We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveler (392)
Room & Suite (111)
Dining (29)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Villa Trapp was the residence of the world-famous Von Trapp family, whose life in Salzburg entered history as "The Sound of Music", the most popular musical of all times. The villa is maintained in the style of this period, including 2 luxurious, 60 m² suites. They are exclusively furnished. In the past the Villa Trapp was not accessible to the public. Now you can sleep in the family's rooms and walk on their paths through the villa and the park. This stately building enjoys a quiet location close to the centre of Salzburg, surrounded by the city's largest private park.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighborhood
Historic Hotel
HOTEL CLASS
392Reviews
419Photos
14Q+A
58Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 168
  • 105
  • 51
  • 19
  • 49
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I made a reservation via booking.com for June 2019. The hotel, erroneously, took the full payment but I had the right to cancel free. I had to cancel and was assured I would receive the refund "shortly". 14 days on I have still not received my refund. Villa Trapp has failed to
Read more
Response from Extraordinary772335, Inhaber at Villa Trapp
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Alan, Thanks for your review. Refund is a recurring theme and I am thankful that I can explain the circumstances again. First, we do not book money “erroneously”. By clicking on the booking conditions, you expressly agree that we will withdraw the money directly from your credit card. If you cancel the booking immediately afterwards, we cannot refund any amount, because we do not have the money yet. We have to wait until we get it from the credit card company. Only then can we transfer the booking amount back. This can take up to 4 weeks. Unfortunately, we have been forced to this policy, as there has been repeated credit card fraud on the part of some guests. We greatly regret that we strain your patience with these security measures. Sincerely Christopher
Read more
This is lovely, grand old house but definitely not a hotel. We paid quite a lot of money for a mini suite that did not match the room description or picture. Eg no desk or chair in the room. There is no coffee shop as such. You can ask the staff to make you a cup. Our initial 8
Read more
This hotel is gorgeous. Unfortunately it is also grossly mismanaged by Christopher Unterkofler, who is not even familiar with Austrian law as it relates to hotel bookings. My father and I had a reservation to stay there over this past Christmas, which we had to cancel last
Read more
Response from Extraordinary772335, Inhaber at Villa Trapp
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Emily Pryor We appreciate every constructive review. A rating always reflects the personal opinion. Nobody checks the text for the truth. A hotel must endure these often untrue texts and can only write a reply. Sometimes you do not want to defend against it, because the facts are so twisted that there is no need for further discussion. It's always easy to hide behind an anonymous account to pillory others. We are happy about the many happy guests in the Villa Trapp. Sincerely Christopher
Read more
Staying at Villa Trapp is about engaging with a piece of history - the Trapp family lived here, including their 10 children. Each room on the second floor had a brief description of the family member whose bedroom it was. We booked this accommodation via a leading hotel booking
Read more
An amazing experience for my fiancé’s birthday. Massive sound of music fan who enjoyed the traditional Austrian buildings and heritage of the Von Trapp house. Alex the manager is a delight. Such a friendly guy who helped make sure we were well looked after on our travels around
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuiteDining Business Center & Event RoomsFamily and Play Areas
Photo provided by managementVilla Trapp
Villa Trapp recently
Photo provided by managementVilla Trapp
Trapp Family Suite
The Maria Suite bathroom.
The back of Villa Trapp
Bedroom in the Maria Suite.
PreviousNext
12345623
sorry, don't remember
0 votes
Show all answers
Yes, there is free onsite parking, and easy access to Salzburg. Enjoy!
0 votes
Show all answers
No. It’s an added charge
0 votes
Hi there, as I recall pets are not allowed here 😉
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
123
"Be very careful if paying upfront and you need to cancel - you will find it very difficult to get your money back."
"Check your room isn't a 'basic' one - Rupert's room is small & basic."
"Ask for a suite!!"
"fun for ghost hunting"
"select room with private facilities."
PreviousNext
12345612
PRICE RANGE
$105 - $482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
villa trapp hotel salzburg
LOCATION
AustriaAustrian AlpsSalzburg RegionSalzburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing