We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Goldenes Theater Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Goldenes Theater Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

627 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 354: English reviews
Paris
Level Contributor
161 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is very well located, not far rom the old part of the town, but we were surprised by the lack of toiletries in the bathroom for what is supposed to be a 4 star hotel. Just one soap dispenser in the shower which we were told served as shampoo, washing liquid etc, and nothing else. The bathroom was... More 

Helpful?
Thank IsobellaParis
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
140 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

10 minutes walk from the city center. There's a parking and asking to the desk you may have a special rate. The breakfast is quite rich, the room is not that big but the beds are comfortable. The bathroom is a little bit too small and basically there's a problem with the shower which is very fashionable but totally difficult... More 

Helpful?
Thank ReCensore1980
Level Contributor
6 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Terrible reception, aircon did not work, room was as tiny as to sleep standing, and receptionist mood was the worst I have ever suffered in a hotel. Don't book there, not recommendable at all. When we obviously complained they could not even consider about offering a different room. Bad experience

Helpful?
Thank JAVIER M
gthotel, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Goldenes Theater Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments, the room (rate) you booked was for the room you were assigned. Did not include AC. Your can always upgrade during your stay as you were also offered but you were not ready to accept the suppplement requested. In conclusion AC was working and the room was the size you paid for, thanks also for informing... More 

Travelers are raving about these Salzburg hotels

Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a good hotel, that is not bad. To start with the rooms, they are not bad a bit modest but could be more renovated. The breakfast is average but it is overrated, so i expected a lot more from the breakfast. Finally, the location is very good, so to sum up this is an average hotel that i... More 

Helpful?
Thank Saadallah I
Malmö, Skåne Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited for one night. Hotel is in the middle of the centre, so you step right in to everything you need to see. Good sized room, clean and fresh. Only minus is that it's not very isolated so you hear noises from the street at night. Had a good night sleep anyway, good beds as well. Breakfast was also good... More 

Helpful?
Thank Viola T
Lebanon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I've spent 3 days in this hotel.The location is very good however the breakfast wasn't that good and it's overrated.The rooms are clean and comfy .Air condition was broken in the room but they got us a fan instead.I expected it to be better to be honest.

Helpful?
Thank reemitani123
gthotel, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Goldenes Theater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, you can book rooms with or without air conditioning. The rate booked was for a room without air conditioning. You can always upgrade during your stay. Best Regards Team GTHotel More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Nice hotel, happy that my room was upgraded (thank you) nice and clean rooms. Very good location, five ( 5 ) Min walking from the old city. Nice breakfast. Parking was full, had to park on the street near by, 1 Euro per hour until 18;00 and from 09:00...

Helpful?
Thank Avi R
Dubai
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hospitality industry means people are supposed to be hospitable since its a service industry. Honestly I didn't find the staff very welcoming and probably its got something to do with the European attitude of service. The rooms were clean and decent and the location just perfect for me. A 3-5 minute walk and you are just about in the centre... More 

Helpful?
Thank IndianajonesDubai
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2016 via mobile

The rooms are clean, however Air-conditioning is $15 extra a day that is marginal at best. Make sure you bring your own shampoo conditioner etc... as they don't supply any. It is a good location and the prices are reasonable.

Helpful?
Thank psd0919
gthotel, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Goldenes Theater Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments, AC upgrade is 10 Euro supplement only if the room rate booked does not include this service, soap and shampoo is provided, you can get anything else you need free at the reception, conditioner, skin cream, different soaps etc etc. Regards GTHotel More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2016 via mobile

We were looking for a decent affordable stay! This hotel exceeded our expectations! Great location--about a 10 minute walk to the old city. Amazing hot breakfast with a wide variety of options that was included. The room was clean and comfortable.

Helpful?
1 Thank Cassie B
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

247 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (178)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (69)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg
Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg
#29 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 648 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#25 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 1,232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Imlauer & Brau
Hotel Imlauer & Brau
#37 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vier Jahreszeiten Hotel
Vier Jahreszeiten Hotel
#56 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 188 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
#36 of 138 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 stars 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Comfortable privately owned hotel in the centre of Salzburg. Enjoys a quiet position although in the centre of the town. Within easy reach on foot to all of the historic and interesting points of the city: e.g. Mirabell Castle and gardens, theaters, churches and museums, congress house, central train station and of course not to be missed the famous old Town Centre with its historic buildings and monuments. Parking available on the street free of charge weekdays from 7pm to 9am, all day Saturday, Sunday and Bank Holidays, or in garage opposite to us 14 Euro per 24 Hours. Cancellations/Amendments/No Show with no charge will be accepted only up to 48 hours prior to date of arrival (02Pm local), after this time limit 100% of reservation value will be charged. Until 10.30 buffet Breakfast is served. Rates include all taxes and Services. Children up to 10 years stay free when sharing existing beds in room with parent's (max 1 allowed in double/twin room only). Free wireless internet in all rooms and in the lobby free use of hotel computers too. Air-conditioning if not booked extra charge 10 Euro per day, not available in all rooms. We book your tours and provide free hotel pick-up. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Goldenes Theater Hotel

Address: Schallmooser Hauptstrasse 13, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Price Range: $95 - $544 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Goldenes Theater Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Goldenes Theater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordial Theaterhotel Hotel Salzburg
Salzburg Cordial Theaterhotel Hotel
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay