We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

616 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 359: English reviews
Liege, Belgium
Reviewed June 16, 2014

A nice and modern hotel with a convenient and large parking. Just 20 minutes walk from the city center, but also close to public transport. A nice place to stay for a 1 or 2-day stop in the amazing city of Salzburg. But a breakfast room quite crowded in the morning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RedDevil-Lg
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, responded to this review

Hey there! Thank you very much for your feedback! We are glad to hear that you had a nice time staying with us, despite the crowded breakfast room. We hope to see you in one of our houses again soon! Best wishes Your MEININGER Salzburg Team

Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed June 8, 2014

My friend and I were visiting my grandparents in Germany. We decided to hop on the DB website and check out the last minute weekend vacations that include roundtrip train fare and hotel. It was a really nice stay. We printed out a self guided walking tour and we were able to walk from our hotel all over Salzburg to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsSailorMouth
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, responded to this review

Hey there! Thank you very much for your kind words! It´s great to hear that you had such a great spontanious stay with us! We hope to see you in one of our hotels again in the future! Best wishes Your MEININGER Salzburg Team

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed June 7, 2014

its a great place to stay, we had a very warm welcome by their front office. The lady was smiling and, willing to help and we had the same experience with all the people that attended to us that day. the budget hotel room was clean and had enough room for us and the kids, basic but good. Loads of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Deepssv
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, responded to this review

Hey there! Thank you very much for this great review! We are really happy to hear that you had such a nice time with us and all our staff was friendly to you. Thank you also for the hint on the breakfast, we are already trying to improve the quality - maybe you can check our progress the next time...

Powell River, Canada
Reviewed June 4, 2014

My friend and I stayed at Meininger hotel for 3 nights. We liked this hotel! Clean, tidy, decently comfy beds. The view was great! The receptionists were very welcoming aswell. We were backpacking, so we were very pleased when we saw a cooler with bottled water and vending machines around! Plus they have muffins you can have at anytime! Very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Madison D
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, responded to this review

Hey there! Thank you very much for the review! We are really happy to hear that you had such a nice time with us in Salzburg! We are sorry about the service at Akropolis, but unfortunately we do not have much influence on this. We would be happy to see you in one of our hotels in the future again!...

Coimbatore, India
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Visited with a bunch of friends. Perfect place to stay if you're on a budget and as a group. Clean rooms. The guys at the reception were very helpful. The bus stop is a few minutes away by walk. The breakfast is great for 5 euros. Parking is a big positive.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Yunusav
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, responded to this review

Hey there! Thank you very much for your comment! We are happy to hear that you had such a nice time here in Salzburg° It would be great to welcome you in a MEININGER again! Best wishes Your MEININGER Salzburg Team

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We liked this hotel . It is well connected by bus to all the places . The bus stop is couple of mins from the hotel . We were satisfied with the house keeping . Staff at the reception too were good. Hypermarket Mercure chain is in the same complex of the hotel. We loved the view from the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anvi30
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you very much for your comment! It is really good to hear that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel in Salzburg! We hope to see you in a MEININGER again in the future - maybe in Vienna or Munich? Best wishes Your MEININGER Salzburg Team

Pensacola, Florida
Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

NEGATIVE: Too far from city center but if the weather is fair it's a fine walk, or a nice bicycle ride. Common place for school groups to stay so noisy groups of kids in hallway was a bit annoying but my room was near the end of the hall so we didnt really hear much noise from the kids running...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nom63plume
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, responded to this review

Hey there! Thank you very much for your feedback, we really appreciate it. We are glad that all in all you enjoyed your stay with us, even though some of our guests were not very respectful. We will try to keep a better eye on school children in the future, so nobody has to feel disturbed and we are sure...

Berlin, Germany
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yunyi Z
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, responded to this review

Toronto
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Stayed with a friend in a triple room over the last week of April. The rooms were tidy and clean, with modern furnishing. The hallway was slightly disconcerting with its bright red walls and carpet. We had a fantastic view of the mountains surrounding Sazburg, which was nice to wake up to. The hotel itself is a little out of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank j_myworldtravels
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you very much for your comment! It is great to hear that you spent a nice time here in Salzburg even though it takes a couple of minutes to get to the heart of the old town. It would be great to welcome you in a MEININGER again in the future! Best wishes Your MEININGER Salzburg Team

Winnipeg, Manitoba
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel over the Easter weekend and it was great! Our family of 5 fit well into the room, but my only complaint about the room itself was that they did not restock the bathroom. They did not put in anymore tissue (the box was clearly empty), nor did they stock the toilet paper or the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jelly_Bean91
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, responded to this review

Hey there! Thank you very much for your feedback! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your Easter staying with us! We apologize for not restocking your bathroom, it was definitely not on purpose and it will not happen again, once you decide to visit us in the future - we would be happy to see you again! Maybe...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

254 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (233)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (53)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (105)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
#42 of 131 in Salzburg
592 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Salzburg City
Mercure Salzburg City
#24 of 131 in Salzburg
965 reviews
1.5 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#26 of 131 in Salzburg
1,430 reviews
1.1 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#20 of 131 in Salzburg
806 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center is located in the ZIB shopping centre in the historic centre of this small town with international flair by Kapuziner mountain: central, low-cost and lots of fun! Our international guests can benefit from low-cost accommodation in modern rooms, enjoy the views from the roof terrace or use the small theatre stage. ... more   less 

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center

Address: Furbergstrasse 18 - 20, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Price Range: $49 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Salzburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center staff and other travelers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“My room had a view of the big mountain where the castle is.. Gorgeous!”
  • This was our view from our balcony!
 of 5 bubbles alberto927, Jan 14, 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you are allocated a room with plenty of storage space. I could not unpack because there was only one small cupboard in the room.”
 of 5 bubbles evaf19, Aug 29, 2016 | Read review
“Room 411 overlooks the street”
 of 5 bubbles Nguyen_KL, Aug 15, 2016 | Read review
“The back is a lot quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles julibeth, Jun 8, 2016 | Read review
“In this hotel they have not good room.”
 of 5 bubbles rijana, May 12, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question