We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
12 Boulevard Royal, Luxembourg City 2449 Luxembourg
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Détente et Saveurs
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Agoda.com
Only 1 left at
$168
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/05/22
Hotels.com
Travelocity$268
Priceline
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (550)
Room & Suite (179)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 10/06/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Updated 10/06/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 56 hotels in Luxembourg City
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.6
Value
4.0
Travelers' Choice
Known for its sophisticated European hospitality and impeccable service, Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg is arguably the only five-star superior hotel in the heart of Luxembourg and one of the Leading Hotels of the World. Restaurant Amelys with its summer terrace and delicious modern cuisine has become the city favorite. The Piano bar offering fresh fruit cocktails, classic drinks, large collection of whiskies and live piano music in the evenings, is the perfect setting for friends and colleagues to relax. Conference and event facilities hosting up to 900 people are available. Free access to indoor swimming pool, fitness, sauna and hammam, free Wi-Fi, complimentary shuttle service to the airport and the train station, and a knowledgeable “Clef d’Or concierge team complete the first-class experience.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Babysitting
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Paid private parking on-site
Parking garage
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Shuttle bus service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Hammam
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Telephone
Bottled water
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, French, German
Hotel links
Special Offer:Détente et Saveurs
1110Reviews18Q+A83Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 610
  • 351
  • 108
  • 25
  • 16
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
travelfun5558 wrote a review Aug 2022
Lancaster, Wisconsin35 contributions5 helpful votes
The hotel was beautiful. Staff very professional and helpful. We opted for the breakfast and it was delicious with many choice. Also ate lunch in the restaurant and had drinks outside. Would definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Philippe SCHEFFER, Directeur général at Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your kind notation following your recent stay in our hotel. At Le Royal Hotels & Resorts Luxembourg we feel a strong passion and commitment for delivering unforgettable experiences to our guests and make them feel at home. Your satisfaction is our best reward and our staff will be very delighted with your kind notation. We look forward to welcoming you back soon, Kind Regards, Philippe Scheffer General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bron1303 wrote a review Aug 2022
Burnley, United Kingdom380 contributions152 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
I’ve always wanted to visit Luxembourg and this hotel was a perfect place to stay, the staff were extremely attentive and welcoming. The room was spotless absolutely perfect !!! We had everything we could possibly want and more. Great place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Philippe SCHEFFER, Directeur général at Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, On behalf of the entire Le Royal Team, I would like to thank you very much for your great review! We are delighted to acknowledge that you had such an excellent stay in our 5* Superior property. We hope to welcome you back soon, Sincerely, Philippe Scheffer General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PaulBejczy wrote a review Aug 2022
Nijmegen, The Netherlands48 contributions32 helpful votes
We were looking for a hotel with wellness facilities in Luxembourg and we found this hotel. Before booking, we called to hotel to ask if it was possible to make use of the wellness facilities on the day of check-out after check-out time, as that was what we were looking for. The receptionist who answered the phone said ‘the facilities are available the whole day on your check-out day’, so we made our booking. At the hotel, upon checking out, we mentioned to the lady at the reception (Alissa B. was her name) that we were going to the wellness upon which she said it was only available until check-out time. We were surprised and told her about the phone call we had made with the receptionist who told us it was available the whole day, yet she became visibly annoyed and asked us if we had any ‘written proof’ of the conversation, because ‘any guest could make up a story about a phone call and we have no way to check it.’ Even when I offered her to check who was working on the time of our call, she again refused and said we had to go downstairs to the wellness center and ask the person over there ourselves what the rules were for wellness-usage because she didn’t know anything about it. Eventually, the lady downstairs said we could stay until 3pm, which was fine by us. However, due to the rude behaviour of the receptionist, we kept feeling unwelcome and mis-treated the rest of the day, resulting in an unpleasant departure from the hotel. The whole hotel is filled with quotes like ‘we want to exceed your expectations’ and I’m sure this is not at all what the hotel means by that. Which is why I recommend better training your reception staff for such situations. Besides this issue, we had a great stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Philippe SCHEFFER, Directeur général at Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, First of all, on behalf of the entire hotel and its staff, I would like to apologise for this situation, as well as for the inconvenience caused by the bad information given by our front desk staff. What you have experienced is not an expression of our care for the hotel's guests, and we regret that you have had to deal with this incident. The Front Office Manager has been informed in order to take the necessary measures. Believe that we would be happy to welcome you again in a more appropriate and professional manner. Hoping to have the pleasure to welcome you again at Le Royal Hotel, Best Regards, Philippe Scheffer General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Halnyc206 wrote a review Jul 2022
New York City, New York15 contributions30 helpful votes
I was not impressed with my one night stay at this hotel. It is definitely an older hotel that may at one point have been a true 5-star hotel, but it has definitely gone down hill -- do not expect 5 star service. Upon arrival there was no one at the door to help me with my bag, which would have been very helpful as there are a couple of steps to get into the lobby (I did not see a ramp), and I had a very heavy suitcase and a bad back. Walking into the lobby smells like chlorine from the pool and it is very dark. There are ashtrays in front of every elevator which felt very old and not ideal for those who prefer/expect a non-smoking environment. The woman checking me in was not very friendly, and when I asked about other available rooms (higher floor, quieter) I was told nothing was available currently but may be another time. When asked when that might be, I was told "I don't know" very brusquely, and handed the key. It wasn't worth it to me to inquire further. The room was fine, if somewhat worn, and a good size. The bed was comfortable but sagged in the middle. It was a room facing the back of the hotel so it was very quiet, which I appreciated. the location was also great, and you can easily walk to everything in town. Overall, I had a fine stay, but I would in no way consider this a five star hotel and will be staying somewhere else on my next trip.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Be sure to specify non-smoking, room facing the back of the hotel was very quiet
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Philippe SCHEFFER, Directeur général at Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Responded Jul 22, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg. It is a pleasure to know that you appreciated the comfort of the rooms and our perfect location in the heart of Luxembourg city. I am sorry that your overall experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. What you have experienced, during the check in or on your arrival, is not an expression of our care for the hotel's guests. For information, the hotel is smoking free. Nevertheless, in our Piano Bar we have a cigar lounge offering a wide selection of cigars. The guests can also smoke outside on the restaurant and bar terrace. We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future. Sincerely, Philippe Scheffer General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
C. Swiatek wrote a review Jul 2022
Aarhus, Denmark37 contributions53 helpful votes
I chose Le Royal Hotels & Resorts on the occasion of my birthday to be celebrated in Luxembourg and it was to be more luxurious and from the pictures the hotel looked very promising. BUT I was badly disappointed! First, to take 31 EUR per. person for breakfast should be illegal! Second, to take 315 EUR per. night for an executive suite which has not been renovated in over 15-20 years is too crazy !! The carpet seemed dirty, the bathroom was of an old character with a shower that belonged in the 19th century, the hair dryer did not work and when I asked for a new one, they did not have an extra laying - which amazes me when you pay so much for the stay. The bed was very small and nowhere near being a king size bed, really disappointing! My dust allergy also flared up during the stay, so that must mean that the cleaning is not top notch, that might explain the dirty carpet. When we had to check out there was no help. We had to bring our luggage down ourselves (and we had a lot of luggage as we also had pets with us) even though we had called down at the reception and asked for help but no help to get, very strange because when we arrived the hotel, the staff was ready with the luggage cart and was almost ready to kiss our feet if you asked for it - but when you have to check out, you are an indifferent guest who has to do things themselves (because they have got their money) - really disappointing experience. Luckily I was impressed with the city of Luxembourg itself and this is not the last time I will go there, but I stay away from this hotel and I will make sure my work colleagues find another hotel when they go to a conference in Luxembourg in the future. Save your money, the hotel is not at all as fancy as it expresses on their site.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Philippe SCHEFFER, Directeur général at Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Responded Jul 22, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg, one of The Leading Hotels of the World, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore, your feedback is very important to us. Regarding the pricing of the breakfast, please rest assured that our prices are in line with those at the other 5-star properties in Luxembourg city. The buffet breakfast offers a large variety of fresh quality products such as fruits, dairy and pastries, as well as many choices of hot dishes, as cooked eggs, and more ... We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future. Sincerely, Philippe Scheffer General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
stevenutah wrote a review Jul 2022
Highland, Utah249 contributions157 helpful votes
We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Our room was clean, quiet, modern, and featured terrific technology. We could control everything, including the air conditioning, from bedside panels. It was also quiet and super clean. In addition, the staff was very friendly and the indoor swimming pool is beautiful. We were able to walk all over the central city from the hotel, including visiting the historic sites along the palisades. This is an excellent hotel, and we'd be happy to stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Philippe SCHEFFER, Directeur général at Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Responded Jul 22, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your excellent review and for choosing Le Royal Hotels & Resorts Luxembourg for your stay. It is a great pleasure to know that you enjoyed our hotel! Your satisfaction is our best reward ! Thank you for recommending Le Royal Hotels & Resorts and we hope to welcome you back soon, Best Regards, Philippe Scheffer General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
J A wrote a review Jun 2022
71 contributions56 helpful votes
This place is great! It’s within walking distance of some great spots (restaurants, a park, etc). It also has a nice indoor pool even if it is a bit on the smaller size. The best part about the hotel is their breakfast! I could’ve eaten that breakfast for each meal of the day!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Pay for the breakfast
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Philippe SCHEFFER, Directeur général at Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Responded Jul 22, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your excellent review and for choosing Le Royal Hotels & Resorts Luxembourg for your stay. It is a great pleasure to know that you enjoyed our hotel services and appreciated our breakfast offer. As you mentioned, the buffet breakfast offers a large variety of fresh quality products such as fruits, dairy and pastries, as well as many choices of hot dishes, as cooked eggs. Your satisfaction is our best reward and our staff will be very delighted with your great review. Thank you for recommending Le Royal Hotels & Resorts and we hope to welcome you back soon, Best Regards, Philippe Scheffer General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
crevrath wrote a review Jun 2022
London, United Kingdom10 contributions13 helpful votes
Nice classy hotel in thr centre of Luxembourg. Restaurant has lovely outside area and Nice menu. Great swimming pool steam room /sauna. Staff very helpful. Only downside is the room decor , the carpet and net curtains time warped me back to the 80s.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Philippe SCHEFFER, Directeur général at Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Responded Jul 22, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your last stay at Le Royal Hotels & Resorts in Luxembourg. It is a pleasure to know that you appreciated our high level of service and perfect location in the heart of Luxembourg city. However we have taken good note of your remark regarding the room decor. We are looking forward to welcoming you back for your next visit to Luxembourg, Kindest regards, Philippe Scheffer General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PamS922 wrote a review Jun 2022
Waterford, Ireland62 contributions34 helpful votes
Huge room with a large bathroom. Layout was great. Comfortable king bed. Concierge staff was exceptional. We included breakfast which I highly recommend - it was outstanding. The pool/sauna was very nice. Hotel was in fabulous location.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Philippe SCHEFFER, Directeur général at Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Responded Jun 17, 2022
Dear Guest, On behalf of the entire Le Royal Team, I would like to thank you very much for your great review! We are delighted to acknowledge that you had such an excellent stay in our 5* Superior property. We hope to welcome you back soon, Sincerely, Philippe Scheffer General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
fatima_alaradi wrote a review Jun 2022
Al Muharraq, Bahrain373 contributions116 helpful votes
I was provided a suite, the nice thing is that the people who stayed in suites have there own elevator, the room was good in size and the furniture was good but I think it needs to be renovated, the hotel is 5 mins walk to the center, the breakfast was extremely excellent all chooses are available, the staff were helpful. I recommend this hotel for anyone who wants to stay in a little far distance from the center to avoid the busy noise in the center
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Philippe SCHEFFER, Directeur général at Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Responded Jun 17, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your excellent review and for choosing Le Royal Hotels & Resorts Luxembourg for your stay. It is a great pleasure to know that you enjoyed our hotel, especially the comfort of the rooms, the quality of the breakfast buffet and the professionalism of the staff! Your satisfaction is our best reward ! Thank you for recommending Le Royal Hotels & Resorts and we hope to welcome you back soon, Best Regards, Philippe Scheffer General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$187 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel le royal luxembourg city
LOCATION
LuxembourgLuxembourg DistrictLuxembourg City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
209
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Which popular attractions are close to Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg?
Nearby attractions include Playground Avenue Monterey - Pirate Ship (0.3 miles), Pfaffenthal Lift (0.2 miles), and Place d'Armes (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg?
Yes, a parking garage and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ambrosia, Matelots, and Golden Bean - The Coffee Experience.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg have airport transportation?
Yes, Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Luxembourg City.
Are any cleaning services offered at Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.