We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg

GreenLeadersBronze level
16 Place de la Gare, Luxembourg City 1616, Luxembourg
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with AccorHotels.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

635 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I chose this hotel because of its proximity to the train station & the attractive rates for a weekend visit. Having read the reviews about old & musty rooms, I was pleasantly surprised. Sure, the rooms could do with a refurbishment, but my room was perfectly well maintained. No stained carpets. Spotless bathroom. Surprisingly, the toilet was separate from the... More 

Helpful?
Thank KokoBel
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Right in front of the station, most tourist attractions are within walking distance. But this is not the main reason of my choice. The service this hotel offers is beyond my expectation. Breakfast is wonderful and the rooms are home-like cozy. From the reception, you'll be welcome by the ready helpful staffs. I love this hotel and for sure I'll... More 

Helpful?
Thank EuroKor
wurzburg, ge
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel is located in a seedy area directly across from the train station. We ended up not staying because after we saw the room with old smell and old, diety carpet we went next door to the best Western which was much better.

Helpful?
Thank nikkie
NOVOWILLEM, Sales Team Mercure Alfa at Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg, responded to this review

Dear guest, May I begin by thanking you for your review of the Mercure Alfa Luxembourg Centre Gare on TripAdvisor. We are most concerned with the satisfaction of our guests and your feedback is of great value to us. It is with regret, we note that your booking did not give you satisfaction and we offer you our sincere apologies.... More 

Travelers are raving about these Luxembourg City hotels

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Good value for the money. Good location, opposite the station. This means some traffic noise, but not excessive. Good size room, but tired. Needed a refurb - and the heater struggled a bit to warm it up. Room service was to a good standard as was breakfast. Better than other options for the money

Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
NOVOWILLEM, Sales Team Mercure Alfa at Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg, responded to this review

Dear guest, First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Mercure Alfa Luxembourg Centre Gare, on Tripadvisor. It is with a nice pleasure that we discovered your feedback. As your satisfaction is our goal, every day all staff strives to give the best of them to reach it. We... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here over new year to welcome in 2016. It's definitely not a 4 star. Good points: -The reception staff were very helpful and courteous. -the wifi was really quick -check out at 12pm Bad points: -The floor we were on stunk of smoke (floor 4) -the room keys are useless. We never got into the room in less... More 

Helpful?
Thank youcantraveltheworld
NOVOWILLEM, Sales Team Mercure Alfa at Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg, responded to this review

Dear guest, We would like to thank you for choosing the Mercure Alfa Luxembourg Centre Gare as your accommodation during your recent trip, and we sincerely appreciate you taking the time to give us your opinion. It is with regret that we note your stay did not give you satisfaction and I do apologize. Be sure that all details provided... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

As a solo traveller I often find I am offered some pokey room in the basement near the kitchens. Not so here. A top floor room with a panoramic view over the city. Thank you! Ok the room was tired and drab but it was a decent sized bed. Would have liked a walk in shower but the bathroom though... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sheila M
NOVOWILLEM, Sales Team Mercure Alfa at Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for choosing the Mercure Alfa Luxembourg Centre Gare as your accommodation during your recent trip. We are most concerned with the satisfaction of our guests and your feedback is of great value to us. Be sure that you give us the basis of our work and you help us improve ourselves. Regarding rooms, I want to... More 

Netherlands
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This a Grand Hotel of the Accor Group supposed to be 4 stars. While I can say that the service is still 4 stars, the furnishing of the rooms is old, tired and almost shabby. The carpets are old and eroded, the furniture in the room also old and worn, the surfaces are not anymore nice and flat but with... More 

Helpful?
Thank zepedro99
NOVOWILLEM, Sales Team Mercure Alfa at Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg, responded to this review

Dear guest, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Mercure Alfa Luxembourg Centre Gare, on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is very helpful for us as it gives the general impression of your stay. After reading your comments, it is with regret that we note your stay did not give you entire satisfaction... More 

Surrey
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016 via mobile

Hotel is easy to find from the station- literally opposite which is very convenient. However, area is a bit rough. Lots of undesirables lurking around. 10minute walk to the main centre. Not a lot Around the hotel itself. Hotel offers 2 breakfasts. One for $20 which is buffet. One for $8 which is pastry, bread, juice and coffee. We found... More 

Helpful?
Thank L4U
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016 via mobile

Superb location in our situation as we took a late train to Luxembourg Gare and an early train away to another city. Walk to town was about 10 minutes and likewise the fortress. Carrefour was just across the hotel, with plenty of restaurants surrounding the area. We got a complimentary bottle of water which we were delighted with. Good wifi,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joyce L
Papa, Hungary
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016

The only plus is that you step out from the train into the hotel (well...almost). If you need to travel by train it is very convenient. If not...payed public parking 5 min walking; room- old dirty carpet, dripping water tap, blow-drier from the past century, funky smell in the room, noisy AC, breakfast so-so, dinner terrible, restaurant service... don't get... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JuliaRaduDucu
NOVOWILLEM, Sales Team Mercure Alfa at Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg, responded to this review

Good afternoon, First of all, thank you for choosing the Mercure Alfa Luxembourg Centre Gare for your recent trip, and for telling Tripadvisor travelers and us about your experience. I do apologize because your experience did not give you satisfaction. Know that your feedback is really important for us because you give us the possibility to improve ourselves every day.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

197 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (172)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (45)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
View from room (17)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg ...
#5 of 50 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 stars 854 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#8 of 50 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 stars 787 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Empire
Hotel Empire
#22 of 50 in Luxembourg City
3.5 of 5 stars 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
#9 of 50 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,101 reviews
1.2 mi away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#2 of 50 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay