We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Herrengasse 10, Vienna 1010 Austria
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$246
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/07/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$211
View deal
Vio.com
$162
View deal
Hotels.com$211
Travelocity$211
Lol.travel$285
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (695)
Room & Suite (224)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#51 of 395 hotels in Vienna
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.5
Value
4.3
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Gold level
Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof is situated in the heart of Vienna's old city, just 250 m away from the Hofburg. The Goldenes Quartier, Vienna's luxury shopping district is reachable in ca. 4 minutes by foot. It takes about 11 minutes to reach the State Opera. 196 hotel rooms and suites with first-class interior design, along with the perfect mix of tradition and modernity, will guarantee a truly special stay. For your comfort, the rooms include a flatscreen TV, air conditioning, minibar, coffee- and tea-making facilities and a safe.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Wifi
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Babysitting
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Paid private parking on-site
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Wine / champagne
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Shops
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Soundproof rooms
Bathrobes
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Business
Languages Spoken
English, German, Italian

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
234Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
189Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
4308Reviews44Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,828
  • 1,108
  • 254
  • 73
  • 46
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
שי י wrote a review Today
2 contributions
+1
Five stars hotel at the heart of the city. Lovely staff. Luxury at every aspect: the design , the rooms, the view from the terrace, the breakfast, the spa, the bar in the evening. We had great surprise waiting for us in the room for our anniversary. Sure we will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Caralstu wrote a review Sep 2022
United Kingdom26 contributions33 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
Beautiful hotel, very central close to the Hofburg. We had two deluxe rooms and they were huge and once you closed the room door you didn't hear any noise. Free minibar refilled daily, no snacks or wine, beer, water and soft drinks. There was also a coffee machine in the room. Lovely big bathroom, shower was just OK, not a rain shower. Lovely soft towels and bedding was good quality although I found the bed on the hard side but that's individual taste. Supplied with soap, shampoo, body lotion, shower gel, shampoo and conditioner, comb, shower cap, sewing kit, cotton buds etc. We didn't eat in the hotel as there are so many restaurants to choose from. We did have a nightcap in the bar a couple of nights, obviously pricier than outside the hotel but very nice with excellent staff. I would definitely recommend to anyone to stay here and if we return I would choose same hotel again
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elisabeth Perwanger, Geschäftsführer at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof
Responded Oct 3, 2022
Dear Caroline, many thanks for reviewing your stay with us in detail. We are so glad that we were able to create memorable days for your recent stay at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof. Alle the best, your Steigenberger Herrenhof Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
FBruen wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
We treated ourselfs a nice hotel night in our home city to enjoy the city center for a weekend. Right in the vivid vincinity of the Stephansplatz. Enjoyed cozy quiet room and very nice restaurant with good service.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Book a deluxe room and get the mini bar for free!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jemimagold wrote a review Nov 2022
Houston, Texas2630 contributions2257 helpful votes
+1
My husband and a recently stayed here for 3 nights. I had high hopes but it turned out to be very disappointing. Here's why: 1. NOISE: Our room (#425) faced the "Vapiano"budget Italian restaurant's trash area which was super noisy. In the morning, at 7:30 am sharp, we could hear the crash of thousands of glass bottles being poured over and over again into a trash truck which continously beeped as it positioned itself. 2. MORE NOISE: Our room also overlooked the entrance to the Herrengasse "U-bahn" subway stop where a street performer set up his performance area just below our window at night and loudly sang, and sang, and sang. The Front Desk advised us that he was permitted to do this until midnight. 3. Uncomfotable pillows: We asked for a firmer pillow than the super soft pillows on our bed. We were given a hard pillow "mat"which was approx. 2 inches thick. Not joking! Please see the photo. 4. Inability to change the temp in our room: It was extremely stuffy and warm in our room and despite turning the room's climate control switch all the way to cold, it made no difference at all. I guess this was a dummy switch. As a result we had to open our window to get cooler air and, you guessed it, endure the street noise! 5. Malfunctioning Coffee Maker/Rude Front Desk Man- The coffee machine which uses a "single serving pod" didn't work and only produced a very faint tannish liquid. When we went to ask about this af the Front Desk, the officious Front Desk Guy (appeared to be Italian) rudely told us that it would cost us 1.50 euros to get another coffee pod and try again. 6. Lack of Housekeeping: The maids only made the bed. They left the dirty coffee and tea cups behind in our room. We did not receive fresh towels or any more bottled water despite the Hotel's room service attendant that we encountered in our room on day one who said that we would be given 2 bottled waters daily.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Avoid a room facing Vapiano's and the U-Bahn stop
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elisabeth Perwanger, Geschäftsführer at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. When staying in the city center asking for a room with a view, some street noise is unavoidable. The glass litter is being collected once a week for 15 minutes, this is unfortunately beyond our control. For future stays, please ask for a room facing the inner court. Here you will enjoy an absolutely quiet stay. We hope that you were able to speak with our Front Desk about the coffee machine and that we were able to rectify the situation for you. As for housekeeping, we apologize if there was a lack of service during your stay. Complimentary supply of minibar/water depends on the room category booked. Of course you can always order additional beverages through rooms service at charge. We hope that you will give us another chance in the future. Kind Regards, your Steigenberger Herrenhof Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
siobhan wrote a review Nov 2022
Dublin, Ireland1 contribution1 helpful vote
Location of this hotel is superb and the reason we chose it . However we were disappointed with the room . It was very average although we had paid for an upgrade to luxury…for example the shower was in the bath ..we would expect a stand alone shower unit in a modern deluxe bathroom. But the biggest problem was the room temperature. The air conditioning was totally ineffective and the room was too warm to sleep in comfortably The breakfast was nice but you are paying full price for it so it is of a standard you would expect. So in conclusion we would not stay here again despite the great location
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Elisabeth Perwanger, Geschäftsführer at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your room and that the air conditioning was ineffective. Our breakfast is of a high standard and we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy it. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future. Kind Regards, your Steigenberger Herrenhof Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tim J wrote a review Oct 2022
Banbury, United Kingdom280 contributions193 helpful votes
The Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof is in an incredibly central location, with an underground station located just next door. We had concerns about noise levels from the street, but these were unfounded as we didn't have an issue with this despite staying on the third floor. The staff were all friendly and helpful, we never felt out of place or that anything was too much bother. We were particularly impressed by the breakfast offering, which despite being a hotel price, offered almost everything we could imagine - a far better offering than many establishments we've visited before.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elisabeth Perwanger, Geschäftsführer at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, we would like to thank you very much for your wonderful review of your stay! It's great that we were able to inspire you in so many ways. We look forward to seeing you again, Your Steigenberger Herrenhof Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anna Maria P wrote a review Oct 2022
Bari, Italy8 contributions
+1
This hotel is simply amazing. Everything was perfect in our stay . First of all the hotel is located in a perfect position to visit the centre of Wien, near to the Hofburg, the main shopping Street , the Graben and Stephenplatz. The Breakfast was fantastic, abundant and vert full of excellent things to eat and drink. Kindness and hospitality of the staff was everywhere, starting to the recepiton staff until the bar and the breakfast staff . Rooms was very beautiful, clean and wide, with large windows and bathrooms. Everything in our stay was perfect and we’ll always remember this journey in Wien like a dream. Thank you very much to all the Steigenberger’s staff and we advise and suggest to continue on this way. We hope to come back again in Wien as soon as possible and we’ll certainly choose again this wonderful hotel .
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elisabeth Perwanger, Geschäftsführer at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Mrs. Anna Maria, your review gives us great pleasure, thank you very much! It's great that you have positive memories about the location of the Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof as well as our staff and the breakfast buffet! It is our greatest ambition to offer every guest a wonderful stay. Thank you for visiting us again, we are looking forward to it! All the best, your Steigenberger Herrenhof team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John G wrote a review Oct 2022
Lititz, Pennsylvania1 contribution
My wife needed immediate medical attention; the staff went out of their way to connect her with local doctors. Everyone was very friendly and helpful! Hotel was very clean and perfect location. Highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elisabeth Perwanger, Geschäftsführer at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof
Responded Oct 25, 2022
Dear guest, we are very pleased that your wife could be helped quickly by our team on site and that you felt in good hands with us! All the best, your Steigenberger Herrenhof team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
michelle l wrote a review Oct 2022
Los Angeles, California4 contributions1 helpful vote
Great Location. Beautiful Aesthetically. But it was warm in Vienna, but the hotel had "changed over from air conditioning to heat," so the air conditioning could NOT be accessed in any way. It was so hot in our rooms, we could not sleep. We spoke to the staff and learned that many other guests were also complaining, but we were met with rudeness, indifference and zero solutions. "It's impossible to help you." First of all, why are they making the room temperature their sole decision. For $300 a night, leave it up to me. Second of all, if it was easy enough to switch off the air for good, switch it back on if so many people are complaining. This is a small hotel with 5 floors. I don't think it would have taken much to reverse that action. It made an otherwise lovely hotel absolutely unenjoyable and "unstayable." We were so wrecked from lack of sleep, we could barely enjoy our last couple days in Vienna. All made worse by the staff's attitude. Many people sleep with air on, so I'd say that should be a disclaimer before booking.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Call and ask in advance if the air is working
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elisabeth Perwanger, Geschäftsführer at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof
Responded Oct 25, 2022
Dear Michell, thank you for your reivew. Like we tried to inform you at the hotel and we explained in some other reviews pls let me clarify the situation. During you stay in October we had 13 degrees Celsius at night and 20-22 degrees during daytime. Our system can either cool or heat and it is sometimes challenging to meet every guests expectation for temperatures in this shoulder period. on the same day we have guests commenting on too hot and too cold. However all our windows can be opened and we do import the cool outside air to keep rooms at 20/21 degrees also without AC. We have a social responsibility to support the Austrian government in the energy-saving measures it has instituted and thus also to make our contribution to securing and safeguarding the energy supply duingt these challenging times. Thank you for your understanding. Elisabeth Perwanger General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
287Lou wrote a review Oct 2022
Oxford, United Kingdom57 contributions66 helpful votes
Recently visited this hotel and it was very centrally located however a couple of things let it down. Weather in Bienna was 22/23 degrees so we asked gor aircon in the room and was told it was winter and so no aircon and to open a winow which I found a surprising response. Had water in the room first no night but no milk for tea or coffee asked for more water and was told thos was not supplied after night one again surprising for 5 star accommodation. Breakfast however was delicious
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elisabeth Perwanger, Geschäftsführer at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof
Responded Oct 14, 2022
Dear Guest, thank you for your review about your stay at the Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof. During your stay we had very much changing outside temperatures between day and nighttime. For environmental reasons our cooling system starts working when outside temperatures are above 20 degrees. There might be a short delay in providing cool air, when eventually the temperature switches in that benchmark. Thank you for your understanding. Elisabeth Perwanger, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$192 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
steigenberger hotel vienna
LOCATION
AustriaVienna RegionViennaInner City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
196
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

STEIGENBERGER HOTEL HERRENHOF $189 ($̶3̶2̶8̶) - Updated 2022 Prices & Reviews - Vienna, Austria

Frequently Asked Questions about Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof
Which popular attractions are close to Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof?
Nearby attractions include Historic Center of Vienna (0.2 miles), The Hofburg (0.1 miles), and Classic Ensemble Vienna (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a fitness center.
What food & drink options are available at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof?
Conveniently located restaurants include Vanillas, Leto, and Restaurant Lebenbauer.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center, a sauna, and locker rooms available in the fitness center during their stay.
Does Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof have airport transportation?
Yes, Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Vienna.
Are any cleaning services offered at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.