standards are applicable to several types of structures such as resorts, spas and casinos.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Babysitting
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Business Center with Internet Access
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Massage
Salon
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Luxury
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 5 more

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
226Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
167Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1593Reviews23Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,125
  • 312
  • 88
  • 27
  • 41
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
fivestarexpert wrote a review Dec 2020
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Spending Christmas at the Vienna Grand Hotel was a very poor choice. We booked via Booking.com nine (9) consecutive nights between December 18th and 27th, 2020 - and we even left earlier, as the poor room standards and the lousy service were unbearable. The curtains aren’t closing, as they are ripped from their mechanisms. The electric sun shades aren’t functioning. The hairdryer is broken, the heating system is extremely noisy, the beddings are old and used. The duvet is poorly thin and worn down. The light situation in the room is far too dim and the quality of the amenities a total disgrace. Due to the pandemic situation all restaurants were closed, but what five star hotel is operational without even a room service? If you want to have a coffee or a croissant in the morning, they ask you to get to reception level and serve yourself or to get your own groceries at the adjacent shopping mall. There is only one small street access that is open, and whenever you enter or leave the Grand Hotel Vienna, there is one of their employees standing right there smoking a cigarette. All you smell is tobacco smoke and you feel like entering or exiting an ashtray. Three times entering the building we felt like we are not welcome and disturbing the bored employees. Once one employee even yelled “yes pleaaaase?” Standing in our way - just as if he wanted to chase us away. On Christmas Eve it took one other employee 8 minutes to open the locked door, while we stood in the cold and then he didn’t even wish us merry Christmas. And last but not least, when we came in with shopping bags one employee said “how can I help you?” and I replied “can you please help me handle these bags to carry up to my room?” and so the receptionist said “ah, you are staying with us!” and he turned around hiding again in his back office - without giving me a hand. Housekeeping didn’t vacuum once in eight days and the bed cover wasn’t replaced properly ever on the bed. When we once ordered food to be delivered from a nearby restaurant it was brought up to our room in the restaurant’s ripped paper bag - although we saw other rooms get their deliveries brought up on room service tables with proper hotel cutlery. This didn’t make us feel welcome at all. At Christmas one friendlier receptionist told us that he had sent up a Christmas gift to the room. Expectations weren’t high, but see for yourself what we received: three pieces of chocolate, one apple and a mandarin. Not even a Christmas card. Better don’t mention such a gift on Christmas Eve at a five star hotel, if it is such a crap! Although we always said that we don’t know how many nights we will be staying - but our maximum stay could be nine nights, they didn’t arrange for a refund of the last night, as we checked out after eight nights. At check out no one asked if we did enjoy our stay. I guess they probably know why not bothering asking. This hotel needs refurbishment, a much kinder and more welcoming attitude and their lack in service is unprecedented in five star hotels. Honestly there is huge room for improvement. Management must be very tired after 9 months of inexistent tourism during the pandemic and this exhaustion is just shameful.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Grand Hotel Wien, Geschäftsführer at Grand Hotel Wien
Responded Dec 31, 2020
Dear fivestarexpert1, I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for choosing the Grand Hotel Wien for your recent stay with us. I sincerely do apologize for the inconveniences you had to experience during your stay with us. Please rest assured that I had a close look into all aspects of your feedback which you posted here on Tripadvisor. I am terribly sorry that one of the sun shades was not functioning and that one of the curtains was hanging loose. However with all the respect I can not recall a non funtional hairdryer nor did I realize a noisy air conditioning (not even with an open door to the rooms hallway). I regret to read about these circumstances in your room.But I am confident that we would have been able to solve these issues right on the spot if you would have told us about it during your stay which did not happen at all I am afraid. In terms of the particular reservation I would like to point out that you have been informed by my staff in advance that the Grand Hotel Wien does not offer any room service, any restaurant service and just limited housekeeping service (one service per day, no turndown service) during these times, due to the current lockdown in Austria and the actual Covid 19 rules and regulations by the Austrian government. You have been informed as well prior to your arrival that we do offer a complementary coffee station as well as croissants for our in house guests staying on business purposes only. Internal records do show that your room was serviced each day except for December 25th 2020, due to your do not disturbed sign.However I will certainly speak to our Executive Housekeeper in order to make sure that a proper service accompanying the current Covid 19 rules and regulations is being made. In regards to your food delivery during your stay I would like to mention that we are currently not allowed to unwrap deliveries from the outside again due to the current COVID 19 rules and regulations. We are allowed to send plates and cutlery to the guest rooms and we do so upon request. I certainly do apologize if we neglected to deliver these items to your room while receiving your outside food. I will follow up on the incident in the eve of December 24th as I do not understand why we have been unable to open the door for several minutes. But at no time it was the intention to make you not feel welcomed. I received feedback from the Front Desk staff that the staff indeed was asking for your comfort and if there was anything we could do for you. We received your feedback that everything was fine. In terms of the mentioned refund I would like to state that any changes to the last three nights would have led into another price category for these nights. And would have ended in a higher total sum as you made the arrangement with a booking channel on a special rate which was non- refundable.IPlease allow me to point out that you received a double upgrade for your stay as the reservation was original made for our standard category. Again I do apologize for the inconveniences that were caused and I ensure you that I will do my utmost to prevent situations like these in the future. In case I can be of any assistance do not hesitate to contact me at any time. I wish you and your family a happy new year and most of all, lots of health in these demanding times. With best regards, Horst Mayer General Manager
Read more
Christian G wrote a review Oct 2020
Copenhagen, Denmark214 contributions127 helpful votes
Get your lunch in the sun at Grand Hotel Wien! And your health in the amazing spa. Get super sleep in the beautiful beds. Service is top international. And you have the tram ring just outside to take you around Wien!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Lunch in the sun
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Grand Hotel Wien, General Manager at Grand Hotel Wien
Responded Nov 10, 2020
Dear Christian G, thank you very much for your great review regarding your recent stay with us at the "Grand Hotel Wien". I will share your rating with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of "The Leading Hotels of the World", the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we are really looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel if your travels should bring you back to Vienna again. Sincerely, Horst Mayer General Manager Grand Hotel Wien
Read more
sarah e wrote a review Oct 2020
Auckland, New Zealand180 contributions96 helpful votes
well, we ain't travellin', so we went in town! this hotel is truly classy, one of the many old historic hotels in the inner district. we found the front-of-house staff so friendly and helpful. loved our room. welcome drink, super situated, right next to the billa corso in the ringstraße galleria, for that in-bed picnic. really restorative.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: we upgraded to a luxury room and weren't disappopinted
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Grand Hotel Wien, Geschäftsführer at Grand Hotel Wien
Responded Nov 5, 2020
Dear "sarah e", thank you very much for your recent stay with us at our "Grand Hotel Wien". I am delighted to read that you found our hotel to be classy and that you liked your room so much. Your kind words about our staff are much appreciated and I will let them know about it. I am also happy to read that you could relish our central location in the heart of Vienna and next to most of the sightseeing spots. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we are really looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the nearest future. Sincerely, Horst Mayer General Manager Grand Hotel Wien
Read more
270herg wrote a review Sep 2020
Salzburg, Austria215 contributions109 helpful votes
We booked one night for a stop over in Vienna and we have been happy, because the hotel is situated in the center of the town. The breakfast was excellent and special the service perfect, friendly and absoluty top. the rooms are a bit too old, the carpet and the chairs and the pillows have a typical "smell2 of old things. Hopefully they will reniew the rooms in the next time
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Grand Hotel Wien, Geschäftsführer at Grand Hotel Wien
Responded Sep 15, 2020
Dear 270herg, Thank you for your review of our “Grand Hotel Wien”. I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay in general especially at our breakfast restaurant. I am sorry to read that you did feel comfortable in terms of the pillows and the interior inside your room during your stay. I ensure that we will address to these issues in order to avoid them in the future. I very much hope your concerns shall not dissuade you from staying on a future occasion, and encourage you to contact me directly should you wish to discuss a return visit. With best regards, Horst Mayer General Manager
Read more
WanderLust Mike wrote a review Aug 2020
Los Angeles, California595 contributions140 helpful votes
Reserved a room at a rate which I could later cancel at 394.00 EUR per night. They repeatedly told me I could not cancel the room when I told them we could not travel due to COVID-19 restrictions. All other hotels throughout our planned visit had no issues cancelling our rooms and refunding our money.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Grand Hotel Wien, General Manager at Grand Hotel Wien
Responded Nov 10, 2020
Dear WanderLust_Mike01, thank you very much for your feedback. I would kindly ask you to get in touch with me, to clarify the issue regarding your booking. My contact: sgritzner@jjwhotels.com Thank you very much in advance. Sincerely Sebastian Gritzner Front Office Manager Grand Hotel Wien
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$239 - $448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
grand hotel vienna
LOCATION
AustriaVienna RegionViennaInner City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
205
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Grand Hotel Wien
Which popular attractions are close to Grand Hotel Wien?
Nearby attractions include First Escape (0.3 miles), 3D PicArt Museum Vienna (0.1 miles), and Albertina (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Grand Hotel Wien?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Grand Hotel Wien?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Grand Hotel Wien?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Grand Hotel Wien?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Grand Hotel Wien?
Conveniently located restaurants include Paul, Apron, and Cafe Mendez.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Grand Hotel Wien?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center, a sauna, and locker rooms available in the fitness center during their stay.
Is Grand Hotel Wien located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Vienna.
Are any cleaning services offered at Grand Hotel Wien?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Grand Hotel Wien?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Grand Hotel Wien offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.