We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Praterstrasse 1, Vienna 1020 Austria
E-mail hotel
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Magnifique Suites
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
$292
View Deal
Free cancellation until 12/03/20
travelup.com
$292
$252
View Deal
SAVE $40
eDreams$290
Prestigia.com$290
Agoda.com$266
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (2034)
Room & Suite (437)
Videos (2)
Travel safe during COVID-19
A note from SO/ VIENNA
Updated 06/11/20

About

#74 of 377 hotels in Vienna
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
SO/ VIENNA is centrally located in downtown, which today has a thriving creative scene. The hotel boasts spectacular views of the inner city and the St. Stephens cathedral. In front of the hotel you have prime access to the Donaukanal, a popular stretch along the river that attracts sun-hungry locals in the summer. Take a walk along the water and discover an exciting mix of art, culture and eateries. Your stroll takes you past the sights in the Old Town and the docks of the Twin City Liner - a speed boat to Bratislava. All rooms feature breathtaking uninterrupted views over the city of Vienna, 40" HD TV, Sofitel MyBed, Hermès Bath Amenities, Rain Shower, Bathtub, Nespresso Coffee & Tea, complimentary Mini-bar, BOSE Sound System & Air Play, SO Yoga Kit. All rooms feature a monochromatic design in white, black or grey with a touch of Viennes art pieces.
Read more
Room & Suite (437)437
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot tub
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Wifi
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Rooftop bar
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Butler service
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Bathrobes
Dining area
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
River View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Bosnian and 11 more
Hotel links
Special Rate:Magnifique Suites
2,664Reviews32Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,795
  • 587
  • 183
  • 56
  • 43
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Lucas L wrote a review Sep 2020
Basel, Switzerland10 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Very designed and stylish hotel, big and well equipped room which provides amazing views over Vienna, excellent dinner/drinks and lovely staff at Das Loft!!! Area for improvement: the staff of front desk are really cold Disappointing: spa shutdown due to Covid-19, whereas other hotels kept theirs open at the same time
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Christian Klaus, Sonstige at SO/ VIENNA
Responded Sep 10, 2020
Dear 376lucasl, Thank you for your positive feedback! We are delighted that you fully enjoyed the room's facilities and our services, especially at our Das LOFT bar. Your nice words are very much appreciated and have been shared with the team. However, I regret the welcome you experienced at our reception. Our Just Say SO Manager has been informed and will review your comment with his team. Please accept our apologies. Indeed, we decided to keep our spa closed after the reopening in June due to a low demand in summer. (Massages and treatments were available with a reservation until 24h in advance.) We will now reopen our wellness area this Saturday September 12th. Our spa team is looking forward to prepare our guests a relaxing moment again. We hope to welcome you back soon at SO/ Vienna. Kind regards, Christian Klaus General Manager SO/ Vienna
Read more
SteveMc121960 wrote a review Mar 2020
Braintree, United Kingdom22 contributions20 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favorite
Arrived on 5th March. We had booked a white suite. Room was on 14th floor woth great views over the north of the city overlooking the fairground. The concierge got us 2 amazing tickets for Turandot at the Stadsoper despite them being sold out online for the one show on the evening of our arrival. Wasn’t cheap, but worth it. The Das Loft is amazing for breakfast and the house music on Friday night was good. The staff were all lovely and our room spotless. (It was white and any marks will show) Bed very comfortable. Vienna is a beautiful city. This hotel is well worth staying at. We wanted to eat out. The staff told us to try Figl Muller. Great advice. Would absolutely go back. I have posted views from room and Das Loft.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from SOGeneralManager, Geschäftsführer at SO/ VIENNA
Responded Mar 9, 2020
Dear SteveMc121960, Thank you for sharing your excellent feedback! We are very glad to read that you spent a wonderful time at SO/ Vienna enjoying the modern room design and the spectacular view of the city. Your nice words are very much appreciated and I have shared them with the team, of course. Our City Guru team is always at your disposal for organizing your guest's stay and offer them various possibilities to discover Vienna We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon with us. Kind regards, Peter Katusak-Huzsvar General Manager SO/ Vienna
Read more
Ben wrote a review Aug 2020
58 contributions49 helpful votes
I stayed here for two nights last week and the hotel accommodation is clear, spacious and really much nicer than the photos portray. It was a nice stay... However, as with any brand, loyalty is significant. The refusal to reward points when booked through their direct sales channel cannot be accepted - there were issues with the membership setup, but that is not my problem. I regularly book through IHG, Marriott and Hilton and this kind of thing does not happen. I will close my account and stick to these better known brands. This forms part of the service and therefore rather disappointingly affects my score above. *Be warned also that the credit card is still showing a $500 payment (assumed to be a 'hold') many days after check out. If this doesn't disappear soon then I'll invoke a charge back AND query what this payment is actually for. Overall, the hotel was a delight, but this management side is not good enough. Their statements about service on their site are obviously dubious given this experience. Very unfortunate experience for a seasoned traveller.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from SO Vienna Management, Sonstige at SO/ VIENNA
Responded Sep 2, 2020
Dear BenS6169, Thank you for sharing your feedback after your stay at SO/ Vienna! We are glad that you enjoyed the modern room design and the room's facilities. However, it is regrettable that you had the impression that we didn't reward the points according to your stay. Our Just Say SO Manager checked your account and the points already had been credited automatically. It can take up to 3/4 days until you see the rewarded points on your account. Please accept our apologies if the team didn't inform you correctly about the procedure. We will review the relevant standards with the team for providing a better service to our guests. Our Just Say SO Manager also look into the deposit issue. The deposit has been released after check-out. Depending on your bank’s policy, the release can take several days. Unfortunately, we have no influence on this period of time. We kindly apologize for the inconveniences and we hope to welcome you back soon with us in order to convince you of our high service level. Kind regards, SO/ Vienna Management
Read more
Celia B wrote a review Aug 2020
19 contributions2 helpful votes
Fabulous hotel with possibly the best views of Vienna. The breakfast was fantastic, offering both “à la carte” and buffet. The bar is also very cool at night. Rooms are of a high standard, very clean and design. The bed was incredibly comfortable. However, the lobby is not as clean and comfortable as you might expect it to be in a 5-star hotel. This is of course an amazing place to stay and I would indeed recommend it, but I have seen better 5-star hotels for the same price.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from SO Vienna Management, Sonstige at SO/ VIENNA
Responded Aug 5, 2020
Dear celiabL9362CS, Thank you for your positive review! We are glad that you had a pleasant stay at SO/ Vienna enyjoing our breakfast and the room facilities. Besides, we appreciate your recommendation. However we regret your feedback about our lobby. Our SO Neat & Tidy team will look into this matter and intensify the cleaning procedures in order to keep this area inviting. Nevertheless, we hope to welcome you back soon with us. Kind regards, SO/ Vienna Management
Read more
Sydneysider1112 wrote a review Jun 2020
Kent, United Kingdom86 contributions15 helpful votes
From start to finish our stay at So Vienna was exceptional. Staff were welcoming and friendly, our room was large and comfortable with an amazing view of Vienna. Breakfast in Das Loft was superb. The hotel is centrally located accessible to public transport or to explore Vienna on foot. Taxi from the airport was €50 each way. We had a wonderful stay at this hotel and enjoyed visiting the beautiful city of Vienna. We will definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from SOGeneralManager, Geschäftsführer at SO/ VIENNA
Responded Jun 9, 2020
Dear Sydneysider1112, Thank you for your positive feedback! It is a real pleasure to read that you fully enjoyed the services and facilities at SO/ Vienna. We gladly appreciate your nice words and we hope to welcome you back soon with us. Looking forward to your next stay! Kind regards, Peter Katusak-Huzsvar General Manager SO/ Vienna
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$230 - $434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sofitel vienna stephansdom hotel vienna
LOCATION
AustriaVienna RegionViennaLeopoldstadt
NUMBER OF ROOMS
182
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about SO/ VIENNA
Which popular attractions are close to SO/ VIENNA?
Nearby attractions include Church of the Jesuits (0.3 miles), Dominican Church (0.3 miles), and Vienna Nights Pub Crawl (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at SO/ VIENNA?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at SO/ VIENNA?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at SO/ VIENNA?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at SO/ VIENNA?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to SO/ VIENNA?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fenster Cafe, ef16 Restaurant, and Vinothek W-Einkehr.
Are there opportunities to exercise at SO/ VIENNA?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center and a sauna during their stay.
Does SO/ VIENNA have an airport shuttle?
Yes, SO/ VIENNA offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is SO/ VIENNA located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Vienna.
Are any cleaning services offered at SO/ VIENNA?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at SO/ VIENNA?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.