We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

548 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 318: English reviews
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This probably would have received a very good rating if not for one occurrence. I lost my wallet/my wallet was stolen in Salzburg. Fortunately, there was nothing in the wallet that couldn't be canceled or replaced, and my travel partner had credit/bank cards to get us through. However, when we checked out of the hotel, they charged us 5 euros... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nathan G
Toni_Meyer, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, responded to this review

Dear Nathan, Thank you for your report, it is very important for us to have your opinion to raise the service for our costumers. We regret the circumstances that happened to you and we do agree that EUR 5,-- is a very high price for a piece of plastic. But please mind that we do not make any profit with... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

There were some changes to my travel plan and I booked this hotel online literally minutes before I board the train. It turned out to be a pleasant surprise that I decided to stay put for my next 2 days in Salzburg. Location: It's a 10 min tram/bus ride to Zentrum (where the activities are) but I didn't find it... More 

Helpful?
Thank ivysg
Toni_Meyer, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, responded to this review

Hi! Thank you for your comment! We glad to hear (read) that you liked our ho(s)tel so much. We are a mix between a hotel and a hostel, which means that we try to offer hotel quality at hostel prices - that is why you felt like in a hotel. Maybe you could also try the other MEININGER hotels in... More 

San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My fiance and I reserved a private room w/ensuite bath w/another couple. We all found the value to be GREAT for the amenities we had. Although the location is not very close to the historic city center, it is easy to access historic Old Town w/a 10-minute walk. The staff are very helpful and available 24/7. It is very convenient... More 

Helpful?
Thank Melissa W
Toni_Meyer, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, responded to this review

Hi there! Thank you for your feedback! We like to hear that you had such a good stay with us and already plan to come back. We are looking forward to seeing you again! Best wishes Your MEININGER Salzburg Team More 

Pune, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We booked this hotel well in advance at a very affordable price. The hotel is 10 min by taxi from the train station. It is away from city centre in a quite locality . It is on the bus route from station to Mirabel gardens . The hotel offers free wi-fi and kichen facility for cooking your own food. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank sandeepkarya
Toni_Meyer, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, responded to this review

Hi there! Thanks for the feedback! It seems like you had a good time here in Salzburg, thats always good to hear. We would be pleased to welcome you here again! Best wishes Your MEININGER Salzburg Team More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
112 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We booked at the last minute and wanted to make sure hotel was air conditioned. With that. there were only a few options. While clean, this hotel was inconvenient in every way 1. far from the center--not sure why they'd call it "city Center hotel", nor how one of the previous reviewers walked--it was a 15 minutes drive for us.... More 

Helpful?
Thank medmom2002
Rapallo, Italy
Level Contributor
58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We spent a couple of nights here and the hotel exceeded our expectations. The room featured some very tiny furniture and was somehow not very practical. Nevertheless the beds were comfortable, the receptionist was helpful and there was a nice hostel-like atmosphere in the lobby. Hotel is not close to the city center... and yet, it is appealing as it's... More 

Helpful?
Thank andvid
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed in this place as we booked at the last minute and there was not much else free. It was not good value for money compared to the other cities and hotels we had stayed on the same trip. It was on a nondescript ring-road and took 10 minutes by tram to get in (not too bad if you... More 

Helpful?
Thank landcruiser_999
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Travelling with girlfriend (24-25ish ages) for two nights in Salzburg. Meininger was in a walking distance from the city centre and was equipped with garage (11€/day). Room was clean and there was superb view from the balcony, our room was located in 5th floor (top floor). No complaints about the room at all, beds were comfortable and bathroom/wc was clean... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mikko V
Delhi
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Our group of 15 (3 families and a group of girls) were booked by our tour manager to this hotel. We didn't quite like anything about the hotel. It appeared to be more popular for backpackers and we got a taste of this at the check-in process itself. The guy at the reception first told us he would prefer to... More 

Helpful?
Thank wayfarer-dc
Toni_Meyer, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, responded to this review

Dear Deli, Thank you for your feedback. We do regret that your stay was not to your fullest satisfaction. To every single point you have mention we had a closer look and discussed these with our staff members and our management board. We do understand that after a long journey the check in procedure was not convenient at all. But... More 

Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Totally overpriced. Rooms and corridors not cleaned fully if at all. If you have bunks for kids then you have to make up your own top bunks as staff don't have assurance to work at heights! You help yourself at breakfast and clean your own plates away. Almost like a youth hostel, but not youth hostel prices. The staff try... More 

Helpful?
Thank LostInLochnagar
Toni_Meyer, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, responded to this review

Dear “LostInLochnagar”, thank you for your review. You are absolutely right, high season is no excuse for any kind of bad service or any lack of cleanliness. Especially when due the height season prices are raising. We already discussed the mentioned matters with our board and our housekeeping department as well and let me assure you; last but not least... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

220 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (199)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (53)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (77)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Mercure Salzburg City
Mercure Salzburg City
#23 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 840 reviews
1.1 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#21 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 739 reviews
1.5 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ibis Salzburg Nord
Ibis Salzburg Nord
#46 of 138 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 stars 689 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
3.9 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center is located in the ZIB shopping centre in the historic centre of this small town with international flair by Kapuziner mountain: central, low-cost and lots of fun! Our international guests can benefit from low-cost accommodation in modern rooms, enjoy the views from the roof terrace or use the small theatre stage. ... more   less 

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center

Address: Furbergstrasse 18 - 20, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Price Range: $57 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Salzburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay