We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Richard Loewenherz

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Richard Loewenherz
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

130 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 87: English reviews
New Hampshire
Reviewed October 16, 2016

My husband and really enjoyed our stay both in Durnstein at the Richard Loewenherz. We regrettably only allowed ourselves one night in Durnstein. I wish we had stayed longer because we would have really enjoyed bike riding along the river and thru the vineyards. The hotel rooms are very clean but kind of stuck in a bit of a 70's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mjsamhest
RichardLowenherz, Manager at Hotel Richard Loewenherz, responded to this review

Dear mjsamhest, Many thans for taking you time to write a review about our hotel. With great pleasure we have read that you enjoyed staying with us and you enjoyed dinning on our Danube terrace overlooking the river and the passing ships. We are sorry that you were disappointed about the room and that we do not offer an air-conditioning....

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed October 15, 2016

We much enjoyed another return visit to the Richard Loewenherz, this time for four nights. Our first of several visits was over 50 years ago and not much has changed! The hotel is a quiet haven well located in attractive Dürnstein, with a spectacular view over the Danube from many rooms. It’s an excellent base for chilling out or touring/walking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank globaltraveller200
RichardLowenherz, Manager at Hotel Richard Loewenherz, responded to this review

Dir Sir or Madam, Thank you very much for your time to write a comment on our hotel! We also thank you for your nice words and good advice for other travellers! Maybe we are able to welcoming you another time here at Dürnstein and remain with kind regards from the cultural world heritage Wachau, Franziska Thiery & team

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed October 5, 2016

We had two wonderful nights here in August 2016. We were on a cycling trip, and we really appreciated the large pool (unheated) and the big lawn at the side of the hotel. The front of the lawn overlooks the Danube from about 30 feet up, and the one side appears to be an old castle wall--it gave the place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oilandgasinvest
RichardLowenherz, Inhaber at Hotel Richard Loewenherz, responded to this review

Dear Sir and Madame, thank you for your time and kind review you gave us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the classic, yet still modern atmosphere of your room and were able to relax and refill your energy in our garden after your bicycle trip. We are looking forward to seeing you again in the future, Franziska...

New York City, New York
Reviewed September 23, 2016 via mobile

This is a lovely historical hotel with beautiful hallways and seating areas. The rooms facing the walled garden are a bit dated and with carpeting. The breakfast was outstanding with fresh fruits, local yoghurts and breads and perfectly cooked soft boiled eggs. We took the dinner board one evening and it was an interesting and delicious multi course meal. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TADC10803
RichardLowenherz, Inhaber at Hotel Richard Loewenherz, responded to this review

Dear Sir or Madam, Thank you very much for this great review about our hotel! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us that much and maybe you will return some day! Many thanks and kind regards, Franziska Thiery & team

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed September 21, 2016

My husband and I spent one night at this hotel while on our own bike trip along the Danube. I had heard that Durnstein was the prettiest town along the Wachau and we found it to be true - loved the town, especially after the day-trippers left in the late afternoon. Just spectacular. We arrived by bicycle just as it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank efpatters
RichardLowenherz, Inhaber at Hotel Richard Loewenherz, responded to this review

Dear Mr and Mrs efpatters, Many thanks that you took time to write such nice words about our hotel! We are so excited about your words! Thank you! That's what we are working for - a special experience that stay in your mind! Maybe we will be able to welcoming you another time here at Dürnstein! With our best wishes...

Portland
Reviewed September 18, 2016

We had an extremely large suite in this hotel, with an outstanding view of the Danube. However, our stay, in September, was a bit disappointing. The layout of our room was interesting at best, with doors that hit into each other upon opening. The sunshine into the room was so intense, with no way to cool the room except for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judy S
RichardLowenherz, Inhaber at Hotel Richard Loewenherz, responded to this review

Dear Judy S. Many thanks for your review about our hotel. We are sorry that you were disappointed by your room. Because of the historic building and its thick walls it is not possible to adapt the rooms with air conditioning. Although we will note the points you spoke about - so we can have them in sight during the...

Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewed September 18, 2016

A former monastery, set in the Wachau Valley, featuring a peaceful garden with a delightful swimming pool, the setting of this hotel exceeded our expections. Each morning a lovely Austrian buffet breakfast is offered, and each evening you can relax on the beautiful terrace overlooking the Danube and sip on cocktails or Austrian wine. The ruined castle above town, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank egrlbk
RichardLowenherz, Inhaber at Hotel Richard Loewenherz, responded to this review

Dear Sir or Madam, Many thanks that you have invested time to write a comment on our hotel. With great pleasure we have read that you enjoyed your stay with us especially the good and central location, the quiet rose garden with the swimming pool and the Danube terrace. Thank you very much! We would be glad to welcoming you...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed August 20, 2016

This hotel was delightful. The owners/staff take hospitality very seriously and went above and beyond to ensure we had a pleasant stay (e.g., calling restaurants to see what dishes they could offer for vegetarians, walking out to our car to wish our family well as we left). The hotel is perfectly situated in Durnstein and we had a jaw dropping...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank susan m
RichardLowenherz, Inhaber at Hotel Richard Loewenherz, responded to this review

Dear Susan, Many thanks for this great review about our hotel! With great pleasure we have read that you enjoyed staying with us! We are happy that you loved your room with the great view over the river, the breakfast and the pool within the rose garden. Of course we were exited that you loved the hospitality with us! Thank...

Bethesda
Reviewed August 17, 2016

The hotel is noted to be one of the best in the area. However, it is very outdated in every category, rooms, service, wifi and restaurant service. At dinner one night one of our group members did not receive their entree until after waiting 2 1/2 hours. Poor lobby area and weak breakfast for a high end hotel. Do not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 123Birdie2014
RichardLowenherz, Inhaber at Hotel Richard Loewenherz, responded to this review

Dear Birdie2014, We thank you that you have written a review about our hotel. We are very sorry, that you were that much disappointed about our hotel. We have given your review to our chef - so he can find out why you waited for such a long time for your appetizer and that this will never happen again. We...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed August 10, 2016

This property in a charming, lazy small town on the banks of the Danube was a perfect spot after a week of cycling. Great restaurant, wonderful pool area, near castle ruins, tasty local wines. The hotel is a converted monastery with large rooms and bathrooms. My 2 complaints: Horrible wifi service. Stand against the room door or in the hallway...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TravelerPhiladelphia
RichardLowenherz, Inhaber at Hotel Richard Loewenherz, responded to this review

Dear traveler of Philadelphia, Many thanks that you have written a comment on our hotel. We were very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you loved the beautiful location in the small city of Dürnstein and the historic buildiung of an abbey with the pool in the garden sourrounded by the town walls. We...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

88 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (74)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durnstein
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schloss Duernstein
Hotel Schloss Duernstein
#2 of 4 in Durnstein
264 reviews
3.0 mi away
Steigenberger Hotel and Spa
Steigenberger Hotel and Spa
#1 of 9 in Krems an der Donau
820 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gartenhotel & Weingut Pfeffel Durnstein
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Loisium Wine & Spa Resort Langenlois
4.4 mi away
Hotel Zum Goldenen Engel
Hotel Zum Goldenen Engel
#2 of 9 in Krems an der Donau
96 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant zur Post
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Medieval convent walls of a former convent surround the property, art works of the region, fill it, and the incomparable site does the rest to lend this spot its inimitable character. Serenity and repose are everywhere you look, be it at the open fireplace, in the romantic terraced restaurant overlooking the Danube or the spacious, dreamlike convent gardens, which now play host to an idyllic heated swimming pool. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Richard Loewenherz

Address: Duernstein 8, Durnstein 3601, Austria
Location: Austria > Lower Austria > Durnstein
Price Range: $178 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Richard Loewenherz 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Richard Loewenherz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Richard Lowenherz dürnstein
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Richard Loewenherz staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“in summer, the higher floors will be very hot with no air conditioning”
 of 5 bubbles oilandgasinvest, Oct 5, 2016 | Read review
“Try for a river view; it really adds to the experience”
 of 5 bubbles efpatters, Sep 21, 2016 | Read review
“A view of the Danube!”
 of 5 bubbles X3527IMsusanm, Aug 20, 2016 | Read review
“Gorgeous, expansive views if you're facing the Danube”
 of 5 bubbles TravelerPhiladelphia, Aug 10, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a suite, it`s more expensive, but the view is amazing,”
 of 5 bubbles horias541, Aug 8, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay